[AMA] I went for hair transplant!, After delaying for so many years

TSknwong
post Jul 26 2023, 09:05 AM, updated 10 months ago

3,558 posts

Before COVID I did a lot of research on FUE hair transplant and narrowed down my choices to Thailand and Turkey. All other places like Singapore and Malaysia are either too expensive or lack of experience. Made up my mind to undergo hair transplant in Turkey at first. Even decided on which clinic already but borders were shut so plan was shelved. Back then thinking of going there as medical tourist and do some sight seeing first in Istanbul and Cappadocia before the procedure

This year I research again the available medical facilities locally and to my surprise the prices now are very competitive, even matching the price in Turkey and Thailand. Many used to charge by per graft but some are throwing in promo by locking down a price and you'll get maximum number of grafts! So I consulted a few clinics in KL and decided to go with one which I had the most confidence - A surgeon that is skilled and experienced because this is the no. 1 factor in a successful surgery.

It's been 3 weeks post my surgery, I'm happy with my hair result so far and eager to share my experience here

FAQ:
How old are you?

What Norwood scale is your Male Pattern Baldness (MPB)?

Do you have family history of MPB?

How many grafts did you plant?

How much does it cost?

Which clinic did you go to?

Is it painful?

How long was your procedure?

How long do you need to be away from work?

Did you take any hair loss medication or hair treatment before?

Are you taking any medication now?

Are you suffering from any side effects?

Why not go bald?

Will hair transplant last forever?

Any before and after pictures?

How many hair grafts do I need?

When should I expect the transplanted hair to regrow?

Any good reference where I can read up more about FUE hair transplant?

Want to document my journey here so feel free to ask questions (no trolling please) and I'll continue to update the first post with more FAQs if I get repeated questions

This post has been edited by knwong: Apr 4 2024, 09:06 AM
Aaron212
post Jul 26 2023, 09:06 AM

1,773 posts

got family history of bald spot or early hair loss?
eldenring
post Jul 26 2023, 09:10 AM

53 posts

Is it bloody? I saw instagram damn scary. Can recommend the clinic?

How much total cost including flight and hotel etc etc?

Can fly there alone and do it?
Starbucki
post Jul 26 2023, 09:40 AM

Ayam betmen
1,389 posts

Whats the extra lifelong maintenance needed. Special shampoo/treatment/meds/followups?
sparketh
post Jul 26 2023, 09:43 AM

233 posts

Wow.. this is very interesting. Is it with that Punjabi dr in bangsar ? Keep seeing her on Tok Tok. Also need to do plasma prp treatment ?

dudester
post Jul 26 2023, 09:45 AM

1,222 posts

if norwood scale 6/7, how much would it probably cost. and my hair is really find and thing and soft. i ve been having bald look for forever and ok with it. should I try this?
Blofeld
post Jul 26 2023, 09:47 AM

4,697 posts

no picture before and after?

your family history also got baldness?

do you smoke and drink?

This post has been edited by Blofeld: Jul 26 2023, 09:52 AM
fantasy1989
post Jul 26 2023, 09:50 AM

4,705 posts

which clinic u went?

and since u there for 3 weeks ..any projected total cost include food n accommodation?

This post has been edited by fantasy1989: Jul 26 2023, 09:52 AM
bengang15
post Jul 26 2023, 10:13 AM

418 posts

Isn't this a temporary solution? issue it the DHT. won't it fall back after a few years?
TSknwong
post Jul 26 2023, 10:47 AM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(Aaron212 @ Jul 26 2023, 09:06 AM)
got family history of bald spot or early hair loss?
Yes. Both my dad and younger brother is balding
TSknwong
post Jul 26 2023, 10:48 AM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(eldenring @ Jul 26 2023, 09:10 AM)
Is it bloody? I saw instagram damn scary. Can recommend the clinic?

How much total cost including flight and hotel etc etc?

Can fly there alone and do it?
Bleeding only on the day of procedure.

Where are you flying from?

Yes can fly alone, no need family members to accompany. That's what I did
TSknwong
post Jul 26 2023, 10:50 AM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(Starbucki @ Jul 26 2023, 09:40 AM)
Whats the extra lifelong maintenance needed. Special shampoo/treatment/meds/followups?
Not needed. Follow up the next day to wash your scalp and the following month for PRP
TSknwong
post Jul 26 2023, 10:53 AM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(sparketh @ Jul 26 2023, 09:43 AM)
Wow.. this is very interesting. Is it with that Punjabi dr in bangsar ? Keep seeing her on Tok Tok.  Also need to do plasma prp treatment ?
Is her Tik Tok educational or one that like to show off type? If it's the latter that's a red flag...not professional. You should go with the one that's skilled and experienced. Mine included free PRP
amirulhakimiazman
post Jul 26 2023, 10:55 AM

147 posts

12k sad.gif
TSknwong
post Jul 26 2023, 10:56 AM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(dudester @ Jul 26 2023, 09:45 AM)
if norwood scale 6/7, how much would it probably cost. and my hair is really find and thing and soft. i ve been having bald look for forever and ok with it. should I try this?
That's quite bald. Will need to extract a lot from donor area. The most number of grafts can extract is 5k per surgery. Better consult dr. to advise whether you still enough healthy donor or not
buffa
post Jul 26 2023, 10:57 AM

458 posts

Permanent?
If accident pull down how?
Not going to replant like 5 years later
TSknwong
post Jul 26 2023, 10:58 AM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Jul 26 2023, 09:47 AM)

do you smoke and drink?
Let me figure out how to upload the photos.

Yes it's in the family genetics. So nothing to do with food, drink or lifestyle. I don't smoke and just casual drinker
dudester
post Jul 26 2023, 10:58 AM

1,222 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jul 26 2023, 10:56 AM)
That's quite bald. Will need to extract a lot from donor area. The most number of grafts can extract is 5k per surgery. Better consult dr. to advise whether you still enough healthy donor or not
thank! I will skip exploring.
TSknwong
post Jul 26 2023, 11:01 AM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(bengang15 @ Jul 26 2023, 10:13 AM)
Isn't this a temporary solution? issue it the DHT. won't it fall back after a few years?
It's permanent. Transplant hair won't fall off. As you aged those that continue to shed are the original hair remaining on top of your head
TSknwong
post Jul 26 2023, 11:03 AM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(fantasy1989 @ Jul 26 2023, 09:50 AM)
which clinic u went?
and since u there for 3 weeks ..any projected total cost include food n accommodation?
I think many are confused. I flew to KL, NOT Turkey to do the transplant.
TSknwong
post Jul 26 2023, 11:06 AM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(amirulhakimiazman @ Jul 26 2023, 10:55 AM)
12k sad.gif
Recently I saw in YouTube many US artists flew to Turkey and paid USD2k with accommodation and limo provided.

Thailand I saw there's promo for THB 120k

So I felt the RM12k cost is quite alright.

Just treat it as investment like how you put down payment for property
smokey
post Jul 26 2023, 11:07 AM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

1. will the transplanted hair have the same shedding rate as the other original hair?
like will it look denser than the neighbourhood when the neighbourhood's original hairs start to shed in the future and end up looking patchy?

2. will the donor area look patchy if you always have crew cut?

3. if the area to transplant still has some original hair, will the transplanted hairs affect the original hairs there?

4. where do u find hair to transplant if you have little hair to begin with?

5. do you go out with a hat during the first few days?

This post has been edited by smokey: Jul 26 2023, 11:12 AM
zuozi
post Jul 26 2023, 11:09 AM

1,261 posts

Me over 40+ my Norwood scale still in between 1 and 2 , maybe another 10 year will become 2 and 3 could be worse? I don't know man haha.
TSknwong
post Jul 26 2023, 11:11 AM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(buffa @ Jul 26 2023, 10:57 AM)
Permanent?
If accident pull down how?
Not going to replant like 5 years later
It's permanent. After 48 hrs transplanted hair will stay there for lifetime and the only way to remove it is by surgery

smokey
post Jul 26 2023, 11:13 AM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jul 26 2023, 11:11 AM)
It's permanent. After 48 hrs transplanted hair will stay there for lifetime and the only way to remove it is by surgery
i thought the transplanted hair are living hair cells from your donor area and will still shed like normal?
max_cavalera
post Jul 26 2023, 11:16 AM

rebirth
5,613 posts

Damn. So scary. sad.gif

Lucky me, my dad, none of my uncle close relative have this issue.

Of course not all men perfect. I have slight issue with asthma then. And in my younger years, my face infested with those nasty volcanic pimple.
adamhzm90
post Jul 26 2023, 11:27 AM

1,386 posts

can do hair transplant without shaving hair?
SUStolongking
post Jul 26 2023, 11:35 AM

20 posts

Where to get oral minox?

Did you doc prescribe it to you?

Did you take oral minox before the transplant? I heard it’s godlike in encourage hair growth. Did it not work? Transplant should be the last thing to do cos it’s way too invasive and expensive

I’m probably at stage 1.5. Early 30’s. All my male relatives bald. So far finasteride has been a saver. Happy with my hair now but am also greedy for fuller hairline so that I can rock a Leon Kennedy hair style. Considering oral minox

This post has been edited by tolongking: Jul 26 2023, 11:37 AM
ashburn98
post Jul 26 2023, 12:02 PM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

Great to hear the transplant working well for you.

Say in your 50s down the road, will you (all of us) have enough donor cells for grafting new bald spots?

Does it make sense to make preparation of grafting early on, like in Scale 1-2? Healthier hair follicles or blacker hair colour maybe?

If you colour/dye your grafted hair, will the colour/chemical damage the graft?
TSknwong
post Jul 26 2023, 12:07 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(smokey @ Jul 26 2023, 11:07 AM)
1. will the transplanted hair have the same shedding rate as the other original hair?
like will it look denser than the neighbourhood when the neighbourhood's original hairs start to shed in the future and end up looking patchy?

2. will the donor area look patchy if you always have crew cut?

3. if the area to transplant still has some original hair, will the transplanted hairs affect the original hairs there?

4. where do u find hair to transplant if you have little hair to begin with?

