4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Triumph, RE, Aprilia test ride event at Gohtong, 13th, 14th May

SUSskyblu3
post May 15 2023, 12:59 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 15 2023, 11:55 AM)
no idea. or lesser quality gear even if worn properly, it'll just come of
eg: just Velcro straps, and if said Velcro straps are already worn, they will just come off upon any abrasion or impact.
True.
Safety gears, if can afford .... Get the branded ones.
If not get the best you can afford.

Wonder if there is any updates on this rider. Hope he's ok.
Speedy recovery to him.
TSNightstalker1993
post May 15 2023, 02:01 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(ExCrIpT @ May 14 2023, 10:28 AM)
last week during the auto show at MAEPS serdang, they were having a test ride at one of the carparks full of gravels and CFMOTO had like 8 bikes or more lining up just for ppl to test drive. no need sign anything, no need show license...just hope on any bike you like and go
Closed circuit don't need license ma. If ride in the road they will photocopy your license lol.

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 14 2023, 01:04 PM)
A brand to slash out for me i guess.

BMW Suzuki never had that in their indemnity forms. Not sure if that's changed now.
My only experience is with ktm and triumph, pretty sure both had that in theirs. Triumph can't really remember 100% but KTM confirm ada because I asked the guy samore what if its not my fault takkan want me bayar also lol.

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ May 14 2023, 05:11 PM)
Please share the uncensored video
Treat this as a warning to those not wearing proper riding shoes when riding.

QUOTE(paskal @ May 14 2023, 08:43 PM)
He rode it into the sidewall.
Holy shit that's horrible

QUOTE(nabelon @ May 15 2023, 09:07 AM)
Sorry for the rider, but this incident may result in restricted test ride by Triumph in the future.

Used to enjoy Triumph PJ test ride. Used to own a ST765 and they gave me the whole stable of bikes to enjoy for an hour or so whenever im down there for service/ loitering around.
Now change distributor already ma, triumph no longer fast Bikes. Now triumph under Goh brothers umbrella together with RE, Aprilia etc, that's why this test ride event are all brands under Goh brothers/didi resources.

TSNightstalker1993
post May 15 2023, 02:03 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(persona93 @ May 15 2023, 11:33 AM)
lmaooooo that track was full of gravel , i was damn scared riding even just the electric bicycle laugh.gif
Luckily I didn't go. Thought of going to test ride bikes but if the test ride track like that then I don't want to bother laugh.gif

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ May 15 2023, 12:59 PM)
True.
Safety gears, if can afford .... Get the branded ones.
If not get the best you can afford.

Wonder if there is any updates on this rider. Hope he's ok.
Speedy recovery to him.
Yeah definitely thinking of upgrading my boots now. Falco boots anybody got try before?
paskal
post May 15 2023, 02:52 PM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(zarakiken @ May 14 2023, 10:56 PM)
lol... with his impact no shoe can help...
stiff/semi stiff motocross boots have really good protection.
some good semi stiff adventure boots have toe support, heel support, ankle support at both side.
some even have really stiff midsole that you can't even bend, to aid riding while standing up.

and most are designed to go over a shin guard so you could wear shin guard underneath the boot.
looks like robocop special ops. cool as hell laugh.gif

QUOTE(persona93 @ May 15 2023, 11:33 AM)
lmaooooo that track was full of gravel , i was damn scared riding even just the electric bicycle laugh.gif
haiya.
gravel la best.
can slide slide and geli geli in the corner.

paskal
post May 15 2023, 02:58 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ May 15 2023, 02:03 PM)
Luckily I didn't go. Thought of going to test ride bikes but if the test ride track like that then I don't want to bother laugh.gif
Yeah definitely thinking of upgrading my boots now. Falco boots anybody got try before?
i tried falco mixto before. can't remember mixto 3 or mixto 4.

IIRC alpinestars corozal adventure is more comfortable and looks nicer. similar price so i skipped mixto.
falco mixto, forma adventure, sidi adventure 2, alpinestars corozal/belize is prolly some of the most popular adventure boots on the market.

and in terms of pricing & features, the sidi adventure 2 have a really good ratio. but i didn't like the microfibre construction and the suede leather. so i skipped.
harryleesbr
post May 15 2023, 03:14 PM

Let them stare lah...
1 man meat, another's poison...

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ May 15 2023, 11:41 AM)
Yes how true.
And the "it will never happen to me" mindset is another issue with some bikers.

Just yesterday a rider was making fun of me when he saw me wearing safety gears.  But it's ok.  I don't care.
harryleesbr
post May 15 2023, 03:15 PM

Looks not local..

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ May 15 2023, 02:01 PM)
Closed circuit don't need license ma. If ride in the road they will photocopy your license lol.
My only experience is with ktm and triumph, pretty sure both had that in theirs. Triumph can't really remember 100% but KTM confirm ada because I asked the guy samore what if its not my fault takkan want me bayar also lol.
Holy shit that's horrible
Now change distributor already ma, triumph no longer fast Bikes. Now triumph under Goh brothers umbrella together with RE, Aprilia etc, that's why this test ride event are all brands under Goh brothers/didi resources.
Quazacolt
post May 15 2023, 03:35 PM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ May 15 2023, 02:52 PM)
stiff/semi stiff motocross boots have really good protection.

all racing boots also, for good reasons.
muazyusof
post May 16 2023, 02:44 PM

QUOTE(paskal @ May 13 2023, 09:29 PM)
Yes. That AMD 990. A tiger 900 rally pro

Wet road, corner, downhill.
And maybe with someone unfamiliar on the bike.

