What's the current 5G status in Malaysia?

TScontestchris
post Jul 9 2023, 12:17 AM, updated 3y ago

5,516 posts

Has 5G launched in Malaysia? If yes, how come my S23 with Maxis postpaid still on 4G?

I actually cannot find any information about the actual market availability of 5G presently. All I know is, people have been taking about it for 2-3 years now.

Piers
post Jul 9 2023, 12:20 AM

1,900 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jul 9 2023, 12:17 AM)
Has 5G launched in Malaysia? If yes, how come my S23 with Maxis postpaid still on 4G?

I actually cannot find any information about the actual market availability of 5G presently. All I know is, people have been taking about it for 2-3 years now.
maxis have yet implement 5G
zidane28
post Jul 9 2023, 12:32 AM

295 posts

Maxis not yet launch 5G due to being late nego with DNB.

But should be soon...
TScontestchris
post Jul 9 2023, 12:45 AM

5,516 posts

QUOTE(zidane28 @ Jul 9 2023, 12:32 AM)
Maxis not yet launch 5G due to being late nego with DNB.

But should be soon...
Who HAS launched 5G here then?
DoragonHunter
post Jul 9 2023, 12:48 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jul 9 2023, 12:45 AM)
Who HAS launched 5G here then?
You live under the rock or didn't bother to check other telco? Other telcos like Yes, Unifi, Celcom, Digi, UMobile has 5G for almost a year already. Maxis meanwhile is knows its userbase is dumb not to switch to a better telco outside maxis and refused to implement 5G to make more profits from the users. Seeing that you didn't even know there's already 5G outside maxis and every other telco has been advertising for a year, guess you're their target customer making their shareholder loaded while you got cheated.

This post has been edited by DoragonHunter: Jul 9 2023, 12:53 AM
TScontestchris
post Jul 9 2023, 01:00 AM

5,516 posts

QUOTE(DoragonHunter @ Jul 9 2023, 12:48 AM)
You live under the rock or didn't bother to check other telco? Other telcos like Yes, Unifi, Celcom, Digi, UMobile has 5G for almost a year already. Maxis meanwhile is knows its userbase is dumb not to switch to a better telco outside maxis and refused to implement 5G to make more profits from the users. Seeing that you didn't even know there's already 5G outside maxis and every other telco has been advertising for a year, guess you're their target customer making their shareholder loaded while you got cheated.
I don't deny it, reason I ask is someone told me everyone has 5G except Maxis, I find that hard to believe since Maxis has been our premier telco for a long time. A Google search was not able to answer definitely that all telcos except Maxis have already got 5G.

At the moment, it doesn't really bother me to be honest. 4G serves me quite well and I have good Wifi at home.

But yes, I should start looking to CelcomDigi maybe.

This post has been edited by contestchris: Jul 9 2023, 01:01 AM
DoragonHunter
post Jul 9 2023, 01:05 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jul 9 2023, 01:00 AM)
I don't deny it, reason I ask is someone told me everyone has 5G except Maxis, I find that hard to believe since Maxis has been our premier telco for a long time. A Google search was not able to answer definitely that all telcos except Maxis have already got 5G.

At the moment, it doesn't really bother me to be honest. 4G serves me quite well and I have good Wifi at home.

Maxis is no longer a premier telco since 2016 anyway since the scandal on their "special"plans. The google search is misleading as Maxis advertises 5G is coming but they don't have 5G as they want to scam gullible customers (It's not illegal as they said 5G is available OUTSIDE Malaysia), though every other telco advertises they have 5G for a year now. Maxis is now the worst telco with the most expensive plans and slowest network.

This post has been edited by DoragonHunter: Jul 9 2023, 01:06 AM
tekkaus
post Jul 9 2023, 01:25 AM

428 posts

Takde 5G smartphone yet. Too poor...so tak tahu...
LarryPizzaGuy
post Jul 9 2023, 02:19 AM

/k 20k Club (Verified)
880 posts

FYI, for sharing,

1. DNB is the only telco company in Malaysia to own 5G (Because, politics).

2. Other telco company (Maxis, CelcomDigi, U Mobile, RedTone, YES, etc) can only lease/rent the 5G network from DNB and thus are able to offer "5G connectivity" for their userbase/subscribers.

3. As far as I'm concerned, Maxis is the only major player that has yet signed the agreement to lease/rent the 5G network from DNB.

3a. Why? Because to those who in the industry, knows that the 5G network build by Ericsson are questionable at best. Maxis is confident that their current 4G network is strong and are able to compete with 5G. (I've worked with consultants and RF planners who have verified this).

