TS68 others
post Jun 14 2023, 09:40 AM, updated 3y ago

105 posts

when ordering is done through ordering apps
food is served via robot
payment is done in ordering apps.
taukeh soh is sitting on the counter like mascott.

Ichibanichi
post Jun 14 2023, 09:42 AM

327 posts

Sometimes I don't understand this spesies
God make you with intelligence and capable to make decision
and yet......
asking society with ID10T question
nebula87

Fg = mg
1,420 posts

Robot tak kan free?
Ordering apps tak kan free?
Shop rental tak kan free?
Food and ingredients tak kan free?
fantasy1989

4,707 posts

u paid for the system n robot?
tahfeikei
post Jun 14 2023, 09:43 AM

TALK TO MY ENGRISH
1,247 posts

dont like then masak2 sindili kat lumah lor
bashlyner

200 posts

no problem if they really share the money with the staff
Max.Plan

24 posts

some restaurants split the service charge among the staffs as incentive/reward.
so... please pay and help ppl
SUSCincai lar
post Jun 14 2023, 09:44 AM

113 posts

go ahead,.. see business will drop or not ???

269 posts

QUOTE(nebula87 @ Jun 14 2023, 10:42 AM)
Robot tak kan free?
Isn't all that part of biz operating cost and should be taken into consideration when fixing the price?
SUSoverlimit

141 posts

10% for robot maintenence fee, #whitewashed
TS68 others
post Jun 14 2023, 09:45 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(nebula87 @ Jun 14 2023, 09:42 AM)
Robot tak kan free?
service charge is to be paid to employee. not robot or system

(b) Service charge is a remuneration to the employees payable in cash for work done under a contract of service. Hence, it does not fall within the definition of 'basic wages' under NWCCA and Section 2 of Employment Act 1955.
Teutonic Knight
post Jun 14 2023, 09:45 AM

83 posts

Agreed! Example kopitiam restaurant like Memories Taste in Puchong charges 10% Service Tax on top of 6% SST. Their menu prices still okay ish but with the additional tax is just too much.
TS68 others
post Jun 14 2023, 09:46 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(fantasy1989 @ Jun 14 2023, 09:42 AM)
u paid for the system n robot?
so why charge service charge when system and robot are not employee?
do they pay epf and socso to the robot and system?
fantasy1989
post Jun 14 2023, 09:47 AM

4,707 posts

QUOTE(68 others @ Jun 14 2023, 09:46 AM)
so why charge service charge when system and robot are not employee?
do they pay epf and socso to the robot and system?
they pay subscription and robot maintenance fee
TS68 others
post Jun 14 2023, 09:47 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(Ichibanichi @ Jun 14 2023, 09:42 AM)
Sometimes I don't understand this spesies
God make you with intelligence and capable to make decision
and yet......
asking society with ID10T question
idiot macam kau yg tak pandai jawab ke?
TS68 others
post Jun 14 2023, 09:50 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(fantasy1989 @ Jun 14 2023, 09:47 AM)
they pay subscription and robot maintenance fee
that is under operation cost. not employee.
Custom already clearly state that service charge is only paid to employee directly and no other purpose.
chinteck79
post Jun 14 2023, 09:51 AM

59 posts

Dont want pay ma don't go. susah sangat ke nak decide?
SUSrainy~days
post Jun 14 2023, 09:52 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(Max.Plan @ Jun 14 2023, 09:43 AM)
some restaurants split the service charge among the staffs as incentive/reward.
so... please pay and help ppl
QUOTE(68 others @ Jun 14 2023, 09:45 AM)
service charge is to be paid to employee. not robot or system

(b) Service charge is a remuneration to the employees payable in cash for work done under a contract of service. Hence, it does not fall within the definition of 'basic wages' under NWCCA and Section 2 of Employment Act 1955.
My friend work as accountant, confirm 99% service tax never given to staff.

Some boss even own the counter tips jar.
post Jun 14 2023, 09:52 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(Teutonic Knight @ Jun 14 2023, 10:45 AM)
Agreed! Example kopitiam restaurant like Memories Taste in Puchong charges 10% Service Tax on top of 6% SST. Their menu prices still okay ish but with the additional tax is just too much.
The 10% is service charge and not service tax which is collected by the restaurant and it's supposed to be tips for the waiters/waitresses.

The 6% SST is the service tax collected by government.

