Singapore PR Application on May 2023, Already 12 months
hksgmy
Feb 4 2024, 11:38 AM
I got mine within 3 months, but that was nearly 25 or 30 years ago. They were handing out invitations to doctors to apply. I still get the invitation to convert at every PR renewal...
Good luck with yours.
hksgmy
Feb 4 2024, 11:48 AM
QUOTE(LuckyBai @ Feb 4 2024, 11:41 AM) Get PR there.. Pay taxes there.. But when need medical constation, teavel back to Malaysia Not really. Interesting that people like MooMoo decided to come to Singapore for health matters, as opposed to staying back for the RM1 treatment in Malaysia. This post has been edited by hksgmy: Feb 4 2024, 11:49 AM
hksgmy
Feb 4 2024, 12:14 PM
QUOTE(bengang15 @ Feb 4 2024, 12:07 PM) That because he is rich enough to pay. Wife did a biopsy for sgd7000 which could have been done at rm2000-3000 in malaysia. Just a biopsy. Had it not that her company covered her cost she would have gone back to Malaysia to do it. Lots of hassle but sure worth it. What biopsy did your wife do that cost so much, if you don't mind me asking? To be honest, I get a very extremely skewed picture of health costs in Singapore and Australia, because my colleagues will waive this and waive that, and hospitals will give me discounts for inpatient stays etc, since I'm a fellow health professional, and a teaching faculty member. So, while people keep going on about how expensive things are, I just keep quiet.
hksgmy
Feb 4 2024, 12:28 PM
QUOTE(bengang15 @ Feb 4 2024, 12:21 PM) Breast. No joke. Sgd7000. I am not in medical line but when I heard 7k I nearly choke. My wife was already making arrangement to take leave, confirm appointment at PD hospital etc. Thankfully company called back and confirm its covered. In anycase honestly my Singaporean colleague (and I mean Singaporean born) tells me that health care in Singapore is crazy expensive. For older folks they gets lots of rebate but for young folks like them practically nothing. And for all insurance claim they have to co pay such is their regulation. Anyway i think that's the case for most developed nation. One thing I am very thankful for is malaysia public hospital and insurance. Sorry to hear that about your wife. I hope she's all good now. SGD7000 is on the high side, even for private hospitals. I don't know when this was done, but this may not have been in line with MOH's latest fee guidelines. Obviously, the technical difficulties of the patient will alter the guideline fees somewhat, but I guess the important thing was that your wife's all well now. And that it was covered by insurance (which makes me wonder whether the price was "adjusted" to take that into account). You can check out the guideline fees for a Breast Biopsy HERE
hksgmy
Feb 4 2024, 12:37 PM
QUOTE(bengang15 @ Feb 4 2024, 12:35 PM) Thanks. Didn't know there a reference price. Anyway she is ok. It's benign. Been there for ages. Just that first time medical check in Singapore and they want it to be recheck. Not sure if it was adjusted. Just glad didn't have to cough up sgd 7000. It was just 2 months ago. Pretty sure once the hospital knew it was covered by insurance, the knives were sharpened. This is one aspect of private healthcare in Singapore that I have serious reservations about - but, again, because it really doesn't affect me (doctors even in private sector, will waive consultation fees and procedural fees for fellow doctors, or at least offer a very generous discount), I really cannot comment too much.
hksgmy
Feb 4 2024, 04:34 PM
QUOTE(malz89 @ Feb 4 2024, 12:44 PM) I heard it's faster to get PR approved now. Most of the cases are about 6 months or less, unless you're not within the selected criteria, you may require more documents, etc. I just applied mine a couple of months ago under my wife's sponsorship but nothing so far. Good luck bro
hksgmy
Feb 4 2024, 08:55 PM
QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Feb 4 2024, 06:42 PM) Facebook group 新加坡PR交流區 1 person said need more than 1 year Some of my friends who are applying for PR say that the longer you wait, the more likely you'll get it. The rejection letter apparently comes really quickly if they deem you unsuitable/undesirable/not qualified. Good luck to you too!
hksgmy
Feb 5 2024, 11:08 AM
QUOTE(tometoto @ Feb 5 2024, 10:50 AM) what benefit getting PR at SG? maybe can share and list here. Can have security in employment
hksgmy
Feb 5 2024, 10:47 PM
QUOTE(Knnbuccb @ Feb 5 2024, 07:35 PM) U must be sure to be in sg for more than half the year? To be honest and as much as I would hate to admit it, I’ll very likely take up Singapore citizenship before I retire and give up my treasured Malaysian passport. The bulk of our properties and the majority of our wealth is parked in Singapore. My annuity is paid out in SGD. I have 0 KWSP but more than a million in my CPF. And with citizenship I won’t have to worry about whether my PR will expire while I’m based in Australia. Once I’m in Australia, I intend to stay out and do domestic travel for at least 4 years without leaving Aussie shores. That’s why I planned the round the world trip to shake the wanderlust out of my system. Once those 4 years are fulfilled, I’ll apply for Aussie citizenship and keep my Singaporean one on the side
hksgmy
Feb 5 2024, 10:48 PM
QUOTE(malz89 @ Feb 5 2024, 08:39 PM) I pursued my PhD .. I was under scholarship, hence I was not eligible for PR throughout the programme. With a PhD, I don’t see the issue with them not granting you PR… good luck in advance!