5. do you go out with a hat during the first few days?
1. I don't think so. Grafts are harvested from the back of your head. The hair on my back doesn't shed a lot compared to the top

2. I haven't had my hair cut. It's patchy the first 2 weeks post surgery but beginning this week it look normal already after hair grow back

3. This depend on the skills and experience of the surgeon

4. I heard can take from beard...but not enough graft

5. I wear the blue surgeon head cap for the first week at home in order not to scare my family. Whenever I go out I will wear cap.
TSknwong
post Jul 26 2023, 12:08 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(zuozi @ Jul 26 2023, 11:09 AM)
Me over 40+ my Norwood scale still in between 1 and 2 , maybe another 10 year will become 2 and 3 could be worse? I don't know man haha.
Norwood 1 and 2 still OK la. No need to consider transplant
TSknwong
post Jul 26 2023, 12:10 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(smokey @ Jul 26 2023, 11:13 AM)
i thought the transplanted hair are living hair cells from your donor area and will still shed like normal?
It will behave like normal hair growth cycle. If hair fall off will grow back because the transplanted follicle remain there
prdkancil
post Jul 26 2023, 12:12 PM

218 posts

If ur dad is full bald and ur pattern is going to full bald too , no matter how many times u do hair transplant also it wont help becoz hair transplant take from donor to plant on balding area which mean ur hair count will remain same and ur balding still continue going on different area . So at the end u will end up not enuf hair count to cover ur head and look super thin hair too
TSknwong
post Jul 26 2023, 12:12 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(adamhzm90 @ Jul 26 2023, 11:27 AM)
can do hair transplant without shaving hair?
Can...many ladies do that...or those that only need to transplant in front of head. A bit leceh I heard
chiacp
post Jul 26 2023, 12:21 PM

44 posts

Whr did u get ur oral Minoxidil tablets?
bengang15
post Jul 26 2023, 12:23 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jul 26 2023, 11:01 AM)
It's permanent. Transplant hair won't fall off. As you aged those that continue to shed are the original hair remaining on top of your head
really? interesting... if that's the case..... RM12k for a permanent life time solution is worth it. might consider

what is the area of coverage for 4300 graft?

This post has been edited by bengang15: Jul 26 2023, 12:24 PM
bengang15
post Jul 26 2023, 12:27 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(prdkancil @ Jul 26 2023, 12:12 PM)
If ur dad is full bald and ur pattern is going to full bald too , no matter how many times u do hair transplant also it wont help becoz hair transplant take from donor to plant on balding area which mean ur hair count will remain same and ur balding still continue going on different area . So at the end u will end up not enuf hair count to cover ur head and look super thin hair too
i think for 40 plus it natural to have thinner hair...so this transplant helps a little. by 55 -60 i dont mind going bald already.. lol
mac_mac21
post Jul 26 2023, 12:35 PM

189 posts

Transplant hair stay the same forever?
prdkancil
post Jul 26 2023, 12:51 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(bengang15 @ Jul 26 2023, 12:23 PM)
really? interesting... if that's the case..... RM12k for a permanent life time solution is worth it. might consider

Nop it is not 100% guarantee will stay . Thy take the donor from the area which less impact by DHT example back or side of head and some ppl when grow older , side and back also go thin or bald right . And after surgery most doc will ask u better take medicine to slow down balding too .
Dont trust watever sales person / doc said , they are juz sugarcoat it . U go c youtube alot done transplant but still hairs will drop .
prdkancil
post Jul 26 2023, 12:52 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(bengang15 @ Jul 26 2023, 12:23 PM)

QUOTE(mac_mac21 @ Jul 26 2023, 12:35 PM)
Nop it is not 100% guarantee will stay . Thy take the donor from the area which less impact by DHT example back or side of head and some ppl when grow older , side and back also go thin or bald right . After surgery most doc will ask u better take medicine to slow down balding too .
Dont trust watever sales person / doc said , they are juz sugarcoat it . U go c youtube alot done transplant but still hairs will drop .
TSknwong
post Jul 26 2023, 01:09 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(prdkancil @ Jul 26 2023, 12:12 PM)
Yupe. By that age I would already be retired so no need to face so many client/people
fantasy1989
post Jul 26 2023, 01:12 PM

4,705 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jul 26 2023, 11:03 AM)
ahhh..ya ..i read your statement and dunno where you went

12k is based on 4.3k hair root right?
SUSjoe_star
post Jul 26 2023, 01:12 PM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

Nope, will still continue falling unless you take finasteride or minoxdil
TSknwong
post Jul 26 2023, 01:13 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(tolongking @ Jul 26 2023, 11:35 AM)
Where to get oral minox?

Did you doc prescribe it to you?

Did you take oral minox before the transplant? I heard it’s godlike in encourage hair growth. Did it not work? Transplant should be the last thing to do cos it’s way too invasive and expensive

I’m probably at stage 1.5. Early 30’s. All my male relatives bald. So far finasteride has been a saver. Happy with my hair now but am also greedy for fuller hairline so that I can rock a Leon Kennedy hair style. Considering oral minox
Oral minox from this same clinic

I did not take any hair medication before transplant

Norwood 1.5 no need to do transplant la
mushigen
post Jul 26 2023, 01:19 PM

4,949 posts

Is success rate dependent on the reason for balding in the first place?
Like for example, if a piece of land (your scalp) is not suitable for say durian trees (your original hair), will the new trees survive if you re-plant? Or does it involve tinkering with the soil (scalp) for greater success?
TSknwong
post Jul 26 2023, 01:23 PM

3,558 posts

Yes it will experience normal hair growth cycle thereafter

QUOTE(prdkancil @ Jul 26 2023, 12:51 PM)
Nop it is not 100% guarantee will stay . Thy take the donor from the area which less impact by DHT example back or side of head and some ppl when grow older , side and back also go thin or bald right . And after surgery most doc will ask u better take medicine to slow down balding too .
Please don't trust Youtube too much. Consult a proper surgeon, the one with credential, skills and experience. There are many clinics that provide this service but some I felt are not professional so do your own due diligence before deciding on one

I've never seen a bald person where back side go thin. It's always the top that bald. Yes dr. will advise to take medication to stimulate hair growth but it's an option, not a must

TSknwong
post Jul 26 2023, 01:25 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(fantasy1989 @ Jul 26 2023, 01:12 PM)
ahhh..ya ..i read your statement and dunno where you went

12k is based on 4.3k hair root right?
Yes. My 12k is the package price I got for maximum grafts...they determined 4.3k grafts is the right amount for my bald area
TSknwong
post Jul 26 2023, 01:27 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(joe_star @ Jul 26 2023, 01:12 PM)
Nope, will still continue falling unless you take finasteride or minoxdil
That's false information

Taking Finasteride and Minox will stimulate hair growth for original AND transplanted hair

If stop taking, the original hair will shed but transplanted hair will remain
TSknwong
post Jul 26 2023, 01:29 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Jul 26 2023, 01:19 PM)
Is success rate dependent on the reason for balding in the first place?
Like for example, if a piece of land (your scalp) is not suitable for say durian trees (your original hair), will the new trees survive if you re-plant? Or does it involve tinkering with the soil (scalp) for greater success?
Success rate depend a lot on the surgeon's skills and experience

I think what you mentioned above doesn't make any sense at all
prdkancil
post Jul 26 2023, 01:30 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jul 26 2023, 01:23 PM)
Yes it will experience normal hair growth cycle thereafter
Please don't trust Youtube too much. Consult a proper surgeon, the one with credential, skills and experience. There are many clinics that provide this service but some I felt are not professional so do your own due diligence before deciding on one

I've never seen a bald person where back side go thin. It's always the top that bald. Yes dr. will advise to take medication to stimulate hair growth but it's an option, not a must
I am not professional , i am talking about real case which ppl had done it and thy share their result also "I've never seen a bald person where back side go thin" , never thin on side or back , are you sure dry.gif even normal ppl that dont bald are getting thin (base on hair count ) at side and bck when aging .

This post has been edited by prdkancil: Jul 26 2023, 01:31 PM
mushigen
post Jul 26 2023, 01:32 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jul 26 2023, 01:29 PM)
Success rate depend a lot on the surgeon's skills and experience

I think what you mentioned above doesn't make any sense at all
I mean, if you suffer from balding in the first place, won't the root (sorry for the pun) cause of the balding affect the success and health of the transplanted hair?
TSknwong
post Jul 26 2023, 01:36 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(prdkancil @ Jul 26 2023, 01:30 PM)
I am not professional , i am talking about real case which ppl had done it and thy share their result also "I've never seen a bald person where back side go thin" ,  never thin on side or back , are you sure  dry.gif even normal ppl that dont bald are getting thin (base on hair count ) at  side and bck when aging .
So I just take your remark with pinch of salt since you are not professional

If I take my dad for example his back and side hair is still dense so I know in future mine will look like his. I have more grey hair than my dad though... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by knwong: Jul 26 2023, 03:07 PM
TSknwong
post Jul 26 2023, 01:40 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Jul 26 2023, 01:32 PM)
I mean, if you suffer from balding in the first place,  won't the root (sorry for the pun) cause of the balding affect the success and health of the transplanted hair?
I don't think so...transplanted hair is not affected by surrounding roots of original hair...I think that's what you meant in the first place?
fantasy1989
post Jul 26 2023, 01:40 PM

4,705 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jul 26 2023, 01:25 PM)
Yes. My 12k is the package price I got for maximum grafts...they determined 4.3k grafts is the right amount for my bald area
thanks..let me know where is the clinic

me and my friend interested
zuozi
post Jul 26 2023, 01:44 PM

1,261 posts

QUOTE(bengang15 @ Jul 26 2023, 12:27 PM)
i think for 40 plus it natural to have thinner hair...so this transplant helps a little. by 55 -60 i dont mind going bald already.. lol
Yes if your life already successful with wife and children, no longer care about appearance especially hair , sometimes i even want to bagi botak after shower instant dry and hassle free haha 🤣
youngblood29us
post Jul 26 2023, 01:56 PM

564 posts

parking for future ref.. biggrin.gif thanks TS..If possible, let us know which clinic..or PM tepi biggrin.gif
mushigen
post Jul 26 2023, 01:57 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jul 26 2023, 01:40 PM)
I don't think so...transplanted hair is not affected by surrounding roots of original hair...I think that's what you meant in the first place?
What I mean is, say your balding pattern is caused by oily scalp (just a random example). Unless you do something about the oily scalp, won't the new hair be affected by your oily scalp and fall off too?
SUStolongking
post Jul 26 2023, 02:23 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(zuozi @ Jul 26 2023, 01:44 PM)
Yes if your life already successful with wife and children, no longer care about appearance especially hair , sometimes i even want to bagi botak after shower instant dry and hassle free haha 🤣
By your logic, no one would buy Rolex or a Mercedes. Of course it matters. Pffft
zuozi
post Jul 26 2023, 02:28 PM

1,261 posts

QUOTE(tolongking @ Jul 26 2023, 02:23 PM)
By your logic, no one would buy Rolex or a Mercedes. Of course it matters. Pffft
If i already can afford Conti vehicle and luxury watches why i still care how ppl look at me 😅 .
bengang15
post Jul 26 2023, 02:40 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(zuozi @ Jul 26 2023, 01:44 PM)
hmmm...if possible dont bald before 55 la...if can preserve a bit...for sure if u are as rich as that jeff bezos sure...
zeese
post Jul 26 2023, 02:44 PM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

can we see pictures of your head scalp? before transplant and today's progress.
Avangelice
post Jul 26 2023, 02:44 PM

5,270 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jul 26 2023, 11:11 AM)
Where was the graft from?
TSknwong
post Jul 26 2023, 03:03 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Jul 26 2023, 01:57 PM)
What I mean is, say your balding pattern is caused by oily scalp (just a random example). Unless you do something about the oily scalp, won't the new hair be affected by your oily scalp and fall off too?
This sound like Yun Nam snake oil salesman pitch.

