What's the current 5G status in Malaysia?

YoungMan
post Jul 9 2023, 10:55 AM

6,785 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jul 9 2023, 01:00 AM)
I don't deny it, reason I ask is someone told me everyone has 5G except Maxis, I find that hard to believe since Maxis has been our premier telco for a long time. A Google search was not able to answer definitely that all telcos except Maxis have already got 5G.

At the moment, it doesn't really bother me to be honest. 4G serves me quite well and I have good Wifi at home.

But yes, I should start looking to CelcomDigi maybe.
Go read up about Malaysia's 5g before you decide. Imo 5g is still not a necessity for normal user.
https://soyacincau.com/2023/06/08/maxis-ceo...of%20end%2D2022.

YoungMan
post Jul 9 2023, 09:13 PM

6,785 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Jul 9 2023, 07:43 PM)
Maxis premium? Hahaha!

They don't even take care of old clients from 1995! I and my parents were Maxis clients since the beginning and eventually ported out after being given unfair treatment and lousy offers compared to new clients.

Will I ever go back to Maxis? Nope. Never!
Other telco also do the same, offer only for new users. Legacy plan stay forever expensive until ppl want to port out baru nak offer. Hence once in a while, do a review of your mobile plan and take action. If you can, check what plan your parents are using, update them when necessary so that they don't continue paying for something which is not relevan.

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jul 9 2023, 08:24 PM)
Well they know the market & people needs....

On mine..  don't know about others... Members of my family also okay with current 4G... Sufficient enough for daily usage.... No urgency to upgrade to 5G 😁
What MCMC should do now is to try and improve indoor coverage as much as possible.
YoungMan
post Jul 10 2023, 08:08 PM

6,785 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jul 10 2023, 03:58 PM)
don't know about others...

personally... I don't feel the needs to use 5G as for now...

4G / 4G+ is good enough for daily usages.... maybe few years time. then needs to use 5G (also that time network already stable & matured) with cheaper devices available  icon_rolleyes.gif
I agree. Still holding to 4g until I change phone.

QUOTE(budi1413 @ Jul 10 2023, 04:28 PM)
5g is good for home broadband tho

for those without fibre connection like me
Definitely. No port no problem, just subscribe to 5g broadband and enjoy high speed internet.
YoungMan
post Jul 15 2023, 11:30 AM

6,785 posts

QUOTE(peja5081 @ Jul 15 2023, 10:30 AM)
Now maxis realised they won't be 2nd 5G provider for current time🤣. Even they will be soon, DNB already conquer 80% coverage.

Due to lack of alternatives, Maxis will sign 5G access agreement with DNB

https://www.malaymail.com/news/malaysia/202...-with-dnb/79789
They know that to get to par with DNB on the second network will take time. Definitely Maxis cannot wait so long to switch on 5G.
If by then gov decided that all telco must use both network to prevent single point failure, it will be same same story to have the access agreement.
YoungMan
post Jul 17 2023, 08:09 PM

6,785 posts

CelcomDigi – Huawei – ZTE Partner To Hype Up Network Integration
https://www.businesstoday.com.my/2023/07/17...rk-integration/

Try to read the last part of the article. This could be the beginning of Celcom Digi preparing for second 5G network.
YoungMan
post Jul 27 2023, 09:58 AM

6,785 posts

QUOTE(NagaK @ Jul 25 2023, 10:49 PM)
Forget about 5G
When I moved 2017 my new home Digi network sucks mostly rely on 3G fast forward in 2023
Digi now getting better and their network is flawless..
And Maxis keep getting worser next time we should use Maxis nearby their tower I guess I'm staying in double storey house even one upstairs rarely full bar.. where as Digi sometimes touch 300mbps just 4G also 5G now
I make report with Maxis they said 10mbps more than enough for 4G speed LOL what the hell is they think consumers is fool? Or their staffs are not well train enough.....
I don't know what happen to MaxShit these days.......
It's malaysia. The telco pilih tempat hence certain place is good for certain telco only.
YoungMan
post Jul 30 2023, 03:08 PM

6,785 posts

QUOTE(prosibu @ Jul 29 2023, 11:12 AM)
This will be changed if 5G is host by DNB only
But DNB bodoh, give agreement for 10 years with same pricing. Who is going to sign a 10 years leased for the same pricing? . If 5G is all about SWN and pricing competition, all the 5 major telcos can join to become 1 entity providing 5g using DNB's network.
The failure of telcos to build infra in rural area is also because of gov's failure to regulate them.
YoungMan
post Jul 31 2023, 09:21 PM

6,785 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jul 31 2023, 07:55 AM)
In the end all sign right?
Yes. I am curious to know what is the deal negociated that lead them all to sign. If it is only access agreement, yes because they do not have any choice right now.
As for taking up shares in DNB, is it Fahmi want them all to use both network? Is the second network gonna be by all the existing MVNO combined?

QUOTE(mlamlam @ Jul 31 2023, 12:59 PM)
at the end there is a chance to change because all telco will take up all stake from DNB.. but what is sure that in long run it has to invest more by using DNB network...
For them no problem... Invest more means we all pay more also.

0.0176sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 01:24 PM