5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Have you experienced alcohol withdrawal?

TSmee udang
post Mar 20 2023, 11:42 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(vexus @ Mar 20 2023, 11:37 PM)
u will stop drinking when your liver about to dead
There's also non-alcoholic fatty liver disease lah. Not necessary drinking is only cause, but excessive drinking will add more burden to liver for sure.
Leto
post Mar 21 2023, 08:42 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Mar 20 2023, 06:13 PM)
ts is big and fat
so considered "heavy drinker"  laugh.gif
fat fuck drinker
biggie
post Mar 21 2023, 08:54 AM

1,291 posts

i quit drinking when i come back to Malaysia as it is damn expensive. Lucky not to have any withdrawal symptoms then, although i developed gout later which stays with me until now.

even now when i can afford to drink i still need to resist with some efforts. Quit drinking and smoking for more then 20yrs but the urge is still there and more so when meeting with old buddies who still do.

Quitting is not easy and requires constant effort.
TSmee udang
post Mar 21 2023, 09:19 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(biggie @ Mar 21 2023, 08:54 AM)
i quit drinking when i come back to Malaysia as it is damn expensive. Lucky not to have any withdrawal symptoms then, although i developed gout later which stays with me until now.

even now when i can afford to drink i still need to resist with some efforts. Quit drinking and smoking for more then 20yrs but the urge is still there and more so when meeting with old buddies who still do.

Quitting is not easy and requires constant effort.
I think naturally withdrawals are there to make you not want to go back to drinking, but unfortunately is also reason why many decide to go back drinking because withdrawal is really hard to handle for few days.

If lucky to get through the week, then it gets easier; if not then in some severe cases, death.

Last night was my last drink, after that I take medicine to slow down withdrawals and also help me sleep, but to no gain; did not get any sleep at all (insomnia), feverish and sweating like crazy. Not to mention body nervous system are getting used to no alcohol and you get misfiring of signal and body moves on its own, even if you don't intend to and shakes.

Gout think not too bad I think, for me I get pins and needles all over my body, so like my thigh can feel like something poking even though nothing is poking, is just the nervous system makes you think, quite annoying as you get the poking sensation when you sleep.

But I think it will be much easier to handle once I pass day 4. wink.gif
judie999
post Mar 22 2023, 01:23 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(mee udang @ Mar 20 2023, 11:40 PM)
Think no gout if so, maybe cannot feel it because pain is numbed by alcohol.

Most liquor shops I go to are run by Indians, that shop is my daily port and I know the guy. But it been awhile since I go there nowadays. If you his regular, he can probably sell you RM8/can.

For me, it's already sign that I have to stop drinking completely and currently taking silymarin to heal my liver. Years of abuse already put it in bad shape and I get bruises easily at one point, I checked this is due to liver already not functioning properly, but since it's not end stage, it can still heal over few months.
I'm taking silymarin too via iherb, and also other natural anti inflammatory vege/fruit.

If you had gout, you will feel even more pain even with the numbness. Gout is the strongest form of osteoarthritis.

So today how many you drink lol?

Im taking my last 5th can now and soon gonna sleep.
SUSlurkingaround
post Mar 22 2023, 01:15 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(mee udang @ Mar 20 2023, 09:49 PM)
Yeah, I've always thought that first thing to go is liver, cirrhosis then death. But when I got to know someone who drinks a lot instantly died due to pancreatitis, it never crossed my mind.

I have been for medical checkup, they say my liver enzymes are extremely high, other than that all readings are strangely normal.

Its not very often that it happens but since drinking upsets the stomach, I end up vomiting every time I wake up, at first I thought its acid reflux, no surprise there because I have bad stomach due to bad eating habits when younger.

That's until my vomit is greenish yellow, I did not see a doctor about it, but from what I can tell its bile reflux. So yeah, hopefully, eventually I will give up drinking totally.
QUOTE(mee udang @ Mar 21 2023, 09:19 AM)
I think naturally withdrawals are there to make you not want to go back to drinking, but unfortunately is also reason why many decide to go back drinking because withdrawal is really hard to handle for few days.