Don't get peer pressured into thinking/believing that 5G is a magic thing that somehow will change your life (it is not). The improvement from 4G to 5G is (at most) 20-30% from the consumer's pov, unlike the massive leap we've seen from 3G to 4G. Essentially, 5G is overhyped.

If you're happy with Maxis, I'd recommend just sticking to it. Because currently Maxis is the most reliable mobile network in Malaysia.

However, if you're keen on giving 5G a go, any telco would do (however it won't make much of a difference between telcos because all of them are leasing/renting the same cell/station from DNB). However, the main deciding factor between telco would be their 4G coverage, and after sales support.

Hope this helps clear things up thumbsup.gif
Thrust
post Jul 9 2023, 06:07 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

Digi 5G, have to pay rm10 a month to have access via 5G booster pack effective July 2023.
jibpek
post Jul 9 2023, 07:41 AM

706 posts

GG
p4n6
post Jul 9 2023, 10:20 AM

5,968 posts

I think no harm to port out to try other telco, just dont get con into buying phone and sign contract …

Can always port back after 2 months …

I agree the “premium telco” is marketing and branding Maxis invested to build last decade and they indeed live up to the standard and quality back then… but i think ever since mid of 2010-2020, with much agressive pricing plan by competitors in throwing price … Maxis also join in the party so quality begins to go south ever since … even is slightly better quality than competition and few Ringgit higher as compared to competition … it is barely noticeable quality improvement … so their premium status degraded as well …
YoungMan
post Jul 9 2023, 10:55 AM

6,787 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jul 9 2023, 01:00 AM)

Go read up about Malaysia's 5g before you decide. Imo 5g is still not a necessity for normal user.
https://soyacincau.com/2023/06/08/maxis-ceo...of%20end%2D2022.

nexona88
post Jul 9 2023, 11:09 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,416 posts

Personally

Don't really desperate & the urgent needs to have / use 5G service as for now... Whatever 4G or 4G+ is sufficient enough for my daily needs & requirements 🙏

So even if u don't know much about 5G... It's okay. Don't worry about it.... Takes few years before the take up rates increased drastically.... As device supportive 5G become more affordable & the package too (no add fee for using 5G)...
!@#$%^
post Jul 9 2023, 07:33 PM

Safe Trader
17,493 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Jul 9 2023, 10:55 AM)
Go read up about Malaysia's 5g before you decide. Imo 5g is still not a necessity for normal user.
https://soyacincau.com/2023/06/08/maxis-ceo...of%20end%2D2022.
QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jul 9 2023, 11:09 AM)
Personally

Don't really desperate & the urgent needs to have / use 5G service as for now... Whatever 4G or 4G+ is sufficient enough for my daily needs & requirements 🙏

So even if u don't know much about 5G... It's okay. Don't worry about it.... Takes few years before the take up rates increased drastically.... As device supportive 5G become more affordable & the package too (no add fee for using 5G)...
that's what their boss said, and that's y they are chilling only
acbc
post Jul 9 2023, 07:43 PM

9,035 posts

Maxis premium? Hahaha!

They don't even take care of old clients from 1995! I and my parents were Maxis clients since the beginning and eventually ported out after being given unfair treatment and lousy offers compared to new clients.

Will I ever go back to Maxis? Nope. Never!
nexona88
post Jul 9 2023, 08:24 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,416 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Jul 9 2023, 07:33 PM)
that's what their boss said, and that's y they are chilling only
Well they know the market & people needs....

On mine.. don't know about others... Members of my family also okay with current 4G... Sufficient enough for daily usage.... No urgency to upgrade to 5G 😁
!@#$%^
post Jul 9 2023, 08:37 PM

Safe Trader
17,493 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Jul 9 2023, 07:43 PM)
Maxis premium? Hahaha!

They don't even take care of old clients from 1995! I and my parents were Maxis clients since the beginning and eventually ported out after being given unfair treatment and lousy offers compared to new clients.

surprised took u so long
YoungMan
post Jul 9 2023, 09:13 PM

6,787 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Jul 9 2023, 07:43 PM)
Maxis premium? Hahaha!

Other telco also do the same, offer only for new users. Legacy plan stay forever expensive until ppl want to port out baru nak offer. Hence once in a while, do a review of your mobile plan and take action. If you can, check what plan your parents are using, update them when necessary so that they don't continue paying for something which is not relevan.

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jul 9 2023, 08:24 PM)
Well they know the market & people needs....

