18 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy Watch

Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jul 13 2024, 10:15 AM

4,474 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jul 12 2024, 01:06 PM)
one main upgrade to watch 7 is dual frequency gps...
tho if gps isnt main concern... better just buy watch 6 which can get for rm6xx brand new now...

the cmf watch 2 is interesting... but as always... current reviews are all by paid ass kissers...
seen a couple of real bad reviews already tho... guess have to wait for more real reviews... but rm339 still ok la...
well i changed my order for a galaxy 7 ultra.

with the e voucher which you can get from the samsung members app, the price drops down to RM 2039.49 Still not cheap but far better than before.

for the price point not sure i'd recommend for most people unless you can afford it and want something premium. AND ESPECIALLY only if you already have a samsung galaxy phone. I think their requirement was minimum S22+ ? I use a S24 Ultra.

if you want the regular that is about Rm1k ish. If you don't need the LTE (which uses esim), then you can go for the cheaper bluetooth model.

Then they got 40mm or 44mm. The later has a bigger battery. The price difference isn't too big between the 40mm and 44mm, so i would recommend the 44mm bluetooth if you plan to go for a galaxy 7 watch for non ultra.

By the way the AI and software tracking is NOT subscription based. they were very clear about that. So though it's pricey you still should factor in the non subscription model they are offering for this. in that sense it's not that bad. Not sure if any others are doing similar or they expect you to pay for subscriptions. But if you don't like subscriptions and u use a samsung galaxy phone, this is not a bad choice. But whether you want the galaxy 7 or ultra, depends on you though.

There are certaintly some smartwatches to be had on shopee somewhere around the RM400 mark. But keep in mind their results may not necessarily be reliable, and they might not have some of the AI tracking stuff samsung offers for this. So keep that in mind and watch all the reviews before deciding.

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Jul 13 2024, 11:04 AM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jul 13 2024, 10:45 AM

4,474 posts

The samsung galaxy 7 ultra smartwatch has 2 software features that the non ultra don't have

1. Track multi-course workouts for a triathlon from swimming to cycling to running with new Multi-sports tile. Plus, new Functional Threshold Power (FTP) for cycling accurately measures maximum cycling power in just 4 minutes with AI-powered FTP metrics43 to unlock full potential based on indicators unique to you.

2. Galaxy Watch Ultra also provides an advanced **Personalized HR Zone,**44 so you can workout at optimal intensity levels based on your physical capabilities.

This is how Personalized HR Zone works

https://news.samsung.com/global/samsungs-ex...riences-for-all

Other differences

-Bigger size and display

-Titanium instead of Aluminum

-Bigger battery (same as Watch5 Pro's battery)

-Rated for higher water pressure resistance

-Different band (and different band locking mechanism)

- has the physical buttons for quick switching modes/actions rather than waste time navigating through UI to do something

one notable difference is the weight. the ultra is about double the weight (that is even despite using titanium to be lighter)

60.5 g (2.15 oz) VS 33.8 g (44mm), 28.8 g (40mm) (1.02 oz)

Side by side spec comparison
https://www.gsmarena.com/compare.php3?idPho...&idPhone2=13127

bottomline,

if software side you don't need the multi course workout or the personalized hr zone features, the galaxy 7 non ultra should suffice.

This is however ignoring the other polish for stuff ultra has, but those are extras.

here is an actual hands on unboxing and setup followed by actual usage

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Jul 13 2024, 02:09 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jul 13 2024, 10:52 AM

4,474 posts

If you want more savings, use the samsung shop app. first time buyers is a 5% discount.

Also, if you switch to student store through the app, you can get a student discount. You need a valid .edu email to verify though.

I think first responders also get a discount though i'm not sure exactly how to apply for that, use google.

WaNaWe900
post Jul 13 2024, 11:02 AM

చąហ ąచҽ™
1,397 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jul 13 2024, 10:15 AM)
well i changed my order for a galaxy 7 ultra.

with the e voucher which you can get from the samsung members app, the price drops down to RM 2039.49  Still not cheap but far better than before.

for the price point not sure i'd recommend for most people unless you can afford it and want something premium. AND ESPECIALLY only if you already have a samsung galaxy phone. I think their requirement was minimum S22+ ? I use a S24 Ultra.
if you want the regular that is about Rm1k ish. If you don't need the LTE (which uses esim), then you can go for the cheaper bluetooth model.