No. Oily scalp should not affect the transplanted hair. I have oily scalp and face too
TSknwong
post Jul 26 2023, 03:17 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jul 26 2023, 02:44 PM)
Where was the graft from?
From back of your head. They extract 1 by 1 so very labour intensive. Modern clinic I saw in Youtube they use ARTAS robot
Max204
post Jul 26 2023, 03:30 PM

405 posts

if Norwood scale 3-4, worth to do it?

I am interested, please share the clinic and surgeon name icon_question.gif

SUSjoe_star
post Jul 26 2023, 03:54 PM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jul 26 2023, 01:27 PM)
That's false information

Taking Finasteride and Minox will stimulate hair growth for original AND transplanted hair

If stop taking, the original hair will shed but transplanted hair will remain
Sorry, my mistake.

But the transplanted hair is not usually enough to maintain an appearance of a decent head of hair, especially on the crown

Still need to maintain the other original hairs around the grafts, only way to do that is with finasteride and minoxdil
TSknwong
post Jul 26 2023, 03:58 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(Max204 @ Jul 26 2023, 03:30 PM)
if Norwood scale 3-4, worth to do it?

I am interested, please share the clinic and surgeon name  icon_question.gif

I think worth to explore. How old are you?
mushigen
post Jul 26 2023, 04:02 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jul 26 2023, 03:03 PM)
This sound like Yun Nam snake oil salesman pitch.

No. Oily scalp should not affect the transplanted hair. I have oily scalp and face too
It's just a random example, plucked from thin air.
kawa_e
post Jul 26 2023, 04:13 PM

383 posts

Can pm details of surgeon and location ?
Might ask my brother to check it out.
Thank you in advance

takr
post Jul 26 2023, 04:16 PM

39 posts

Very interesting AMA!
1) How do you decide the "new" hairline? Is it a cost thing or to look like before balding/younger or enhanced or somewhere in between?
2) are you changing your hairstyle?
3) Any plans how to handle queries about your new look?

This post has been edited by takr: Jul 26 2023, 04:20 PM
marfccy
post Jul 26 2023, 04:16 PM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

interesting, i might keep this in check cause male baldness runs in my family

my dad and younger bro kena, dad close to 70s norwood 7 since 50s. my younger bro is prolly 3/4 and <30yo

so far my hair still look thick so im hoping i got the good end of the genetic lottery
TSknwong
post Jul 26 2023, 04:51 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(takr @ Jul 26 2023, 04:16 PM)
Very interesting AMA!
1) How do you decide the "new" hairline? Is it a cost thing or to look like before balding/younger or enhanced or somewhere in between?
2) are you changing your hairstyle?
3) Any plans how to handle queries about your new look?
1. TBH I did not decide on the hairline. They use laser to draw a symmetrical line on my forehead and ask whether I'm OK wit it...I just said OK
2. I plan to once I have fuller hair. Now too early to decide...keep checking mirror everyday...very excited
3. Today is my first day coming back to office. TBH no one care about my new bald look. Only 1 colleague ask me in toilet why I cut my hair so short... sweat.gif
TSknwong
post Jul 26 2023, 06:32 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Jul 26 2023, 04:16 PM)
interesting, i might keep this in check cause male baldness runs in my family

my dad and younger bro kena, dad close to 70s norwood 7 since 50s. my younger bro is prolly 3/4 and <30yo

so far my hair still look thick so im hoping i got the good end of the genetic lottery
Baldness is heritable so probably just a matter of time. Your brother suffer it earlier likely because of his eating and lifestyle
JimbeamofNRT
post Jul 26 2023, 07:06 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jul 26 2023, 09:05 AM)

Want to document my journey here so feel free to ask questions (no trolling please) and I'll continue to update the first post with more FAQs if I get repeated questions
it looks painful

Sizty
post Jul 26 2023, 08:08 PM

159 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jul 26 2023, 04:51 PM)
1. TBH I did not decide on the hairline. They use laser to draw a symmetrical line on my forehead and ask whether I'm OK wit it...I just said OK
2. I plan to once I have fuller hair. Now too early to decide...keep checking mirror everyday...very excited
3. Today is my first day coming back to office. TBH no one care about my new bald look. Only 1 colleague ask me in toilet why I cut my hair so short... sweat.gif
Please pm me clinic name and doctor's name. Thanks.
TSknwong
post Jul 26 2023, 08:19 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Jul 26 2023, 07:06 PM)
it looks painful

If you feel pain during the procedure, just let them know and they'll administer more anaesthetic to your scalp. Afterwards no more pain

Throughout the process you'll be given muscle relaxant pills so you'll feel relax and half-awake.

The next day after they wash off the scab your head will be less red and few days later it'll heal - similar experience like what the guy in the video and I went through

This post has been edited by knwong: Jul 26 2023, 08:48 PM
TSknwong
post Jul 26 2023, 08:48 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Jul 26 2023, 09:47 AM)

do you smoke and drink?
QUOTE(zeese @ Jul 26 2023, 02:44 PM)
can we see pictures of your head scalp? before transplant and today's progress.
Updated first post with some photos. Finally...
Mr.Robert
post Jul 26 2023, 09:01 PM

293 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jul 26 2023, 10:47 AM)
Why is your motivation doing hair transplant?

Attract girl?
TSknwong
post Jul 26 2023, 09:16 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Robert @ Jul 26 2023, 09:01 PM)
Why is your motivation doing hair transplant?

Attract girl?
Boost self confidence

Career advancement
em_on
post Jul 26 2023, 09:17 PM

On My Way
612 posts

Congrats! I’ve a question if you don’t mind me ask, after the transplant it will not go bald again ?
debonairs91
post Jul 26 2023, 09:19 PM

1,013 posts

What's your profession actually?
TSknwong
post Jul 26 2023, 09:25 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(debonairs91 @ Jul 26 2023, 09:19 PM)
What's your profession actually?
Manager
Blofeld
post Jul 26 2023, 09:39 PM

4,697 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jul 26 2023, 10:47 AM)
how old is your younger brother?
Panda12
post Jul 26 2023, 09:39 PM

1,106 posts

How long has it been? And has any of your friends or colleagues noticed it so far?
raulxiver
post Jul 26 2023, 09:42 PM

348 posts

At what age u start hair fall badly?

If transplanted hair fall, will the doc give free retransplant or any kind of warranty?

This post has been edited by raulxiver: Jul 26 2023, 09:50 PM
TSknwong
post Jul 26 2023, 09:54 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Jul 26 2023, 09:39 PM)
how old is your younger brother?
He’s 35 this year. He already had it for many years
TSknwong
post Jul 26 2023, 09:56 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(Panda12 @ Jul 26 2023, 09:39 PM)
How long has it been? And has any of your friends or colleagues noticed it so far?
3 weeks after my surgery now. Today only I went back office

TBH they don’t even bother about my new hair. Only 1 close colleague asked why I cut my hair so short. LOL
TSknwong
post Jul 26 2023, 10:01 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(raulxiver @ Jul 26 2023, 09:42 PM)
At what age u start hair fall badly?

If transplanted hair fall, will the doc give free retransplant or any kind of warranty?
Can’t exactly recall but if I look back my old photos should be early 30s

According to statistic only 1 in 200 cases will fail. That’s very lucky of you if kena. It’s a risk worth to take la

Never ask about warranty. I don’t think there is such thing
augusta23
post Jul 26 2023, 10:57 PM

329 posts

Thanks for sharing your experience.

Prior to the treatment, is it obvious to the others that your hair is thinning? Or it will be less obvious if the hair is longer.

TSknwong
post Jul 26 2023, 11:15 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(augusta23 @ Jul 26 2023, 10:57 PM)
Thanks for sharing your experience.

Prior to the treatment, is it obvious to the others that your hair is thinning? Or it will be less obvious if the hair is longer.
It’s obvious for me with the M shape head. Long hair won’t cover for me
JessicaAlba
post Jul 26 2023, 11:56 PM

158 posts

12k for 4.3k grafts man thats cheap af
Zhik
post Jul 27 2023, 12:03 AM

eeerrrmmmnnn, stupidity has no limit?
1,216 posts

Good luck ts

farid_cool
post Jul 27 2023, 12:07 AM

529 posts

Macam menarik. Harga pon murah.
cempedaklife
post Jul 27 2023, 12:19 AM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

thank you for sharing this.
Medusakia
post Jul 27 2023, 12:30 AM

162 posts

Why wasted 12k? You should ask here want hair just spend few hundreds within few weeks hair tumbuh no side effect cost effective
kevraul
post Jul 27 2023, 12:41 AM

mr.
1,407 posts

how did you get the prescription for minoxidil?
TSknwong
post Jul 27 2023, 12:44 AM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(Medusakia @ Jul 27 2023, 12:30 AM)
Why wasted 12k? You should ask here want hair just spend few hundreds within few weeks hair tumbuh no side effect cost effective
What method is available aside from hair transplant? It’s the only medically proven method or taking Finasteride and minox.

