26 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

What’s the meaning or purpose of life?

TSplouffle0789
post Apr 9 2023, 01:22 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(TiramisuCoffee @ Apr 9 2023, 01:20 PM)
Not so fast!  biggrin.gif U still hv 2 repay karma debts 2 parents n those u interacting with… since u hv many lives b4… maybe need 2 continue reincarnate as someone’s baby , grow up n continue repay karma (aka do good)… when betul2 semua hutang beres dibayar… then only u enter Nirvana… omitoufu…  innocent.gif
You study a lot of buddhist books?
ericcheng2021
post Apr 9 2023, 01:22 PM

184 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Apr 7 2023, 10:44 PM)
Can some intelligent explain to me what’s the meaning of life?

Is it all about money?

LIFE = goal of life?

Love?

marriage?

children?

Travel?

Work?

power?

business?

social position?
What do you regret the most in your life?
DISCUSS IT.
Maybe to amuse our creators. They could be God, could be Aliens.
Maybe we are just their toys, maybe they watch our suffering, our happiness while sipping their favourite drinks.
TSplouffle0789
post Apr 9 2023, 01:23 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Apr 9 2023, 07:37 AM)
YOLO
YOLO

You Only Live Once

So?
iGamer
post Apr 9 2023, 01:40 PM

Toxic ktards probably losers irl
1,374 posts

Not so fast!  biggrin.gif U still hv 2 repay karma debts 2 parents n those u interacting with… since u hv many lives b4… maybe need 2 continue reincarnate as someone’s baby , grow up n continue repay karma (aka do good)… when betul2 semua hutang beres dibayar… then only u enter Nirvana… omitoufu…  innocent.gif
Jipunis succeeding in ending the karma cycle, they stay in house as hikikimori limiting interactions with others, hence no debts with ppl. Their shrinking population show this is the proven way to end the karma cycle.
TSplouffle0789
post Apr 9 2023, 02:08 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(iGamer @ Apr 9 2023, 01:40 PM)
Jipunis succeeding in ending the karma cycle, they stay in house as hikikimori limiting interactions with others, hence no debts with ppl. Their shrinking population show this is the proven way to end the karma cycle.
An estimated 1.46 million working-age people in Japan are living as hikikomori (social recluses), a survey by the Cabinet Office showed Friday.

The figure accounts for some 2% of the total population of people between 15 and 64 years of age in the country. Some 20% became social recluses due to the COVID-19 pandemic, according to the survey. A Cabinet Office official warned that anyone could become a social recluse.

The estimate was based on a survey conducted in November last year on 30,000 people the ages of 10 and 69 across the country.

SUSjoe_star
post Apr 9 2023, 02:11 PM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

QUOTE(lopo90 @ Apr 7 2023, 10:55 PM)
Asking you to checkout his work on philosophy. Not his life

Just pointing out with good intention since you wanted to understand the meaning of life

Seems like you're more focus on finding the bad in others. Can't help you

Wish you all the best
He just has a calming voice and demeanor, otherwise his philosophy is nothing extraordinary, just a mishmash of eastern concepts and the hippie culture prevalent at that time.
SUSjoe_star
post Apr 9 2023, 02:13 PM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

Better chant namo amitofou and go pure land, continue quest to nirvana there
-mystery-
post Apr 9 2023, 02:15 PM

2,725 posts

Spending unnecessary money to prove you're the shit.
Im not saying occasionally? you shouldnt spend money to pamper yourself (as an average income earner), but i think a lot of people are brainwash to live in short sense that buying a lot of meaningless stuffs, doesnt make you happy
Adelyyne
post Apr 9 2023, 02:30 PM

696 posts

QUOTE(ZerOne01 @ Apr 9 2023, 07:46 AM)
According to sohai kevin sexy sarah life is all about money and you are a failure in life if you are poor. That's why he busy licking his clients asses now.
In life, money is important. That is without any doubt. But sometimes even with money, it can still be hard on some people. For instance in this case, I think Mdm Wang could have also received some kinda monetary assistance from friends or family members?? But she must still suffer a lot from watching her son suffered from his 生不如死的活受罪?And no amount of money can diffuse her sense of responsibility 自责 AND the over 40 years questioning of herself "did I do anything that my flesh and blood is now doing this 赎罪 on my behalf??"

