4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

What's the current 5G status in Malaysia?

ayamxxx
post Jul 14 2023, 08:30 AM

4,025 posts

currently for work at Pasir Gudang and stay in JB. All areas getting consistent 5G. Use YES rm35 with 400-500mbps speed.
Susuwatari
post Jul 14 2023, 10:11 AM

1,260 posts

Was in Melaka few weeks ago, 5G is widely available in the city area.
powerwoot
post Jul 14 2023, 02:25 PM

讨厌的 ubuntu
2,930 posts

QUOTE(Susuwatari @ Jul 14 2023, 10:11 AM)
Was in Melaka few weeks ago, 5G is widely available in the city area.
yup, now they are extending to kampung area.
peja5081
post Jul 15 2023, 10:30 AM

291 posts

Now maxis realised they won't be 2nd 5G provider for current time🤣. Even there will be soon, DNB already conquer 80% coverage.

Due to lack of alternatives, Maxis will sign 5G access agreement with DNB

https://www.malaymail.com/news/malaysia/202...-with-dnb/79789

This post has been edited by peja5081: Jul 15 2023, 09:09 PM
YoungMan
post Jul 15 2023, 11:30 AM

6,785 posts

QUOTE(peja5081 @ Jul 15 2023, 10:30 AM)
Now maxis realised they won't be 2nd 5G provider for current time🤣. Even they will be soon, DNB already conquer 80% coverage.

They know that to get to par with DNB on the second network will take time. Definitely Maxis cannot wait so long to switch on 5G.
If by then gov decided that all telco must use both network to prevent single point failure, it will be same same story to have the access agreement.
p4n6
post Jul 16 2023, 07:55 AM

5,968 posts

QUOTE(peja5081 @ Jul 15 2023, 10:30 AM)
Now maxis realised they won't be 2nd 5G provider for current time🤣. Even there will be soon, DNB already conquer 80% coverage.

If the second wholesale network starts building, it will still be 2 years behind DNB in term of coverage. DNB today is 60% and promise to be 80% end of the year excluding inbuilding.

Backtrack statement by the industry, DNB service appears cheap in short term but in long term it will be expensive since no commitment on price revision in agreement for long term (contract is 10 years), and historically price per GB reduces every year, that is how telco provide more GB for customers with same subscription cost. With DNB as monopoly, contractually GB same price for next 10 years, so either user getting same GB for next 10 yrs with same price or user pay more if need more GB. We know usage will always increase since more contents, so indirectly it will make users pay more for data in long run.

I think all telco know this that is why insist on second wholesale provider to prevent DNB monopoly … based on agreement, if second wholesale network comes up, telco can exit anytime not bind by 10 yrs contract, this ensure competition that DNB will commit to drop price when the time comes and not doing price control.

ayamxxx
post Jul 16 2023, 09:39 AM

4,025 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Jul 16 2023, 07:55 AM)
If the second wholesale network starts building, it will still be 2 years behind DNB in term of coverage. DNB today is 60% and promise to be 80% end of the year excluding inbuilding.

Backtrack statement by the industry, DNB service appears cheap in short term but in long term it will be expensive since no commitment on price revision in agreement for long term (contract is 10 years), and historically price per GB reduces every year, that is how telco provide more GB for customers with same subscription cost. With DNB as monopoly, contractually GB same price for next 10 years, so either user getting same GB for next 10 yrs with same price or user pay more if need more GB. We know usage will always increase since more contents, so indirectly it will make users pay more for data in long run.

I think all telco know this that is why insist on second wholesale provider to prevent DNB monopoly … based on agreement, if second wholesale network comes up, telco can exit anytime not bind by 10 yrs contract, this ensure competition that DNB will commit to drop price when the time comes and not doing price control.
Not really understood technically or contractually but some telco can give 5G at rm30-35 is a great effort. Coverage of cz still developing and hopefully at a faster rate.
p4n6
post Jul 16 2023, 11:04 AM

5,968 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jul 16 2023, 09:39 AM)
Not really understood technically or contractually but some telco can give 5G at rm30-35 is a great effort. Coverage of cz still developing and hopefully at a faster rate.
Correct most people is short term minded and cannot see beyond 3 mths. What is cheap in front of eye is all that matters thats why alot of ppl went into bad debt …
However i believe business does not run this way, as telco becomes a customer and DNB is seller, they will calculate and check the agreement in details… if telco cant buy cheap from DNB, they cant sell to their customers cheap …
Boldnut
post Jul 17 2023, 09:21 AM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Jul 16 2023, 07:55 AM)

They just need to revise the contract to Yearly basis. Dont know who is the idiot put 10yrs contract.

DNB is better off own by gov & running at cost price zero profit.

As for second wholesale, i hope is run by not Ericsson. Dont wanna depend on one supplier.

