haturaya
post Jun 21 2023, 05:43 PM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(Shinka @ Jun 21 2023, 12:19 PM)
But for inverter ac, I read that there are more parts prone to failure. If the inverter spoils, then the entire ac is useless? Not sure if this is accurate, read it on the forums once.
Certain brand only...

I've been using Daikin & Panasonic for years... all still running top notch. thumbup.gif Nothing broken.
budak_44
post Jun 21 2023, 06:17 PM

81 posts

my acson aircon..1hp 4 star inverter...can go from 0.35kw~0.75kw maxx..set temp 21°c..i think worth it la..

This post has been edited by budak_44: Jun 21 2023, 06:20 PM
ben3003
post Jun 21 2023, 07:06 PM

10,859 posts

I think room sizing very important to match ur aircond. Like mine mitsubishi inverter i think 8-9years edi 1hp, day time it will always run at near max power if day is hot, even temp set 25-26c. Night time very save, maybe whole night 1.5-1.8kwh only from 8pm-6am set 24c. So for my room if day time also owes open, need 1.5 like tat, but at night if the room cool already the 1.5 also will consume lower power cos inverter variable speed compressor.

This post has been edited by ben3003: Jun 21 2023, 07:07 PM
WH4CockcooBird
post Jun 21 2023, 10:10 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(MyProLife @ Jun 21 2023, 05:08 PM)
Tumpany tanya here

The bedroom at second floor (2 storey terrace) is in need of new aircon replacement. Currently using non inverter from more than 10 years old

The problem is with concealed piping (within walls i think) and the outdoor units was installed on the middle roof (the place where water tank also placed there) for aesthetic reasons

If upgrade to inverter aircon, is it easier to put new piping/wiring outside and put the new outdoor unit into new place (like wall outside) rather than redo the concealed piping? Can i leave existing piping and odu alone when installing the new one. Because the newer gas and inverter replacement will implies new piping as is upgrading from very old to newer model
My installer use back the existing conceal piping of old non-inverter aircond to intall new inverter units.
djx_6
post Jun 21 2023, 11:09 PM

72 posts

I rarely see ceiling mount AC with inverter. Even if you find one, some only only has 3 star rating. Not sure about the latest models though. Wall mounts are better on the maintenance part of it.
zuozi
post Jun 21 2023, 11:23 PM

1,267 posts

Inverter or not still depends your room location

If your master bedroom typical size facing sunsets 4pm the sun keep blasting your wall, and your wall already so hot until your floor also feel warm rooms temperature literally reaching 31c , 1hp or 1.5 HP won't enough to cool down the room for current weather literally even inverter will just keep running full power until 4am you still feel hot

2hp blower much more larger and wider 1st speed similar to 1hp 3rd speed ,at the end depends your room location
raymondwong1808
post Jun 22 2023, 11:04 AM

285 posts

QUOTE(Shinka @ Jun 21 2023, 01:11 PM)
I can't take wall type, as my condo originally comes with concealed, and I prefer concealed for aesthetic reasons.

Just checked with a daikin shop - a multi split air con (1 hp + 2.5hp) inverter aircon costs around rm10k, labour estimated around rm5k including ducting. Price is just crazy. Using back old piping.
may i know the condo name? it is new to me the condo comes with ceiling type AC. yes, i agree with you, it looks much better than the wall type...
TSShinka
post Jun 22 2023, 11:09 AM

464 posts

QUOTE(raymondwong1808 @ Jun 22 2023, 11:04 AM)
may i know the condo name? it is new to me the condo comes with ceiling type AC. yes, i agree with you, it looks much better than the wall type...
Troika. Huge hassle to change the AC though. The AC is now 10 years old +, not sure whether to change completely or to repair. Daikin guys came by yesterday, not able to diagnose the issue, gas pressure is enough, filters washed, indoor and outdoor coils have been chemically cleaned. AC still not cold. Sigh.