If lucky to get through the week, then it gets easier; if not then in some severe cases, death.

Last night was my last drink, after that I take medicine to slow down withdrawals and also help me sleep, but to no gain; did not get any sleep at all (insomnia), feverish and sweating like crazy. Not to mention body nervous system are getting used to no alcohol and you get misfiring of signal and body moves on its own, even if you don't intend to and shakes.

Gout think not too bad I think, for me I get pins and needles all over my body, so like my thigh can feel like something poking even though nothing is poking, is just the nervous system makes you think, quite annoying as you get the poking sensation when you sleep.

But I think it will be much easier to handle once I pass day 4.  wink.gif
Try the Tapering Method to gradually wean off alcohol addiction or other addiction.

Or try prescription sleeping pills from an "understanding" GP Clinic Dr (not the weaker anti-anxiety or anti-seizure pills like clonazepam) to replace your alcohol addiction because benzodiazepines are mostly excreted through the kidneys, not liver. Thereafter, try the Tapering Method. Otherwise, last resort is to remain on sleeping-pills-addiction or hard liquor-addiction, which should be cheaper than drinking 4 cans of 18%-beer daily.

To me, substance-addicts like alcoholics, chain-smokers, coffee-drinkers, drug-addicts, etc, with damaged or altered brains, are not very different from Type 2 diabetes patients with damaged pancreas who are dependent on prescribed insulin or metfomin daily for the rest of their lives. Otherwise, they too will suffer from the horrible "withdrawal symptoms" of hyperglycaemia.

Note that excessive dosage like drunkenness and ecstasy/mania should be avoided.

P S - Afaik, alcohol is eliminated from the body at the rate of about 15mg/100mL/hour. So, you need 2 cans of beer or 1 glass of wine or 1 small cup/shot of brandy/vodka/whiskey to get alcohol's calming effects, which will then last for about 6 hours.

TSmee udang
post Mar 23 2023, 12:43 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(judie999 @ Mar 22 2023, 01:23 AM)
I'm taking silymarin too via iherb, and also other natural anti inflammatory vege/fruit.

If you had gout, you will feel even more pain even with the numbness. Gout is the strongest form of osteoarthritis.

So today how many you drink lol?

Im taking my last 5th can now and soon gonna sleep.
Stopped for 3 days with benzo to lessen withdrawal, yesterday and today continue my usual drinking, just one day of drinking already put me off into withdrawal. Not as bad but tomorrow continue with stop drinking + benzo. Benzo takes time to work but can be drowsy during daytime so, best is to start first 3 days (Friday-Sunday).

Yeah, did some reading, I don't think I have gout since I don't feel anything wrong with my big toe (not sure why it targets that part first). Have not done much reading on arthritis in general but I do know alcohol is a cause and I have stiff joints, particularly fingers.

But I do feel much better after just 3 days, probably full abstinence after this if possible. sweat.gif
karazure
post Mar 23 2023, 12:46 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(Sunwhite @ Mar 20 2023, 05:40 PM)
Kesian ts.. poor drinker ...

Me only need 1/2 day to recover from 6 bottles wine or 3 bottles gin or 6 bottles whisky ...
Kesian ts .. quit drinking since u so poor in drinking .
drink all this in 1 sitting and not get poisoned?

soli, 4get /k is tokek. my bad doh.gif
TSmee udang
post Mar 23 2023, 12:58 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Mar 22 2023, 01:15 PM)
Try the Tapering Method to gradually wean off alcohol addiction or other addiction.

Or try prescription sleeping pills from an "understanding" GP Clinic Dr (not the weaker anti-anxiety or anti-seizure pills like clonazepam) to replace your alcohol addiction because benzodiazepines are mostly excreted through the kidneys, not liver. Thereafter, try the Tapering Method. Otherwise, last resort is to remain on sleeping-pills-addiction or hard liquor-addiction, which should be cheaper than drinking 4 cans of 18%-beer daily.

