139 Pages « < 129 130 131 132 133 > » Bottom

Travel All About Hong Kong, Info moved to Facebook Page now!!

moody5
post Sep 30 2009, 10:22 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(TradeChanges @ Sep 29 2009, 11:14 PM)
i gotta say avoid staying in TST lol..its so crowded its almost similar to our sg wang area...minus the malays ...btw...staying in central is safer and quieter
Wan Zai also quiter with cheaper rate as compared to central i guess
GKilla
post Oct 1 2009, 08:41 AM

453 posts

QUOTE(jes88 @ Sep 25 2009, 10:15 PM)
some q regarding the mtr station, during the interchange from Mongkok to Tung Chung at Lai Khing, is there any Clear Signboard lead us to the right direction mtr?
From what i've read so far, yes.

You also might find these videos useful (part 1-part 4):

However this is from Tsim Tsa Tsui to Tung Chung (Interchange at Lai King). Since TST is one station hop away, should be quite similar to what you are looking for.

This post has been edited by GKilla: Oct 1 2009, 08:53 AM
on9
post Oct 1 2009, 12:36 PM

anyone stay at west hotel before ?

can give some reviews ?..between west hotel or royal plaza hotel ?
Crusader
post Oct 2 2009, 09:38 AM

783 posts

QUOTE(alan_quest @ Sep 19 2009, 11:37 AM)
Hi Northasian,

I just got back from your home country today.  Late flight.  Didn't really get good sleep.  Some of you may wonder whether I had a good time since most of you here are so eager to travel HK.  With all the itineraries being planned everyday like it's visiting heaven.

Your info here are really useful and the HK Tourism must duly reward you for promoting HK.  It has really helped me during my travel.  Was greeted with the typhoon no. 8 when I was there.  So, it was heavy raining in my trip.  Guess I brought fortune to HK.

After travelling HK for the first time, I have only this to say, "THE PEOPLE ARE F.....ING RUDE".  I mean I have never encountered people with such attitude.  Of course, to say everyone is rude, is not fair but "THE MAJORITY" are like that.  Maybe their schools never teach them.  Of course, we do find rude people in every country...but..in HK it's an exceptional lot.  They just don't give a DAMN.  Another thing, STAY AWAY FROM THIS "LIN HEUNG" restaurant.  They are not only rude, the food sucks.

So, for those who are so eager like it's some kind of a paradise...BE WARNED.

Things are also so expensive....not all but most of it.....

And I realise that HK people have no substance.  "Tin Kosong".  They are very materialistic.  Everything has to be branded and the most fashionable.  They don't like the mainland people, but yet they have to be "forced" to accommodate them because the chinese mainland are the ones supporting HK economy.
I'm a Malaysian currently staying in Hong Kong now (almost 5 years). And I really don't agree with you in terms of HK people attitude. I found that the majority of people here are much more polite and helpful to strangers. If you're comparing people at the ladies market, most of them are not local (mainlander) and uneducated. But even that, I hardly hear them swearing vulgar words at anyone like those at Petaling Street. I have experienced the best after sales supports from most of the shop in Mongkok Computer Centre (sort of HK lowyat).

And their school (education) are much more better than ours. For those people rude people you encountered, I have friends that visiting from M'sia have the same comments. Usually, it is them that rude in the first place. I'm not saying that you are rude. But did you provoke them? They might be giving the same comments on M'sian tourist. (stingy and rude). The rudest people in HK are those working at the airport immigration department. But I have encountered some very helpful and polite ID officer.

For the food, I have to assume that you're not a Cantonese or not really fond of Cantonese food. I found that most of my colleague/friends from KL that falls to the 2 category will gave the same comments as yours. My colleague (currently based in Japan) who hates japanese food said Tokyo food sucks too. smile.gif

jes88
post Oct 2 2009, 11:08 PM

126 posts

Big thanks, it really help a lot.

QUOTE(GKilla @ Oct 1 2009, 08:41 AM)
From what i've read so far, yes.

You also might find these videos useful (part 1-part 4):

However this is from Tsim Tsa Tsui to Tung Chung (Interchange at Lai King). Since TST is one station hop away, should be quite similar to what you are looking for.
Sweetie89
post Oct 3 2009, 05:55 PM

29 posts

what hotel is recommended? I am going at 6-11 Jan 2010.. any hotel with reasonable price and near to city?
moody5
post Oct 5 2009, 08:24 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(Sweetie89 @ Oct 3 2009, 05:55 PM)
what hotel is recommended? I am going at 6-11 Jan 2010.. any hotel with reasonable price and near to city?
which 'city' are you referring to? reasonable price = Rm300 per night?

jhlam
post Oct 5 2009, 04:36 PM

Need information here. Might be travelling to HK for the 1st time next year. Where is the best place to stay? e.g near to the MTR, shopping and eating. My budget is around RM250 per night.

By the way, i will bring my little kid there too..

Thanks for info.
rourou
post Oct 5 2009, 05:29 PM

Ho~ Ho~ Ho~
975 posts

the last time i was in HK was staying in Sai Wan (near the Hoi Mei Kai). it's in HK Island, so every time want to travel to TST will need to pay more for MRT. But if you're not there for many days i guess it's ok smile.gif.

alan_quest, the last time i was in HK.... i found the ppl there had been very nice and helpful. especially when you tell them that you're a tourist smile.gif perhaps it's just a few you've met which are rude. sorry that you've had a bad experience. i have to say... my time in HK was really enjoyable...

