3,669 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jul 27 2023, 05:48 PM)
New launch, the bankers making 2% 150million
untung 3 million just like that.

last bond also same price 102, i booked pun tak dapat,
must be the coupon rate too good lah.
bruh dont scare me, i already booked 3 lots
Last round i dint get, sold out so fast.

Want to be suckers you think easy?.

This has to do with incentive for the RMs/banks to offer to their clients. The fee cannot be too high (obviously, cos investors will not buy anymore) but it cannot be too low: RMs won't even bother to sell or show their customer base. UT and other products are providing 1 to 2% upfront fee to the bank, and some of them even provide trailers to the banks.

You should look at the YTC of the sukuk to see if it is still attractive.
edit: ie, in case not aware, you should also factor in the 2 dollar depreciation when called.

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Jul 27 2023, 08:54 PM
Wedchar2912
post Jul 27 2023, 08:50 PM

3,669 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jul 27 2023, 08:27 PM)
In Singapore, at least with the banks that I deal with, sometimes, there's a rebate that they offer - usually 0.25 or 0.5 pips or whatever they call it, so I actually buy the bond(s) at the IPO price. This is especially so if the bank involved is one of the book runners.
Different environment and different segment as well, I guess.

Private banking channel usually get rebates for IPOs, up to 50 cents. So called to incentive the channel to sell to their clients. FI buyers don't get them usually.

For retail segment, I heard that some banks cheat a bit and the retail side put in their orders together with the private banking side to take the 50 cents. And at the same time, retail side will add the 2 bucks extra fee...

yum yum... smile.gif
Wedchar2912
post Jul 30 2023, 05:09 PM

3,669 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jul 30 2023, 03:55 PM)
i just reconfirm with my RM, sell back my bonds memang no spread added
ie no fee

You kena fees before  ?
how much was the spread incurred from selling price ?
Actually you don't know...

only way to know for sure is you have another person ask the same RM whats the price if that person wants to buy.

bond prices are not really transparent because they are all done OTC, ie not at a proper exchange like bursa.
Wedchar2912
post Jul 30 2023, 06:19 PM

3,669 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jul 30 2023, 06:06 PM)
I know what you mean

You mean to say if i sell back to bank at RM99 and another buyer come buy at RM102
fees has been incurred to me.

Is that what you wanted to say?
yeap.... the 99-102 is the bid-ask spread.

bankers never do things for free.... dry.gif
Wedchar2912
post Jul 30 2023, 08:07 PM

3,669 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jul 30 2023, 07:59 PM)
sure lah
How can we expect  bank buy back from me RM99 to sell at same RM99 ?

the spread could be buying fee
even if no selling fee ...knowing  at  what price the buyer buy still
not enough

must work in treasury baru boleh tahu .

it seems everyday there is a price list
so is actually not that opaque...
i doubt they can suka suka add RM2 to
the price list and sell as you alleged.

may be others can find out true or not
buyers pay the fee
sellers dont.
actually they can. that's why it is called OTC.
anything that is not traded on an established exchange, the price discovery is not efficient and many times simply decided by traders.

Don't just say suka suka 2rm... even 5rm also can.

btw, bid-offer spread are not fees. Fees is basically a amount or % of some value that is disclosed to you, on top of whatever transaction value you performed, and need BNM approval. (just clarifying the difference between fee and spread)

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Jul 30 2023, 08:21 PM
Wedchar2912
post Jul 30 2023, 10:12 PM

3,669 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jul 30 2023, 09:17 PM)
You sounded like you have knowledge in internal running of bonds
you worked in banking bonds before?

but still i cannot fathom how...

1)once the bond is issued there is daily price movements that
customers can view before buy or sell.
And the spread is rather fixed
not much different from  Bursa also
except it wont change every few minute lah.

2) i doubt they can suka suka pushing up selling price additional RM5 without also
pushing up the equivalent amount for buying price.