This post has been edited by 30624770: Jun 14 2023, 09:53 AM
TS68 others
post Jun 14 2023, 09:53 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(rainy~days @ Jun 14 2023, 09:52 AM)
My friend work as accountant, confirm 99% service tax never given to staff.

Some boss even own the counter tips jar.
service tax =/= service charge
service tax paid to gov, service charge paid to employee
SUSWahlberg
post Jun 14 2023, 09:54 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(68 others @ Jun 14 2023, 09:40 AM)
food is served via robot
as long make money, why not
blue litmus
post Jun 14 2023, 09:55 AM

47 posts

Why should I pay when the staffs are incompetent, and face busuk like tahi? I try my best to avoid places with 16% tax, especially shops operated by locals with very poor service. If others can operate without tax, why can't you??
A sauna noodle shop starting with M at Puchong got complained by so many customers, yet the staff still behave the same. The price of their menu is on the high side and i expect quality service. Treated like tahi for twice and i hate that outlet knock.gif
iGamer
post Jun 14 2023, 09:57 AM

Toxic ktards probably losers irl
1,374 posts

QUOTE(bashlyner @ Jun 14 2023, 09:43 AM)
no problem if they really share the money with the staff
Why not just include it in the price tag? The price tag without all these surcharge are misleading the customers.

This is psychology tactic on marketing, trick customer to perceive a lower price to boost business.
iGamer
post Jun 14 2023, 09:58 AM

1,374 posts

QUOTE(68 others @ Jun 14 2023, 09:53 AM)
service tax =/= service charge
service tax paid to gov, service charge paid to employee
staff: boss where's the collected service charge?
boss: that's where your basic salary came from....
TS68 others
post Jun 14 2023, 10:04 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(iGamer @ Jun 14 2023, 09:58 AM)
staff: boss where's the collected service charge?
boss: that's where your basic salary came from....
nope. service charge collected is to be paid on top of the wage.

(a) Service charge is a remuneration to the employees payable in cash for work done under a contract of service. Hence, it does not fall within the definition of ‘basic wages’ under NWCCA and Section 2 of Employment Act 1955.

© The service charge was an express and established term of the contract of service. It would be wrong to unilaterally remove or vary the contractual terms of service without the employees’ consent.

(d) The service charge, which the patrons paid in monies, did not belong to the hotel but was held on trust for the benefit of its employees. The hotel must not misappropriate those monies to meet its statutory obligation.
katijar
post Jun 14 2023, 10:05 AM

2,294 posts

Why g allow restaurants to do this
GiganticBird
post Jun 14 2023, 10:05 AM

99 posts

QUOTE(blue litmus @ Jun 14 2023, 09:55 AM)
Why should I pay when the staffs are incompetent, and face busuk like tahi? I try my best to avoid places with 16% tax, especially shops operated by locals with very poor service. If others can operate without tax, why can't you??
A sauna noodle shop starting with M at Puchong got complained by so many customers, yet the staff still behave the same. The price of their menu is on the high side and i expect quality service. Treated like tahi for twice and i hate that outlet knock.gif
not me but, one of my relative pattern is, if shit food shit service still charge 10% service charge and 6% sst he will conlanfirm make a scene before leaving the restaurant lmao

iGamer
post Jun 14 2023, 10:06 AM

1,374 posts

QUOTE(68 others @ Jun 14 2023, 10:04 AM)

(a) Service charge is a remuneration to the employees payable in cash for work done under a contract of service. Hence, it does not fall within the definition of  ‘basic wages’ under NWCCA and Section 2 of Employment Act 1955.
©  The service charge was an express and established term of the contract of service. It would be wrong to unilaterally remove or vary the contractual terms of service without the employees’ consent.
(d)  The service charge, which the patrons paid in monies, did not belong to the hotel but was held on trust for the benefit of its employees. The hotel must not misappropriate those monies to meet its statutory obligation.
Does the tauke really follow though...
bashlyner
post Jun 14 2023, 10:06 AM

200 posts

QUOTE(iGamer @ Jun 14 2023, 09:57 AM)
Why not just include it in the price tag? The price tag without all these surcharge are misleading the customers.