Then they got 40mm or 44mm. The later has a bigger battery but most more. The price difference isn't too big, so i would recommend the 44mm bluetooth if you plan to go for a galaxy 7 watch for non ultra.
notworthy.gif Putting my thoughts together... still using W6 Classic 47mm with warranty till Aug 2025...

Really drool.gif on the Galaxy Watch Ultra (LTE, 47mm) Titanium Silver

with the voucher + trade-in can get at RM 1,839.40 hmm.gif or RM 2,039.49 w/o trade-in...

value kinda low trade-in leih doh.gif and still need buy Care+ separately later sweat.gif

Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jul 13 2024, 11:20 AM

4,474 posts

one guy stacked his vouchers like mad till get got his for $0 for the galaxy 7 44mm bluetooth (non ultra)

https://www.reddit.com/r/GalaxyWatch/commen...drew_me_to_the/

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Jul 13 2024, 11:21 AM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jul 13 2024, 11:28 AM

4,474 posts

More reviews by users coming out

apparently Watch 7 and Watch 7 Ultra can't be wirelessly charged from Samsung Phones

It's because of the new sensor - apparently it is bigger and more accurate, but they had to remove wireless charging via reverse powershare. It's a trade between accuracy and the ability to use reverse power share.

https://www.reddit.com/r/GalaxyWatch/commen..._be_wirelessly/

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Jul 13 2024, 11:29 AM
em_on
post Jul 13 2024, 11:31 AM

On My Way
612 posts

just got my fit3 that serves the exercise tracking purpose well
Cynox
post Jul 13 2024, 11:42 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

thanks, bro Moogle Stiltzkin, for the voucher heads-up. I was just buying the watch 7 for my wife to replace her spoilt Huawei watch. Saw the RM1,360 Watch Ultra voucher then immediately get myself one.

Frankly speaking, for the full price, I dun think it worth it but with such a hefty discount, just have to give it a try. biggrin.gif

Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jul 13 2024, 11:47 AM

4,474 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Jul 13 2024, 11:42 AM)
thanks, bro Moogle Stiltzkin, for the voucher heads-up.  I was just buying the watch 7 for my wife to replace her spoilt Huawei watch.  Saw the RM1,360 Watch Ultra voucher then immediately get myself one.

Frankly speaking, for the full price, I dun think it worth it but with such a hefty discount, just have to give it a try.  biggrin.gif
ur welcome.

also if anyone is wondering can you later change your mind and ammend your order?

yes. or at least i successfully managed to cancel my initial order for a galaxy 7, and can reorder the ultra.

This is dependent on upper management authorization. So i wouldn't say this is a 100% surety. So i would strongly recommend you be 100% sure of your order BEFORE you purchase.

I got lucky things went well. Either way i would have been ok with either choice. Glad i asked in case i could change my order smile.gif

Yeah i wouldn't have ordered if there was no hefty discount voucher. but even still, the price is still hefty. But for those ordering later well, that price will be even more bonkers. But this is probably their marketing gimmick to upsell, make u think u getting a deal but it's still quite costly. Really.... don't get this if it's out of your budget, it is indeed pricey and get a smartwatch for a better price than the ultra sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Jul 13 2024, 11:50 AM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jul 13 2024, 11:52 AM

4,474 posts

There is rumors whether the galaxy 7 has glucose monitoring
https://www.reddit.com/r/GalaxyWatch/commen...lucose_monitor/

sauce
https://www.techradar.com/health-fitness/sm...new-ultra-model

I feel like it's click bait. If they really did have that feature, samsung would have been yelling about it on the roof tops. That is why i am highly skeptical such a thing can be added through a software update

There's a new sensor to detect advanced glycation end-products (AGEs), which could tell about hyperglycemia https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Advanced_glycation_end-product

It is true they have ages (this also applies to the non ultra galaxy 7 smartwatch). But whether it does glucose monitoring, i'm not sure.

