14,576 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Oct 28 2007, 01:18 AM)
ok tip for those who cant use aa but want to get good details

set ure nvidia panel on max quality
set ure LOD's to -3

this itself is damn good..
Haiya, wished I could try that..... well, in 3 weeks time when I'm back..... sad.gif
kmarc
post Oct 28 2007, 02:32 AM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

QUOTE(Ezonizs @ Oct 28 2007, 01:59 AM)
eiks you OC your RIG until  shocking.gif  .. for 8800GTS i try to go above core 650MHz but cannot rivatuner auto detect back to default settings lol
That's the average max OC for the GTS. Mine can go up to 648mhz only.... smile.gif

QUOTE(evilnickwong @ Oct 28 2007, 02:13 AM)
OK I'm not gonna trawl through the past couple pages to see if this has been posted but in case it hasn't:

Crysis Demo analysis with 8800GT included:
http://www.tweaktown.com/articles/1211/2

MSI 8800GT review:
http://www.tweaktown.com/reviews/1210/2
The crysis demo is a new one. Haiyaa, again, no comparison with the 8800GTS 640mb... mad.gif

Would really like to see the difference between the 8800GTS 640mb vs the 8800GT 512mb at the same core/shader/mem clock.....

This post has been edited by kmarc: Oct 28 2007, 02:36 AM
kmarc
post Oct 28 2007, 04:08 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Oct 28 2007, 02:36 AM)
dunno wei
but my EVGA 8800gts 640 A3 can do 675/1674/1000 stable... with HR03
Yeah, that's why I said "on average". I've seen some forumers' GC which can only go a notch down from mine i.e. 621mhz. Guess yours is a notch up. smile.gif

At 675mhz, my GC will give a lot of artifacts especially when hot..... sad.gif

Anyway, I'm not going to dump my GTS for the GT..... wished somebody would compared a GTS vs GT at the same core/shader/mem speed.....
kmarc
post Oct 28 2007, 04:45 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(Nil Einne @ Oct 28 2007, 04:41 AM)
Any price in Malaysia yet? Price in NZ, UK and Europe out already. Pricing in Malaysia should be about RM800 (2x 8600GT) but let's see
Yup. RM800 from bulk. A bit higher for retail units....
kmarc
post Oct 28 2007, 03:34 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(vincentlaw @ Oct 28 2007, 01:10 PM)
if want to buy... we cant wait 1...... decided want to buy... just choose any from the current in market.. and buy.. else wait new.. and the new 1 will get beaten by future newer... and once again beaten by newest.. zzzzzz then 4ever wait and cant buy a graphic card... LOL...
I agree with you. We haven't see the capabilities of the new 8800GTS with the supposedly 128 sp. Think about it, current 8800GTS are already around rm900 in bulk and due to the GT, I'm sure their prices would drop hard. By the time the new 8800GTS comes out, it may also be around that price....so, the question is, do you wait for the GTS or go for the GT now. Personally, I'd say just go for the GT!!! smile.gif

Of course, if you want to play crysis at max settings, then you need something more.....

This post has been edited by kmarc: Oct 28 2007, 03:35 PM
kmarc
post Oct 28 2007, 04:15 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(vincentlaw @ Oct 28 2007, 03:54 PM)
games nowadays are sucking the money out of our pocket.... crysis is just too much... 1k 3dcard only can play on medium setting.. OMG wat the world is this.... not every is that rich, crazy and enthusiast as some of u all out there..... Zzzzzzzz i wonder wat 3dcard they use when they showing us the trailer/gameplay for dx9 vs dx10... izzit ultra?? SLI??.. omg....

speechless with games technologies nowadays..... maybe crytek and nvidia + ATI are collaborating and earning our money... tongue.gif who knows wat happen behind there
Don't look at it that way. If games can push forward technology, why not? In the process of introducing new technology, relatively older technology (and nowadays, older may mean months!) will become more cheaper and affordable for us consumers.

I guess you buy within your means and play games at the setting limited by the GC. It's like cars. There are super expensive sport cars and there are your daily sedan...... You can't say that car manufacturers make expensive cars so that they can earn our money!!! wink.gif
kmarc
post Oct 29 2007, 02:44 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Oct 29 2007, 01:25 AM)
Here's my 3DMark06 v1.1.0 score with my handpicked Leadtek Winfast 8800GTS 640mb card overclocked to 680MHZ / 2100 MHZ (with NVIDIA stock cooler), can be overclocked higher with water cooling and pencil mod but I chose to stick with the current configuration instead.