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=23&t=5370352

As for me, my ideas about money had been damaged or hurt by my mom's experiences with her younger step siblings. It happened a long time ago, when I was just a teen, about 15-16 years old, when my dad fell ill with liver cancer. My mom merely suggested to her younger step brother that she might NEED to sell a piece of land (her hometown is in Johor Benut, near Pontain) which her grandmother had left to her. (I guess it's probably because the old lady knew that my mom being the eldest daughter of all her grandchildren was about the only one who could be entrusted to keep the family together??)

It's not a very big piece of property, only slightly over 4.1 hectares of land?? But her step siblings ALL ganged up together and signed a caveat that stated that it's not legal property on my mum's part. (Apparently I think it's because upon my grandfather's death, my great grandmother instructed someone to use his thumbprint to change the title deed to my mom, because it should be called the ancestral land since their house was on that piece of land so the title deed of the land was actually initially under the grandfather's name.)

I mean, I see it as not only overreaction on their part (because mum's only meaning was that she needed some money for my dad's medical treatment and possibly even also she felt fed up with the younger brother's staying in that ancestral home without any rental payment and also, he was harvesting palm oil by making use of the rest of the land behind the house. But did he know what is the meaning of 情亲情人情 etc?? No. Over the more than one decade of such arrangement, he never once brought say just a few mandarin oranges and paid mum a CNY visit.). But also SELFISHNESS beyond belief. They NEVER once had a thought: what if eldest sister brought her three still in school kids and jumped to their DEATHS?? No. 你死你的事。

The entire episode brought a lot of pain and hurt to my mum and she used to shed tears whenever someone brought up the subject. Because from her POV, she had done her best as the eldest sister: in her teens when she left home at the age of 17-18 to learn sewing and working as a seamstress, during CNY she even picked up the cloth remnants and sewed a new dress for every single younger sister (altogether she has 5 younger step sisters and one younger stepbrother, I call him 三代单传二世祖败家子). So she had to sew and make 5 dresses for the sisters to choose their favourite.(车衣,车啊!车的,车到眼睛都快要瞎了。)Because in those days, you can't go to say Jaya Jusco or even just some pasar pagi or pasar malam to buy new dress even for CNY.

Anyway to cut the story short, mum did consult some lawyer and asked about what options did she have?? The lawyer suggested that she could do something like reverse caveat that stopped my step uncle from harvesting the palm oil. But mum didn't want to make the feud worse than it was and so she didn't take the lawyer's advice.

Ended up she was like some kinda 守财奴 held on to the land until my cousin (step uncle's eldest son) finished his university education. And upon his graduation, my mum signed the land and gave it to her nephew. Some kinda graduation present?? But her stepbrother was still like: how could she accept the minimal sum of 50k ringgit?? Why isn't it FOC?

Thing is her this stepbrother is a 败家子二世祖 because he had actually squandered ALL the other properties his grandmother gave him long before he even got married. (My great grandfather was an astute business person who managed to accumulate a bit of wealth in their kampung but unfortunately he was killed by the Japanese soldiers in WW2.)

And mum's thinking is: if she had given them the land FOC, most likely her nephew would behave like his father who didn't have an ounce of appreciation, gratitude or contentment 不懂知足珍惜或感恩。

Just the other day, I Googled for the price of land in Benut Johor and found that it's now worth RM1m for one hectare.