Now they just simply say its a compressor issue, sounds to me like they are just guessing what is the issue, while treating the customer as a water fish.
alexei
post Jun 22 2023, 12:09 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(Shinka @ Jun 21 2023, 12:19 PM)
But for inverter ac, I read that there are more parts prone to failure. If the inverter spoils, then the entire ac is useless? Not sure if this is accurate, read it on the forums once.
the inverter if installed at places where pest can make nest like lizard or birds then can spoil. of course this got many cases.

but, u go buy from retail shops, and apply for warranty and check the terms. don't buy shopee or those online that cannot give warranty or after sales service.
k!nex
post Jun 22 2023, 02:29 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(MyProLife @ Jun 21 2023, 05:08 PM)
Tumpany tanya here

The bedroom at second floor (2 storey terrace) is in need of new aircon replacement. Currently using non inverter from more than 10 years old

The problem is with concealed piping (within walls i think) and the outdoor units was installed on the middle roof (the place where water tank also placed there) for aesthetic reasons

If upgrade to inverter aircon, is it easier to put new piping/wiring outside and put the new outdoor unit into new place (like wall outside) rather than redo the concealed piping? Can i leave existing piping and odu alone when installing the new one. Because the newer gas and inverter replacement will implies new piping as is upgrading from very old to newer model
Mine was a 7 year old+ aircond replacement in Dec last year. Had to change piping because old air cond use R22 gas. All new aircond use R32 gas. The installer said its a must to change. Had to hack wall abit in my bedroom.
silverhawk
post Jun 22 2023, 03:27 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Jun 21 2023, 12:33 PM)
Inverter A/C is a very mature market, the durability of the product also highly dependent on user and their maintenance as well.

if you are not cleaning A/C often with the right way, many thing can fail prematurely, this including using those sketchy A/C service that spray corrosive chemical to your parts for cleaning or claim deep cleaning while they only spray chemical on cooling coil.
The thing that will spoil is not the indoor unit. It is the outdoor unit's controller board. To replace, the ori part alone is already RM500-800, not including your labour charges. My aircond guy advice not to buy inverter aircond for home, because savings is low and maintenance is a headache. Especially if those that service the aircond dunno what they're doing and f`k something up

QUOTE(Shinka @ Jun 22 2023, 11:09 AM)
Troika. Huge hassle to change the AC though. The AC is now 10 years old +, not sure whether to change completely or to repair. Daikin guys came by yesterday, not able to diagnose the issue, gas pressure is enough, filters washed, indoor and outdoor coils have been chemically cleaned. AC still not cold. Sigh.

Now they just simply say its a compressor issue, sounds to me like they are just guessing what is the issue, while treating the customer as a water fish.
Service from daikin? or from a reseller? Sounds like quite noob diagnosis if from Daikin.

The guys I use for my airconds do quite a thorough diagnosis, checking the voltage, sensor readings, etc.

zero5177
post Jun 22 2023, 03:34 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,553 posts

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Jun 22 2023, 03:27 PM)
The thing that will spoil is not the indoor unit. It is the outdoor unit's controller board. To replace, the ori part alone is already RM500-800, not including your labour charges. My aircond guy advice not to buy inverter aircond for home, because savings is low and maintenance is a headache. Especially if those that service the aircond dunno what they're doing and f`k something up
Service from daikin? or from a reseller? Sounds like quite noob diagnosis if from Daikin.

The guys I use for my airconds do quite a thorough diagnosis, checking the voltage, sensor readings, etc.
Those a/c guy advise just take it as a pinch of salt lah, I don't think inverter is that fragile personally and it highly depending on the environment where it is being place and its maintenance like u said those good for nothing self proclaim expert spraying corrosive stuff sure can deep clean and even remove important material.

Personally I think if your piping all ready for Inverter just go ahead, but if your existing piping only made for non-inverter, then better to stick to non-inverter otherwise u need to spend a lot to revamp what's concealed in the wall.