12k i consider it as life long investment, amount I already set aside many years ago

This post has been edited by knwong: Jul 27 2023, 12:46 AM
TSknwong
post Jul 27 2023, 12:47 AM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(kevraul @ Jul 27 2023, 12:41 AM)
how did you get the prescription for minoxidil?
The same clinic I did my surgery. They give you list of medication that you can choose to take
playnice96
post Jul 28 2023, 08:50 AM

48 posts

Any side effects from oral minoxidil like body hair grow?
Also can you get oral minoxidil from pharmacy?
Cause I can get those spray type minoxidil and finasteride from anu pharmacy.
sanwaltz
post Jul 28 2023, 09:16 AM

51 posts

any tip for us on what's considered as over-expectation on hair transplant procedure?, like don't expect this or that
poweredbydiscuz
post Jul 28 2023, 09:29 AM

3,832 posts

Thanks for sharing. If you don't mind, any "before" pictures?
TSknwong
post Jul 28 2023, 09:46 AM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(playnice96 @ Jul 28 2023, 08:50 AM)
Any side effects from oral minoxidil like body hair grow?
Also can you get oral minoxidil from pharmacy?
Cause I can get those spray type minoxidil and finasteride from anu pharmacy.
I think it’s meant to suppress DHT for the hair on the head. Other body parts don’t have that

I don’t know any pharmacy selling oral minox

This post has been edited by knwong: Jul 28 2023, 10:23 AM
TSknwong
post Jul 28 2023, 10:02 AM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(sanwaltz @ Jul 28 2023, 09:16 AM)
any tip for us on what's considered as over-expectation on hair transplant procedure?, like don't expect this or that
Don’t expect new hair growth will happen immediately

Transplanted hair will shed 2-3 weeks after surgery, which I am experiencing now. New hair will grow few months after that

So trust the process
aizielectreon
post Jul 28 2023, 10:25 AM

where am i???
593 posts

if scalp got seborrheic dermatitis do you think its ok to do?

mine is 3-4 now. the top already nipis. got white hairs already. look damn old ady

35 years old now lmao
TSknwong
post Jul 28 2023, 11:14 AM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Jul 28 2023, 09:29 AM)
Thanks for sharing. If you don't mind, any "before" pictures?
Uploaded. Check my first post
TSknwong
post Jul 28 2023, 11:27 AM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(aizielectreon @ Jul 28 2023, 10:25 AM)
if scalp got seborrheic dermatitis do you think its ok to do?

mine is 3-4 now. the top already nipis. got white hairs already. look damn old ady

35 years old now lmao
I’m not medical expert. Suggest consult surgeon

White hair is still precious. Can still turn back to black if adjust lifestyle. So I request white hair also can extract and plant it

This post has been edited by knwong: Jul 28 2023, 05:31 PM
TSknwong
post Jul 29 2023, 09:25 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(ashburn98 @ Jul 26 2023, 12:02 PM)
Great to hear the transplant working well for you.

Say in your 50s down the road, will you (all of us) have enough donor cells for grafting new bald spots?

Does it make sense to make preparation of grafting early on, like in Scale 1-2? Healthier hair follicles or blacker hair colour maybe?

If you colour/dye your grafted hair, will the colour/chemical damage the graft?
Realized I missed your question

When you are older we will still have some donor hair, albeit less quality. Clinic I went to, their oldest patient is 80 years old. Lol. Average patient age is mid-30s

Norwood 1/2 no need transplant la. Graft extracted can only last few hours outside your body so on same day must get it planted

You can begin dyeing grafted hair few months later once you have fuller hair
augusta23
post Jul 29 2023, 10:10 PM

329 posts

So the hair was “planted” only at the forehead region? How about the middle/top part? I see hair is still sparse
TSknwong
post Jul 30 2023, 07:37 AM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(augusta23 @ Jul 29 2023, 10:10 PM)
So the hair was “planted” only at the forehead region? How about the middle/top part? I see hair is still sparse
They also plant at other regions. You are not seeing hair at the middle/top part because there are still original hairs there and yet to grow. They put more at the forehead because I no longer have hairs there, thus bringing down my hairline a lot

billylks
post Jul 30 2023, 03:27 PM

180 posts

My friend also did hair transplant locally, cost 6k (less hair transplanted for sure).

He did it last year. So far no complaint.

My only complain about him is scared of cutting his hair now, so the hair grows long unruly
ry8128
post Jul 30 2023, 04:42 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,632 posts

Really informative, good job ts! Park here just for future questions.

Btw, just to know, does this transplant need you to go fully bald for the procedure?

And is this hair permanent? Or more grafting needed adter certain time?
delphine.88
post Jul 30 2023, 05:03 PM

143 posts

How do they choose your hair roots?
Or u get to choose the type you want?
E.g certain hairs are curly type, some are straight
mataharih
post Jul 30 2023, 06:18 PM

355 posts

RM12k is worth investing in your looks…thanks for sharing. I’m not a male and not impacted by MPB but am fascinated by the process…am surprised that with all our technological advances, there is still no cure for MPB.

Do update this thread from time to time to show us your new hair growth.

This post has been edited by mataharih: Jul 30 2023, 06:18 PM
TSknwong
post Jul 30 2023, 08:54 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(billylks @ Jul 30 2023, 03:27 PM)
My friend also did hair transplant locally, cost 6k (less hair transplanted for sure).

He did it last year. So far no complaint.

My only complain about him is scared of cutting his hair now, so the hair grows long unruly
Long hair is a good problem to have :-)

How old and what’s his Norwood scale before transplant?
TSknwong
post Jul 30 2023, 08:58 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Jul 30 2023, 04:42 PM)
Really informative, good job ts! Park here just for future questions.

Btw, just to know, does this transplant need you to go fully bald for the procedure?

And is this hair permanent? Or more grafting needed adter certain time?
For smaller number of grafts I think no need to go fully bald, especially if you only do the frontal zone. Ladies hair transplant for example

Transplanted hair will stay permanent. More grafting needed once the remaining original hair on your head start to shed
billylks
post Jul 30 2023, 09:37 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jul 30 2023, 08:54 PM)
Long hair is a good problem to have :-)

How old and what’s his Norwood scale before transplant?
I would say number 4.

He is 60yo. And since he already did hair transplant, he went for facelift too. This guy is rich and I support his actions on rejuvenating his appearance -- just spend your money lah, keep for what? Lol
TSknwong
post Jul 30 2023, 09:41 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(delphine.88 @ Jul 30 2023, 05:03 PM)
How do they choose your hair roots?
Or u get to choose the type you want?
E.g certain hairs are curly type, some are straight
You don't get to choose la. Need to trust the surgeon and the team for doing their best

During lunch time I saw my extracted grafts they put in a blue saline container...each got 2 - 3 hairs per graft...I guess is to ensure higher survival rate?

My hair is straight. If you have curly hairs I guess you need to find experienced surgeon that have done that before
ry8128
post Jul 30 2023, 10:13 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,632 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jul 30 2023, 08:58 PM)
For smaller number of grafts I think no need to go fully bald, especially if you only do the frontal zone. Ladies hair transplant for example

Transplanted hair will stay permanent. More grafting needed once the remaining original hair on your head start to shed
As for your case, u need to go fully bald?

And any reason why dr give you 3 days MC? Is it due to the procedure had side effects and still very painful few days after it?

Can we take a bath on the next day after the procedure?

To be honest, i very interested to try this sweat.gif
TSknwong
post Jul 31 2023, 10:28 AM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(mataharih @ Jul 30 2023, 06:18 PM)
RM12k is worth investing in your looks…thanks for sharing. I’m not a male and not impacted by MPB but am fascinated by the process…am surprised that with all our technological advances, there is still no cure for MPB.

Do update this thread from time to time to show us your new hair growth.
Thanks yes I will. The only cure now is to alter the gene for newborn but it’s unethical 😊
xCM
post Jul 31 2023, 11:31 AM

535 posts

Pm clinic info. Any pics on front after surgery? Looking good.
Boldnut
post Jul 31 2023, 11:42 AM

2,209 posts

PJ clinic should be either Inder or Ruban.
TSknwong
post Jul 31 2023, 01:42 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Jul 30 2023, 10:13 PM)
As for your case, u need to go fully bald?

And any reason why dr give you 3 days MC? Is it due to the procedure had side effects and still very painful few days after it?

Can we take a bath on the next day after the procedure?

To be honest, i very interested to try this  sweat.gif
Yes I went fully bald because it's a major surgery. If small number of grafts, then maybe no need fully bald

MC start on the day you have your surgery. 2nd day you need to come back for head wash. Technically you only need 2 days MC. No side effect la. Pain you experience only when they inject anesthetic into your scalp at the start of procedure. After that no more pain.

You can take bath on the same day of surgery after you get home, they'll wrap your head with surgeon cap. Just don't wet your head
homerthewhopper
post Jul 31 2023, 02:01 PM

always low on budget
1,020 posts

Where they got the hair graft? Which part?
eldenring
post Jul 31 2023, 02:03 PM

53 posts

Finasteride - many ask me to eat, but i dont dare. coz too many side effects. kukujiao cannot use
TSknwong
post Jul 31 2023, 03:04 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(homerthewhopper @ Jul 31 2023, 02:01 PM)
Where they got the hair graft? Which part?
They extract from the back of your head
hoonanoo
post Aug 1 2023, 05:09 PM

1,782 posts

Before COVID did a lot of research on FUE hair transplant and narrowed down my choices to Thailand and Turkey. All other places like Singapore and Malaysia are either too expensive or lack of experience. Made up my mind to undergo hair transplant in Turkey at first. Even decided on which clinic already but borders were shut so plan was shelved. Back then thinking of going there as medical tourist and do some sight seeing first in Istanbul and Cappadocia before the procedure

This year I research again the available medical facilities locally and to my surprise the prices now are very competitive, even matching the price offered in Turkey and Thailand. Many used to charge by per graft but some are throwing in promo by locking down a price and you'll get maximum number of grafts! So I consulted a few clinics in KL and decided to go with one which I had the most confidence - A surgeon that is skilled and experienced because this is the no. 1 factor in a successful surgery.

It's been 3 weeks post my surgery, I'm happy with my hair result so far and eager to share my experience here

FAQ:
How old are you?

What Norwood scale is your Male Pattern Baldness (MPB)?

Do you have family history of MPB?

How many grafts did you plant?

How much does it cost?

Which clinic did you go to?

Is it painful?

How long was your procedure?

How long do you need to be away from work?

Did you take any hair loss medication or hair treatment before?

Are you taking any medication now?

Are you suffering from any side effects?

Why not go bald?

Are there any other benefits in doing hair transplant?

Any good reference where I can read up more about FUE hair transplant?

so after implant, ur hair grows?