This is psychology tactic on marketing, trick customer to perceive a lower price to boost business.
I remember when GST is implemented the government has ordered all eateries to display final price in their menu including service charge. Sadly after it was abolished some eateries revert back to previous misleading price display.
Chrix
post Jun 14 2023, 10:07 AM

1,187 posts

then dont spend your $ there, vote with your wallet instead of bukake tered
Mavik
post Jun 14 2023, 10:09 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(68 others @ Jun 14 2023, 10:04 AM)

(a) Service charge is a remuneration to the employees payable in cash for work done under a contract of service. Hence, it does not fall within the definition of  ‘basic wages’ under NWCCA and Section 2 of Employment Act 1955.
©  The service charge was an express and established term of the contract of service. It would be wrong to unilaterally remove or vary the contractual terms of service without the employees’ consent.
(d)  The service charge, which the patrons paid in monies, did not belong to the hotel but was held on trust for the benefit of its employees. The hotel must not misappropriate those monies to meet its statutory obligation.
And the police should not accept bribes and malaysians shouldn't run the red traffic lights and the government at all levels are without corruption.
iGamer
post Jun 14 2023, 10:10 AM

1,374 posts

QUOTE(Chrix @ Jun 14 2023, 10:07 AM)
then dont spend your $ there, vote with your wallet instead of bukake tered
Ayam always vote with my wallet, but ppl like ayam really the minority hence no impact on the market sweat.gif

The majority who don't vote with their wallet ironically are also the same ppl who always complain not enough money to spend, change new car every few years and pakai latest flag ship phones.
TS68 others
post Jun 14 2023, 10:11 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jun 14 2023, 10:09 AM)
And the police should not accept bribes and malaysians shouldn't run the red traffic lights and the government at all levels are without corruption.
your point is?
la bella
post Jun 14 2023, 10:12 AM

962 posts

Got one taco restaurant I went in Pavilion Bukit Jalil lagi teruk. Charge 10% service charge for self service.

I went dine in, order at counter, cashier face busok, ask me pay upfront when order. Ok I pay first, notice there's 10% service charge on my receipt. Told me to collect my food at their counter. Food served in fastfood tray and food served with plastic wrap.

I ask the manager why got service charge 10%? His answer it's for restaurant cleaning service.

I complain mana ada cleaning the table got food stain. He says it's for rubbish cleaning.

So, after I finish eating I left my leftover on the fastfood tray for him to clean to justify my 10% service charge. Will not go for 2nd time.

This post has been edited by la bella: Jun 14 2023, 10:17 AM
iGamer
post Jun 14 2023, 10:12 AM

1,374 posts

QUOTE(bashlyner @ Jun 14 2023, 10:06 AM)
I remember when GST is implemented the government has ordered all eateries to display final price in their menu including service charge. Sadly after it was abolished some eateries revert back to previous misleading price display.
The govt should revise the rule to mandate business to show final price tag. But everyday dumb politikus just raise useless R&R issue at Parliament.
WaCKy-Angel
post Jun 14 2023, 10:17 AM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(nebula87 @ Jun 14 2023, 09:42 AM)
Robot tak kan free?
No wonder shops can renovate yearly and pass on the costs to customer.
nihility
post Jun 14 2023, 10:18 AM

1,596 posts

6% is tax to government

10% is the tax to pay the F&B crews / staffs / cooks for operation. Even if the robot is replacing the workers, the robots need capital expenditure & maintenance cost. At oversea, diners are required to give tips.

Bodoh itu simpan sikit.
blue litmus
post Jun 14 2023, 10:25 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(GiganticBird @ Jun 14 2023, 10:05 AM)
not me but, one of my relative pattern is, if shit food shit service still charge 10% service charge and 6% sst he will conlanfirm make a scene before leaving the restaurant lmao
haha..I just leave a bad google review for them. If their food is decent, might just visit once a while.
TS68 others
post Jun 14 2023, 10:29 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Jun 14 2023, 10:18 AM)
6% is tax to government

10% is the tax to pay the F&B crews / staffs / cooks for operation. Even if the robot is replacing the workers, the robots need capital expenditure & maintenance cost. At oversea, diners are required to give tips.

Bodoh itu simpan sikit.
so the food price rm10 is just the cost for raw ingredient? 10% service charge is for them to cook for you?
capital expenditure and maintenance cost for robot is to be charge separately to customer under service charge?
iGamer
post Jun 14 2023, 10:31 AM

1,374 posts

6% is tax to government

Bodoh itu simpan sikit.
Traditional business no staff cost, no operation cost?