8800GTS 640MB:
SM2.0 = 5311
SM3.0 = 5140

Attached here, is the screen of my benchmarking results and nope, I'm not making this up, a picture is worth a million words.  rclxm9.gif

I guess that 8800GTS 640mb can still pawn 8800GT 512mb with the right hardware but then, an overclocked 8800GT might yield higher results because from initial findings, it's possible to overclock the GPU core to 720MHZ with the stock cooler.  Whatever it is, I guess my 8800GTS 640mb has served me well and it doesn't warrant to get a 8800GT yet till the next successor comes. 8800GT represents good value and best bang for the buck.
Definitely not worth changing a GTS 640mb for a GT 512mb. Yeah, I'm also thinking about upgrading only if there is a next generation card.

@sunauto - have you tried playing crysis? Interested to know the performance on this card. To look at fps, you can type "r_displayinfo 1" into the console.... smile.gif
kmarc
post Oct 29 2007, 04:31 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(PootieTang_85 @ Oct 29 2007, 04:18 PM)
Really shows the superiority of the GT. How I wished they would review and include the 640mb GTS too...... especially a comparison at the same clock speed....
kmarc
post Oct 29 2007, 05:01 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(zhen^wei @ Oct 29 2007, 04:45 PM)
walao. no wonder so many forumes selling their used 8800gts la..
haha.
Yeah, wait till the new GTS and GTX comes out....
kmarc
post Oct 30 2007, 01:04 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(remeron @ Oct 29 2007, 11:47 PM)
actually i disagree lah, if i were to own a 8800gts 320mb, i would surely sell now.  it makes no sense keeping.
8800gts 320 (and 640) was good 1 year ago when no TRUE directx10 games were out.  Now with games like gears of war, crysis, ut3 coming out in full force supporting directx10, we can see how underperform are the 8800gts.  These cards owned on previous games, but 8800 series were suppose to be the flagship of directx10 games, but now that the real games are out, we find out how sucky they are.

in part, i blame nvidia for misleading us  biggrin.gif

the gts is not losing by only a few frames, if you read all the new reviews that are out today, the gts 320 can't even fight with the GT.  In fact 2 GT in SLi is faster than ultra by alot and the cost of ultra is 3 GTs!  So imagine a tri SLI of GT....
Huh? No sense keeping? rclxub.gif rclxub.gif Wait till DX10.1 comes out then I guess it is no sense keeping ALL DX10.0 cards, INCLUDING the 8800GT.......

So you guys without DX10 cards, why why why are you still keeping the cards??@!!?!? doh.gif
kmarc
post Oct 30 2007, 07:16 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ Oct 30 2007, 07:08 PM)
anyone using 8800gt on their k8 939 mobo? is the bottleneck significant? i cant affort a whole new com right now, but i could for a 8800gt. LOL... laugh.gif
Errr... definitely will bottleneck your CPU. wink.gif Guess if you really want some real numbers, have to wait for reviews that includes CPU scaling on this card.... smile.gif

kmarc
post Oct 30 2007, 07:27 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Oct 30 2007, 07:18 PM)
Shud be ok lar. I was running 8800GTX SLI on X2 for a long time too. Was perfectly good for gaming until Bioshock came along n raped both the X2's cores. laugh.gif  Besides. Spike is running 1680 reso which is pretty hi oredi, so teh CPU wont bottle his card much.
Uncle. (Little kid voice) I just answer his question on bottle-neck mah..... won't bottle-neck his card "much" also has bottle-neck ma.... laugh.gif
kmarc
post Oct 31 2007, 03:29 PM

14,576 posts

So, does the 8800GT have a separate 2D and 3D settings? hmm.gif
kmarc
post Oct 31 2007, 07:16 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(Ezonizs @ Oct 31 2007, 06:16 PM)
Nvidia has maken a BIG mistakes by choosing to use single slot cooling  sad.gif
Thrid Party coolers manufacturers gonna be HAPPY and RICH once most ppl dicided to buy 3rd parties cooling products for thier 8800GT.  hmm.gif
How come conflicting results? I thought the temperature is acceptable if you run the fan at 100%? hmm.gif
kmarc
post Oct 31 2007, 10:36 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Oct 31 2007, 07:56 PM)

its the noise that they are complaining
I see. Silly me, just noticed that the 8800GT single-slot cooler does not exhaust the air out through the back (hehe, how can it when it is a single-slot cooling solution!!). Wonder what the effect will be for closed-case systems....... hmm.gif
kmarc
post Nov 1 2007, 01:52 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(tAmp0i @ Nov 1 2007, 01:46 AM)
Zotac OC Edition, default Core/Shader/Mem (660/1600/1800). Shader Clock Ratio at 2.424

Quick test at 729/1782/2072 100% fan speed with factory heatsink, artifact free for merely 4 minutes tongue.gif

Actual clock from default onwards:
(Core, MHz)
601, 604, 612, 621, 630, 632, 648, 666, 669, 675, 678, 684, 691, 694, 702, 709, 712, 720, 725, 729, 734...