TSknwong
post Aug 2 2023, 07:26 AM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Aug 1 2023, 05:09 PM)
so after implant, ur hair grows?
Currently I’m going through hair shock loss process. After few weeks fingers crossed it’ll grow again. Very anxious

Btw it’s transplant, not implant. Implant is where you use synthetic hair. Transplant is where you use donor hair. Like heart implant they put mechanical pump whereas heart transplant they’ll use donor’s heart
hoonanoo
post Aug 2 2023, 09:41 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Aug 2 2023, 07:26 AM)
Currently I’m going through hair shock loss process. After few weeks fingers crossed it’ll grow again. Very anxious
Btw it’s transplant, not implant. Implant is where you use synthetic hair. Transplant is where you use donor hair. Like heart implant they put mechanical pump whereas heart transplant they’ll use donor’s heart
actually it is quite trendy these days for bald men.

why waste money on hair transplant?
TSknwong
post Aug 2 2023, 10:52 AM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Aug 2 2023, 09:41 AM)
actually it is quite trendy these days for bald men.

why waste money on hair transplant?
Like I said in my first post, I don't have the right head shape

It doesn't burn a hole in my pocket because I've set aside the $$ already. I treat it as investment
hoonanoo
post Aug 2 2023, 11:03 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Aug 2 2023, 10:52 AM)
Like I said in my first post, I don't have the right head shape

It doesn't burn a hole in my pocket because I've set aside the $$ already. I treat it as investment
married already?
TSknwong
post Aug 2 2023, 04:35 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Aug 2 2023, 11:03 AM)
married already?
Yupe
TSknwong
post Aug 10 2023, 11:37 AM

3,558 posts

Updated first post with 1 month progress photo
NoSheep
post Aug 17 2023, 01:00 PM

50 posts

Hey, thanks for sharing. Might need it in future.
giftfre
post Aug 17 2023, 01:12 PM

Control Macho
677 posts

Hi, do the hair may still loss after years after the transplant process?

This post has been edited by giftfre: Aug 17 2023, 01:12 PM
Archiou
post Aug 17 2023, 04:10 PM

46 posts

Thanks TS for the great details! Might need this later stage.
Can PM clinics details pls
TSknwong
post Aug 17 2023, 07:09 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(giftfre @ Aug 17 2023, 01:12 PM)
Hi, do the hair may still loss after years after the transplant process?
Transplant hair stay permanent throughout your lifetime.

KuzumiTaiga
post Aug 17 2023, 07:56 PM

Spends too much time with mechanical keyboards
3,313 posts

Know a couple of people who did FUE with favourable results. Trust me nobody will be able to tell you have a bad transplant hairline since hair transplant isn’t commonly known here.

Good luck
peterG
post Aug 17 2023, 08:07 PM

303 posts

Thanks for sharing.. may it the infos.. all the best
TSknwong
post Aug 18 2023, 07:20 AM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(KuzumiTaiga @ Aug 17 2023, 07:56 PM)
Know a couple of people who did FUE with favourable results. Trust me nobody will be able to tell you have a bad transplant hairline since hair transplant isn’t commonly known here.

Good luck

I saw it’s quite common in the entertainment industries like celebrities or those that need to appear a lot on public / camera
elmolee
post Aug 18 2023, 07:35 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Aug 17 2023, 07:09 PM)
Transplant hair stay permanent throughout your lifetime.
but why Wayne rooney lost his hair after transplant? 🤔
TSknwong
post Aug 18 2023, 07:48 AM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(elmolee @ Aug 18 2023, 07:35 AM)
but why Wayne rooney lost his hair after transplant? 🤔
Normally those that continue to shed are original hair, not transplanted hair.

Many who did hair transplant in their 20s will come back in their 30s for 2nd treatment as long as still have enough healthy donors
noobieneub
post Aug 18 2023, 08:51 PM

74 posts

Interesting AMA, can you get the oral Minoxidil from the clinic if you don't do a HT with them? How much does it cost?

Also, was your procedure FUE or FUT?
TSknwong
post Aug 19 2023, 06:55 AM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(noobieneub @ Aug 18 2023, 08:51 PM)
Interesting AMA, can you get the oral Minoxidil from the clinic if you don't do a HT with them? How much does it cost?

Also, was your procedure FUE or FUT?
I don’t think so. It cost RM120 for 30 tablets

Now all places offer FUE already. No more clinics offer FUT already because there are so many disadvantages to it. Almost impossible to find places that offer FUT
Xccess
post Aug 19 2023, 08:00 AM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

Minox and finastride is lifetime commitment, you intend to stop after 3 months?
TSknwong
post Aug 19 2023, 09:05 AM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Aug 19 2023, 08:00 AM)
Minox and finastride is lifetime commitment, you intend to stop after 3 months?
The drugs are used to stimulate growth of original hair that remained on top of our head

Transplanted hair don’t need those
Breaktru
post Aug 19 2023, 09:56 AM

== The World ==
1,769 posts

Really can't stand those who kept asking why not going bald. Asian, likely Cainis head and face structure , some look terrible in bald . For example mine is like pear shaped.

This post has been edited by Breaktru: Aug 19 2023, 09:58 AM
TSknwong
post Aug 19 2023, 10:51 AM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(Breaktru @ Aug 19 2023, 09:56 AM)
Really can't stand those who kept asking why not going bald. Asian, likely Cainis head and face structure , some  look terrible in bald . For example mine is like pear shaped.
True. Even if you have best head shape majority of people, Asian women especially actually find balding man are very unattractive...contrary to what many online articles are saying
Sha91
post Aug 19 2023, 12:07 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Aug 19 2023, 10:51 AM)
True. Even if you have best head shape majority of people, Asian women especially actually find balding man are very unattractive...contrary to what many online articles are saying
And hamsap look.

Good to hear that you are progressing well!
lolo7001
post Aug 20 2023, 10:57 PM

26 posts

Hi TS, thanks a lot for all the useful information.
If you don't mind, pm which clinic/doctor did you go to for the procedure 🙏🏻
And why did you choose that particular clinic compared to others?
I'm interested in doing hair transplant as I'm in my late 30's with Norwood stage 2A.
Thank you.
sihamsedap
post Aug 21 2023, 07:05 AM

93 posts

need to cut all hair before go transplant ke

quite funny day 0 got a lot hair then after that no hair lulz

TSknwong
post Aug 21 2023, 08:04 AM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(sihamsedap @ Aug 21 2023, 07:05 AM)
need to cut all hair before go transplant ke

quite funny day 0 got a lot hair then after that no hair lulz
Mine is consider major surgery (so many grafts) so need to shave. If only do the frontal scalp and only small number of grafts then no need to fully shave but a bit leceh...like this fella

This post has been edited by knwong: Aug 21 2023, 08:22 AM
sihamsedap
post Aug 21 2023, 08:52 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Aug 21 2023, 08:04 AM)
Mine is consider major surgery (so many grafts) so need to shave. If only do the frontal scalp and only small number of grafts then no need to fully shave but a bit leceh...like this fella

yea i saw this vid sometime ago coz i follow his food vlog... but he seldom show his after op result
noobieneub
post Aug 23 2023, 01:48 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Aug 19 2023, 06:55 AM)
I don’t think so. It cost RM120 for 30 tablets

Now all places offer FUE already. No more clinics offer FUT already because there are so many disadvantages to it. Almost impossible to find places that offer FUT
Ah that seems a reasonable price. Aih, seems nowhere to get oral Minoxidol in Malaysia.

Re: FUE/FUT had thought that FUT was just different because it's strip vs folicular, depending if you need many or fewer?
ferros
post Aug 27 2023, 06:15 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jul 26 2023, 01:25 PM)
Hey bro. Can pm me the clinic please? Also suffer from baldness and would like to explore more on this. Thanks.
TSknwong
post Sep 3 2023, 08:16 AM

3,558 posts

Updated first post with FAQ on how many hair grafts needed for hair transplant
acskjw
post Oct 1 2023, 11:13 AM

QUOTE(knwong @ Sep 3 2023, 08:16 AM)
Updated first post with FAQ on how many hair grafts needed for hair transplant
Hi knwong, thanks for the detailed information. I'm also experiencing MBP hairloss issue. Do you mind to share the clinic you went to?
Thank you.
TSknwong
post Oct 8 2023, 09:34 AM

3,558 posts

Updated first post with 3rd month progress photo. Already noticeable difference to a lot of people that I regularly meet
hakim182
post Nov 23 2023, 03:14 PM

103 posts

Great progress!
rx330
post Nov 23 2023, 03:35 PM

11,808 posts

ahh good thread

I having those minoxidil, then see need to tanam or not
but before going for a 2nd review, sadly my doctor passed away
playnice96
post Nov 23 2023, 03:43 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Nov 23 2023, 03:35 PM)
ahh good thread

I having those minoxidil, then see need to tanam or not
but before going for a 2nd review, sadly my doctor passed away
Dr shah at subang?
rx330
post Nov 23 2023, 04:41 PM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(playnice96 @ Nov 23 2023, 03:43 PM)
Dr shah at subang?
yea man

RIP
smokey
post Nov 23 2023, 10:36 PM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Nov 23 2023, 04:41 PM)
yea man

RIP
what happened to him?
adamhzm90
post Nov 24 2023, 07:22 AM

1,386 posts

QUOTE(smokey @ Nov 23 2023, 10:36 PM)
what happened to him?
Passed away in his sleep
SUStolongking
post Dec 3 2023, 12:30 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(chiacp @ Jul 26 2023, 12:21 PM)
Whr did u get ur oral Minoxidil tablets?
I got 100 x 10mg oral minox pills in a pharmacy in Hatyai 300 baht. It was the first pharmacy I asked so I don’t think it’s hard to find. They don’t have 5mg so I’m gonna try asking some other pharmacy when I arrive Bangkok later.

SUStolongking
post Dec 3 2023, 12:31 AM

20 posts

I need 5mg cos it’s easier to cut into 1.25mg each. I’ll try that for a start. I bought 10mg pills on impulse cos 300 baht is just too good to resist.
xenon_aniki
post Dec 3 2023, 10:11 AM

1,069 posts

Thank you for your beautiful sharing. I am at early 40s and have had hair loss since my early 30s. When you said it lasted forever mean the hair will keep growing every time it fall out?

Thank you in advance
TSknwong
post Dec 3 2023, 11:34 AM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(xenon_aniki @ Dec 3 2023, 10:11 AM)
Thank you for your beautiful sharing. I am at early 40s and have had hair loss since my early 30s. When you said it lasted forever mean the hair will keep growing every time it fall out?

Thank you in advance
Yes. The transplanted hair will keep growing. What is your Norwood scale now?