This is mere business phycology tactic to deceive customer with lower price tag, traditional business would have included all staff/overhead cost in the price tag.
treblecase
post Jun 14 2023, 10:34 AM

IHI
779 posts

Don’t like then go eat at hawker stalls la.
munak991
post Jun 14 2023, 10:36 AM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

food is served via robot
Bro u just answered ur self

Robot no need money?
Payment app no need money?
must be physical only service tax?

and also some restaurant dont charge service tax, u can dont dine in to those who charge service tax
TS68 others
post Jun 14 2023, 10:37 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(treblecase @ Jun 14 2023, 10:34 AM)
Don’t like then go eat at hawker stalls la.
hawker stall also charge
skylinelover
post Jun 14 2023, 10:38 AM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,265 posts

6% is tax to government

Bodoh itu simpan sikit.
Haha and its like 30-40 % easily on top of taxes sweat.gif rclxub.gif

10% is considered God sent already hahahaha
TS68 others
post Jun 14 2023, 10:38 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(munak991 @ Jun 14 2023, 10:36 AM)
Bro u just answered ur self

Robot no need money?
Payment app no need money?
must be physical only service tax?

and also some restaurant dont charge service tax, u can dont dine in to those who charge service tax
yes since service charge is paid to employee on top of their wage.
pergi study apa tu service charge dulu. dah kopi pasta banyak kali dalam thread.
blue litmus
post Jun 14 2023, 10:39 AM

47 posts

6% is tax to government

Bodoh itu simpan sikit.
what about traditional kopitiams and mamaks? lol
treblecase
post Jun 14 2023, 10:39 AM

IHI
779 posts

QUOTE(68 others @ Jun 14 2023, 10:37 AM)
hawker stall also charge
Charge what? RM8 for a bowl of noodle is what i would pay. Hidden charge inside the RM8? I don’t care then.
p4n6
post Jun 14 2023, 10:41 AM

5,974 posts

food is served via robot
You wash own plates? Electricity to charge robot you pay?
HonMun

Professor
1,052 posts

Dulu cakap ada SST x payah bayar 10% service charge......gov pls take action.
SUSSihambodoh

436 posts

QUOTE(blue litmus @ Jun 14 2023, 09:55 AM)
And yet you still go. It shows you that taste of good is more important than the shitty service you get.
apamise

295 posts

Fuck restaurant with 10% service charges. You want us to pay 10% more, just increase the price on the menu la. No balls to do so because scared people go other place. puke.gif
munak991
post Jun 14 2023, 10:43 AM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(68 others @ Jun 14 2023, 10:38 AM)
yes since service charge is paid to employee on top of their wage.
pergi study apa tu service charge dulu. dah kopi pasta banyak kali dalam thread.
like i said, u have a choice lol

dont dine in those place got service tax
nihility
post Jun 14 2023, 10:44 AM

1,596 posts

QUOTE(iGamer @ Jun 14 2023, 10:31 AM)
Traditional business no staff cost, no operation cost?

This is mere business phycology tactic to deceive customer with lower price tag, traditional business would have included all staff/overhead cost in the price tag.
Traditional also have but they have lump it together.

They will need to do this now as in the foreseeable future, the labor cost will keep on increasing as the labor force is demanding higher & higher minimum wages. Every time the minimum wages is revise, they will just show you, "nah government policy, you are going to pay more".

We are moving toward direction that dining out will become out of reach, sourcing the services to 3rd party like car maintenance , plumbing or electrical works will become more & more expensive. This is what the public want the moment you want minimum wages to be revised upwards, it is inevitable.
JimbeamofNRT
post Jun 14 2023, 10:44 AM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(apamise @ Jun 14 2023, 10:41 AM)
Fuck restaurant with 10% service charges. You want us to pay 10% more, just increase the price on the menu la. No balls to do so because scared people go other place. puke.gif
thing is, they do both

increased the food price + 10% service charges
TS68 others
post Jun 14 2023, 10:45 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(munak991 @ Jun 14 2023, 10:43 AM)
like i said, u have a choice lol

dont dine in those place got service tax
lagi satu ekor yang tak faham apa beza service tax dengan service charge.
iGamer
post Jun 14 2023, 10:45 AM

1,374 posts

QUOTE(blue litmus @ Jun 14 2023, 10:39 AM)
what about traditional kopitiams and mamaks? lol
Smart ppl thought they pay 10% service charge they feel proud so the staff earning extra 10% on top their salary.