To me, substance-addicts like alcoholics, chain-smokers, coffee-drinkers, drug-addicts, etc, with damaged or altered brains, are not very different from Type 2 diabetes patients with damaged pancreas who are dependent on prescribed insulin or metfomin daily for the rest of their lives. Otherwise, they too will suffer from the horrible "withdrawal symptoms" of hyperglycaemia.

Note that excessive dosage like drunkenness and ecstasy/mania should be avoided.

P S - Afaik, alcohol is eliminated from the body at the rate of about 15mg/100mL/hour. So, you need 2 cans of beer or 1 glass of wine or 1 small cup/shot of brandy/vodka/whiskey to get alcohol's calming effects, which will then last for about 6 hours.
Tapering is apply to all types of withdrawal but usually difficult because relapse can happen.

I've tried specific sleeping pills like Zolpidem, antidepressant like Mirtazapine (prescribed); none as effective as benzo. What you say about beers cost is accurate, I roughly spend about RM32+/day just to sleep on beers, but RM2/day on benzo (don't ask me where I get it), but I'm not dependent on benzo because have developed some tolerance and I don't intend to use it more than a stopgap for withdrawal symptoms.

To your PS, my tolerance is still high, so it takes a lot to get me drunk. But what is stopping me from wanting to continue is that you can literally feel your liver physically to tell you stop, you won't feel it when you continue drinking but as you stop, you can feel physical pain at your liver for sure.

This post has been edited by mee udang: Mar 23 2023, 01:00 PM
superbike
post Mar 23 2023, 01:01 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(mee udang @ Mar 23 2023, 12:43 PM)
Stopped for 3 days with benzo to lessen withdrawal, yesterday and today continue my usual drinking, just one day of drinking already put me off into withdrawal. Not as bad but tomorrow continue with stop drinking + benzo. Benzo takes time to work but can be drowsy during daytime so, best is to start first 3 days (Friday-Sunday).

Yeah, did some reading, I don't think I have gout since I don't feel anything wrong with my big toe (not sure why it targets that part first). Have not done much reading on arthritis in general but I do know alcohol is a cause and I have stiff joints, particularly fingers.

But I do feel much better after just 3 days, probably full abstinence after this if possible. sweat.gif
careful man. alcohol has kindling effect, the worst among all GABAergic drugs where the more withdrawal you goes through, the worse and severe it could get. if i were you, i would apply leave and go for medical detox.
TSmee udang
post Mar 23 2023, 01:05 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(superbike @ Mar 23 2023, 01:01 PM)
careful man. alcohol has kindling effect, the worst among all GABAergic drugs where the more withdrawal you goes through, the worse and severe it could get. if i were you, i would apply leave and go for medical detox.
Thanks. Yeah, I was informed by a doctor friend who I confide with, saying there is a kindling effect whereby withdrawals gets closer as I come out from each withdrawal and I experience it, very true.

Probably have to go into abstinence for months or years to go back to normal.
superbike
post Mar 23 2023, 01:21 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(mee udang @ Mar 23 2023, 01:05 PM)
Thanks. Yeah, I was informed by a doctor friend who I confide with, saying there is a kindling effect whereby withdrawals gets closer as I come out from each withdrawal and I experience it, very true.

Probably have to go into abstinence for months or years to go back to normal.
yeah you really need long term abstinence. if you crave that good feeling, consider other alternative like kratom perhaps???

but kratom is very addictive itself and the withdrawal is physically excruciating and painful itself but not dangerous. kratom is basically a herbal heroin lol but much more mild and safer.
Leto
post Mar 23 2023, 01:24 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(karazure @ Mar 23 2023, 12:46 PM)
drink all this in 1 sitting and not get poisoned?

soli, 4get /k is tokek. my bad doh.gif
Me only need 1/2 day to recover from 6 bottles wine AND 3 bottles gin AND 6 bottles whisky
SUSlurkingaround
post Mar 23 2023, 01:40 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(mee udang @ Mar 23 2023, 12:43 PM)

QUOTE(mee udang @ Mar 23 2023, 12:58 PM)
Tapering is apply to all types of withdrawal but usually difficult because relapse can happen.