On mine..  don't know about others... Members of my family also okay with current 4G... Sufficient enough for daily usage.... No urgency to upgrade to 5G 😁
What MCMC should do now is to try and improve indoor coverage as much as possible.
tcwan
post Jul 10 2023, 09:00 AM

151 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Jul 9 2023, 09:13 PM)
Other telco also do the same, offer only for new users. Legacy plan stay forever expensive until ppl want to port out baru nak offer. Hence once in a while, do a review of your mobile plan and take action. If you can, check what plan your parents are using, update them when necessary so that they don't continue paying for something which is not relevan.
What MCMC should do now is to try and improve indoor coverage as much as possible.
It's not just indoor coverage. Since the 3G sunset, cellular coverage has been bad all over. Long wait for call connection, unable to connect etc. End up having to resort to WhatsApp calls if I need to reach people.

And of course, relying only on existing towers means that 4G coverage cannot match what we had with 3G. With no intentions to increase the number of towers, I don't see how 5G coverage would be any better.
sasuke8678
post Jul 10 2023, 10:59 AM

WhySoSerious!!
2,013 posts

Maxis still dont have 5G yet
Im using Celcom, but 5G line sucks, i use 4G/LTE only
nexona88
post Jul 10 2023, 03:58 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,416 posts

QUOTE(sasuke8678 @ Jul 10 2023, 10:59 AM)
Maxis still dont have 5G yet
Im using Celcom, but 5G line sucks, i use 4G/LTE only
don't know about others...

personally... I don't feel the needs to use 5G as for now...

4G / 4G+ is good enough for daily usages.... maybe few years time. then needs to use 5G (also that time network already stable & matured) with cheaper devices available icon_rolleyes.gif
budi1413
post Jul 10 2023, 04:28 PM

1,607 posts

5g is good for home broadband tho

for those without fibre connection like me
budi1413
post Jul 10 2023, 04:28 PM

1,607 posts

sasuke8678
post Jul 10 2023, 05:04 PM

WhySoSerious!!
2,013 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jul 10 2023, 03:58 PM)

4G / 4G+ is good enough for daily usages.... maybe few years time. then needs to use 5G (also that time network already stable & matured) with cheaper devices available  icon_rolleyes.gif
same to me, at least not 4G/LTE still ok for me.. cool2.gif
YoungMan
post Jul 10 2023, 08:08 PM

6,787 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jul 10 2023, 03:58 PM)

4G / 4G+ is good enough for daily usages.... maybe few years time. then needs to use 5G (also that time network already stable & matured) with cheaper devices available  icon_rolleyes.gif
I agree. Still holding to 4g until I change phone.

QUOTE(budi1413 @ Jul 10 2023, 04:28 PM)

Definitely. No port no problem, just subscribe to 5g broadband and enjoy high speed internet.
JLA
post Jul 10 2023, 11:38 PM

2,770 posts

axiata charge 5G connection fee

tm, yes, umobile 5G is free
SUSlurkingaround
post Jul 11 2023, 12:50 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Jul 10 2023, 08:08 PM)
I agree. Still holding to 4g until I change phone.

Definitely. No port no problem, just subscribe to 5g broadband and enjoy high speed internet.
In due time (eg in 2025), 5G will also have traffic congestion problems during peak hours in urban areas, like what 4G is experiencing now due to limited bandwidth capacity for mobile Internet and too many urban subscribers per 4G cell tower. Eg .......

QUOTE((digitalifelesss @ May 5 2023, 10:17 PM)

it's that kind of time again... da fuk.
trust me when the speed goes this low it's unusable, because things just don't respond as if it have 120397120371301763102781ms ping....
QUOTE((immobile @ May 10 2023, 11:39 PM)
dammm i thought mine was slow...mine averaging around 10mbps++....my sim card inside huawei b618 modem...i gave up finding ways to enhance my speed. perhaps any sifus here could help a small ant out. tqtq
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4676932/+4460 - Digi Infinite Fan Club [V4], Infinite 150, 100, 80

p4n6
post Jul 12 2023, 07:57 AM

5,968 posts

QUOTE(budi1413 @ Jul 10 2023, 04:28 PM)

Make sure you do not sign contract.
When more people uses 5G, it will congest and your home broadband will become narrowband.
Thing about mobile broadband it is on heavy sharing basis … not to mention DNB 5G shared by all operators in Malaysia … I used 4G home broadband before when it was launched .. first 1-2 yrs okay … sign contract … then can see speed deterioted so bad it is not useable - no refund … so just sit there to see light blinking only
Zot
post Jul 12 2023, 08:22 AM

7,934 posts

The 5G speed claim can be misleading. Like your WiFi, the further away from the transmitter, the slower the connection speed.

