[AMA] I went for hair transplant!, After delaying for so many years

miuk
post Jan 6 2025, 09:54 AM

768 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jan 6 2025, 09:49 AM)
No. Stopped after 3rd month. Transplanted hair can grow naturally
Interesting, my friends doc still has him on Dutasteride and Minox even after 3 years now of his transplant.
miuk
post Jan 7 2025, 01:55 AM

768 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jan 6 2025, 10:00 AM)
Dutasteride is more potent than finasteride
If you wish to have longer, more dense, thicker hair then can take them. But I'm very satisfied with my current result dy
I think the reason why why he's doc kept him on it is to prevent the non transplanted hair from falling victim to DHT.
He did have to do a "top up" session 1 year after the initial transplant.
miuk
post Jan 7 2025, 01:59 AM

768 posts

I know its off topic but in case anyone wants to consider it. I recently also added Dutasteride into my regiment. 3 days DUT and 3 days FIN, 1 day rest.

https://sci-hub.se/10.1016/j.jaad.2006.05.007

This post has been edited by miuk: Jan 7 2025, 02:01 AM

miuk
post Feb 7 2025, 09:39 AM

768 posts

QUOTE(Optizorb @ Feb 7 2025, 08:07 AM)
where you get your dutasteride and minox from?
You should be able to get it any major pharmacy in msia
miuk
post Mar 15 2025, 05:26 AM

768 posts

QUOTE(xCM @ Mar 14 2025, 06:24 PM)
Where to get oral minox? Currently still using the spray minox. Hair will get slight sticky/hard after apply
oral minox 5mg is about rm52 for 30 tablets at your local major chain pharmacy
miuk
post Aug 27 2025, 09:22 AM

768 posts

QUOTE(Optizorb @ Aug 27 2025, 07:59 AM)
WTA: are you using avodart 0.5mg or is there a generic brand for dut?

thinking of switching to dut.. but then shocked at the price..
Generic. It'll still be more expensive compared to Finasteride though.
Your major pharmacy chain usually carries 2 brands of Generics
Intasteride from Intega (Spain), 30x 0.5mg for RM140
Uroka from thailand, 30x 0.5mg for RM114 --> Both A and B now same price, i actually complained why it was cheaper at one place and now they matched each others pricing, lol.

If you travel overseas, stock up:
In India its rm65 for dr reddy
In Italy its cheap, only 8.40 euros, controlled price, every pharmacy same price
Dont bother with Thailand, more expensive than msia. Teva brand at the famous Siam Pharmacy, 980 baht ~rm127

This post has been edited by miuk: Aug 27 2025, 09:38 AM
miuk
post Aug 27 2025, 09:27 AM

768 posts

QUOTE(xCM @ Mar 14 2025, 06:24 PM)
Where to get oral minox? Currently still using the spray minox. Hair will get slight sticky/hard after apply
Another cheaper alternative is to buy 100s tablet box.
Brand is Hirustin from Zonton, 100x 5mg for rm130, also from your major pharmacy chain that starts with a B.

This post has been edited by miuk: Aug 27 2025, 09:32 AM
miuk
post Aug 27 2025, 10:27 AM

768 posts

QUOTE(giftfre @ Aug 27 2025, 09:47 AM)
Why not try Finasteride 1mg cost around RM75~80. Is it for the same purpose?
See previous post here: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5395917/+220#

Yes, both FIN and DUT does the same thing, inhibits DHT and subsequently 5AR. However DUT blocks both type 1 and type 2 5AR compared to FIN which only blocks type 2.
Lots of papers out there to discuss this topic.

I used to use FIN, buy the 5mg version and then cut the pill.
miuk
post Aug 27 2025, 10:41 AM

768 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Aug 27 2025, 09:50 AM)
What is the dosage to take? Can just buy over the counter or need doctor prescription letter?
Since this is Serious Kopitiam, not sure if you did your research already....

I would say do your due diligence, go consult a derm first, find out if you're truly MPB or other issues causing your hair loss.
Also do a blood test to find out if you have high DHT in your blood. For traditional MPB, the main reason for hair loss is due to your Hair root sensitivity to DHT, causing the follicle to minimize at every cycle and eventually becoming thinner and finally becoming dormant.