3) So in an attempt to profit from buyers sell at extra RM5.00,
the bank would inadvertently put itself at risk of overpaying
seller also for same extra RM5.00

4) If they play dirty, imagine buyer found out later
as many bonds  we can buy sell  from other bankers also.
i doubt the banker  willing to take that kind of risk of getting a bad name.
The spread is not considered fee
ok.
How about the buying price eg new launch PAR value RM100
i have to pay RM102 for it

Isnt the extra Rm2.00 the 2% buying fee as they said to me.
so when i sell it is only fair that they go charge the new buyer
Malaysia bond market is considered very illiquid, with exception of govies.
So the spread you noticed is basically made up by the bank that is servicing you. And usually, not always, the other side of transaction is the bank itself (represented by the trader). And because of this, it is possible for bank A and bank B to quote you different price.
(except for buying, this different price is useless when you want to sell because your bond is being custodized with the bank you purchased at start).
Bursa is a stock exchange, and by right, all publicly listed equities in Malaysia must trade via the exchange, with certain exceptions. This price is transparent for all to see.

Btw, I doubt it is written anywhere by the bank that the bid-offer spread must be 2? Just like fx, which is a lot more liquid, at times of market uncertainty, the spread for FX widens like mad.
2 and 3 imply spread is fixed. It is not. and neither is real fair value of the bond needs to be within the bid-offer prices.

4 is the most interesting part. How often do clients really shop around? (even changing physical foreign currency also people don't really get the best price) Once you purchased a bond from a particular bank, you have to sell that bond back to them. Unless you transfer said bond out. Plus, its not that easy for a client to shop around unless they are premier clients of a few banks.

Btw, you have also answered your own question about why the price is 102 for a IPO. The convention is that all bonds are issued at PAR (ie only the coupon is varied for each issuance), so by right you should be subscibing to the bond at 100 bucks.
Occam's razor: the bank slapped extra 2 bucks on top of the real offer price, which is 100.

edit: forgot to mention. If the extra 2rm is "buying fee", then in your statement it should spell out fee. Its like you purchase Maybank shares at 9.00, but got small items called this and that fee.

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Jul 30 2023, 10:49 PM
Wedchar2912
post Jul 30 2023, 10:16 PM

3,669 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jul 30 2023, 09:58 PM)
correct me if i read  you wrongly

you are saying  buy and sell same investment  grade bank bond on same day,
the price difference from one buyer to another can be as high as RM2 to RM5?

I dont believe it,
never in my experience

This can easily be checked with the various banks

I have found  out price diference is small some RM0.20 +-

I dont believe it is that unregulated till can  simply hantam sell at RM5.00 higher
unless that banks dont bother about its reputation

Remind you we are not talking about traders
we are talking about buying bank bonds from banks.
no no... don't focus on the 2 or 5rm. It is just a number, which is also the point.
You mentioned the spread is 2rm; so I am just saying it is not a fixed number. It is all up to the bank.

you just noticed 2 rm because the bonds are too short tenor.... if the bond is like a 20 year bond, then the spread can easily be wider.

yeah, I know we are talking about retail banks in Malaysia. When you buy bonds from banks, whom you think is quoting you the price in actual reality? Its the traders sitting in the banks.
Reputation is not that valuable, in case you didn't realize yet.
Wedchar2912
post Jul 31 2023, 02:16 AM

3,669 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jul 31 2023, 01:18 AM)
above is a muddled post of irrelevant FX spreads uncertainty and bond illiquidity.

Investment grade Bond behaves like Forex, betul kah bro?

Still i dont see how that can substantiate your allegation bonds are unregulated can simply charge extra RM5 for profit
Very illiquid i also find it hard to believe.
You got to have bonds to know the illiquidity
or rather liquidity. how can you say very illiquid if i get  my money at T+7?

The spread of course is the fee the bank earns la.
somebody has to pay the fee for sure.

The question is who.

My RM said it is the  buyer and not me the seller!

but you say i  will never know unless i know at what price bank sell it out
meaning what? Are you saying bank must buy and sell at same price only can say my RM is correct?

