kmarc
post Oct 23 2007, 06:14 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

Would be interested to see a few things:
1) Real world gaming benchmarks
2) Performance of 8800GT vs 8800GTS at the same clock speed. Remember that the GT is running at a higher clock speed which the GTS can easily reach most of the time (Of course the GT would be better due to more SP, but how much more higher?)
3) Overclocking capabilities of GT vs GTS
4) Heat/temperature due to single slot cooling

This post has been edited by kmarc: Oct 23 2007, 06:15 PM
kmarc
post Oct 23 2007, 06:28 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Oct 23 2007, 06:18 PM)
Check the link. You can see the real world gaming benchmarks.
Did check the source. For some reason, nothing much came out..... went to home page and click the review but same results.....must be my firefox settings or something.... hmm.gif
kmarc
post Oct 24 2007, 01:32 PM

14,576 posts

What's bang balls? blink.gif

Anyway, for me, I'm not looking back. I'm still happy with my 2nd-hand 8800 GTS 640mb and will keep it as long as I can, hopefully for another 1-2 years. Luckily I'm only gaming at 1280x1024.... flex.gif
kmarc
post Oct 25 2007, 12:26 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 24 2007, 09:37 PM)
Sorry..I missed this post.

According to talkingcock.com

BANG BALLS
Essentially the Anglicized version of the Hokkien phrase "Lum Pah Pah Lan".
"Wah lan! When I heard I kena saman that time, I damn bang balls, drop on floor, bounce three times!"
See also Bang  Lum Pah Pah Lan 

http://www.talkingcock.com/html/lexec.php?...%20Balls&page=1
Research...and a little bit of understanding  thumbup.gif
LOL! Also got such a good definition aaa? laugh.gif

Had some idea of the meaning but never this detailed!!! notworthy.gif

Oopss, back to topic.... whistling.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Oct 25 2007, 12:27 AM
kmarc
post Oct 25 2007, 02:01 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(accs_centre @ Oct 25 2007, 01:15 AM)
I got it at RM920.. Of course for the next few weeks price should be slightly cheaper..
Ouch. At that price, guess what will happen to the prices of high-end cards and 2nd-hand 8800GTS/ATI2900 GCs..... Good for those who hasn't got one, bad for owners like me.... sad.gif

kmarc
post Oct 25 2007, 02:58 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(choyster @ Oct 25 2007, 02:20 AM)
sell at rm750 lo tongue.gif
Wei, it's 640mb one la..... Anyway, planning to keep it. Next upgrade would be something that perform much better than this nice card.... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Oct 25 2007, 02:59 AM
kmarc
post Oct 26 2007, 03:21 AM

14,576 posts

My main concern is not the fact that the 8800GT can beat the 8800GTS. The main concern is that 2nd hand prices will drop drastically! Well, I guess this is no surprise as it happens all the time...... wink.gif

Anyway, really like to see the 8800GT's overclocking capabilities and it's temperature...... smile.gif
kmarc
post Oct 26 2007, 03:15 PM

14,576 posts

Can new owners provide the temperature readings at idle and load e.g on artifact scanning in atitool? Wanna see how this card performs in our M'sian enviroment.....
kmarc
post Oct 26 2007, 05:45 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(PootieTang_85 @ Oct 26 2007, 04:34 PM)
fan is on auto.
90'c is quite hot. Not surprising for a single slot cooler.

Do you know whether the fan is running at full speed? Use rivatuner to check, it could be that your fan is not running at its maximum speed.

If you stop the artifact scanning and let the 3D box rotate, you'll find that the temperature will jump up another 2-3'c as the rotation box is more 3D intensive......

I guess if the fan is at max, with that kind of temperature, you can forget doing much overclocking...... although the GC can take much higher temperature before throttling...... hmm.gif
kmarc
post Oct 26 2007, 07:20 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(PootieTang_85 @ Oct 26 2007, 07:10 PM)
actually, the fan can be adjusted to 100% using nvidia ntune. but, at that fan speed, it's quite noisy, temp load 78C
I see. In that case, the temperature is considered acceptable especially as it is a single-slot solution. thumbup.gif Your rig is a closed case system?

On my 8800 GTS, I set the fan to spin at max 80% as I can't bear the sound at 100%.

This post has been edited by kmarc: Oct 26 2007, 07:21 PM
kmarc
post Oct 26 2007, 07:31 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(PootieTang_85 @ Oct 26 2007, 07:27 PM)
yes, it's true. my rig is closed system, worry that dust will stuck inside.  biggrin.gif
Then this card is really nice for its price. Planning to overclock? If so, pls show some results. Don't forget to use AtiTool artifact scanning to check for stability....

Disclaimer : Overclocking can damage your hardware... wink.gif
kmarc
post Oct 26 2007, 08:28 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(PootieTang_85 @ Oct 26 2007, 08:11 PM)
another test, at 100% fan
70'c at load at 100% is WOW! thumbup.gif

Without a doubt this card is a value-for-money GC.

Overclocking? hmm.gif

QUOTE(RealtyAgent @ Oct 26 2007, 08:23 PM)
Hi

Do you sell 8GB pen drive? How much and warranty period.

thanks.
Errr...... garage sale is that way dude.... smile.gif
kmarc
post Oct 26 2007, 08:54 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Oct 26 2007, 08:49 PM)
tomolo evening i'll be doing a review for Palit 8800GT thanks to my sponsor Precess Technology Sdn.Bhd.

it's show time!!!
WoW! How to get sponsors? Can sponsor me one oso aaa?

