126 Pages « < 110 111 112 113 114 > » Bottom

Blu-ray(tm) Disc (BD) Discussion Thread, Warner & New Line Cinema Do Blu!!

skincladalien
post Jan 7 2008, 07:57 PM

Densha Otaku
1,914 posts

omg hi-def anime shocking.gif

This post has been edited by skincladalien: Jan 7 2008, 07:57 PM
Gahleon
post Jan 7 2008, 07:59 PM

230 posts

QUOTE(PrinceOfPersia @ Jan 7 2008, 07:50 PM)
bro gahleon, got english subs??
No i think since original from Japan.But this 2 i watch so many times in vcd,dvd liao so understand the speech and story very much already.
Just want to collect.

Or maybe i should wait for asia version and buy from playasia.Asia one sure have Chinese and English sub.

This post has been edited by Gahleon: Jan 7 2008, 08:01 PM
sunauto
post Jan 7 2008, 08:22 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jan 7 2008, 04:10 PM)
And yes I did. laugh.gif
But if in the future BD wins, I think M$ have to take up
BD also. No choice tongue.gif
From the way you put it, your internal source is purely based on rumours. Whoever wins will not affect Microsoft because the XBOX 360 is only using dual layered dvds for its games, the movie playback part is purely optional. Only the successor to XBOX 360 might be using a different media to combat piracy, not necessary blu-ray or hd-dvd format, it could be a proprietary format like Yamaha's GD-Rom for the Dreamcast.
cocklea
post Jan 7 2008, 08:23 PM

Droid
5,939 posts

poison! poison!

but no, im waiting for the ps3 with 80gb + ds3 first
ar188
post Jan 7 2008, 08:26 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(Gahleon @ Jan 7 2008, 07:48 PM)
Aiya why amazon Japan no BOGO.
amazon JP got hamsap ones.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 7 2008, 08:27 PM
aiman04
post Jan 7 2008, 08:34 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Bill Gates Stays Quiet

Well... the Microsoft counterstrike for HD-DVD never materialized this evening. I spent a couple hours waiting in line to get into Bill Gates' big CES opening keynote presentation, and it ended up as much ado about nothing with respect to the format war at least. The house was packed as you'd expect, but not a single time in the entire hour did Gates or his associates mention the HD-DVD format, which is interesting, because VERY reliable sources had informed us that, prior to Warner's Friday announcement, as much as 30 percent of the presentation was originally devoted to HD-DVD developments connected to the Xbox, Xbox Live, etc. Neither did Gates announce any kind of ultimate Xbox 360 with a built-in HD-DVD drive, though he did reveal that British Telecom and other CE companies will be partnering with Microsoft on Xbox-based media devices.

http://www.thedigitalbits.com/#mytwocents

Finding Nemo in 7.1 PCM Audio!

Disney/Pixar's Finding Nemo Blu-ray Disc will debut the first Cine-Explore featuring full motion picture-in-picture (BonusView). This interactive visual commentary with director Andrew Stanton, co-writer Bob Peterson and co-director Lee Unkrich allows the viewer to dive deeper into the making of Finding Nemo without ever leaving the film. For kids and families, there is the all-new BD-Java enabled learning mode "Mr. Ray's Ed-venture." Hosted by Dory, Marlin and of course Mr. Ray, viewers will learn all about sea life and have the opportunity to earn stickers for their virtual sticker book by answering "quizlettes" while watching the movie. Viewers can also go to their sticker book at any time and create their own scene. Finding Nemo will also feature an all-new enhanced home theater mix in 7.1 surround sound.

http://www.thedigitalbits.com/#hdspin

Added on January 7, 2008, 8:41 pm
QUOTE(samurai20 @ Jan 7 2008, 07:31 PM)
walaweii satu kontena.. best.. got JAV BD ke???? pr KAV.. or CAV... tongue.gif
QUOTE(PrinceOfPersia @ Jan 7 2008, 07:48 PM)
bro aiman, one kontena only? i punya lagi banyak  tongue.gif

red kontena - JAV  tongue.gif
the yellow one not mine, but bro ar188 punya  laugh.gif
Seriously, I don't even know what this KAV, CAV, JAV etc. means. Only know KIV (keep in view), yes... tongue.gif

I did say 3 shipment what, that's only first one. Got 2 more one whole supercargo vessel... laugh.gif

QUOTE(cocklea @ Jan 7 2008, 08:23 PM)

poison! poison!

but no, im waiting for the ps3 with 80gb + ds3 first
shocking.gif

Where is that? I doubt that's a shop in Malaysia...