If not , what is the use of finding out at what price the bank sell?
That is quite a ridiculous suggestion expecting to see bank buy sell at same price.

I expect the  bank to sell at higher price.
make some money from buyer tak boleh? rclxub.gif

the spread example there RM2.00 actually i simply put only
i think  is quite high already yet you are saying it is  much more higher
profit margin no limit?

Quite unbelievable, surely there must be some limit i think.

How often  clients shop around?
i am surprised you dont know nowadays people are no longer dumb
see FD  thread for example, you can see what.
so easy with internet now to connect and ask

You think by right i should to buy bonds at PAR RM100 only?
like in Singapore as brother hksgmy proudly announced?
Dream on bro, wake up to reality!
this is maresia

i doubt  you have bought any bonds la telling me that.

We just have to adjust ourselves to fit in la bro
Not hoping for maresia adjust  to fit us
or we would miss many opportunities
trying in vain to get even.
QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jul 31 2023, 01:46 AM)
See how much confusion @Wedchar2912 has  caused to the uninitiated.....

people are now thinking Bond world is a wild wild west
unregulated
no rules
can be manipulated....doh.gif

Take it from me Bank bond is regulated
prices can be manipulated is an exaggeration

Dont listen to people who dont even have bonds
Talk from reading and hearsay only.

prices is clearly stated for you to buy or sell

Ask anyone who has bought bonds before
No such thing must see transaction price
add in fees etc
then try to calculate how much return is there

It is all there ready for you to see.

no hanky panky lah!
lol. I thought I was doing you a favor by sharing proper knowledge. Unfortunately, not only is it not appreciated, I sense some hostility, which I do not understand.
So, no point wasting my effort and in the same time, get your agitated for no reason. I do not simply talk nonsense when it comes to financial products, as all my old posts can clearly indicate.
A little knowledge can be a dangerous thing bro. But you can ignore everything I mentioned in this tread and sure, you are very right in saying the 102 price is due to a FEE by the bank.

(btw, FX is supposed to be quite simple, and yet there are so many who thinks the price on google are the tradable prices. Just an example of what normal people knows.
and regulation doesn't mean prices are regulated. you are mixing things up)

Wedchar2912
post Jul 31 2023, 02:19 AM

3,669 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jul 31 2023, 01:54 AM)
Yes, you are correct re the bonds being regulated, and that it’s actually supposed to be a safer class of investments compared to shares.

Here in Singapore, bonds on the secondary market are subject to a bid offer to purchase by potential buyers. However, depending on your bank, when the bank buys the bond that you’re trying to sell, they obviously won’t tell you the bid offer by a prospective buyer, but instead, offer you their (the bank’s) own buying price, which could be a few cents lower than the buyer’s offer.

The bank then sells it to the buyer at a price which is a few cents higher than the buyer’s bid price, and if the buyer is willing to buy, the bank earns both ways. This is what I meant by a spread.

Sorry for any confusion.

Like you, I’ve never sold any of my bonds. Not even when the capital appreciates. The way I invest in bonds is to think of them as hassle free property proxies that I don’t have to pay property tax, cukai pintu, agent fees, council tax etc on. Just buy, and collect ‘rental’ every 6 months.
Do not get confused with the meaning of regulated.

Just an example:
Medicines are also regulated, but are the medical drug prices really regulated? Panadol must be 2rm per tablet?

