QUOTE(Icehart @ Jun 11 2023, 12:59 PM)
How long did it take for you to get approved from the initial application submission to the final approval letter?
Just over 4 months, but this was back in 2018.[AMA] I immigrated to Australia early 2022, Ask me anything!
Jun 11 2023, 01:08 PM
668 posts Joined: Sep 2013 |
Jun 11 2023, 02:04 PM
4,697 posts Joined: Mar 2012 |
which industry are you from?
Jun 11 2023, 02:08 PM
30 posts Joined: Feb 2021 |
I have stable business and millionaire in RM cash holding. Me and wife love Australia and have travelled there in the past.
We have tourist visa up to 1 year and able to stay up to 3 months per visit. Subclass 600 We would love to stay in Australia for longer than 3 months at one time but not intending to be permanent residents nor citizens because our of business in Malaysia. We can still rent a place or vehicle in Australia as a visitor, so there is no reason for us to apply for PR. Or is there anything in between PR and subclass 600 which could give us more benefit and value. Any suggestion on the above? |
Jun 11 2023, 02:14 PM
14,897 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur & Selangor |
Jun 11 2023, 02:31 PM
542 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
I have been trough most of aus at least once and it feels like after 6 lack of any activities. Is there pockets of place I have not been to that is lively?
Also I heard a lot of gaming restrictions and small servers allocated to aus. Is that true? I know bringing food is a real hassle, what about things like sculpture, painting and antique? I use to buy them to bring back here but never the other way around. Right now the only business connections I have with aus are digital services. Not sure if this could grow into migrating or not. But let's say I have rm200k and relatives that is already citizen, can I just get pr and start my own digital business there? |
Jun 11 2023, 02:55 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
1,907 posts Joined: Feb 2016 |
QUOTE(Salary @ Jun 11 2023, 11:54 AM) Not unless you hold professional qualifications and experience that falls under the relevant permanent resident visa’s occupation list or if your employer is willing to sponsor you. This.Do not trust any employers or agents that gives you a “guarantee” for PR sponsorship after X number of years - never gonna happen for unskilled labour. This post has been edited by jojolicia: Jun 11 2023, 03:00 PM |
Jun 11 2023, 02:59 PM
QUOTE(Icehart @ Jun 11 2023, 02:14 PM) Thanks. My summarised budget for the first month was as follows:Last question, since you've walked this path, if let's say I get approved, how much money should I expect to bring to settle down comfortably for the first 2 months? One way flight tickets for 2 pax - (adjusted for current rates) $1,500 Hotel/AirBnB Stay (2 weeks) - $3,000 Car Rental (1 week) - $400 Rental bond (4 weeks) - $2,400 Rental (4 weeks) - $2,400 Furniture - $5,000 (I think we spent less, around 4K cause we bought mostly used furniture) Car purchase - $25,000 Monthly expenditure (groceries, petrol, utilities, eating out etc) - $2k Total: Around $42k - obviously depending on what vehicle you’re buying, this can go down or up quite significantly. langstrasse liked this post
Jun 11 2023, 03:00 PM
Jun 11 2023, 03:03 PM
QUOTE(Salary @ Jun 11 2023, 11:57 AM) Yes, I applied for my PR under subclass 189 before moving. Subclass 189 before moving. You must be a local uni graduate.189/190 will require you to go through IELTS or equivalent, and if I recall correctly you’ll need to score band 6 for all 4 parts as a minimum. You’ll get additional points for straight band 7’s and straight band 8’s. |
Jun 11 2023, 03:05 PM
QUOTE(Youth City Nilai @ Jun 11 2023, 02:08 PM) I have stable business and millionaire in RM cash holding. Me and wife love Australia and have travelled there in the past. If that’s the case I guess you can continue your current arrangement but you wouldn’t be able to stay more than 3 months at a time.We have tourist visa up to 1 year and able to stay up to 3 months per visit. Subclass 600 We would love to stay in Australia for longer than 3 months at one time but not intending to be permanent residents nor citizens because our of business in Malaysia. We can still rent a place or vehicle in Australia as a visitor, so there is no reason for us to apply for PR. Or is there anything in between PR and subclass 600 which could give us more benefit and value. Any suggestion on the above? There’s a lot of difference between being a PR and being a visitor, but most of those are only for those who would want to work and have a family here. You’ll find it almost impossible to rent a long term place as a visitor. Your only options would be hotels, short term rental arrangements or AirBnB. |
Jun 11 2023, 03:06 PM
Jun 11 2023, 03:11 PM
QUOTE(Salary @ Jun 11 2023, 03:06 PM) Everyone within my circle have gotten their 189/190 visa before they move, regardless if they’re a local or overseas grad, so I’m not sure what you’re implying. I meant local as in au uni graduated. I got my 189 via aaca.This post has been edited by jojolicia: Jun 11 2023, 08:30 PM |
Jun 11 2023, 03:17 PM
QUOTE(mowlous @ Jun 11 2023, 02:31 PM) I have been trough most of aus at least once and it feels like after 6 lack of any activities. Is there pockets of place I have not been to that is lively? You hit the spot there for a couple of thingsAlso I heard a lot of gaming restrictions and small servers allocated to aus. Is that true? I know bringing food is a real hassle, what about things like sculpture, painting and antique? I use to buy them to bring back here but never the other way around. Right now the only business connections I have with aus are digital services. Not sure if this could grow into migrating or not. But let's say I have rm200k and relatives that is already citizen, can I just get pr and start my own digital business there? Sydney, Melbourne and Brisbane has a lively drinking and clubbing scene after 6, but you can’t compare after hours activity levels to South East Asian countries. No contest. Online gaming is pretty crap here as most servers are based overseas. Anything that isn’t good and isn’t of a significant value are fine - just declare if you’re unsure. Customs are pretty anal to two things - anything that may endanger their agricultural industry (foreign meat, nuts, seeds, etc) and anything that may be linked to money laundering (i.e. high value goods). For business migration, that’s a little different to skilled. Don’t quote me on this but I think you’ll need to invest around 7 figures AUD to set up a business here to be considered under business migration. Family sponsorship is only limited to spouse and children (even parents are difficult). |
Jun 11 2023, 03:19 PM
Jun 11 2023, 03:30 PM
Jun 11 2023, 03:40 PM
280 posts Joined: Dec 2021 |
So nice.so young earn so much already
Jun 11 2023, 03:40 PM
106 posts Joined: Sep 2021 |
QUOTE(Salary @ Jun 11 2023, 01:07 PM) No, but we plan to. In order to withdraw, we will need to give up our Malaysian citizenships. We won’t be able to renounce our Malaysian citizenships until we’ve gotten our Australian citizenships. let say, both of you guys accumulate more than half million ringgit, what plan will you do with that money ? biz or house?The reason why we’d like to withdraw is because all our annual KWSP dividends are included as part of our taxable incomes in Australia. Mine’s being taxed at 45% which is pretty painful. |
Jun 11 2023, 03:46 PM
QUOTE(wasime @ Jun 11 2023, 03:40 PM) let say, both of you guys accumulate more than half million ringgit, what plan will you do with that money ? biz or house? I think we’re digressing a little here, let’s stick to Australia, shall we? Also I’m a lousy investor so you wouldn’t want my advise on money 😜 |
Jun 11 2023, 03:53 PM
3,557 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Shenzhen Bahru |
How’s the racism?
Jun 11 2023, 03:55 PM
134 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
I have been doing some thinking lately. What makes you want to move over to australia?
| Change to: | 0.0200sec
5 queries
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 03:54 PM |