This post has been edited by knwong: Dec 3 2023, 11:36 AM
TSknwong
post Dec 3 2023, 11:36 AM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(tolongking @ Dec 3 2023, 12:31 AM)
I need 5mg cos it’s easier to cut into 1.25mg each. I’ll try that for a start. I bought 10mg pills on impulse cos 300 baht is just too good to resist.
Normally 10mg oral minox is meant for high blood pressure

The one that took that the surgeon prescribe is 2.5mg
SUStolongking
post Dec 3 2023, 11:45 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Dec 3 2023, 11:36 AM)
Normally 10mg oral minox is meant for high blood pressure

The one that took that the surgeon prescribe is 2.5mg
it's 2.5mg if you take a pill cutter to cut a 10mg pill into 4 pieces.

This post has been edited by tolongking: Dec 3 2023, 11:45 AM
blue litmus
post Dec 4 2023, 04:07 PM

47 posts

Is the clinic still available?...im in my late 20s also having thinning & balding issue with my crown, female btw. Relatives said it might be due to stress but it has been years..hair seems to not grow back and it keeps getting worse
TSknwong
post Dec 4 2023, 07:35 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(blue litmus @ Dec 4 2023, 04:07 PM)
Is the clinic still available?...im in my late 20s also having thinning & balding issue with my crown, female btw. Relatives said it might be due to stress but it has been years..hair seems to not grow back and it keeps getting worse
Yes. The surgeon that attend to me is also a female so you should be comfortable consulting her
smokey
post Dec 4 2023, 08:09 PM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

any latest progress update picture?
TSknwong
post Dec 4 2023, 10:37 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(smokey @ Dec 4 2023, 08:09 PM)
any latest progress update picture?
The latest pic was posted 2 weeks ago in the 1st post. No big change yet wink.gif

fist_Aileron
post Dec 5 2023, 07:21 AM

307 posts

Egypt is much cheaper. Rm3-4k reputable clinic. Sometimes you can get rm1k+ during promotion 😉
They are very skillfull and better equipped. All the harvesting, implantation were done by doctors, not nurses.

Opt for the more expensive ones though at rm4k. Well worth it.
TSknwong
post Dec 5 2023, 09:02 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(fist_Aileron @ Dec 5 2023, 07:21 AM)
Egypt is much cheaper. Rm3-4k reputable clinic. Sometimes you can get rm1k+ during promotion 😉
They are very skillfull and better equipped. All the harvesting, implantation were done by doctors, not nurses.

Opt for the more expensive ones though at rm4k. Well worth it.
That's dirt cheap! How many grafts?

What's the total cost include accommodation and flight?
fist_Aileron
post Dec 5 2023, 09:30 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Dec 5 2023, 09:02 PM)
That's dirt cheap! How many grafts?

What's the total cost include accommodation and flight?
No. Not included flight and accomodation of course. Flight is about the same as going to turkey. But accomodation and food is much much cheaper albeit more dirty and not as mesmerizing journey as to turkey.

3000-3500 grafts FUE

In egypt, you can get great skilled surgery at barfain price lasic less than rm1k. SMILE rm1k-3k. Countoura rm4k all both eyes.

This post has been edited by fist_Aileron: Dec 5 2023, 09:31 PM
Johnoh13
post Dec 15 2023, 02:50 AM

Im having the same issue T.T Please do share me the location and doc inform.
TSknwong
post Dec 23 2023, 08:59 AM

3,558 posts

Yesterday I began to style my front hair become spiky and when I walk in front of my wife she complaint she doesn't like the current handsome me...still preferred the old botak cos look more silly...LOL!
kueks
post Dec 23 2023, 11:21 AM

Playstation
6,437 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jul 26 2023, 11:01 AM)
those transplanted hair, means if u keep cutting it, it will keep growing ? just dont shave off ?
rx330
post Dec 23 2023, 11:42 AM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Dec 23 2023, 08:59 AM)
Yesterday I began to style my front hair become spiky and when I walk in front of my wife she complaint she doesn't like the current handsome me...still preferred the old botak cos look more silly...LOL!
hahahah

takut u have mistress outside later

thick and no shortage of hair makes a difference for guys
TSknwong
post Dec 23 2023, 03:49 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(kueks @ Dec 23 2023, 11:21 AM)
those transplanted hair, means if u keep cutting it, it will keep growing ? just dont shave off ?
It will continue to grow. The transplanted hair is taken from the back of your head anyway

Can still shave, no problem. It'll grow back

This post has been edited by knwong: Dec 23 2023, 09:39 PM
TSknwong
post Dec 23 2023, 03:55 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Dec 23 2023, 11:42 AM)
hahahah

takut u have mistress outside later

thick and no shortage of  hair makes a difference for guys
Haha a welcome positive change for me. For her probably need sometime to adapt tongue.gif
zenix
post Dec 23 2023, 06:47 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

so they cut out skin with hair from one place and transplant into the balding area?

are you awake for the whole procedure?
TSknwong
post Dec 23 2023, 07:54 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Dec 23 2023, 06:47 PM)
so they cut out skin with hair from one place and transplant into the balding area?

are you awake for the whole procedure?
Yes

Yes. They gave relaxation pill so I felt sleepy throughout. Time passed very fast
zenix
post Dec 23 2023, 08:43 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Dec 23 2023, 07:54 PM)
Yes

Yes. They gave relaxation pill so I felt sleepy throughout. Time passed very fast
oh....didn't put you to sleep?
that would be preferable rite?
TSknwong
post Dec 23 2023, 09:03 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Dec 23 2023, 08:43 PM)
oh....didn't put you to sleep?
that would be preferable rite?
Hair transplant is considered minimally-invasive surgery that doesn't require full anesthesia la

If you request for one I think the cost will add up cos they'll need to get another doctor to standby to monitor you
zenix
post Dec 26 2023, 03:40 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Dec 23 2023, 09:03 PM)
Hair transplant is considered minimally-invasive surgery that doesn't require full anesthesia la

If you request for one I think the cost will add up cos they'll need to get another doctor to standby to monitor you
yeah but i don't think i can sit there for 8 hours doing nothing sweat.gif
trent50588
post Feb 9 2024, 07:09 PM

Hi Sifu, happy CNY, would appreciate it if you can PM me the clinic details.

Have been researching Turkey for quite a while as well until I stumble here.
LDP
post Feb 12 2024, 05:20 PM

621 posts

Hair loss is bad or good ? I thought will be good as no need to go barber
kh-K5
post Mar 1 2024, 11:38 PM

Hi, could you share me the details of the clinic. Would like to pay a visit.
TSknwong
post Apr 4 2024, 09:08 AM

3,558 posts

Long time never update this thread. I just uploaded my 9th month hair photo on first page. These past few months I've been cutting my hair on monthly basis.
lfw
post Apr 4 2024, 09:54 AM

405 posts

hi, thank you for sharing your experience! hopefully it inspires others

I do have some questions:

1. do you have significant hair dropping before you notice baldness?

2. for the payment, did you pay in lump sum or by instalment?

3. did anyone noticed your transition?

TSknwong
post Apr 4 2024, 10:48 AM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(lfw @ Apr 4 2024, 09:54 AM)
hi, thank you for sharing your experience! hopefully it inspires others

I do have some questions:

1. do you have significant hair dropping before you notice baldness?

2. for the payment, did you pay in lump sum or by instalment?

3. did anyone noticed your transition?
1. Not really. The baldness is noticeable when I am in my 30s so since then the hair drop has been occurring on daily basis...even until today. But I believe those falling are original hair...not transplanted hair

2. I chose to pay 1 lump sump. You can opt for credit card installment

3. Of course! Not everyone but the ones that noticed are ladies and for man those who are bald themselves. I guess these group of people are image conscious. LOL. Family members by now most would have know I went for transplant even if I don't personally tell them about it...
Egg~Tart
post Apr 19 2024, 03:02 PM

15 posts

Hi bro, can you PM me the contact of the clinic? Thanks smile.gif
OneBuck
post Apr 19 2024, 04:50 PM

208 posts

Bro, pls pm me also the clinic and doctor info.
Thanks bro
vimaa94
post Apr 19 2024, 04:59 PM

49 posts

PM me the clinic details sir. Thank you.
ticke
post Apr 19 2024, 05:13 PM

****E***y*u***i***@**
1,682 posts

if just the top not sides, it will look weird...plus ur implant doesn't look even...from the photos.

This post has been edited by ticke: Apr 19 2024, 05:13 PM
Snuffykl
post May 16 2024, 11:00 PM

**emolified**
835 posts

Can you PM me the clinic name ?
johnnycp
post May 17 2024, 06:39 AM

599 posts

12k only ah
Kayacrab
post May 17 2024, 09:47 AM

why no picture
BYKS
post May 19 2024, 06:59 PM

Thank you so much for sharing! I’ve been looking the real case studies!

Highly appreciate if you could share with me the contacts 🙏🏻
anakkk
post May 19 2024, 07:07 PM

2,111 posts

ada gambaq? before and after?
investorforum
post Jun 9 2024, 11:14 AM

19 posts

hi bro, may i know the clinic u went to? tq

investorforum
post Jun 9 2024, 11:16 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jul 26 2023, 11:03 AM)
bro, where did u do the transplant? which clinic? tq
justsayin1104
post Jun 23 2024, 05:36 PM

Bro, can share the clinic? Thank you
Cheerful_Koala P
post Jul 18 2024, 07:44 AM

Probation

First of all thanks for sharing tour journey. It was very helpful for people who are researching the hair transplant option.