But all these extra benefit to staff could have been incorporated into the shown price tag, it's not a mutually exclusive scenario.

We consumers are being tricked with fake price listed when we order our meals, even when we realize there extra 10% service charge excluded from the listed price, the psychology element of a perceived lower price still works on us subconsciously. Same like why retail loves to put RM199.99 instead of RM200.00 price tag.
TS68 others
post Jun 14 2023, 10:46 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Jun 14 2023, 10:41 AM)
You wash own plates? Electricity to charge robot you pay?
lagi satu ekor yang tak tahu apa itu service charge dan operational cost.
h@ksam

@ is a
3,460 posts

At oversea, diners are required to give tips.

waitress serve you with a smile and some chit chat

Those get my tips easily brows.gif

This post has been edited by h@ksam: Jun 14 2023, 10:47 AM
dawnreaver

661 posts

If you don't like it you are welcome to set fire to the restaurant.
TS68 others
post Jun 14 2023, 10:47 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(h@ksam @ Jun 14 2023, 10:46 AM)
waitress serve you with a smile and some chit chat

Those get my tips easily brows.gif
this one 20% service charge also can.
kmrdeva
post Jun 14 2023, 10:50 AM

4,790 posts

Name the places so other likeminded folks can also avoid. Don’t just shiok sendiri rant here without giving pertinent details.

Or report to the authorities if you feel they are breaking the law.
teslaman
post Jun 14 2023, 10:53 AM

1,154 posts

food is served via robot
Should charge 20%
Natsukashii
post Jun 14 2023, 10:57 AM

^^
1,084 posts

You see.. this is how the world is.

When cost goes down, charges rarely goes down also. When cost goes up, charges increase. Then when cost is cut, charges will not be reduced.

Example apple stop providing charges. Now does it reduce their price? No right.
quebix
post Jun 14 2023, 10:58 AM

Gelato Director
1,238 posts

definition of service charges vs service tax by Malaysian Customs authority:

http://www.customs.gov.my/en/ip/Pages/ip_sct.aspx

iGamer
post Jun 14 2023, 11:06 AM

1,374 posts

QUOTE(Natsukashii @ Jun 14 2023, 10:57 AM)
You see.. this is how the world is.

When cost goes down, charges rarely goes down also. When cost goes up, charges increase. Then when cost is cut, charges will not be reduced.

Example apple stop providing charges. Now does it reduce their price? No right.
Apple fans willing to pay premium price for premium product, they only complain if other non Apple business raise price. wink.gif
Natsukashii
post Jun 14 2023, 11:20 AM

^^
1,084 posts

QUOTE(iGamer @ Jun 14 2023, 11:06 AM)
Apple fans willing to pay premium price for premium product, they only complain if other non Apple business raise price. wink.gif
Yes.. then also want to boycott those non Apple business.
blue litmus
post Jun 14 2023, 12:00 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(Sihambodoh @ Jun 14 2023, 10:41 AM)
And yet you still go. It shows you that taste of good is more important than the shitty service you get.
Few months once jer. I don't go there anymore coz price increase, my pocket koyak!
Kopitiam is my best buddy
silverhawk
post Jun 14 2023, 03:39 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(iGamer @ Jun 14 2023, 10:45 AM)
Smart ppl thought they pay 10% service charge they feel proud so the staff earning extra 10% on top their salary.

But all these extra benefit to staff could have been incorporated into the shown price tag, it's not a mutually exclusive scenario.

We consumers are being tricked with fake price listed when we order our meals, even when we realize there extra 10% service charge excluded from the listed price, the psychology element of a perceived lower price still works on us subconsciously. Same like why retail loves to put RM199.99 instead of RM200.00 price tag.
If doing the accounts properly, its actually better for the service staff if got service charge.

Then 10% of the revenue is directly costed to go them. If costed into price, then the value to give to staff is more flexible and also subject to deductions, etc.

Problem is most businesses don't do this laugh.gif

Also in M`sia, service apa la... even at upper class restaurants the service can suck
TheFrog
post Jun 14 2023, 03:59 PM

105 posts

Some restaurant want to order also took them 10 mins and sometimes have to walk up to them.

Like that also have to pay service charge
takbodoh722
post Jun 14 2023, 04:07 PM

dont eat in restaurant. no need to pay.

0.0222sec    0.94    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 07:37 AM