hksgmy
Feb 5 2024, 11:30 PM
QUOTE(malz89 @ Feb 5 2024, 11:11 PM) Haha thanks but I need it ASAP .. initially we had plans to return to MY but guess not now .. everything is way efficient in SG Yeah, I thought like you once.... This post has been edited by hksgmy: Feb 5 2024, 11:45 PM
hksgmy
Feb 6 2024, 12:20 AM
QUOTE(malz89 @ Feb 6 2024, 12:00 AM) At least you have all planned out .. I'm still early into my career, a lot of catch up to do. I would say I'm kinda late compared to my peers of the same age .. I took a gamble and hope it would pay off in the future by doing what I love If you don’t mind me asking, in which field of study/ research was your PhD?
hksgmy
Feb 6 2024, 12:34 AM
QUOTE(malz89 @ Feb 6 2024, 12:27 AM) Microbiology, specially virology I’d imagine you would have NCID staff knocking on your door for your expertise especially during COVID! I reckon you’re a shoo-in for PR. Singapore would be lucky to have you
hksgmy
Feb 6 2024, 07:14 PM
QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Feb 6 2024, 07:02 PM) If my aunt gets Singapore citizenship, and my brother and his wife also receive Singapore PR approval, do I have a high chance of getting Singapore PR approval too? Not really, it won't help your cause if you're above 21 years old.
hksgmy
Feb 6 2024, 09:12 PM
When I applied for mine, they went so far as to ask which denomination my religion was….
hksgmy
Feb 6 2024, 09:26 PM
Mine was 30 years ago. Paper.
hksgmy
Feb 6 2024, 09:31 PM
QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Feb 6 2024, 09:29 PM) 1994 Maybe that time the world's geopolitical landscape is unstable. Some religious groups also have individuals who disrupt peace and stability. Yeah, 25-30 years ago, world was a different place.
hksgmy
Feb 9 2024, 04:03 AM
QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Feb 9 2024, 01:16 AM) Just sharing that my PR was recently approved. Letter was dated 6 Feb 2024. I applied on 3 Jul 2023 so I guess it took me around 7 months. Congratulations bro
hksgmy
Feb 21 2024, 02:53 AM
QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Feb 21 2024, 12:23 AM) My future spouse used to be a Work Permit holder, but no longer works in Singapore. Do we still need approval to get married? Source: https://www.mom.gov.sg3mo ago Yes. If their last-held pass was a Work Permit, they must still get approval from MOM to marry a Singapore citizen or permanent resident. You may only register your marriage in or outside of Singapore after your spouse-to-be has obtained approval They want to control PR? It seems quite clear he/she will need clearance. Good luck.
hksgmy
Feb 22 2024, 02:00 PM
QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Feb 22 2024, 01:57 PM) Salary :2000 Get Singapore pr at Age :40 Monthly 37% contrubhtin Until age 60. | Age | Initial Balance | Annual Interest Rate | Balance at the End of the Year | | ----- | ----------------- | ---------------------- | -------------------------------- | | 40 | $8,880 | 4% | $9,235.20 | | 41 | $9,235.20 | 4% | $9,598.69 | | 42 | $9,598.69 | 4% | $9,970.44 | | 43 | $9,970.44 | 4% | $10,350.49 | | 44 | $10,350.49 | 4% | $10,738.90 | | 45 | $10,738.90 | 4% | $11,135.72 | | 46 | $11,135.72 | 4% | $11,541.03 | | 47 | $11,541.03 | 4% | $11,954.88 | | 48 | $11,954.88 | 4% | $12,377.34 | | 49 | $12,377.34 | 4% | $12,808.49 | | 50 | $12,808.49 | 4% | $13,248.39 | | 51 | $13,248.39 | 4% | $13,697.15 | | 52 | $13,697.15 | 4% | $14,154.86 | | 53 | $14,154.86 | 4% | $14,621.63 | | 54 | $14,621.63 | 4% | $15,097.55 | | 55 | $15,097.55 | 4% | $15,582.73 | | 56 | $15,582.73 | 4% | $16,077.28 | | 57 | $16,077.28 | 4% | $16,581.29 | | 58 | $16,581.29 | 4% | $17,094.88 | | 59 | $17,094.88 | 4% | $17,618.16 | | 60 | $17,618.16 | 4% | $18,151.23 |
How will he do on age 60? Give up PR right? Now basic retirement sum is $ 106,500.  The ERS will hence be $426,000 in 2025, instead of $319,500, which DPM Wong said will allow more members aged 55 and above to commit their accumulated CPF savings to receive higher monthly payouts. The BRS provides CPF members with monthly payouts to cover their basic living expenses during retirement. The higher ERS is part of wide-ranging changes to the CPF system that DPM Wong, who is also Finance Minister, announced on Feb 16. So he cannot withdraw any money at age 60? That's enhanced retirement sum. The basic retirement sum is 4 times less than the enhanced, IINM This post has been edited by hksgmy: Feb 22 2024, 02:00 PM