Since this is Serious Kopitiam, not sure if you did your research already....
I would say do your due diligence, go consult a derm first, find out if you're truly MPB or other issues causing your hair loss.
Also do a blood test to find out if you have high DHT in your blood. For traditional MPB, the main reason for hair loss is due to your Hair root sensitivity to DHT, causing the follicle to minimize at every cycle and eventually becoming thinner and finally becoming dormant.
Now back to the original thread topic, so why does Hair Transplant works. Different areas of your scalp have different sensitivity to DHT, typically the area at the back your head is the most resistant vs the front/crown. So thats why when you harvest the hair from there it remains growing. The root/follicle is resistant to DHT.
Understanding the drugs that you quoted.
Generally there's 2 types of drugs used for MPB.
Finasteride/Dutasteride (which is originally used to treat prostate BPH) that helps inhibit DHT. --> So it breaks the cycle where your Hair becomes thinner and thinner.
Minoxidil (which is a blood pressure medication) that was found to trigger the hair growth cycles. --> Forces your hair to grow again.
Thanks for the info. Guess I have to refer a derm first to check it out.
Just wondering, if the follicle already dormant, can this be activated back? By medication or any other means