There are 3 bands allocated for 5G, Low, Mid and High bands. Now in Malaysia the bands currently active is Low (700 MHz) and Mid (3.5 MHz). Each has speed range of 30~250 Mbps and 100 ~ 900 Mbps respectively. The Low band will go further than the Mid band just like the WiFi 2.4GHz band penetrates farther than the 5GHz band. The High band is under what called millimeter wave operating at 28GHz frequency band with speed 1~3 Gbps.

I don't have 5G phone and roving around away from city center most of the time to bother about 5G laugh.gif
Zot
post Jul 12 2023, 08:24 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Jul 12 2023, 07:57 AM)
When more people uses 5G, it will congest and your home broadband will become narrowband.
Thing about mobile broadband it is on heavy sharing basis … not to mention DNB 5G shared by all operators in Malaysia … I used 4G home broadband before when it was launched .. first 1-2 yrs okay … sign contract … then can see speed deterioted so bad it is not useable - no refund … so just sit there to see light blinking only
Same like Internet but not as bad as mobile smile.gif
budi1413
post Jul 12 2023, 03:26 PM

1,607 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Jul 12 2023, 07:57 AM)
u home 5g no contract one

super cheap some more brows.gif
adiyon84
post Jul 13 2023, 09:52 AM

448 posts

I use Celcom 5G on my iPhone 14 Pro Max and Samsung A13 5G. Umobile 5G on my iPad mini 6.

So far, I have no issue with connectivity and the speed is marvellous at my home in Kota Damansara, can get around 500Mbps to 850Mbps max.
Even in my bedroom and the dining area the signal coverage was like 3 to 4 line (full bar). Maybe my place is okay for 5G speed & coverage (outdoor & indoor).

Tried using 5G also at my hometown in Ipoh, near Sunway City Tambun. Surprisingly I got excellent Gigabit speed with full bar 5G at my house.
I am considered lucky, perhaps. biggrin.gif tongue.gif
sasuke8678
post Jul 13 2023, 10:31 AM

WhySoSerious!!
2,013 posts

QUOTE(adiyon84 @ Jul 13 2023, 09:52 AM)
I use Celcom 5G on my iPhone 14 Pro Max and Samsung A13 5G. Umobile 5G on my iPad mini 6.

So far, I have no issue with connectivity and the speed is marvellous at my home in Kota Damansara, can get around 500Mbps to 850Mbps max.
Even in my bedroom and the dining area the signal coverage was like 3 to 4 line (full bar). Maybe my place is okay for 5G speed & coverage (outdoor & indoor).

Tried using 5G also at my hometown in Ipoh, near Sunway City Tambun. Surprisingly I got excellent Gigabit speed with full bar 5G at my house.
I am considered lucky, perhaps.  biggrin.gif  tongue.gif
Good to hear that,
I'm using Celcom, both my house and office also weak..
Even in 4G mode, only 1 bar, cannot call in/out.. Sad cry.gif

Zaryl
post Jul 13 2023, 10:51 AM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,709 posts

i just got unifi 5G 60GB quota package to be put inside my ipad pro 12.9 M1 5G. Excellent speed around 500Mbps.
then i got YES 5G power 35 100GB quota use at my office inside Tenda 4G router. so far no 5G yet so using 4G only. speeds averaging around 20-25Mbps which is fine for me.

i don't need so much 5G data quota as i already have unifi fiber at home.

i agree with others that 5G is only good for staying at one place for a long time eg. residential home or workplace.
but if you the type to move around a lot, going interstate travels here and there, 4G is still relevant & practical.

but yeah, 5G router is quite expensive now with the good ones may reach ~rm800 or more. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Zaryl: Jul 13 2023, 10:51 AM
Sam Leong
post Jul 13 2023, 11:24 AM

665 posts

Maxis 5G on YB’s device
Hmmm
https://twitter.com/fahmi_fadzil/status/1679148328993566721
Momo33
post Jul 13 2023, 11:30 AM

1,448 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jul 9 2023, 01:17 AM)

try UMobile .... easily 300Mbps tested in Sri Petaling . thumbsup.gif
38RM/ 60GB pm !

JLA
post Jul 13 2023, 11:55 AM

2,770 posts

QUOTE(Sam Leong @ Jul 13 2023, 11:24 AM)
maybe beta testing or smartphone & sim card sponsored by maxis
SleeplessEyes
post Jul 13 2023, 06:09 PM

2,429 posts

anything is possible since currently 5G is NSA and LTE dependant, maixs could just 'switch on' one of its tower for 5G for Fahmi to show off the speed.
seriously Maxis is late to the party
nexona88
post Jul 13 2023, 08:22 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,416 posts

Huh?