I would like to know what clinic you went but I am unable to PM you due to my probation account status. Do you mind dropping the name here ir PM me the name?
netflix2019
post Jul 18 2024, 11:16 AM

411 posts

knwong

Any follow up? One year anniversary coming.
zhou.xingxing
post Jul 18 2024, 11:32 AM

:3
1,863 posts

can update hair now? see see... since been a year... i am at ppic no1.. father no bald... but can see receeding hairlines a bit...
TSknwong
post Jul 18 2024, 02:16 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(netflix2019 @ Jul 18 2024, 11:16 AM)
knwong

Any follow up? One year anniversary coming.
QUOTE(zhou.xingxing @ Jul 18 2024, 11:32 AM)
can update hair now? see see... since been a year... i am at ppic no1.. father no bald... but can see receeding hairlines a bit...
Well I continue to cut my hair short every month so latest update on 1st post is valid :-) Never need to follow up with doctor after my 3rd month
jaapers
post Jul 18 2024, 02:25 PM

141 posts

Is your transplanted hair the same type as your existing hair? I mean, like if your existing hair is thick and curly, do they need to choose the same type for you or it will naturally follow your existing hair type?
TSknwong
post Jul 18 2024, 02:30 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(jaapers @ Jul 18 2024, 02:25 PM)
Is your transplanted hair the same type as your existing hair? I mean, like if your existing hair is thick and curly, do they need to choose the same type for you or it will naturally follow your existing hair type?
Yes. If they select the hair graft from the back of your head, it will be the same type. If there's not enough graft, and decided to get hair from other parts of your body it will not appear natural.
theen7
post Jul 19 2024, 02:36 PM

Could you PM me the clinic? Thanks
hksgmy
post Jul 19 2024, 05:05 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jul 18 2024, 02:30 PM)
Yes. If they select the hair graft from the back of your head, it will be the same type. If there's not enough graft, and decided to get hair from other parts of your body it will not appear natural.
Just stumbled upon your thread, and I gotta give you props bro... real life case study aside, you were methodical and meticulous with your documentation. Well done! notworthy.gif thumbsup.gif
0B11ST4R
post Jul 24 2024, 10:02 PM

Hi can share the clinic location and surgeon name? Thanks
gunner316
post Aug 1 2024, 11:56 AM

25 posts

Very well documented! thumbup.gif
Would appreciate if you could PM with me the details of the clinic! Thank you!
notworthy.gif
hakim182
post Aug 11 2024, 07:33 PM

103 posts

Can we see your progress for 1 year mark?
TSknwong
post Aug 11 2024, 08:42 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(hakim182 @ Aug 11 2024, 07:33 PM)
Can we see your progress for 1 year mark?
That latest photo in my 1st post is a good reference. I continue to cut my hair short every month so no big difference actually
hirase
post Oct 9 2024, 03:47 AM

Hi, the results seems good, I'm thinking of getting that procedure too. Do you mind sharing with me the clinic and doctor's name? Thanks.
Sesaw P
post Nov 9 2024, 11:11 AM

Probation

QUOTE(knwong @ Aug 11 2024, 08:42 PM)
That latest photo in my 1st post is a good reference. I continue to cut my hair short every month so no big difference actually
Thanks for the journey shared!

Few years ago i went to a local clinic asking for quotation. It was rm8 per graft which could cost me around 30k to do it. Then i found that doing it in Turkey cost 1/3 of it.

Im about to proceed with Turkey then i found your posting today. Great news that the procedure cost in Malaysia now became more reasonable and comparable (or just slightly higher - at least easier to go for follow up in case anything happen).

Mind to share with me the contact number?

Thanks bro
amir.asyraf
post Jan 6 2025, 09:13 AM

504 posts

You still taking finasteride?
TSknwong
post Jan 6 2025, 09:49 AM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(amir.asyraf @ Jan 6 2025, 09:13 AM)
No. Stopped after 3rd month. Transplanted hair can grow naturally
miuk
post Jan 6 2025, 09:54 AM

768 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jan 6 2025, 09:49 AM)
Interesting, my friends doc still has him on Dutasteride and Minox even after 3 years now of his transplant.
TSknwong
post Jan 6 2025, 10:00 AM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(miuk @ Jan 6 2025, 09:54 AM)
Interesting, my friends doc still has him on Dutasteride and Minox even after 3 years now of his transplant.
Dutasteride is more potent than finasteride
If you wish to have longer, more dense, thicker hair then can take them. But I'm very satisfied with my current result dy
romuluz777
post Jan 6 2025, 10:12 AM

2,204 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jan 6 2025, 11:00 AM)
If you wish to have longer, more dense, thicker hair then can take them. But I'm very satisfied with my current result dy
Do both types cause long term kidney damage ?
sadukarzz
post Jan 6 2025, 10:16 AM

779 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Jan 6 2025, 10:12 AM)
So far based on what I managed to research, no

So far for minoxidil and finasteride, no significant impact observed for my renal function too; unable to comment for Dutasteride
TSknwong
post Jan 6 2025, 10:18 AM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Jan 6 2025, 10:12 AM)
Not a doctor but I always believe any medication has side effects

You just reminded me of a colleague who decided to retire early because his work is affected - he needs to take frequent dialysis every week. But not because of taking these drugs la. More towards his unhealthy lifestyle
razornick22
post Jan 6 2025, 11:41 AM

368 posts

Hi, can you share me the clinic details and surgeon name?
iZuDeeN
post Jan 6 2025, 12:04 PM

3,466 posts

QUOTE(amir.asyraf @ Jan 6 2025, 09:13 AM)
finasteride not for the transplanted hair.. that no need

u need finasteride to prevent ur natural hair from falling

else u ended up loose all hair except for the transplanted hair brows.gif
amir.asyraf
post Jan 6 2025, 04:11 PM

504 posts

So your non-transplanted hairs have not fallen out?
TSknwong
post Jan 6 2025, 05:52 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(amir.asyraf @ Jan 6 2025, 04:11 PM)
So your non-transplanted hairs have not fallen out?
Still there la. Got fall off but it's quite normal rate. Nothing alarming
miuk
post Jan 7 2025, 01:55 AM

768 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jan 6 2025, 10:00 AM)
I think the reason why why he's doc kept him on it is to prevent the non transplanted hair from falling victim to DHT.
He did have to do a "top up" session 1 year after the initial transplant.
miuk
post Jan 7 2025, 01:59 AM

768 posts

I know its off topic but in case anyone wants to consider it. I recently also added Dutasteride into my regiment. 3 days DUT and 3 days FIN, 1 day rest.

https://sci-hub.se/10.1016/j.jaad.2006.05.007

This post has been edited by miuk: Jan 7 2025, 02:01 AM

SUSmrlive005
post Feb 4 2025, 04:07 PM

114 posts

Turkey was my top choice too at first, but I ended up getting mine done in KL for similar reasons—cost was nearly the same, and I felt more comfortable going local after doing my research. Surgeon skill really is everything with FUE.

For anyone still deciding, it’s worth checking out https://goodlife-clinic.com/, they cover hair transplants plus other aesthetic treatments. I did my initial consultations at a few places, and having options really helps before committing. Looking forward to seeing your final results in a few months!

This post has been edited by mrlive005: Feb 4 2025, 07:25 PM
giftfre
post Feb 4 2025, 04:15 PM

Control Macho
677 posts

Beside of Finasteride, what else medicine you take?
noobmaster_69
post Feb 4 2025, 04:27 PM

89 posts

can share the clinic name and doctor name with me? thanks
TSknwong
post Feb 4 2025, 06:04 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(giftfre @ Feb 4 2025, 04:15 PM)
Beside of Finasteride, what else medicine you take?
oral minox
giftfre
post Feb 5 2025, 08:47 AM

Control Macho
677 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Feb 4 2025, 06:04 PM)
oral minox
I use Kirkland Minoxidil and Supplement biotin, Iron folic (Amway), Finapecia 1mg and result is good.
Optizorb
post Feb 7 2025, 08:07 AM

1,244 posts

QUOTE(miuk @ Jan 7 2025, 01:59 AM)
I know its off topic but in case anyone wants to consider it. I recently also added Dutasteride into my regiment. 3 days DUT and 3 days FIN, 1 day rest.

https://sci-hub.se/10.1016/j.jaad.2006.05.007
where you get your dutasteride and minox from?
miuk
post Feb 7 2025, 09:39 AM

768 posts

QUOTE(Optizorb @ Feb 7 2025, 08:07 AM)
where you get your dutasteride and minox from?
You should be able to get it any major pharmacy in msia
romuluz777
post Mar 14 2025, 04:17 PM

2,204 posts

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-...e-baldness.html
xCM
post Mar 14 2025, 06:24 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Feb 4 2025, 06:04 PM)
oral minox
Where to get oral minox? Currently still using the spray minox. Hair will get slight sticky/hard after apply
miuk
post Mar 15 2025, 05:26 AM

768 posts

QUOTE(xCM @ Mar 14 2025, 06:24 PM)
Where to get oral minox? Currently still using the spray minox. Hair will get slight sticky/hard after apply
oral minox 5mg is about rm52 for 30 tablets at your local major chain pharmacy
silkysilk
post Mar 15 2025, 06:57 AM

198 posts

I would just use wig if i botak
Optizorb
post Aug 27 2025, 07:59 AM

1,244 posts

QUOTE(miuk @ Feb 7 2025, 09:39 AM)
You should be able to get it any major pharmacy in msia
WTA: are you using avodart 0.5mg or is there a generic brand for dut?

thinking of switching to dut.. but then shocked at the price..

ry8128
post Aug 27 2025, 08:49 AM

♣Just a noob♣
3,632 posts

Hi all, ayam start to have male baldness pattern already. Can see hair started to fall and M shape will come out soon.

Any medication suggestions for newbie in hair loss? Age is mid 30s and father also has baldness issue, so I guess it's gene. Will medication help to counter gene effect?
ShadowR1
post Aug 27 2025, 09:13 AM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

QUOTE(silkysilk @ Mar 15 2025, 06:57 AM)
I would just use wig if i botak
Tabley go diving and swim wor.
giftfre
post Aug 27 2025, 09:16 AM

Control Macho
677 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Aug 27 2025, 08:49 AM)
Hi all, ayam start to have male baldness pattern already. Can see hair started to fall and M shape will come out soon.

Any medication suggestions for newbie in hair loss? Age is mid 30s and father also has baldness issue, so I guess it's gene. Will medication help to counter gene effect?
Determine your baldness is Genetic heritage or scalp problem? Then only find solution.
ry8128
post Aug 27 2025, 09:20 AM

♣Just a noob♣
3,632 posts

QUOTE(giftfre @ Aug 27 2025, 09:16 AM)
Determine your baldness is Genetic heritage or scalp problem? Then only find solution.
Scalp problem
miuk
post Aug 27 2025, 09:22 AM

768 posts

QUOTE(Optizorb @ Aug 27 2025, 07:59 AM)
WTA: are you using avodart 0.5mg or is there a generic brand for dut?

thinking of switching to dut.. but then shocked at the price..
Generic. It'll still be more expensive compared to Finasteride though.
Your major pharmacy chain usually carries 2 brands of Generics
Intasteride from Intega (Spain), 30x 0.5mg for RM140
Uroka from thailand, 30x 0.5mg for RM114 --> Both A and B now same price, i actually complained why it was cheaper at one place and now they matched each others pricing, lol.

If you travel overseas, stock up:
In India its rm65 for dr reddy
In Italy its cheap, only 8.40 euros, controlled price, every pharmacy same price
Dont bother with Thailand, more expensive than msia. Teva brand at the famous Siam Pharmacy, 980 baht ~rm127

This post has been edited by miuk: Aug 27 2025, 09:38 AM
miuk
post Aug 27 2025, 09:27 AM

768 posts

QUOTE(xCM @ Mar 14 2025, 06:24 PM)
Another cheaper alternative is to buy 100s tablet box.
Brand is Hirustin from Zonton, 100x 5mg for rm130, also from your major pharmacy chain that starts with a B.