I've tried specific sleeping pills like Zolpidem, antidepressant like Mirtazapine (prescribed); none as effective as benzo. What you say about beers cost is accurate, I roughly spend about RM32+/day just to sleep on beers, but RM2/day on benzo (don't ask me where I get it), but I'm not dependent on benzo because have developed some tolerance and I don't intend to use it more than a stopgap for withdrawal symptoms.

To your PS, my tolerance is still high, so it takes a lot to get me drunk. But what is stopping me from wanting to continue is that you can literally feel your liver physically to tell you stop, you won't feel it when you continue drinking but as you stop, you can feel physical pain at your liver for sure.
First, some background info about substance-addiction.

Afaik, psychotropic drugs are analogues or copycats/mimics/imitations of our naturally-produced brain-neurotransmitters, eg dopamine, serotonin, endorphin, melatonin, acetyl choline, adenosine, GABA, etc = natural stimulants and sedatives.
....... In nature, our brain produces more stimulant-neurotransmitters in the morning and day time, eg dopamine and acetyl choline = prepare for work to earn a living; ... and produces more sedative-neurotransmitters at night, eg GABA, serotonin, melatonin and endorphin(= painkiller) = prepare for sleep.

If a psychotropic drug has been consumed daily and excessively for about 1 month or more, eg to get high/euphoric or calm/relaxed, the brain reacts by stopping to produce or produce too little of its own neurotransmitters that had been mimicked/copied/imitated = the body's negative feedback response = the person becomes addicted or dependent on the psychotropic drug to function normally mentally, otherwise the drug addict will suffer horrible withdrawal symptoms, eg Delirium Tremens for alcoholics, anxiety, depression, insomnia, muscle spasms, paranoia, hallucination, delusion, etc. = addict's brain is damaged or altered.

Excessive levels of these artificial stimulating neurotransmitters give euphoria/high or super-coolness/calmnness, energy, confidence, fearlessness/anxiolytic, etc. Eg meth addicts can stay awake, high and energized for 3 to 5 days straight to go night-clubbing, womanizing, etc and then can sleep for 24 hours straight.

IOW, once addicted, the drug-addicts should remain on their drugs or replacement drugs but consumed in moderation, in order to stave off the horrible withdrawal symptoms which can kill, eg brain stroke from Delirium Tremens = to prolong life. It is not advisable for them to stop their drug intake or "medication". This does not discount miraculous/divine cure of drug addiction from high above.
....... Addiction is expensive and not good for health in the long term, eg cigarette tar will slowly damage the lungs, alcohol will slowly damage the liver and meth will slowly damage the brain.

Drug addicts can try the tapering method of treatment, eg half dose for 1 week, quarter dose for another week, 1/8 dose for the 3rd week and 0 dose thereafter. This is to try to rehabilitate the brain to restart producing its own natural neurotransmitters sufficiently.

Replacing heroin addiction with ketum addiction is a practical and cheap solution to this "medical" problem of drug addiction. Similarly, in USA, hospitals prescribe methadone to addicts of cocaine, heroin, methamphetamine, etc as a medical treatment or replacement.

If the Malaysian government allows the consumption of alcohol and cigarette-smoking, she should also allow the consumption of ketum and methadone as a medical treatment for drug-addicts.
....... So, drug addicts should be treated as mental patients and not as criminals. Less potent drugs should be made legal, like for cigarettes and alcohol.

Of course, it is better not to be addicted to any psychotropic drugs in the first place, eg certain religions prohibit alcohol, cigarettes, coffee/tea and drugs. In nature, humans usually do not need psychotropic drugs to live or function normally, except for medical treatment after a calamity or health incident, eg chronic pain from a minor injury or for transient insomnia due to jetlag or stress or shift-work.

_______

So, alcohol and benzo-pills are both sedatives which can replace each other wrt addiction and withdrawal.

https://www.mind.org.uk/information-support...benzodiazepines - Comparing benzodiazepines
Generally, short-acting benzodiazepines are used as sleeping pills and long-acting benzodiazepines are used for anxiety.