All recipe for disaster
the accident actually happened during dry weather and on the uphill section. only during emergency services came that it started to rain.

my friend who was there even mentioned that it was the first time he got so sweaty while working at Genting.

and the crash actually was caught on camera tho although not clearly.

a rider in front of the one that crashed was recording for a vlog during the test ride and the crash can be seen on the side mirrors.

It was around the 9:00 minute mark

This post has been edited by muazyusof: May 16 2023, 02:50 PM
mcdonald13
post May 16 2023, 03:00 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(muazyusof @ May 16 2023, 02:44 PM)
the accident actually happened during dry weather and on the uphill section. only during emergency services came that it started to rain.

my friend who was there even mentioned that it was the first time he got so sweaty while working at Genting.

a rider in front of the one that crashed was recording for a vlog during the test ride and the crash can be seen on the side mirrors.

not really clear, but ouch god dang...
alexei
post May 16 2023, 03:11 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

From right

Suddenly swing to left:

This post has been edited by alexei: May 16 2023, 03:12 PM
harryleesbr
post May 16 2023, 07:17 PM

my uncle version take is that after over taking car (we normally pulas the trottle a bit) and then mahu masuk balik lane but the Tiger just couldn't slow down in time to execute the corner.

Maybe too high gear, maybe over estimated engine braking resistance, trottle too sensitve .. who knows lah.

I pun kena before (nearly crash, somemore cornering at taman) after sit kapchai then switch to efjek... wrong feeling message.
TSNightstalker1993
post May 17 2023, 12:12 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

Damn that's a painful crash. My guess would be didn't lean in enough to make the turn, target fixated at the wall, then panicked and went to the wall? He looks pretty upright for the turn, vs the lead bike kona baring.
alexei
post May 17 2023, 09:24 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

alexei
post May 17 2023, 09:25 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

What if the bike malfunctioned?

QUOTE(mcdonald13 @ May 16 2023, 03:00 PM)
not really clear, but ouch god dang...
QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ May 17 2023, 12:12 AM)
Damn that's a painful crash. My guess would be didn't lean in enough to make the turn, target fixated at the wall, then panicked and went to the wall? He looks pretty upright for the turn, vs the lead bike kona baring.
Quazacolt
post May 17 2023, 10:00 AM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

yea i would agree with your hypothesis

that area, at the speed they going, no need kona baring pun.

however, if your lines aren't ideal (like smack in middle so only minor turns needed to keep your trajectory straight as if no corners) then you'd need some turning effort to navigate the downhill and cambered left right series of switch backs, and for bikes, means your ass is shifting around the seat (or you need to rely more lean on the bike)

not exactly something a huge majority of riders are into, mind you.
paskal
post May 17 2023, 11:12 AM

2,801 posts

these adventure bikes can't be turned as you would on a sportbike.
they won't turn if the driver tries to lean together with the bike. well not as fast.

i find that touring bikes with 19" front still can be cornered with driver lean.
those with 21" would just refuse and try to stand up straight.

thanks for the video.
looks like dry weather then. prolly too fast on an unfamiliar bike
jaycee1
post May 17 2023, 11:46 AM

AFK
2,484 posts

that was my thought as well. Usually riding genting or any twisties, i try to focus on 2 or 3 corners ahead. But that needs familiarity with both the road and bike. Easy to get distracted by the new bike.

Actually looking at the speed the harley was running, they werent actually going all that fast. I think he just got target fixated and forgotten to turn. Tiger looked pretty stable (maybe too stable) until it hit.

QUOTE(paskal @ May 17 2023, 11:12 AM)
these adventure bikes can't be turned as you would on a sportbike.
they won't turn if the driver tries to lean together with the bike. well not as fast.

i find that touring bikes with 19" front still can be cornered with driver lean.
those with 21" would just refuse and try to stand up straight.
thanks for the video.
looks like dry weather then. prolly too fast on an unfamiliar bike
depends on the bike and geometry.

I was pleasantly surprised when I rode the 790 adventure. Also with a 21" front. turn in is very good. Maybe the low CoG helped a lot.

But yes, by counter leaning you can get the bike to lean much easier and quicker.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: May 17 2023, 11:46 AM
alexei
post May 17 2023, 12:26 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ May 17 2023, 11:46 AM)
I was pleasantly surprised when I rode the 790 adventure. Also with a 21" front. turn in is very good. Maybe the low CoG helped a lot.
It's the trail:
790 ADV: 107mm
Tiger 900 Rally Pro: 146mm
paskal
post May 17 2023, 05:10 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ May 17 2023, 12:26 PM)
It's the trail:
790 ADV: 107mm
Tiger 900 Rally Pro: 146mm
my tiger 800 xcx have an even shorter trail at 93.5mm