Just for show only...

To the minister... Meanwhile others didn't get anything (not that I want it desperately now 😁)
ayamxxx
post Jul 14 2023, 08:30 AM

4,026 posts

currently for work at Pasir Gudang and stay in JB. All areas getting consistent 5G. Use YES rm35 with 400-500mbps speed.
Susuwatari
post Jul 14 2023, 10:11 AM

1,260 posts

Was in Melaka few weeks ago, 5G is widely available in the city area.
powerwoot
post Jul 14 2023, 02:25 PM

讨厌的 ubuntu
2,930 posts

QUOTE(Susuwatari @ Jul 14 2023, 10:11 AM)
Was in Melaka few weeks ago, 5G is widely available in the city area.
yup, now they are extending to kampung area.
peja5081
post Jul 15 2023, 10:30 AM

291 posts

Now maxis realised they won't be 2nd 5G provider for current time🤣. Even there will be soon, DNB already conquer 80% coverage.

Due to lack of alternatives, Maxis will sign 5G access agreement with DNB

https://www.malaymail.com/news/malaysia/202...-with-dnb/79789

This post has been edited by peja5081: Jul 15 2023, 09:09 PM
YoungMan
post Jul 15 2023, 11:30 AM

6,787 posts

QUOTE(peja5081 @ Jul 15 2023, 10:30 AM)
Now maxis realised they won't be 2nd 5G provider for current time🤣. Even they will be soon, DNB already conquer 80% coverage.

They know that to get to par with DNB on the second network will take time. Definitely Maxis cannot wait so long to switch on 5G.
If by then gov decided that all telco must use both network to prevent single point failure, it will be same same story to have the access agreement.
p4n6
post Jul 16 2023, 07:55 AM

5,968 posts

QUOTE(peja5081 @ Jul 15 2023, 10:30 AM)
Now maxis realised they won't be 2nd 5G provider for current time🤣. Even there will be soon, DNB already conquer 80% coverage.

If the second wholesale network starts building, it will still be 2 years behind DNB in term of coverage. DNB today is 60% and promise to be 80% end of the year excluding inbuilding.

Backtrack statement by the industry, DNB service appears cheap in short term but in long term it will be expensive since no commitment on price revision in agreement for long term (contract is 10 years), and historically price per GB reduces every year, that is how telco provide more GB for customers with same subscription cost. With DNB as monopoly, contractually GB same price for next 10 years, so either user getting same GB for next 10 yrs with same price or user pay more if need more GB. We know usage will always increase since more contents, so indirectly it will make users pay more for data in long run.

I think all telco know this that is why insist on second wholesale provider to prevent DNB monopoly … based on agreement, if second wholesale network comes up, telco can exit anytime not bind by 10 yrs contract, this ensure competition that DNB will commit to drop price when the time comes and not doing price control.

ayamxxx
post Jul 16 2023, 09:39 AM

4,026 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Jul 16 2023, 07:55 AM)
If the second wholesale network starts building, it will still be 2 years behind DNB in term of coverage. DNB today is 60% and promise to be 80% end of the year excluding inbuilding.

Backtrack statement by the industry, DNB service appears cheap in short term but in long term it will be expensive since no commitment on price revision in agreement for long term (contract is 10 years), and historically price per GB reduces every year, that is how telco provide more GB for customers with same subscription cost. With DNB as monopoly, contractually GB same price for next 10 years, so either user getting same GB for next 10 yrs with same price or user pay more if need more GB. We know usage will always increase since more contents, so indirectly it will make users pay more for data in long run.

I think all telco know this that is why insist on second wholesale provider to prevent DNB monopoly … based on agreement, if second wholesale network comes up, telco can exit anytime not bind by 10 yrs contract, this ensure competition that DNB will commit to drop price when the time comes and not doing price control.
Not really understood technically or contractually but some telco can give 5G at rm30-35 is a great effort. Coverage of cz still developing and hopefully at a faster rate.
p4n6
post Jul 16 2023, 11:04 AM

5,968 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jul 16 2023, 09:39 AM)
Not really understood technically or contractually but some telco can give 5G at rm30-35 is a great effort. Coverage of cz still developing and hopefully at a faster rate.
Correct most people is short term minded and cannot see beyond 3 mths. What is cheap in front of eye is all that matters thats why alot of ppl went into bad debt …
However i believe business does not run this way, as telco becomes a customer and DNB is seller, they will calculate and check the agreement in details… if telco cant buy cheap from DNB, they cant sell to their customers cheap …
Boldnut
post Jul 17 2023, 09:21 AM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Jul 16 2023, 07:55 AM)

They just need to revise the contract to Yearly basis. Dont know who is the idiot put 10yrs contract.

