New Tesla Model 3, Facelift

johnnyenglish123
post Jun 3 2024, 12:38 PM

187 posts

Guys! Want to ask the battery of performance vs long range

Is it a different battery tech?
Which battery would fair better from day to day usage?
johnnyenglish123
post Jun 3 2024, 05:41 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jun 3 2024, 04:50 PM)
If follow the original Model 3... both LR and P has same battery pack.

Not sure if current highland has higher output battery pack, the capacity looked identical though. Both are NMC usable 77.6kW battery packs.
Seen some feedback for lr it's better not to charge it to 100 and drain it to less than 10%
But for Sr is fine to do so

Which it means performance will also need to follow the same lr practice?

I tend to be lazy and plug it to charge overnight
johnnyenglish123
post Jun 3 2024, 09:04 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jun 3 2024, 08:15 PM)
Yes, Performance using NMC. Basically LFP is also battery, will be damaged if left over at 100% for long time just less apparent than NMC. Battery damage is when it has max capacity 100%, or too low charge... so weather NMC or LFP still will kena.. just LFP is less, and LFP has to go to 100% for the calibration to be more accurate. NMC has bigger voltage delta hence no need do so.

Side note, the Tesla battery BMS is smart la. You can set it to charge to just 80%, or even put it so it starts charging to get to 80% at 7am for example. So just reach home and plug in. next morning by the time u set its ready for you. And even better the battery is warm and ready to go.
So this means with performance stated 550 Km
So actual range would be around 400km ?
johnnyenglish123
post Jun 3 2024, 10:57 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jun 3 2024, 10:21 PM)
What Tesla advertises is WLTP, and what is shown in the car is EPA. And there's another based on your driving history Wh/km estimated. So there's different numbers. Mine is a M3LR 18", it shows 550km at 100% (probably less now).

Usually if 550km WLTP, probably 80% is about 440km ish would be ok. but being a performance model being floored a lot I think eventually you get much less  laugh.gif I'm guessing the performance is as efficient as the LR, but due to the 20" and wider tires for grip... cannot defy physics mah.
So save the cash and go for lr? Not worth topping up abit for performance?

And your advice is charge it from 20 to 80 max cut off. Which is good for around 400km hmm
johnnyenglish123
post Jun 7 2024, 10:23 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jun 6 2024, 03:04 PM)
laugh.gif on and off I use live sentry to check where I parked my car too  laugh.gif and being able not to rely on my hotspot also la.
Since no apple carplay/ android auto, is there a workaround on this?

Navigation need us to switch on our phone hotspot right hmm

0.0184sec    0.90    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:30 PM