Career change: Slowing down

TSRigerZ
post Mar 29 2023, 11:21 PM, updated 3y ago

On the way on the way
1,016 posts

After working for 9 years; most of which were fast-paced, ganjeong, and anxiety-filled, I'm starting to think a slower-pace environment is what I need next.

Thing is, most of these kinds of jobs need some specific kind of qualification or experience, while I only have an automotive/customer service background. So it seems most likely I will have to start from the bottom

Funny thing is, even when trying to look for potential options, I still see phrases such as "fast paced", "work under pressure", "no work life balance", etc.

Beggars cant be choosers hmm.

inb4 TS dont know how to manage stress
kesvani
post Mar 29 2023, 11:37 PM

954 posts

I now middle age also ramp down. Even though salary b40 but just dont have that fighter mood unless the job is exciting. Fight fight money when where also don't know. After resign to marry and register in other countyr but boss ask me to consider join back when i come back and hinting will help me in buy house
nordtty
post Mar 30 2023, 06:41 PM

112 posts

Work life balance > Monetary income
NCHx
post Apr 2 2023, 12:58 PM

109 posts

Downsizing wave is coming too.
Redshelf411
post Apr 2 2023, 07:12 PM

818 posts

Am also from customer service industry also but with a background of content writer/media industry. Customer service jobs are actually jobs "can do" wan. Just that I hate having to work shifts, weekends and public holidays. Who cares about the extra pay sometimes I need the extra rest lol

TSRigerZ
post Apr 2 2023, 07:37 PM

On the way on the way
1,016 posts

QUOTE(Redshelf411 @ Apr 2 2023, 07:12 PM)
Customer service jobs are actually jobs "can do" wan.
Mind elaborating good sir?
mezanny
post Apr 3 2023, 04:17 PM

709 posts

QUOTE(RigerZ @ Mar 29 2023, 11:21 PM)
After working for 9 years; most of which were fast-paced, ganjeong, and anxiety-filled, I'm starting to think a slower-pace environment is what I need next.

Thing is, most of these kinds of jobs need some specific kind of qualification or experience, while I only have an automotive/customer service background. So it seems most likely I will have to start from the bottom

Funny thing is, even when trying to look for potential options, I still see phrases such as "fast paced", "work under pressure", "no work life balance", etc.

Beggars cant be choosers hmm.

inb4 TS dont know how to manage stress
automotive, you as SA, service customers, then tomorrow you don't see them.

unless u have flood car or manage accident car lah.

those jobs that are slow down, are the ones, you have to clean shit like 1 month ago, 3 months ago, 6 months ago, 1 year ago, 3 years ago, 5 years ago, etc.
briantwj
post Apr 4 2023, 01:33 PM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

I want to change too. Been on vendor side for almost 6 to 7 years dah. Everytime kena bodek clients, treat client like vip. And listen to all of their instructions.

I wanna be end user next. Looking out for job now in IT line. As PM or Account Manager. Lol
Eulm585
post Apr 4 2023, 06:24 PM

835 posts

QUOTE(nordtty @ Mar 30 2023, 06:41 PM)
Work life balance > Monetary income
This is my problem.
All the chill jobs, cannot pay my salary now.
If i want to chill i need to reach a certain goals before retirement before i can take a paycut to be more chill.

Redshelf411
post Apr 5 2023, 10:43 PM

818 posts

QUOTE(RigerZ @ Apr 2 2023, 07:37 PM)
Mind elaborating good sir?
It's not necessarilythe easiest job but it's not the hardest either. You just talk to customers, tell them the info they need. Maybe at the most do some service requests here and there and thats pretty much your jobscope as a customer service officer. Salary is ok-ok only since it cannot go as high as anywhere else.

Most customer service stress comes from shitty customers only. And maybe the shift patterns that some people find it hard to adapt to.
coyouth
post Apr 6 2023, 09:28 AM

820 posts

some people say being contented means you don't have the will to compete. anyway, to each their own. my goal is to live long enough to reap the benefits of my EPF money. no point dying young because of the stress from work. food & environment already not so good. some more add stress from work, you probably won't see your EPF money...

0.0209sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:39 AM