DNB is better off own by gov & running at cost price zero profit.

As for second wholesale, i hope is run by not Ericsson. Dont wanna depend on one supplier.

This post has been edited by Boldnut: Jul 17 2023, 09:22 AM
p4n6
post Jul 17 2023, 05:37 PM

5,968 posts

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Jul 17 2023, 09:21 AM)
They just need to revise the contract to Yearly basis. Dont know who is the idiot put 10yrs contract.

DNB is better off own by gov & running at cost price zero profit.

As for second wholesale, i hope is run by not Ericsson. Dont wanna depend on one supplier.
I think DNB and MOF (zafrul) + MCMC initially on upperhand as a monopoly, and telco was pushed to the edge with no choice, so even if they put 100 years and super expensive they would have no choice but to sign. It is a perfect extortion scenario orchestrated by MOF & MCMC. Telco will merely channel cost to end users.

DNB will be the main engine to launder money out to fund party election and politicians luxury lifestyles.

It is a perfect heist. Indirectly taking rakyat money to finance politicians.

MOF (aka Zafrul) miscalculated PN government will collapse and telcos (except TM and YES) will gang up to delay the signing until after election ...

Zero profit is a very subjective term, what makes you think DNB can't bubble up their operational cost like giving multi billion overpriced contracts to cronies and their own senior management, luxury lifestyle to bring up their operational cost to make zero profit?

YoungMan
post Jul 17 2023, 08:09 PM

6,787 posts

CelcomDigi – Huawei – ZTE Partner To Hype Up Network Integration
https://www.businesstoday.com.my/2023/07/17...rk-integration/

Try to read the last part of the article. This could be the beginning of Celcom Digi preparing for second 5G network.
westlife
post Jul 18 2023, 12:36 AM

14,227 posts

jb has significant good coverage of 5G now everywhere. much better than KL area i would say based on my experience.
ayamxxx
post Jul 18 2023, 08:02 AM

4,026 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jul 18 2023, 12:36 AM)
jb has significant good coverage of 5G now everywhere. much better than KL area i would say based on my experience.
Agreed. In JB for YES 5G it is indeed faster than in KL and my home in Kajang
pokemon
post Jul 18 2023, 10:00 PM

2,717 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jul 18 2023, 08:02 AM)
Agreed. In JB for YES 5G it is indeed faster than in KL and my home in Kajang
More 5G users in KL compared to JB.
NagaK
post Jul 25 2023, 10:49 PM

1,187 posts

Forget about 5G
When I moved 2017 my new home Digi network sucks mostly rely on 3G fast forward in 2023
Digi now getting better and their network is flawless..
And Maxis keep getting worser next time we should use Maxis nearby their tower I guess I'm staying in double storey house even one upstairs rarely full bar.. where as Digi sometimes touch 300mbps just 4G also 5G now
I make report with Maxis they said 10mbps more than enough for 4G speed LOL what the hell is they think consumers is fool? Or their staffs are not well train enough.....
I don't know what happen to MaxShit these days.......

This post has been edited by NagaK: Jul 25 2023, 10:50 PM

YoungMan
post Jul 27 2023, 09:58 AM

6,787 posts

QUOTE(NagaK @ Jul 25 2023, 10:49 PM)
Forget about 5G
When I moved 2017 my new home Digi network sucks mostly rely on 3G fast forward in 2023
And Maxis keep getting worser next time we should use Maxis nearby their tower I guess I'm staying in double storey house even one upstairs rarely full bar.. where as Digi sometimes touch 300mbps just 4G also 5G now
I make report with Maxis they said 10mbps more than enough for 4G speed LOL what the hell is they think consumers is fool? Or their staffs are not well train enough.....
It's malaysia. The telco pilih tempat hence certain place is good for certain telco only.
sasuke8678
post Jul 28 2023, 10:40 AM

WhySoSerious!!
2,013 posts

Forget about 5G
Celcom lagi teruk bro..
i did complain as well, but nothing can be done also sweat.gif
OlgaC4
post Jul 28 2023, 10:48 AM

5,292 posts

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Jul 13 2023, 06:09 PM)
anything is possible since currently 5G is NSA and LTE dependant, maixs could just 'switch on' one of its tower for 5G for Fahmi to show off the speed.
seriously Maxis is late to the party
Maxis is currently testing is link to 5G. Mess up my 4LTE CA connection.
pokemon
post Jul 28 2023, 09:07 PM