This post has been edited by miuk: Aug 27 2025, 09:32 AM
NinG
post Aug 27 2025, 09:34 AM

Vroomm
403 posts

Actually, without hair transplant, also can use injectable. Search QR678 NEO..
giftfre
post Aug 27 2025, 09:44 AM

Control Macho
677 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Aug 27 2025, 09:20 AM)
Scalp problem
Then you try to refer to Himalaya product. Settle Scalp skin issue. Himalaya got wide range to Scalp care product.
But smallest to try just in case you don't like it or your skin discomfort.
giftfre
post Aug 27 2025, 09:47 AM

Control Macho
677 posts

QUOTE(miuk @ Aug 27 2025, 09:22 AM)
Uroka from thailand, 30x 0.5mg for RM114 --> Both A and B now same price, i actually complained why it was cheaper at one place and now they matched each others pricing, lol.

In Italy its cheap, only 8.40 euros, controlled price, every pharmacy same price
Dont bother with Thailand, more expensive than msia. Teva brand at the famous Siam Pharmacy, 980 baht ~rm127

Why not try Finasteride 1mg cost around RM75~80. Is it for the same purpose?
ry8128
post Aug 27 2025, 09:50 AM

♣Just a noob♣
3,632 posts

QUOTE(miuk @ Aug 27 2025, 09:27 AM)
Brand is Hirustin from Zonton, 100x 5mg for rm130, also from your major pharmacy chain that starts with a B.

What is the dosage to take? Can just buy over the counter or need doctor prescription letter?
miuk
post Aug 27 2025, 10:27 AM

768 posts

QUOTE(giftfre @ Aug 27 2025, 09:47 AM)
Why not try Finasteride 1mg cost around RM75~80. Is it for the same purpose?
See previous post here: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5395917/+220#

Yes, both FIN and DUT does the same thing, inhibits DHT and subsequently 5AR. However DUT blocks both type 1 and type 2 5AR compared to FIN which only blocks type 2.
Lots of papers out there to discuss this topic.

I used to use FIN, buy the 5mg version and then cut the pill.
miuk
post Aug 27 2025, 10:41 AM

768 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Aug 27 2025, 09:50 AM)
What is the dosage to take? Can just buy over the counter or need doctor prescription letter?
Since this is Serious Kopitiam, not sure if you did your research already....

I would say do your due diligence, go consult a derm first, find out if you're truly MPB or other issues causing your hair loss.
Also do a blood test to find out if you have high DHT in your blood. For traditional MPB, the main reason for hair loss is due to your Hair root sensitivity to DHT, causing the follicle to minimize at every cycle and eventually becoming thinner and finally becoming dormant.

Now back to the original thread topic, so why does Hair Transplant works. Different areas of your scalp have different sensitivity to DHT, typically the area at the back your head is the most resistant vs the front/crown. So thats why when you harvest the hair from there it remains growing. The root/follicle is resistant to DHT.

Understanding the drugs that you quoted.
Generally there's 2 types of drugs used for MPB.
Finasteride/Dutasteride (which is originally used to treat prostate BPH) that helps inhibit DHT. --> So it breaks the cycle where your Hair becomes thinner and thinner.
Minoxidil (which is a blood pressure medication) that was found to trigger the hair growth cycles. --> Forces your hair to grow again.
ry8128
post Aug 27 2025, 10:46 AM

♣Just a noob♣
3,632 posts

QUOTE(miuk @ Aug 27 2025, 10:41 AM)
Since this is Serious Kopitiam, not sure if you did your research already....

I would say do your due diligence, go consult a derm first, find out if you're truly MPB or other issues causing your hair loss.
Also do a blood test to find out if you have high DHT in your blood. For traditional MPB, the main reason for hair loss is due to your Hair root sensitivity to DHT, causing the follicle to minimize at every cycle and eventually becoming thinner and finally becoming dormant.

Now back to the original thread topic, so why does Hair Transplant works. Different areas of your scalp have different sensitivity to DHT, typically the area at the back your head is the most resistant vs the front/crown. So thats why when you harvest the hair from there it remains growing. The root/follicle is resistant to DHT.

Understanding the drugs that you quoted.
Generally there's 2 types of drugs used for MPB.
Finasteride/Dutasteride (which is originally used to treat prostate BPH) that helps inhibit DHT. --> So it breaks the cycle where your Hair becomes thinner and thinner.
Minoxidil (which is a blood pressure medication) that was found to trigger the hair growth cycles. --> Forces your hair to grow again.
Thanks for the info. Guess I have to refer a derm first to check it out.

Just wondering, if the follicle already dormant, can this be activated back? By medication or any other means
miuk
post Aug 27 2025, 12:10 PM

768 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Aug 27 2025, 10:46 AM)
Thanks for the info. Guess I have to refer a derm first to check it out.

Just wondering, if the follicle already dormant, can this be activated back? By medication or any other means
check out r/tressless/ on reddit.

Alot of folks have luck by using combination of derma-rolling, MINOX, FIN/DUT.
This one really depends on luck of your genetics. Some folks suay, end up become worse even.

This post has been edited by miuk: Aug 27 2025, 12:10 PM
Optizorb
post Aug 27 2025, 12:42 PM

1,244 posts

QUOTE(miuk @ Aug 27 2025, 09:22 AM)

woah.. Still expensive for me. Dut dosage is 0.5mg daily right... So if switch to dut gonna be RM114 per month..

Currently using generic fin 5mg cut into quarters. Taking daily around 1.25mg+-
A strip of 10 tablets is like around RM10 only..

I'm norwood 2 only, idk if im ready to blow exponentially more on hair care.. Quite a big jump to go like less than RM10/month to RM110++/month..

The only reason i was considering to switch to dut was because even on Fin i notice i still shed a lot of hair during shower when washing hair..
Not like clumps of hair or what, but like easily got 6~8 strands of hair whenever i shower wash my hair. Then after that when styling my hair, spiky-ish medium length, when pulling/moving the hair around another 4~5 strands would come out as well.

Unless this is normal and you also experience same thing?

I have 0 side effects on fin as well. In fact, i feel my libido increased cause im way hornier these days.. and idk if im tripping or what. Ever since i got on fin i notice my didi size grew in length. Not magical or what la duh, but i feel maybe cause the erection actually became better compared to before i hopped on fin around 1.5~2 years ago..
Optizorb
post Aug 27 2025, 12:47 PM

1,244 posts

Oh yea and im gonna switch to oral minox soon. I stopped topical minox cause i feel it has no effects. Didn't see any improvements in my trouble areas at the temples..

So wanna give oral minox a try. I stopped topical minox for like 8 months dy.. Currently just taking fin only..

What dosage of oral minox are you on? 1.25mg?

miuk
post Aug 27 2025, 03:52 PM

768 posts

QUOTE(Optizorb @ Aug 27 2025, 12:42 PM)
woah.. Still expensive for me. Dut dosage is 0.5mg daily right... So if switch to dut gonna be RM114 per month..

Currently using generic fin 5mg cut into quarters. Taking daily around 1.25mg+-
A strip of 10 tablets is like around RM10 only..

I'm norwood 2 only, idk if im ready to blow exponentially more on hair care.. Quite a big jump to go like less than RM10/month to RM110++/month..

The only reason i was considering to switch to dut was because even on Fin i notice i still shed a lot of hair during shower when washing hair..
Not like clumps of hair or what, but like easily got 6~8 strands of hair whenever i shower wash my hair. Then after that when styling my hair, spiky-ish medium length, when pulling/moving the hair around another 4~5 strands would come out as well.

Unless this is normal and you also experience same thing?

I have 0 side effects on fin as well. In fact, i feel my libido increased cause im way hornier these days.. and idk if im tripping or what. Ever since i got on fin i notice my didi size grew in length. Not magical or what la duh, but i feel maybe cause the erection actually became better compared to before i hopped on fin around 1.5~2 years ago..
I only started Dec last year, tapered in as apparently theres DUT shock, so 3 days DUT and 3 days FIN alternating days. Then after a month, up dosage and now finally full time on DUT.
What i noticed was that the amount of hair loss after bathing, reduce by ALOT. These days barely any hair on the bathroom floor or sink anymore, so i think its working.
I think in your case, if youre willing to try invest in paying rm114 a box, try it for 3 months, slowly phase in with the same 3-3 alternating days and see if got any difference or not. If it doesnt work just go back to FIN.

QUOTE(Optizorb @ Aug 27 2025, 12:47 PM)
Oh yea and im gonna switch to oral minox soon. I stopped topical minox cause i feel it has no effects. Didn't see any improvements in my trouble areas at the temples..

So wanna give oral minox a try. I stopped topical minox for like 8 months dy.. Currently just taking fin only..

What dosage of oral minox are you on? 1.25mg?
I also started in my twenties with Rogaine and didnt work at all. After that switch to FIN. Then later on add MINOX 2.5mg only. Dont want to be a gorilla.
However, reading, if you do intend to keep topical MINOX, you should add derma rolling as well.

Optizorb
post Sep 2 2025, 10:12 PM

1,244 posts

B = is it big pharmacy?

I asked around the pharmacy i usually go to, they selling Hirsutin 1 box for RM147.. So if can get RM130 at other places will be better..

But i still getting my fin 5mg from my regular pharma. 1 strip = RM7.50, dirt cheap..

the plans for dut gonna be put on hold for now.. The jump in cost from RM5/6 bucks per month to RM110++ per month is too steep for me..

For now just gonna try adding oral minox first and see whether there's any improvement..
miuk
post Sep 3 2025, 03:35 PM

768 posts

QUOTE(Optizorb @ Sep 2 2025, 10:12 PM)
B = is it big pharmacy?

I asked around the pharmacy i usually go to, they selling Hirsutin 1 box for RM147.. So if can get RM130 at other places will be better..

But i still getting my fin 5mg from my regular pharma. 1 strip = RM7.50, dirt cheap..

the plans for dut gonna be put on hold for now.. The jump in cost from RM5/6 bucks per month to RM110++ per month is too steep for me..

For now just gonna try adding oral minox first and see whether there's any improvement..
Yeah Big.
I usually only visit AA or Big
romuluz777
post Sep 3 2025, 05:30 PM

2,204 posts

QUOTE(Optizorb @ Sep 2 2025, 11:12 PM)
B = is it big pharmacy?

do you need a doctor's prescription for the oral minox ?

0.0771sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 02:17 PM