Wedchar2912
post Aug 1 2023, 07:50 PM

3,669 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Aug 1 2023, 06:43 PM)
Worth la.
gomen will bail it out if got trouble, facepalm guy said ...
apa mahu takut?
Wah many thanks for saying that, tired  trying to counter Wedchar2912´s totally negative post...

i sold  that one was BBB, your UOB AT1 also downgraded to BBB since CS issue
but lucky US sorted it out fast enough and it has moved up back
you might be trying  to help  but kind of giving raw data and not in context
aka talking from the behind your desk
me practical guy going more by real life experience,
what´s behind the scene is secondary unless i can change it.

buy banker bonds i still will l..despite you have painted  them ALL negatively.
You have a misconception there
Medicine  is regulated for another purpose not so much for regulating  prices of Panadol etc.
no difference from  bond prices - leave it  to demand and supply especially WHEN u can choose
where to  get it.
ya true very safe also no use if coupons so low.
Oh well... Just ignore everything I wrote since you feel so bad about it.

I kinda regretted sharing too much industry secrets.

edit: remember your post 36? didn't you wanted to know whats going on?

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Aug 1 2023, 08:11 PM
Wedchar2912
post Aug 6 2023, 10:44 PM

3,669 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Aug 6 2023, 07:56 PM)
I fail the first criteria 😁

Moving on. What's the typical returns for these types of bonds?
The conditions are of "or" logic/statements... you just need to satisfy one of them. So the easiest is maybe is the condition 3 (1 sgd million).

Wedchar2912
post Aug 10 2023, 02:47 PM

3,669 posts

QUOTE(sirius2017 @ Aug 10 2023, 11:51 AM)
FD at 6% 12m, one time offering of 1:1 if bought together with bond
Current 12m FD promo is around >= 4%

Indicative ask price of bond is MYR107.83
Taking into consideration of the promo FD extra of around 2%, this will lower the ask price of the bond.

Not sure my understanding is correct here, can I take that the adjusted current price of bond is around MYR105.83 (107.83 -2)?
Is so, this give YTM % of around 4.195% using the bond YTM calculator below.

Hopefully someone can confirm whether my understanding is correct. Newbie here learning. Thanks

https://dqydj.com/bond-yield-to-maturity-calculator/
great analysis and dissection.

the yield does look rather low, even though it is for ringgit risk free.
May as well throw extra money into EPF... similar risk if one has the means to take the money out after 14 years.
Wedchar2912
post Aug 25 2023, 03:24 PM

3,669 posts

QUOTE(cindyKL @ Aug 25 2023, 02:52 PM)
Buying from FSMOne better than but from bank? How about on fees? Processing fee 0.5%, platfrom fee 0.045% per quarter. If buy from bank got platform fee too?
if you managed to get it at PAR value.... then yes of course.
Also don't know if the price indicated is a tradable price. Hopefully it is.
Wedchar2912
post Dec 7 2023, 01:35 PM

3,669 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 6 2023, 11:23 PM)
Looks like the Tropicana bonds on FSM might be mispriced. Their financial performance in Q3 2023 results improved (pare down debt, redeem Sukuk maturing in FY2023, increased cash holdings, and assets disposal of education subsidiaries completed). Today they just announced W Hotel is being sold for RM270m.
really? but many bond investors will say that malaysia's bond market is efficient and liquid... ... blink.gif
Wedchar2912
post Feb 13 2024, 07:07 PM

3,669 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ Feb 13 2024, 04:29 PM)
I think you meant bond price going downhill....

Market is pricing increased risk on the bonds. On the callability I guess.
Wedchar2912
post Feb 13 2024, 10:26 PM

3,669 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Feb 13 2024, 10:20 PM)
Nah, it's FSM manipulating the Bond Express prices. It's a very opaque system. I might write in an official complaint to SC about this. Although it doesn't really impact me since I'll hold to whenever it is called.

The yields on the real market have somewhat stablised and even recovered.
well, the only way to test whether the price is being manipulated (assuming too cheap) is to hit the price and see if they honor the deal. that's how price discovery work.

edit: btw, i don't mean to ask you buy more of the bond. that's not my intention. i am just describing the standard method to check if the price is real.

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Feb 13 2024, 10:41 PM
Wedchar2912
post Feb 14 2024, 12:08 AM

3,669 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Feb 13 2024, 11:37 PM)
As you can see, there are no bonds for sale at 93.5.