This post has been edited by aiman04: Jan 7 2008, 08:42 PM
ruztynail
post Jan 7 2008, 08:48 PM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

where is the shop!?! the above pic?! i wanna go!!!
TSedvpc
post Jan 7 2008, 09:03 PM

HardSun..... (IntoTheWild)
1,274 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Jan 7 2008, 08:34 PM)
Finding Nemo in 7.1 PCM Audio!
Disney/Pixar's Finding Nemo Blu-ray Disc will debut the first Cine-Explore featuring full motion picture-in-picture (BonusView). This interactive visual commentary with director Andrew Stanton, co-writer Bob Peterson and co-director Lee Unkrich allows the viewer to dive deeper into the making of Finding Nemo without ever leaving the film. For kids and families, there is the all-new BD-Java enabled learning mode "Mr. Ray's Ed-venture." Hosted by Dory, Marlin and of course Mr. Ray, viewers will learn all about sea life and have the opportunity to earn stickers for their virtual sticker book by answering "quizlettes" while watching the movie. Viewers can also go to their sticker book at any time and create their own scene. Finding Nemo will also feature an all-new enhanced home theater mix in 7.1 surround sound.
nice... thumbup.gif
one of my fav movie...Nemooooooooooooo rclxm9.gif
ROCK ON DUDE... laugh.gif

p/s : nice new avatar bro aiman tak brape nak kesah... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by edvpc: Jan 7 2008, 09:13 PM
cocklea
post Jan 7 2008, 09:09 PM

Droid
5,939 posts

QUOTE(ruztynail @ Jan 7 2008, 08:48 PM)
where is the shop!?! the above pic?! i wanna go!!!
that is JB Hi-Fi right here in Auckland CBD. took the pic this morning when i was browsing. going in there is so unhealthy for my wallet.

and suprisingly, almost all the titles are region free, with the exception of a few new titles. i was going to take a pic of HDDVD stand next to it but one of the SA was giving me evils.

This post has been edited by cocklea: Jan 7 2008, 09:11 PM
aiman04
post Jan 7 2008, 09:17 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(cocklea @ Jan 7 2008, 09:09 PM)
that is JB Hi-Fi right here in Auckland CBD. took the pic this morning when i was browsing. going in there is so unhealthy for my wallet.

and suprisingly, almost all the titles are region free, with the exception of a few new titles. i was going to take a pic of HDDVD stand next to it but one of the SA was giving me evils.
Aiya, Kiwi ar? doh.gif

Only new titles got region coding, because the BD may be released in one region, but some countries the other regions are still showing the movie in a cinemas. If not you will not go to the cinema but order it through Amazon instead.

So that's why old movies don't need region coding.

Added on January 7, 2008, 9:22 pm
QUOTE(edvpc @ Jan 7 2008, 09:03 PM)
nice... thumbup.gif
one of my fav movie...Nemooooooooooooo rclxm9.gif
ROCK ON DUDE... laugh.gif

p/s : nice new avatar bro aiman tak brape nak kesah... thumbup.gif
My favorite movie too, at least my favorite from PIXAR.

Friends, better prepare your home with 7.1 setup now! The future is near, and it's BLU.

PS: I made that avatar myself, but not from my own idea. Saw it somewhere. To show my respect to both Warner and BD. WB no longer represents Warner Bros., but Warner Blu!

This post has been edited by aiman04: Jan 7 2008, 09:23 PM
TSedvpc
post Jan 7 2008, 09:28 PM

HardSun..... (IntoTheWild)
1,274 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Jan 7 2008, 09:17 PM)
My favorite movie too, at least my favorite from PIXAR.

Friends, better prepare your home with 7.1 setup now! The future is near, and it's BLU.

PS: I made that avatar myself, but not from my own idea. Saw it somewhere. To show my respect to both Warner and BD. WB no longer represents Warner Bros., but Warner Blu!
haiya no money to get 7.1 la bro... sweat.gif

yeah totaly agreed with u bro.WB = Warner Blu & WBD = Warner Blu-ray Disc... thumbup.gif
hezda
post Jan 7 2008, 09:39 PM

402 posts

QUOTE(JKEC @ Jan 7 2008, 03:51 PM)
the other shipped on 17 of december by using standard delivery doh.gif , untill now ...not a single news; i'm kinda worries sweat.gif
My POTC3 and Blade Runner shipped on 17/12 also and I received it today (East Malaysia). Damn happy... but my Blade Runner disc 5 got a little bit of scratches, it dropped out in the box. cry.gif Luckily still runs fine.
prazole
post Jan 7 2008, 09:47 PM

Sleepyhead..
1,513 posts

so usually their estimated time of arrival from amazon is accurate or not?
mine not yet arrive sweat.gif
Gahleon
post Jan 7 2008, 10:02 PM

230 posts

Just check the price of those 2 gundam movies in amazon jp and playasia.
Crazy price.
I think i wait for asia version lol.