2,717 posts

Forget about 5G
Maxis support team have been brainwashed that its network is the best because it is expensive.
Have dealt with first level support team mainly Indian.
They are very good in taichi and blame everything but MaxSHIT, whenever you complaint network problem.
pokemon
post Jul 28 2023, 09:08 PM

2,717 posts

QUOTE(sasuke8678 @ Jul 28 2023, 10:40 AM)
Celcom lagi teruk bro..
i did complain as well, but nothing can be done also  sweat.gif
Celcom acts like GLC style.
ayamxxx
post Jul 29 2023, 07:31 AM

4,026 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Jul 28 2023, 09:07 PM)
Maxis support team have been brainwashed that its network is the best because it is expensive.
Have dealt with first level support team mainly Indian.
They are very good in taichi and blame everything but MaxSHIT, whenever you complaint network problem.
This is accurate. Same goes to the Celcom postpaid user, paid too overpriced for the spec.
prosibu
post Jul 29 2023, 11:12 AM

2,428 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Jul 27 2023, 09:58 AM)
It's malaysia. The telco pilih tempat hence certain place is good for certain telco only.
This will be changed if 5G is host by DNB only
p4n6
post Jul 29 2023, 01:04 PM

5,968 posts

QUOTE(prosibu @ Jul 29 2023, 11:12 AM)
Exactly last time telco choose where to build based on their sub demographic… with DNB, they lost that option, DNB will build wherever they want and convenient … so if one bad, sub no option to port to other telco that serves better … all will be bad together …
prosibu
post Jul 29 2023, 04:08 PM

2,428 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Jul 29 2023, 01:04 PM)
Exactly last time telco choose where to build based on their sub demographic… with DNB, they lost that option, DNB will build wherever they want and convenient … so if one bad, sub no option to port to other telco that serves better … all will be bad together …
Pro

1) U can just choose which one cheaper..
2) If no coverage.. everyone will complain for u instead of current one (port out lar if ur telco no coverage)
3) If site down, everyone will complain for u. U no need worry ur telco small or what
4) everyone will share same spectrum (at the moment). Unlike currently umobile/unifi slower due to less slectrum than big 3.
5) less investment and less TNB fee to pay ... Imagine current 5 operator having site at mid valley. If DNB build the site, pay 1 tower fee to mid valley management and electric bill to TNB
Cons
1) telco might pakat to increase the price of the plan... This one need government to monitor.

ayamxxx
post Jul 29 2023, 04:21 PM

4,026 posts

QUOTE(prosibu @ Jul 29 2023, 04:08 PM)
Pro

2) If no coverage.. everyone will complain for u instead of current one (port out lar if ur telco no coverage)
3) If site down, everyone will complain for u. U no need worry ur telco small or what
4) everyone will share same spectrum (at the moment). Unlike currently umobile/unifi slower due to less slectrum than big 3.
5) less investment and less TNB fee to pay ... Imagine current 5 operator having site at mid valley. If DNB build the site, pay 1 tower fee to mid valley management and electric bill to TNB
Cons
1) telco might pakat to increase the price of the plan... This one need government to monitor.
Good more pro than cons. Inb4 we had depended to telco,see how many years we customer suffering a lot. Not pro gomen but this time it is good decision
p4n6
post Jul 29 2023, 05:21 PM

5,968 posts

QUOTE(prosibu @ Jul 29 2023, 04:08 PM)
Pro

Cons
Interesting concept but also can be seen in a more realistic way …

#2&3 are doublesided swords, DNB doesnt face end users they dont give shit since is monopoly. Expect gov do the right thing? TM is best example, shit wont be given, still numerous place no port in KV, complain is useless… TM offering fibre for 20 years!!!

#5 So less profit to TNB, less dividends to EPF and Khazanah, so less profit to government and KWSP contributors. If the saving is to no benefit to end consumers dont mean anything … why want to help them save TNB bills?