Yeah, pls review and include the overclocking capabilities and temperature too. smile.gif

QUOTE(vincentlaw @ Oct 26 2007, 08:49 PM)
90-95? omg!..... tat is like u are cooking water beside u.... hmmm... tat is bad.....
will tat spoil ur card in long term???..... the card will cause the whole casing air to heat up... and CPU,RAM,HDD,MOBO tempreture will rise too....
>_<".... sad case...... l

but let see how it goes for a longer time...
Err.... read the subsequent reply la. It's only 70'c when the fan is at 100% nod.gif

Nice card.... better get one....
kmarc
post Oct 27 2007, 04:40 AM

14,576 posts

Have you guys seen this? Here's a nice comparison table on the 8800GT vs the GTS and GTX. Source : http://www.geforce9.com/article01.htm

A few nice features of this card:
- Cooler due to 65nm process and Vcore of 1.05v
- Power consumption 110w - only need 1x 6-pin PCIE connector
- Shaders 112
- MAD performance : 504 GFLOPS - probably the reason why this card is so good!!
- PCIE 2.0 (supports 1.1 and 1.0)

Less features compared to the GTS:
- TMU 16 only
- ROP 16 only
- Memory bus 256-bit

However, the less features on the GTS doesn't seemed to have any effect on the great performance of this card!!! rclxub.gif

kmarc
post Oct 27 2007, 07:50 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(Ezonizs @ Oct 27 2007, 07:39 PM)
BAD NEWS ...... vmad.gif  i installed Crysis single player demo and tried ......... i'm soo pissssss off now
i'm using C2D E6400 OC to 3.2GHz , Corsair 2GB XMS2 DHX 1000MHz 5-5-5-14 , 8800GTS 320MB , gigabyte P35-DS3P, using HP 1907 19" widescreen display.  all driver up to date and GUEST WAt ..... while playing the game advance setting all MEDIUM , 2X antialiasing , 1024 X 768 windowed mode somore max framrates 35 FPS , minimum 27 FPS, lowest 18 FSP lol WTFF... MAn ... plus somemore is i set fullscreen mode with 1440X990 my usual LCD screen resolution but it HANGS .... need restart com WTF WTF........ vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif
i OCIED my GTS core: 620MHZ, shader: 1450MHZ, memory: 2000MHz and still get this type of framerates ... nothing to say... seee how it perform in 8800GT lol
It is generally not recommended to play in windowed mode. Frame rates are much lower. Try to play in fullscreen mode although not too sure why your rig will hang....

QUOTE(Thrust @ Oct 27 2007, 07:41 PM)
Bro, how did you managed to OC your Shader? As I know ATITOOL can't do it. Any recommendations tongue.gif
Use rivatuner, latest version.... smile.gif
kmarc
post Oct 27 2007, 08:05 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(vincentlaw @ Oct 27 2007, 08:02 PM)
wah.... 11xx to 1625... can change so much?? normal OC or extreme OC like vmod all that?
Normal OC for the shaders... mine can go up to 1620mhz on stock cooling. See my sig... smile.gif

kmarc
post Oct 27 2007, 08:23 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(Ezonizs @ Oct 27 2007, 08:07 PM)
ops my bad  blush.gif  there is two files in the crysis game files in computer~ programsfile ... one is bin64 for 64-bit version and the other one is bin32 for 32-bit version .... although i'm using vista ultimate 64-bit ... it still crashes when i choose full screen mode using bin64 .. but nothing occur when i use bin32 lol STRANGE INDEED. test again
but they wont let me chooses 1440X900 ..... donno why .

woohooooo in fullscreen mode framerates 40~50 FPS weee but still all medium settings lol
Set everything to the max. Interested to know what the capabilities of the 320mb....
kmarc
post Oct 27 2007, 10:57 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Oct 27 2007, 10:42 PM)
just finished the Palit review and benchmark,it's unbelievable....
Where??!?! blink.gif shocking.gif
kmarc
post Oct 28 2007, 12:58 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(Ezonizs @ Oct 28 2007, 12:30 AM)
hmmm as you said set everything to max AA to 16 all to VERY HIGH ..... guest wat after loading whole com HANGs lags ..... then alt tab go outside END PROCESS .... lol cry.gif

i'm using resolution of 1440X900 in HP 19"widescreen.
i tried everything out. the most stable running and playable settings is RESO same as above , TEXTURE setting to high , Object setting to high, AA 2X, rest all medium .... and pls dont set SHADER to high or very high although you set rest of the settings to medium useless ....... you will lag till  cry.gif

heard that my friend GTX set all to high also get average framerates of 30~40 gshhhh~~ vmad.gif maybe nvidia havent releases a tuner driver hmmm lest see when  the game is officially released.

unless your're one of the hardcore gamer who are using SLIED GTX or ULTRAs... sad shakehead.gif
Wow! I would set the AA to none first, just to see how the card takes everything set to max. Can also assess all the eye-candy too..... smile.gif
kmarc
post Oct 28 2007, 01:13 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(Ezonizs @ Oct 28 2007, 01:02 AM)
running test for KMARC XD. of coz i wont put AA16X lol normally i put 4X for game enuf de  biggrin.gif
So sorry ya, I didn't expect you to put 16x AA.... laugh.gif

For me, if I were given the choice for eye candy vs. AA, I would go for eye-candy anytime....

This post has been edited by kmarc: Oct 28 2007, 01:15 AM

0.0459sec    1.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 01:44 PM