Again... i my opinion Inverter is not just for saving, it is the comfort it provides without fluctuating temperature, the savings are just something extra that came along with it.
ozak
post Jun 22 2023, 04:23 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(Shinka @ Jun 21 2023, 11:02 AM)
Hi all, planning to change my ceiling concealed air con from Daikin.

Is it worth it to change to the inverter type?

I have read online that inverter AC units use less electricity, however will there be an issue with it not being as cold as non-inverter ac?

Anyone with inverter AC can provide input whether the electricity savings are substantial?
My 1st inverter aircon is way back 2009. When people here still don’t no what is that.

From 1hp to 1.5hp inverter for room. 8hr usage. The saving is average RM20-30/month. 1yrs save RM300+.

The saving can help me more than pay for the service aircon and breakdown.

TSShinka
post Jun 22 2023, 04:51 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(k!nex @ Jun 22 2023, 02:29 PM)
Mine was a 7 year old+ aircond replacement in Dec last year. Had to change piping because old air cond use R22 gas. All new aircond use R32 gas. The installer said its a must to change. Had to hack wall abit in my bedroom.
Not sure if this is accurate? Can anyone clarify? My existing ac uses r22 gas and if I change to new ac (even without inverter), they all use r32 gas now. Major hacking if I need to change all my pipes.
SSJBen
post Jun 22 2023, 04:59 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(Shinka @ Jun 22 2023, 04:51 PM)
Not sure if this is accurate? Can anyone clarify? My existing ac uses r22 gas and if I change to new ac (even without inverter), they all use r32 gas now. Major hacking if I need to change all my pipes.
This is true yes.
mushigen
post Jun 22 2023, 05:04 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(k!nex @ Jun 22 2023, 02:29 PM)
What is the reason for changing the pipe? Due to diameter, thickness or material required?
silverhawk
post Jun 22 2023, 05:22 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Jun 22 2023, 03:34 PM)
Those a/c guy advise just take it as a pinch of salt lah, I don't think inverter is that fragile personally and it highly depending on the environment where it is being place and its maintenance like u said those good for nothing self proclaim expert spraying corrosive stuff sure can deep clean and even remove important material.

Personally I think if your piping all ready for Inverter just go ahead, but if your existing piping only made for non-inverter, then better to stick to non-inverter otherwise u need to spend a lot to revamp what's concealed in the wall.

Again... i my opinion Inverter is not just for saving, it is the comfort it provides without fluctuating temperature, the savings are just something extra that came along with it.
Inverters are by nature more fragile than non. More components just means more points of failure, and higher skill required to service also means higher chance of f`k ups by servicemen. Repair costs are always a mixed bag, if all good then no issue, only an issue if got problem. Some people are luckier than others.

The place I'm renting now has an inverter air cond in one of the rooms, and it broke early this year. The controller board rosak and has to be replaced, the original part would cost around RM800. Owner doesn't want to get it fixed cause too expensive. Luckily its only the domestic helper that's using the room and she said room is ok without aircond.

TSShinka
post Jun 22 2023, 05:23 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Jun 22 2023, 05:04 PM)
What is the reason for changing the pipe? Due to diameter, thickness or material required?
I just read online that R33 gas has different pressure compared to R32 gas, and this may stress the pipes. R33 gas also uses a different kind of oil?

Anyone has successfully used old copper pipes when transitioning from R32 to R33 gas?
k!nex
post Jun 22 2023, 05:30 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Jun 22 2023, 05:04 PM)
Newer R32 ones operate at 60~70% higher pressure than R22. If you use old pipes , it will leak. And R32 refrigerant is a little flammable , so dont take the risk
mushigen
post Jun 22 2023, 07:07 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(k!nex @ Jun 22 2023, 05:30 PM)
Newer R32 ones operate at 60~70% higher pressure than R22. If you use old pipes , it will leak. And R32 refrigerant is a little flammable , so dont take the risk
I see.

0.0199sec    0.91    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 02:18 AM