Just notice playasia also got sell US version of bluray liao.

This post has been edited by Gahleon: Jan 7 2008, 10:22 PM
g5sim
post Jan 7 2008, 10:13 PM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Jan 7 2008, 07:26 PM)
My latest BD shipment from Amazon has arrived!!! rclxms.gif

Who want to pinjam?

tongue.gif  whistling.gif
you too much lah you !! laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
ar188
post Jan 8 2008, 11:02 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(cocklea @ Jan 7 2008, 09:09 PM)
this JB hi fi in Auzzie very Pro HD-DVD wan wor.. shocked to see the rapid change in loyalty to blu.. biggrin.gif

ps360
post Jan 8 2008, 11:15 AM

137 posts

LAS VEGAS - Sony today demonstrated the next level of disc copying. At the company's booth at CES, Sony demonstrated how you could put a Blu-ray Disc movie into a Playstation 3 and copy the film to a Playstation Portable or a Memory Stick. "This way, you can have a portable copy you can take with you," explains David Bishop, president of Sony Pictures Home Entertainment.

SOURCE
zio
post Jan 8 2008, 11:20 AM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

QUOTE(ps360 @ Jan 8 2008, 11:15 AM)
LAS VEGAS  - Sony today demonstrated the next level of disc copying. At the company's booth at CES, Sony demonstrated how you could put a Blu-ray Disc movie into a Playstation 3 and copy the film to a Playstation Portable or a Memory Stick. "This way, you can have a portable copy you can take with you," explains David Bishop, president of Sony Pictures Home Entertainment.

SOURCE
Sony is trying to push their high capacity MS eh tongue.gif
Ninja
post Jan 8 2008, 11:57 AM

[PBMY]™ Supreme Commander
1,764 posts

Paramount in HD DVD blow

Paramount is poised to drop its support of HD DVD after Warner Brothers' recent backing of Sony's Blu-ray technology, in a move that will sound the death knell of HD DVD and bring the home entertainment format war to a definitive end.

Paramount and DreamWorks Animation, which makes the Shrek films, came out in support of HD DVD last summer, joining General Electric's Universal Studios as the main backers of the Toshiba format.

However, Paramount, which is owned by Viacom, is understood to have a clause in its contract with the HD DVD camp that would allow it to switch sides in the event of Warner Bros backing Blu-ray, according to people familiar with the situation.

Paramount is set to have a bumper 2008 with several likely blockbusters, including the latest instalment in the Indiana Jones franchise.

Paramount joining the Blu-ray camp would leave HD DVD likely to suffer the same fate as Sony's now obsolete Betamax video technology, which lost out to VHS in a similar format war in the 1980s.

Warners decision last week to throw its weight behind Blu-ray saw it join Walt Disney, 20th Century Fox and Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer as backers of the Sony format.

The Warners move gives Blu-ray about 70 per cent of Hollywood's output, although the format's grip on film content will increase further when Paramount comes aboard.

It is unclear whether DreamWorks Animation has the same get-out clause in its contract with the HD DVD camp.

However, Paramount and DreamWorks have a close relationship, with Paramount distributing DreamWorks Animation films. The two companies also signed their HD DVD contracts at the same time. Meanwhile, Universal has declined to comment on its next-generation DVD plans since the Warners move.

Sir Howard Stringer, chief executive of Sony, on Monday held out an olive branch, saying the company would be "open to dialogue" with the HD DVD camp to "grow the market". The move came as new figures showed that Blu-ray had opened up a decisive lead over the rival home entertainment format.

Sir Howard said: "We are not going to push people around. We'll talk to anyone ... we have a lot of work to do to grow the market. We'll be systematic and open to dialogue at all times."

He added that Sony still had "a lot of work" to do to get Blu-ray "widely accepted" among American consumers.

"With Warner's support you saw billboards going up in different places and you saw television commercials getting more and more sophisticated and that's what we'll continue doing," said Sir Howard.

Source: Financial Times.com

Paramount Feeling Blu'? hmm.gif
zio
post Jan 8 2008, 11:59 AM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

Paramount and Dreamworks both have issued statements that they will continue to back HD-DVD I believe, so the article above is nothing but a speculative piece based on a contract clause.

126 Pages « < 110 111 112 113 114 > » Top

0.0284sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:39 AM