Now back to the original thread topic, so why does Hair Transplant works. Different areas of your scalp have different sensitivity to DHT, typically the area at the back your head is the most resistant vs the front/crown. So thats why when you harvest the hair from there it remains growing. The root/follicle is resistant to DHT.

Understanding the drugs that you quoted.
Generally there's 2 types of drugs used for MPB.
Finasteride/Dutasteride (which is originally used to treat prostate BPH) that helps inhibit DHT. --> So it breaks the cycle where your Hair becomes thinner and thinner.
Minoxidil (which is a blood pressure medication) that was found to trigger the hair growth cycles. --> Forces your hair to grow again.
miuk
post Aug 27 2025, 12:10 PM

768 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Aug 27 2025, 10:46 AM)
Thanks for the info. Guess I have to refer a derm first to check it out.

Just wondering, if the follicle already dormant, can this be activated back? By medication or any other means
check out r/tressless/ on reddit.

Alot of folks have luck by using combination of derma-rolling, MINOX, FIN/DUT.
This one really depends on luck of your genetics. Some folks suay, end up become worse even.

This post has been edited by miuk: Aug 27 2025, 12:10 PM
miuk
post Aug 27 2025, 03:52 PM

768 posts

QUOTE(Optizorb @ Aug 27 2025, 12:42 PM)
woah.. Still expensive for me. Dut dosage is 0.5mg daily right... So if switch to dut gonna be RM114 per month..

Currently using generic fin 5mg cut into quarters. Taking daily around 1.25mg+-
A strip of 10 tablets is like around RM10 only..

I'm norwood 2 only, idk if im ready to blow exponentially more on hair care.. Quite a big jump to go like less than RM10/month to RM110++/month..

The only reason i was considering to switch to dut was because even on Fin i notice i still shed a lot of hair during shower when washing hair..
Not like clumps of hair or what, but like easily got 6~8 strands of hair whenever i shower wash my hair. Then after that when styling my hair, spiky-ish medium length, when pulling/moving the hair around another 4~5 strands would come out as well.

Unless this is normal and you also experience same thing?

I have 0 side effects on fin as well. In fact, i feel my libido increased cause im way hornier these days.. and idk if im tripping or what. Ever since i got on fin i notice my didi size grew in length. Not magical or what la duh, but i feel maybe cause the erection actually became better compared to before i hopped on fin around 1.5~2 years ago..
I only started Dec last year, tapered in as apparently theres DUT shock, so 3 days DUT and 3 days FIN alternating days. Then after a month, up dosage and now finally full time on DUT.
What i noticed was that the amount of hair loss after bathing, reduce by ALOT. These days barely any hair on the bathroom floor or sink anymore, so i think its working.
I think in your case, if youre willing to try invest in paying rm114 a box, try it for 3 months, slowly phase in with the same 3-3 alternating days and see if got any difference or not. If it doesnt work just go back to FIN.

QUOTE(Optizorb @ Aug 27 2025, 12:47 PM)
Oh yea and im gonna switch to oral minox soon. I stopped topical minox cause i feel it has no effects. Didn't see any improvements in my trouble areas at the temples..

So wanna give oral minox a try. I stopped topical minox for like 8 months dy.. Currently just taking fin only..

What dosage of oral minox are you on? 1.25mg?
I also started in my twenties with Rogaine and didnt work at all. After that switch to FIN. Then later on add MINOX 2.5mg only. Dont want to be a gorilla.
However, reading, if you do intend to keep topical MINOX, you should add derma rolling as well.

miuk
post Sep 3 2025, 03:35 PM

768 posts

QUOTE(Optizorb @ Sep 2 2025, 10:12 PM)
B = is it big pharmacy?

I asked around the pharmacy i usually go to, they selling Hirsutin 1 box for RM147.. So if can get RM130 at other places will be better..

But i still getting my fin 5mg from my regular pharma. 1 strip = RM7.50, dirt cheap..

the plans for dut gonna be put on hold for now.. The jump in cost from RM5/6 bucks per month to RM110++ per month is too steep for me..

For now just gonna try adding oral minox first and see whether there's any improvement..
Yeah Big.
I usually only visit AA or Big

0.0148sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:43 AM