They are offering to buy 50k nominal at 92.0. Which is an absurd low price, and despite that, some who are desperate for cash flow still sell out.

When they have inventory, they buy at 92.0 and sell at 93.5. So they're making easy money. But, the price is not reflective of the actual market valuation. They're profiting from the trading fees, platform fees, AND the bid-ask spread.

Actual transaction: https://www.bixmalaysia.com/security-info-p...nformation-tab6

As you can see, other than the two trades at 91.0 on 29th Jan 2024, trades have been stable at around 96.0 - 98.0.

I have a hunch that it is even possible that the 91.0 trades were purchased by FSM on the open market, hence they had quite a bit of inventory to sell at 93.5 over the past couple of weeks on Bond Express.

The Bond Express platform should be like a stock exchange, allow market participants to bid the price, rather than FSM setting the prices via some opaque mechanism.
This is what illiquidity means, and that bonds are traded in the OTC market. As much as Bond Express is trying to make itself like a exchange, it is not. It is just a platform. The other "platform" the retail banks and buy via your fav RM.

Prices presented as 92.0/93.5 is the bid/offer price on the platform. No transactions at these levels indicate illiquidity, and in some sense, is the market price on this platform. If a investor feel it is good value, then he should just hit the 93.5 price and get his bond. In fact, if this investor have enough money and risk appetite, he can keep on buying the bonds until FSM platform runs out or until the price shifts higher.
Conversely, if a existing investor is desperate and willing to sell his bonds at 92, he should just throw.

The other part is a market structure issue, which maybe you would know.
Similar to Brk-A convertible to Brk-B (and then to -C) but in reverse, would you know if the small lot size can be grouped together to form the standard lot size of 250K rm? I suspect it is not possible and hence this creates a weird dual pricing.
(like you said, there were transaction of 250K rm at 91, which suggested someone can break the standard lot to small lot and try to earn the 2 bucks. It is just a guess and no way to find out except to ask some insider in FSM).

Nonetheless, looking the transactions, even the full lots are traded below par, with 6 months away for the callability. Investors are not fully convinced that the issuer will call back the bonds. I also think this bond don't have cumulative deferral feature. Just my guess.

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Feb 14 2024, 12:19 AM
Wedchar2912
post Feb 14 2024, 12:12 AM

3,669 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Feb 13 2024, 11:46 PM)

what you see is what you get. if it shows RM102 and the actual amount you  have to pay..
and you go click buy, there is nothing to prove there other than buying at high prices
the low prices odd lots no stock and you go buy full lot units prices .

contestchris was referring to the small lot prices, which is 92/93.5. the full lot prices do look normal in the sense that it is above par...

Wedchar2912
post Feb 14 2024, 12:24 AM

3,669 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Feb 14 2024, 12:20 AM)
There is NO WAY for you to buy at 93.50 at the moment. FSM is not selling at that price.

You can however sell at 92.00. Up to RM50k nominal.

At the moment, FSM is only buying at 92.00 and that's why I say, there is some level of manipulation here.
ah ok, then I agree with you... definitely got cause to complain to SC... cos terang terang display 93.5 as live price. that is outright lying.

edit: only after you mentioned, did I realize that even the website is not truthful... i thought 93.5 price is live ask price, but with zero volume... can only see the zero volume after clicking. mad.gif

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Feb 14 2024, 12:28 AM
Wedchar2912
post Mar 3 2024, 02:53 PM

3,669 posts

QUOTE(BWassup @ Mar 3 2024, 10:54 AM)
If that does happen, wouldn't that lead to a cross-default of their banking facilities? They just announced buying more land in Tropicana for RM224m.

They will not be able to pay any dividends as well.

hmm.gif
no lar... like the name suggested, it is a perp, with a callable feature. The call sits with the issuer.

issuer not calling it is not a bankruptcy event, as it is specifically allowed in the mandate.
This bond have dividend covenant? if got, then maybe not so bad.

0.0289sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:13 PM