But from my POV, even 48 million hectares of land or all the land on the entire globe. It's cheaper than 血浓于水的亲情。

PS: Thought of this, does anyone know?? How to know (or keep track of) the amount of land in the entire globe? Since some countries are going under the sea level and so is disappearing land and some countries are doing land reclamations. I guess this is an interesting idea, but since it can't possibly generate any revenue, no one is interested to start an agency to keep records?? Or else we might have to go ask UN.

🙄🙄

This post has been edited by Adelyyne: Apr 10 2023, 08:01 AM
TSplouffle0789
post Apr 9 2023, 02:30 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(-mystery- @ Apr 9 2023, 02:15 PM)
Spending unnecessary money to prove you're the shit.
Im not saying occasionally? you shouldnt spend money to pamper yourself (as an average income earner), but i think a lot of people are brainwash to live in short sense that buying a lot of meaningless stuffs, doesnt make you happy
That is the reason

Bernard Jean Étienne Arnault (French: [bɛna ɑ̃ etjɛn ano]; born 5 March 1949) is a French business magnate, investor, and art collector.

He is the founder, chairman, and chief executive officer of LVMH Moët Hennessy Louis Vuitton, the world's largest luxury goods company.

Arnault has an estimated net worth of US$208.1 billion as of March 2023, according to Forbes, making him the wealthiest person in the world. His family is also considered one of the richest families in the world.

Bernard Arnault, the world's richest man, saw his fortune exceed $200 billion as shares of his company hit a record high, as per a report in The Guardian.
Ayambetul
post Apr 9 2023, 02:31 PM

336 posts

Troll in /k is life
TSplouffle0789
post Apr 9 2023, 02:34 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(Adelyyne @ Apr 9 2023, 02:30 PM)
In life, money is important. That is without any doubt. But sometimes even with money, it can still be hard on some people. For instance in this case, I think Mdm Wang could have also received some kinda monetary assistance from friends or family members?? But she must still suffer a lot from watching her son suffered from his 生不如死的活受罪?And no amount of money can diffuse her sense of responsibility 自责 and questioning of herself "did I do anything that my flesh and blood is now doing this 赎罪 on my behalf??"

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=23&t=5370352

As for me, my ideas about money had been damaged or hurt by my mom's experiences with her younger step siblings. It happened a long time ago, when I was just a teen, about 15-16 years old, when my dad fell ill with liver cancer. My mom merely suggested to her younger step brother that she might NEED to sell a piece of land (her hometown is in Johor Benut, near Pontain) which her grandmother had left to her. (I guess it's probably because the old lady knew that my mom being the eldest daughter of all her grandchildren was about the only one who could be entrusted to keep the family together??)

It's not a very big piece of property, only slightly over 4.1 hectares of land?? But her step siblings ALL ganged up together and signed a caveat that stated that it's not legal property on my mum's part. (Apparently I think it's because upon my grandfather's death, my great grandmother instructed someone to use his thumbprint to change the title deed to my mom, because it should be called the ancestral land since their house was on that piece of land so the title deed of the land was actually initially under the grandfather's name.)

I mean, I see it as not only overreaction on their part (because mum's only meaning was that she needed some money for my dad's medical treatment and possibly even also she felt fed up with the younger brother's staying in that ancestral home without any rental payment and also, he was harvesting palm oil by making use of the rest of the land behind the house. But did he know what is the meaning of 情亲情人情 etc?? No. Over the more than one decade of such arrangement, he never once brought say just a few mandarin oranges and paid mum a CNY visit.). But also SELFISHNESS beyond belief. They NEVER once had a thought: what if eldest sister brought her three still in school kids and jumped to their DEATHS?? No. 你死你的事。

The entire episode brought a lot of pain and hurt to my mum and she used to shed tears whenever someone brought up the subject. Because from her POV, she had done her best as the eldest sister: in her teens when she left home at the age of 17-18 to learn sewing and working as a seamstress, during CNY she even picked up the cloth remnants and sewed a new dress for every single younger sister (altogether she has 5 younger step sisters and one younger stepbrother, I call him 三代单传二世祖败家子). So she had to sew and make 5 dresses for the sisters to choose their favourite.(车衣,车啊!车的,车到眼睛都快要瞎了。)Because in those days, you can't go to say Jaya Jusco or even just some pasar pagi or pasar malam to buy new dress even for CNY.