#4 i agree more efficient it seems. Like communist model. No competition - towards one goal. This model works if been managed correctly however whatever that can go wrong will be go wrong. Malaysia is not the best country when it comes to governance so despite theory is perfect on paper, i personally skeptical on the actual implementation will not work right … this model seems failed in South America and South Africa …

Last. Telco for past 2 decades been dropping price year over year for more MB and GB, new tech comes as free to user (2>3>3G>4G, volte etc) without extra cost … but after DNB offering 5G, Celcom digi webe now charge extra RM10 to get 5G. So because DNB model, telco now works together to hike price … it is worse not better … telco more reluctant to let their users to 5G cause dont want to pay more to DNB. It will slowdown adoption of 5G …
prosibu
post Jul 30 2023, 10:06 AM

2,428 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Jul 29 2023, 05:21 PM)
Interesting concept but also can be seen in a more realistic way …

#2&3 are doublesided swords, DNB doesnt face end users they dont give shit since is monopoly. Expect gov do the right thing? TM is best example, shit wont be given, still numerous place no port in KV, complain is useless… TM offering fibre for 20 years!!!

#5 So less profit to TNB, less dividends to EPF and Khazanah, so less profit to government and KWSP contributors. If the saving is to no benefit to end consumers dont mean anything … why want to help them save TNB bills?

#4 i agree more efficient it seems. Like communist model. No competition - towards one goal. This model works if been managed correctly however whatever that can go wrong will be go wrong. Malaysia is not the best country when it comes to governance so despite theory is perfect on paper, i personally skeptical on the actual implementation will not work right … this model seems failed in South America and South Africa …

Last. Telco for past 2 decades been dropping price year over year for more MB and GB, new tech comes as free to user (2>3>3G>4G, volte etc) without extra cost … but after DNB offering 5G, Celcom digi webe now charge extra RM10 to get 5G. So because DNB model, telco now works together to hike price … it is worse not better … telco more reluctant to let their users to 5G cause dont want to pay more to DNB. It will slowdown adoption of 5G …
I agree with all except the last part...
Currently all high 5G adaption countries having 1 big issue...
Their user not willing to spend money on 5G d...
Korea taiwan and USA have the news and china many users choose to use 4g only also due to hxxxxi phone and expensive 5g plan.

Our telco just mimid blindly to other operator in the world. Not due to DNB monopoly. They will set price for 5g Even telco build their own 5g.
Except U mobile. Only UM allow all users to go 5g. Y? Their 4G cant eveb cater the user existing traffic lol.

ayamxxx
post Jul 30 2023, 11:00 AM

4,026 posts

QUOTE(prosibu @ Jul 30 2023, 10:06 AM)
I agree with all except the last part...
Currently all high 5G adaption countries having 1 big issue...
Their user not willing to spend money on 5G d...
Korea taiwan and USA have the news and china many users choose to use 4g only also due to hxxxxi phone and expensive 5g plan.

Our telco just mimid blindly to other operator in the world. Not due to DNB monopoly. They will set price for 5g Even telco build their own 5g.
Except U mobile. Only UM allow all users to go 5g. Y? Their 4G cant eveb cater the user existing traffic lol.
Previously with U68 supposedly unlimited data, speed. But consistent getting below 10mbps average 3-6mbps
YoungMan
post Jul 30 2023, 03:08 PM

6,787 posts

QUOTE(prosibu @ Jul 29 2023, 11:12 AM)
But DNB bodoh, give agreement for 10 years with same pricing. Who is going to sign a 10 years leased for the same pricing? . If 5G is all about SWN and pricing competition, all the 5 major telcos can join to become 1 entity providing 5g using DNB's network.
The failure of telcos to build infra in rural area is also because of gov's failure to regulate them.
ayamxxx
post Jul 31 2023, 07:55 AM

4,026 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Jul 30 2023, 03:08 PM)
But DNB bodoh, give agreement for 10 years with same pricing. Who is going to sign a 10 years leased for the same pricing? . If 5G is all about SWN and pricing competition, all the 5 major telcos can join to become 1 entity providing 5g using DNB's network.
The failure of telcos to build infra in rural area is also because of gov's failure to regulate them.
In the end all sign right?
mlamlam
post Jul 31 2023, 12:59 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Jul 30 2023, 03:08 PM)
at the end there is a chance to change because all telco will take up all stake from DNB.. but what is sure that in long run it has to invest more by using DNB network...
YoungMan
post Jul 31 2023, 09:21 PM

6,787 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jul 31 2023, 07:55 AM)
In the end all sign right?
Yes. I am curious to know what is the deal negociated that lead them all to sign. If it is only access agreement, yes because they do not have any choice right now.
As for taking up shares in DNB, is it Fahmi want them all to use both network? Is the second network gonna be by all the existing MVNO combined?

QUOTE(mlamlam @ Jul 31 2023, 12:59 PM)
at the end there is a chance to change because all telco will take up all stake from DNB.. but what is sure that in long run it has to invest more by using DNB network...
For them no problem... Invest more means we all pay more also.

0.0624sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 08:54 PM