This post has been edited by rourou: Oct 5 2009, 05:31 PM
XiuKeong
post Oct 5 2009, 10:46 PM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,437 posts

QUOTE(moody5 @ Oct 5 2009, 08:24 AM)
which 'city' are you referring to? reasonable price = Rm300 per night?
Around Rm1,100 to Rm1,300 for 5 nights.
moody5
post Oct 6 2009, 08:42 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Oct 5 2009, 10:46 PM)
Around Rm1,100 to Rm1,300 for 5 nights.
I suggest you to go to those hotel booking website to search on the hotel prices

hotel rates also defer from time to time due to different festival..

if you want to go for shopping or lepak in Mong kok then you pick hotel around that area..

i prefer to stay in Wan Chai.. easier to move around with a cheaper rate as compared to hotels in Central

la bella
post Oct 6 2009, 11:36 AM

962 posts

Which is the easiest and fastest way getting to The Peak? MTR 中环 Central Station (Exit J2) then walk or MTR to 金钟 Admiralty (Exit C1) then take bus?
rourou
post Oct 6 2009, 12:34 PM

Ho~ Ho~ Ho~
975 posts

i go to the MTR and walk over..... but it's not as close as it looks on the map. around 15 minutes walk... because it's uphill... but if you don't mind the walk then it's ok. you'll pass by the marriage registry as well, quite nice, the last time cause i saw a few couple taking pics and etc smile.gif

moody5
post Oct 6 2009, 03:04 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(la bella @ Oct 6 2009, 11:36 AM)
Which is the easiest and fastest way getting to The Peak? MTR 中环 Central Station (Exit J2) then walk or MTR to 金钟 Admiralty (Exit C1) then take bus?
take cab to the 缆车站 from 中环/ 金钟 .. i remember i took cab from 上环 til the station cost less than 20HKD..

fast and easy
vxeon
post Oct 6 2009, 07:25 PM

75 posts

Would like to ask those who have stayed in Dragon Hostel. Do they provide towels in the room?

D@VinCi
post Oct 6 2009, 08:38 PM

just noticed about this 'black shop' selling chinese herbs & medicine in HK.. PLZZZZZzzzzzz avoid this shop..

For those tat can read chinese.. here's da news related to this black shop..
http://news.wenxuecity.com/BBSView.php?Sub...238&c_lang=big5
Ami Tsun
post Oct 7 2009, 01:32 AM

QUOTE(vxeon @ Oct 6 2009, 07:25 PM)

Would like to ask those who have stayed in Dragon Hostel. Do they provide towels in the room?

Towels are provided, not in the room, have to collect from the office, self service. Used towels, if you want to change, just throw them into the laundry basket provided in the "apartment unit".

In addtition, shampoo and liquid soap are provided in the bathroom, in the wall dispensers.
kylie
post Oct 7 2009, 01:46 AM

81 posts

Hi all,

These are my drafts itenary for 8 days/ 7 nites. I would like to know is this feasible? Appreciate if some advice are given on the itenary. I will not be going to Disneyland hence will be going Museum hoping instead. Anywhere do you recommend that I can visit?

Thanks alot.

Day 0 Tuesday ( 3-Nov-09 )
Walk around Mongkok arrival at 8pm

Day 1 Wednesday ( 4-Nov-09 )
Museum hopping,Ladies Street

Day 2 Thursday ( 5-Nov-09 )
Macau

Day 3 Friday ( 6-Nov-09 )
Maddame Tussauds,Victoria's Peak

Day 4 Saturday ( 7-Nov-09 )
Ngong ping (Big Buddha),Tsing Ma,Citygate Mall,Apliu street

Day 5 Sunday ( 8-Nov-09 )
Avenue of stars,Star ferry,Shopping

Day 6 Monday ( 9-Nov-09 )
Ocean's Park, Lan Kwai Fong

Day 7 Tuesday ( 10-Nov-09 )
Walk around Mongkok, flight at 8pm

moody5
post Oct 7 2009, 08:27 AM

296 posts

you dont need whole day for Madame Tussuad,Victoria's Peak
Hinika
post Oct 7 2009, 04:40 PM

456 posts

guys n gals, nid some help here..
having a 8days7nites trip to hk for my pre-wedding photography + shopping on this coming november, nid some advise on my schedule...

04/11/09
- boarding at 9.15am from KLIA, reach HK Chek Lap Kok airport on 12.55pm
- hotel : Newton Hotel Kowloon @ Mong Kok
- free time after that

05/11/09
- 10am have to reach the Kowloon Tong MTR station, and go to the wedding shop
- would take around 2-3 hours for fitting
- free time after that

06/11/09
- free time for shoping

07/11/09
- free time for shoping

08/11/09
- take whole day for photo shooting

09/11/09
- choose photos at the wedding shop @ Kow Long Tong around 4pm
- free time before and after that...

09/11/09
- free time for play(or back-up time)
- might spend in Ocean Park and around there if done our shoping or nothing happend laugh.gif

11/11/09
- boarding at 2.35pm from HK airport

my girlfriend wan to shop at the... (sry if wrong spelling)
Factory Outlet @ Tung Chung, some shopping mall/shop @ Central/KowLong/Mong Kok or HabourCity Mall @ Tsim Sha Zui maybe,
night view for The Peak (safe to go there as juz 2 of us), Avenue of Star, Victoria Peak (star ferry), and the "wax muzium" (?)

any other places for shoping or must-go places that i missed ? rclxub.gif

the "Wax Muzium" was located at The Peak? the Tung Chung factory outlet was around there also? if yes then i can spend a day around there...

having 1 days free for play(or back-up), 2days free for shopping and 3 nights free for relax/enjoy the night view... doesnt rili know how to fill my plan into the schedule rclxub.gif doesnt want to be rush...

- its safe to visit the peak or the "girl street" during night as just both of us?
- check the weather on november is around 19-24C, is it correct?

This post has been edited by Hinika: Oct 7 2009, 05:09 PM

139 Pages « < 129 130 131 132 133 > » Top

0.0542sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:17 AM