This post has been edited by Boldnut: Jul 17 2023, 09:22 AM
p4n6
post Jul 17 2023, 05:37 PM

5,968 posts

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Jul 17 2023, 09:21 AM)
They just need to revise the contract to Yearly basis. Dont know who is the idiot put 10yrs contract.

DNB is better off own by gov & running at cost price zero profit.

As for second wholesale, i hope is run by not Ericsson. Dont wanna depend on one supplier.
I think DNB and MOF (zafrul) + MCMC initially on upperhand as a monopoly, and telco was pushed to the edge with no choice, so even if they put 100 years and super expensive they would have no choice but to sign. It is a perfect extortion scenario orchestrated by MOF & MCMC. Telco will merely channel cost to end users.

DNB will be the main engine to launder money out to fund party election and politicians luxury lifestyles.

It is a perfect heist. Indirectly taking rakyat money to finance politicians.

MOF (aka Zafrul) miscalculated PN government will collapse and telcos (except TM and YES) will gang up to delay the signing until after election ...

Zero profit is a very subjective term, what makes you think DNB can't bubble up their operational cost like giving multi billion overpriced contracts to cronies and their own senior management, luxury lifestyle to bring up their operational cost to make zero profit?

YoungMan
post Jul 17 2023, 08:09 PM

6,785 posts

CelcomDigi – Huawei – ZTE Partner To Hype Up Network Integration
https://www.businesstoday.com.my/2023/07/17...rk-integration/

Try to read the last part of the article. This could be the beginning of Celcom Digi preparing for second 5G network.
westlife
post Jul 18 2023, 12:36 AM

14,227 posts

jb has significant good coverage of 5G now everywhere. much better than KL area i would say based on my experience.
ayamxxx
post Jul 18 2023, 08:02 AM

4,025 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jul 18 2023, 12:36 AM)
jb has significant good coverage of 5G now everywhere. much better than KL area i would say based on my experience.
Agreed. In JB for YES 5G it is indeed faster than in KL and my home in Kajang
pokemon
post Jul 18 2023, 10:00 PM

2,717 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jul 18 2023, 08:02 AM)
Agreed. In JB for YES 5G it is indeed faster than in KL and my home in Kajang
More 5G users in KL compared to JB.
NagaK
post Jul 25 2023, 10:49 PM

1,187 posts

Forget about 5G
When I moved 2017 my new home Digi network sucks mostly rely on 3G fast forward in 2023
Digi now getting better and their network is flawless..
And Maxis keep getting worser next time we should use Maxis nearby their tower I guess I'm staying in double storey house even one upstairs rarely full bar.. where as Digi sometimes touch 300mbps just 4G also 5G now
I make report with Maxis they said 10mbps more than enough for 4G speed LOL what the hell is they think consumers is fool? Or their staffs are not well train enough.....
I don't know what happen to MaxShit these days.......

This post has been edited by NagaK: Jul 25 2023, 10:50 PM

YoungMan
post Jul 27 2023, 09:58 AM

6,785 posts

QUOTE(NagaK @ Jul 25 2023, 10:49 PM)
Forget about 5G
When I moved 2017 my new home Digi network sucks mostly rely on 3G fast forward in 2023
And Maxis keep getting worser next time we should use Maxis nearby their tower I guess I'm staying in double storey house even one upstairs rarely full bar.. where as Digi sometimes touch 300mbps just 4G also 5G now
I make report with Maxis they said 10mbps more than enough for 4G speed LOL what the hell is they think consumers is fool? Or their staffs are not well train enough.....
It's malaysia. The telco pilih tempat hence certain place is good for certain telco only.
sasuke8678
post Jul 28 2023, 10:40 AM

WhySoSerious!!
2,013 posts

Forget about 5G
Celcom lagi teruk bro..
i did complain as well, but nothing can be done also sweat.gif
OlgaC4
post Jul 28 2023, 10:48 AM

5,292 posts

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Jul 13 2023, 06:09 PM)
anything is possible since currently 5G is NSA and LTE dependant, maixs could just 'switch on' one of its tower for 5G for Fahmi to show off the speed.
seriously Maxis is late to the party
Maxis is currently testing is link to 5G. Mess up my 4LTE CA connection.
pokemon
post Jul 28 2023, 09:07 PM

2,717 posts

Forget about 5G
Maxis support team have been brainwashed that its network is the best because it is expensive.
Have dealt with first level support team mainly Indian.
They are very good in taichi and blame everything but MaxSHIT, whenever you complaint network problem.
pokemon
post Jul 28 2023, 09:08 PM

2,717 posts

QUOTE(sasuke8678 @ Jul 28 2023, 10:40 AM)
Celcom lagi teruk bro..
i did complain as well, but nothing can be done also  sweat.gif
Celcom acts like GLC style.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0230sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 09:51 AM