(Shader, MHz)
1512, 1566, 1620, 1674, 1728, 1782, 1836...

Just for some reference wink.gif When your shader is clocked at 1800, you still get 1782 or so
4 minutes mana cukup? sweat.gif

GC's temp at 59'c ??!?!?? blink.gif shocking.gif What's your ambient?

Looks like the shader is still in an incremental value of 54mhz, but the core's incremental value is funny..... rclxub.gif

More results pls tongue.gif
kmarc
post Nov 2 2007, 05:39 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(StratOS @ Nov 2 2007, 05:25 PM)
Just got my XFX 8800GT from strongbaby.. installed and later tonight i post up the benchmark.. now still benchmarking.. hehe..

My rams now 1gb only but maybe tomolo get another 1gb for my rig.. Bottleneck is my proc.. AMD athlon 3000+ 1.8Ghz only..
Yeah, your rig will really bottleneck the card. Nice card though... smile.gif
kmarc
post Nov 2 2007, 08:16 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(StratOS @ Nov 2 2007, 06:07 PM)
there should be any.. got also ur proc lor.. PSU is sufficient..

Added on November 2, 2007, 6:23 pmI know why.. coz my CPU score 614 only.. laugh.gif total is 4440 points for my benchmark06.. aahahah
Ouch. 614 is really low. Yeah, you can easily upgrade to dual-core. Furthermore, you can get quite cheap dual-cores nowadays, maybe even 2nd hand as these proc usually last a lifetime... smile.gif
kmarc
post Nov 3 2007, 02:19 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Nov 3 2007, 01:47 AM)
I has reliable informations that the 8800GT will soon be obsolete as a GTS model is planned for the for 249 RRP bracket is coming out real soon.
Yeah, saw a few websites talking about it..... Haiyaa, already itching to get the 8800GT..... maybe will just wait and see how the 8800GTS perform....

Supposed to be the G92 (65nm) GPU right? Looks like with the G92 and 128SP, the new GTS will surpass the old GTX. Hmm.... maybe can surpass the old ultra too!!! sweat.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Nov 3 2007, 02:20 AM
kmarc
post Nov 3 2007, 03:45 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Nov 3 2007, 02:39 AM)
eh empire the 8800gts is based on the G80 right

i mean look at the
EVGA 8800gts SSC (looks like a gtx specs to me)
XFX 8800gts alpha dog edition Extreme ( Looks like a GTX koed to me)
BFG 8800gts EE OC (a wee bit less than gtx)

so far evga wrote 96+SP and BFG wrote 96++ SP
and for their previous cards they wrote 96SP

so dude u mean this cards?? they even have a MRSP on it.
I read a few links that somebody posted in one of the GT thread in LYN. Now I can't seemed to find it!!! Too many Nvidia 8 series threads.... rclxub.gif Seems link the GTS may be the G92 GPU.

QUOTE(remeron @ Nov 3 2007, 02:46 AM)
what you waiting for dude...get a GT  biggrin.gif
i got mine today, XFX and am very happy with it.
managed to clock it to 660/2000 on first try and not planning to try anymore just yet.

am playing at very high settings on crysis at 1680x1050 with no AA and at 20-30fps.
very happy.

for me, so far all the talk about GTS 65nm is well..talk.  the only confirmation we got so far from nvidia is that they will upgrade the gts to 112SP. So, i'm kinda done with the waiting game.  The GT performs almost similar to a GTX and cost soooo much less.  So, i'll just use this GT until the 9 series comes out and jump on that wagon. If there is a new GTS with 65nm, i'm sure it'll be better but maybe marginally.  so far this GT performs well and cost less.  so it's a good interim card for me until the 9s come out.
Already got my GTS 640mb ma.... Definitely the best price-for-performance card currently is the 8800GT. No question about it. smile.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0537sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 06:48 PM