Even apple doesn't have that

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Jul 13 2024, 11:54 AM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jul 13 2024, 11:57 AM

4,474 posts

anyone worried about compatbility for wrist bands, saw someone post on reddit an adapter to make other bands work for the ultra

https://www.reddit.com/r/GalaxyWatch/commen...h_so_i_guess_i/

Cynox
post Jul 13 2024, 02:54 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

have to try out the original band and the free trail band first before deciding whether to get an adapter to wear my usual nato strap. I think the adaptor will be a sure thing to appear in Shopee/Lazada later.
19 Degree South
post Jul 13 2024, 05:29 PM

1,682 posts

but in my , we cannot have two sims with one phone number right? so LTE needs to have a separate phone number?
d@odao
post Jul 13 2024, 05:55 PM

Daodao
2,648 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Jul 13 2024, 05:29 PM)
but in my , we cannot have two sims with one phone number right? so LTE needs to have a separate phone number?
No. Same number. Pay rm10 per month. As for digi.
It is called airsim.
19 Degree South
post Jul 13 2024, 06:00 PM

1,682 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ Jul 13 2024, 05:55 PM)
No. Same number. Pay rm10 per month. As for digi.
It is called airsim.
Thanks for the heads up. i am with umobile and they said can't have the same number in two sims. But what's the advantage of having air sim in the watch? calling? does samsung watch has hotspot like in the phone? sorry, this is the first time using lte watch. my current watch is BT.
d@odao
post Jul 13 2024, 06:12 PM

Daodao
2,648 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Jul 13 2024, 06:00 PM)
Thanks for the heads up. i am with umobile and they said can't have the same number in two sims.  But what's the advantage of having air sim in the watch? calling?  does samsung watch has hotspot like in the phone? sorry, this is the first time using lte watch. my current watch is BT.
Lte means u can leave ur phone at home and go for a jog while still able to make phone call.
Send n received messages, wassap. Listen to streaming music like Spotify.
Basically u got data direct to ur watch.
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jul 13 2024, 06:28 PM

4,474 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Jul 13 2024, 05:29 PM)
i'm not too sure on this. but seems d@odao alrdy explained it nod.gif

but from what i saw, you can add an esim to the watch, so it can be used as a phone on its own.

or, you can simply set it up to just pair with the smartphone and use it that way.

i'll test it once it arrives end of this month. my sus is you can use it for phone by simply just pairing it. so only your smartphone the galaxy will require a phone line setup. whether it be esim or regular sim.

the esim capability on the watch simply just means it can be stand alone without use of the phone is to my understanding.

also although there is no bluetooth ultra. you can simply disable lte and use bluetooth instead (yes it has bluetooth, but there is no bluetooth only option). Reason for doing that, lte uses up more power.

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Jul 13 2024, 06:29 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jul 13 2024, 06:32 PM

4,474 posts

A side by side comparison between the samsung 7 ultra and the apply ultra

apple looks nice but it got hit by a lawsuit so one of it's blood features might be missing or something. maybe that is a US only issue? but ok elsewhere?

The 2nd issue is if you are android, and especially have a samsung galaxy, and you don't use iphones, then apple watch may not be appropriate.

hmm.gif

same apples to samsung if you are an iphone user, you might be better off using that instead?

also not to leave garmin out of this race

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Jul 13 2024, 07:12 PM
19 Degree South
post Jul 13 2024, 10:47 PM

1,682 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ Jul 13 2024, 06:12 PM)
Lte means u can leave ur phone at home and go for a jog while still able to make phone call.
Send n received messages,  wassap. Listen to streaming music like Spotify.
Basically u got data direct to ur watch.
QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jul 13 2024, 06:28 PM)
i'm not too sure on this. but seems d@odao alrdy explained it  nod.gif

but from what i saw, you can add an esim to the watch, so it can be used as a phone on its own.

or, you can simply set it up to just pair with the smartphone and use it that way.

i'll test it once it arrives end of this month. my sus is you can use it for phone by simply just pairing it. so only your smartphone the galaxy will require a phone line setup. whether it be esim or regular sim.

the esim capability on the watch simply just means it can be stand alone without use of the phone is to my understanding.
also although there is no bluetooth ultra. you can simply disable lte and use bluetooth instead (yes it has bluetooth, but there is no bluetooth only option). Reason for doing that, lte uses up more power.
Thanks for the heads up.
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jul 14 2024, 10:06 AM

4,474 posts

hands on review and setup for the Galaxy 7 Ultra watch

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Jul 14 2024, 10:07 AM

18 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0218sec    1.14    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:05 PM