[AMA] I went for hair transplant!, After delaying for so many years

poweredbydiscuz
post Jul 28 2023, 09:29 AM

3,832 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jul 26 2023, 09:05 AM)
Any before and after pictures?

Thanks for sharing. If you don't mind, any "before" pictures?
TSknwong
post Jul 28 2023, 09:46 AM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(playnice96 @ Jul 28 2023, 08:50 AM)
Any side effects from oral minoxidil like body hair grow?
Also can you get oral minoxidil from pharmacy?
Cause I can get those spray type minoxidil and finasteride from anu pharmacy.
I think it’s meant to suppress DHT for the hair on the head. Other body parts don’t have that

I don’t know any pharmacy selling oral minox

This post has been edited by knwong: Jul 28 2023, 10:23 AM
TSknwong
post Jul 28 2023, 10:02 AM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(sanwaltz @ Jul 28 2023, 09:16 AM)
any tip for us on what's considered as over-expectation on hair transplant procedure?, like don't expect this or that
Don’t expect new hair growth will happen immediately

Transplanted hair will shed 2-3 weeks after surgery, which I am experiencing now. New hair will grow few months after that

So trust the process
aizielectreon
post Jul 28 2023, 10:25 AM

where am i???
593 posts

if scalp got seborrheic dermatitis do you think its ok to do?

mine is 3-4 now. the top already nipis. got white hairs already. look damn old ady

35 years old now lmao
TSknwong
post Jul 28 2023, 11:14 AM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Jul 28 2023, 09:29 AM)
Thanks for sharing. If you don't mind, any "before" pictures?
Uploaded. Check my first post
TSknwong
post Jul 28 2023, 11:27 AM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(aizielectreon @ Jul 28 2023, 10:25 AM)
if scalp got seborrheic dermatitis do you think its ok to do?

mine is 3-4 now. the top already nipis. got white hairs already. look damn old ady

35 years old now lmao
I’m not medical expert. Suggest consult surgeon

White hair is still precious. Can still turn back to black if adjust lifestyle. So I request white hair also can extract and plant it

This post has been edited by knwong: Jul 28 2023, 05:31 PM
TSknwong
post Jul 29 2023, 09:25 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(ashburn98 @ Jul 26 2023, 12:02 PM)
Great to hear the transplant working well for you.

Say in your 50s down the road, will you (all of us) have enough donor cells for grafting new bald spots?

Does it make sense to make preparation of grafting early on, like in Scale 1-2? Healthier hair follicles or blacker hair colour maybe?

If you colour/dye your grafted hair, will the colour/chemical damage the graft?
Realized I missed your question

When you are older we will still have some donor hair, albeit less quality. Clinic I went to, their oldest patient is 80 years old. Lol. Average patient age is mid-30s

Norwood 1/2 no need transplant la. Graft extracted can only last few hours outside your body so on same day must get it planted

You can begin dyeing grafted hair few months later once you have fuller hair
augusta23
post Jul 29 2023, 10:10 PM

329 posts

So the hair was “planted” only at the forehead region? How about the middle/top part? I see hair is still sparse
TSknwong
post Jul 30 2023, 07:37 AM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(augusta23 @ Jul 29 2023, 10:10 PM)
So the hair was “planted” only at the forehead region? How about the middle/top part? I see hair is still sparse
They also plant at other regions. You are not seeing hair at the middle/top part because there are still original hairs there and yet to grow. They put more at the forehead because I no longer have hairs there, thus bringing down my hairline a lot

billylks
post Jul 30 2023, 03:27 PM

180 posts

My friend also did hair transplant locally, cost 6k (less hair transplanted for sure).

He did it last year. So far no complaint.

My only complain about him is scared of cutting his hair now, so the hair grows long unruly
ry8128
post Jul 30 2023, 04:42 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,632 posts

Really informative, good job ts! Park here just for future questions.

Btw, just to know, does this transplant need you to go fully bald for the procedure?

And is this hair permanent? Or more grafting needed adter certain time?
delphine.88
post Jul 30 2023, 05:03 PM

143 posts

How do they choose your hair roots?
Or u get to choose the type you want?
E.g certain hairs are curly type, some are straight
mataharih
post Jul 30 2023, 06:18 PM

355 posts

RM12k is worth investing in your looks…thanks for sharing. I’m not a male and not impacted by MPB but am fascinated by the process…am surprised that with all our technological advances, there is still no cure for MPB.

Do update this thread from time to time to show us your new hair growth.

This post has been edited by mataharih: Jul 30 2023, 06:18 PM
TSknwong
post Jul 30 2023, 08:54 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(billylks @ Jul 30 2023, 03:27 PM)
My friend also did hair transplant locally, cost 6k (less hair transplanted for sure).

He did it last year. So far no complaint.

My only complain about him is scared of cutting his hair now, so the hair grows long unruly
Long hair is a good problem to have :-)

How old and what’s his Norwood scale before transplant?
TSknwong
post Jul 30 2023, 08:58 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Jul 30 2023, 04:42 PM)
Really informative, good job ts! Park here just for future questions.

Btw, just to know, does this transplant need you to go fully bald for the procedure?

And is this hair permanent? Or more grafting needed adter certain time?
For smaller number of grafts I think no need to go fully bald, especially if you only do the frontal zone. Ladies hair transplant for example

Transplanted hair will stay permanent. More grafting needed once the remaining original hair on your head start to shed
billylks
post Jul 30 2023, 09:37 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jul 30 2023, 08:54 PM)
Long hair is a good problem to have :-)

How old and what’s his Norwood scale before transplant?
I would say number 4.

He is 60yo. And since he already did hair transplant, he went for facelift too. This guy is rich and I support his actions on rejuvenating his appearance -- just spend your money lah, keep for what? Lol
TSknwong
post Jul 30 2023, 09:41 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(delphine.88 @ Jul 30 2023, 05:03 PM)
How do they choose your hair roots?
Or u get to choose the type you want?
E.g certain hairs are curly type, some are straight
You don't get to choose la. Need to trust the surgeon and the team for doing their best

During lunch time I saw my extracted grafts they put in a blue saline container...each got 2 - 3 hairs per graft...I guess is to ensure higher survival rate?

My hair is straight. If you have curly hairs I guess you need to find experienced surgeon that have done that before
ry8128
post Jul 30 2023, 10:13 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,632 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jul 30 2023, 08:58 PM)
For smaller number of grafts I think no need to go fully bald, especially if you only do the frontal zone. Ladies hair transplant for example

Transplanted hair will stay permanent. More grafting needed once the remaining original hair on your head start to shed
As for your case, u need to go fully bald?

And any reason why dr give you 3 days MC? Is it due to the procedure had side effects and still very painful few days after it?

Can we take a bath on the next day after the procedure?

To be honest, i very interested to try this sweat.gif
TSknwong
post Jul 31 2023, 10:28 AM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(mataharih @ Jul 30 2023, 06:18 PM)
RM12k is worth investing in your looks…thanks for sharing. I’m not a male and not impacted by MPB but am fascinated by the process…am surprised that with all our technological advances, there is still no cure for MPB.

Do update this thread from time to time to show us your new hair growth.
Thanks yes I will. The only cure now is to alter the gene for newborn but it’s unethical 😊
xCM
post Jul 31 2023, 11:31 AM

535 posts

Pm clinic info. Any pics on front after surgery? Looking good.

14 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0191sec    1.11    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 05:07 AM