Anyway to cut the story short, mum did consult some lawyer and asked about what options did she have?? The lawyer suggested that she could do something like reverse caveat that stopped my step uncle from harvesting the palm oil. But mum didn't want to make the feud worse than it was and so she didn't take the lawyer's advice.

Ended up she was like some kinda 守财奴 held on to the land until my cousin (step uncle's eldest son) finished his university education. And upon his graduation, my mum signed the land and gave it to her nephew. Some kinda graduation present?? But her stepbrother was still like: how could she accept the minimal sum of 50k ringgit?? Why isn't it FOC?

Thing is her this stepbrother is a 败家子二世祖 because he had actually squandered ALL the other properties his grandmother gave him long before he even got married. (My great grandfather was an astute business person who managed to accumulate a bit of wealth in their kampung but unfortunately he was killed by the Japanese soldiers in WW2.)

And mum's thinking is: if she had given them the land FOC, most likely her nephew would behave like his father who didn't have an ounce of appreciation or gratitude 不懂珍惜感恩。

Just the other day, I Googled for the price of land in Benut Johor and found that it's now worth RM1m for one hectare.

But from my POV, even 48 million hectares of land or all the land on the entire globe. It's cheaper than 血浓于水的亲情。
How old is your mother?

Why her siblings suddenly turn bad or after adult turn bad?
Koranshita
post Apr 9 2023, 02:35 PM

435 posts

Wake up, work, eat, sleep for ur lifetime.

Adelyyne
post Apr 9 2023, 02:39 PM

696 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Apr 9 2023, 02:34 PM)
How old is your mother?

Why her siblings suddenly turn bad or after adult turn bad?
She's already going to be 81 this August.

I don't think her siblings suddenly turned bad or after adult turned bad. It's more like they take EVERYTHING for granted. And CANNOT be trusted in a crisis.

And from our (mom and me) POV, their actions are interpreted as 打落水狗,落井下石。I mean we were having some crisis with my dad's illness and who had the guts or the skin thick enough to go ask for their help?? Mum merely suggested that she might NEED to sell it for my dad's medical fees. Probably also to gauge their reactions first.

Guess what?? Almost another decade after everything had settled down, me and mum actually came across with the aunty (step uncle's wife. He passed away a few years back already.) Who apparently didn't wanna stay in the ancestral house any more. (After they succeeded in practically 把别人的东西占为己有)

She had moved to a house very near my older place in Setia Alam, in fact in the same taman. Because her eldest son's married and they are all staying together, I think the son's working in some engineering company in Selangor?? (Either Subang or Shah Alam.) She even tried to invite me to her second son's wedding dinner. But I 怕死他们了:有钱他就把你当人,或是 “自己人”,没钱就把你当 外星人 + 外星狗 来 “打落水狗”。Also I worry that in future, her kids (altogether 3 sons and a youngest daughter?? I'm also not sure, since the relationship has soured.) Might 有样学样,上梁不正下梁歪 ALL ganged up to fight for the property with their eldest brother?? Then they might come ask me for advice 做 LJ 公亲,说公道话 etc.

This post has been edited by Adelyyne: Apr 9 2023, 04:59 PM
zuozi
post Apr 9 2023, 02:48 PM

1,267 posts

Then if my parents abandoned me during age of 12 should i ask them repay me? Hahaha 😂🤣 omitoufu ge lan lah...
hotdayum
post Apr 9 2023, 02:48 PM

195 posts

Hot Kepong BKT and chilled beer is what life is about
ze2
post Apr 9 2023, 02:49 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(hotdayum @ Apr 9 2023, 02:48 PM)
Hot Kepong BKT and chilled beer is what life is about
Maggi curry with egg. Comfort food.