TSmee udang
post Mar 23 2023, 01:45 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(Leto @ Mar 23 2023, 01:24 PM)
Me only need 1/2 day to recover from 6 bottles wine AND 3 bottles gin AND 6 bottles whisky
If you drink that all by yourself and one time event, I give you clap. If shared and with drinking snacks, food dampens effects of withdrawal, try it to do it daily then you will understand my nightmare.

Maybe you young can tahan now, but once past 30, not sure if you can say same.

My advice in this thread is to pass awareness that drinking is not wrong but don't abuse it, occasionally okay, if everyday, you're in trouble when you stop, I did abuse and regret later on.
TSmee udang
post Mar 23 2023, 01:59 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Mar 23 2023, 01:40 PM)
First, some background info about substance-addiction.

Afaik, psychotropic drugs are analogues or copycats/mimics/imitations of our naturally-produced brain-neurotransmitters, eg dopamine, serotonin, endorphin, melatonin, acetyl choline, adenosine, GABA, etc = natural stimulants and sedatives.
....... In nature, our brain produces more stimulant-neurotransmitters in the morning and day time, eg dopamine and acetyl choline = prepare for work to earn a living; ... and produces more sedative-neurotransmitters at night, eg GABA, serotonin, melatonin and endorphin(= painkiller) = prepare for sleep.

If a psychotropic drug has been consumed daily and excessively for about 1 month or more, eg to get high/euphoric or calm/relaxed, the brain reacts by stopping to produce or produce too little of its own neurotransmitters that had been mimicked/copied/imitated = the body's negative feedback response = the person becomes addicted or dependent on the psychotropic drug to function normally mentally, otherwise the drug addict will suffer horrible withdrawal symptoms, eg Delirium Tremens for alcoholics, anxiety, depression, insomnia, muscle spasms, paranoia, hallucination, delusion, etc. = addict's brain is damaged or altered.

Excessive levels of these artificial stimulating neurotransmitters give euphoria/high or super-coolness/calmnness, energy, confidence, fearlessness/anxiolytic, etc. Eg meth addicts can stay awake, high and energized for 3 to 5 days straight to go night-clubbing, womanizing, etc and then can sleep for 24 hours straight.

IOW, once addicted, the drug-addicts should remain on their drugs or replacement drugs but consumed in moderation, in order to stave off the horrible withdrawal symptoms which can kill, eg brain stroke from Delirium Tremens = to prolong life. It is not advisable for them to stop their drug intake or "medication". This does not discount miraculous/divine cure of drug addiction from high above.
....... Addiction is expensive and not good for health in the long term, eg cigarette tar will slowly damage the lungs, alcohol will slowly damage the liver and meth will slowly damage the brain.

Drug addicts can try the tapering method of treatment, eg half dose for 1 week, quarter dose for another week, 1/8 dose for the 3rd week and 0 dose thereafter. This is to try to rehabilitate the brain to restart producing its own natural neurotransmitters sufficiently.

Replacing heroin addiction with ketum addiction is a practical and cheap solution to this "medical" problem of drug addiction. Similarly, in USA, hospitals prescribe methadone to addicts of cocaine, heroin, methamphetamine, etc as a medical treatment or replacement.

If the Malaysian government allows the consumption of alcohol and cigarette-smoking, she should also allow the consumption of ketum and methadone as a medical treatment for drug-addicts.
....... So, drug addicts should be treated as mental patients and not as criminals. Less potent drugs should be made legal, like for cigarettes and alcohol.

Of course, it is better not to be addicted to any psychotropic drugs in the first place, eg certain religions prohibit alcohol, cigarettes, coffee/tea and drugs. In nature, humans usually do not need psychotropic drugs to live or function normally, except for medical treatment after a calamity or health incident, eg chronic pain from a minor injury or for transient insomnia due to jetlag or stress or shift-work.

_______

So, alcohol and benzo-pills are both sedatives which can replace each other wrt addiction and withdrawal.

https://www.mind.org.uk/information-support...benzodiazepines - Comparing benzodiazepines
Generally, short-acting benzodiazepines are used as sleeping pills and long-acting benzodiazepines are used for anxiety.
Much appreciated for your information. notworthy.gif

Yeah, I'm tapering down because I know going cold turkey might kill me. Problem is that in Asia, mental health conditions are not well understood, so even if you have alcohol abuse disorder or any mental health issues, they label you as unfit for work. So most just avoid and go to work with a fake smile.

Honestly, as you say, if I was not involved in psychotropic (for me limited to alcohol only), I would have lived a better life but beer is liquid courage.

But you do have a good point, only getting point of a more healthy coping method of stress than alcohol is a challenge for many, me included. Its a struggle but trying to stop is better than nothing.

This post has been edited by mee udang: Mar 23 2023, 02:00 PM
Leto
post Mar 23 2023, 02:10 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(mee udang @ Mar 23 2023, 01:45 PM)
If you drink that all by yourself and one time event, I give you clap. If shared and with drinking snacks, food dampens effects of withdrawal, try it to do it daily then you will understand my nightmare.

Maybe you young can tahan now, but once past 30, not sure if you can say same.

My advice in this thread is to pass awareness that drinking is not wrong but don't abuse it, occasionally okay, if everyday, you're in trouble when you stop, I did abuse and regret later on.
what do you feel if u stop drinking for 1 day?
superbike
post Mar 23 2023, 02:23 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(Leto @ Mar 23 2023, 02:10 PM)
what do you feel if u stop drinking for 1 day?
not my personal experience but i have seen my alcoholic uncle and friend shakes like this when they dont havr their drink for that day.

my uncle is lifelong alcoholic and he's already in his late 60s lol. i mean i am surprised that he lived that long.

SUSlurkingaround
post Mar 23 2023, 02:26 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

Note that even though alcohol and benzo-pills help a patient fall into deep sleep by calming the mind/brain, it can also disrupt REM or Dream sleep later in the night = may need to take the "medication" again in the middle of the night. .......

https://sleephub.com.au/medications-and-sleep/ - 10 Aug 2015
"Benzodiazepines – Drugs such as diazepam (Valium) and temazepam (Temaze) are in this class. They can be used for short-term treatment of anxiety, and are also used to treat insomnia. Whilst these drugs can help with sleep, they can have negative effects on sleep patterns, reducing REM and N3 non-REM sleep, so don’t always result in people feeling better throughout the day."

https://www.webmd.com/sleep-disorders/news/...alcohol-sleep#1 - Alcohol and a Good Night's Sleep Don't Mix - 22 Jan 2013
"A new review of 27 studies shows that alcohol does not improve sleep quality. According to the findings, alcohol does allow healthy people to fall asleep quicker and sleep more deeply for a while, but it reduces rapid eye movement (REM) sleep."
TSmee udang
post Mar 23 2023, 02:36 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Mar 23 2023, 02:26 PM)
Note that even though alcohol and benzo-pills help a patient fall into deep sleep by calming the mind/brain, it can also disrupt REM or Dream sleep later in the night = may need to take the "medication" again in the middle of the night. .......

https://sleephub.com.au/medications-and-sleep/ - 10 Aug 2015
"Benzodiazepines – Drugs such as diazepam (Valium) and temazepam (Temaze) are in this class. They can be used for short-term treatment of anxiety, and are also used to treat insomnia. Whilst these drugs can help with sleep, they can have negative effects on sleep patterns, reducing REM and N3 non-REM sleep, so don’t always result in people feeling better throughout the day."

https://www.webmd.com/sleep-disorders/news/...alcohol-sleep#1 - Alcohol and a Good Night's Sleep Don't Mix - 22 Jan 2013
"A new review of 27 studies shows that alcohol does not improve sleep quality. According to the findings, alcohol does allow healthy people to fall asleep quicker and sleep more deeply for a while, but it reduces rapid eye movement (REM) sleep."
So far this did not happen to me but in between transition between alcohol withdrawal to benzo, I don't know what is correct timing but you either fall into a very deep sleep if very drunk, if only near drunk, you going to get very very weird dreams. Its very hard to explain how the dream is but normal dreams, you wake up with no memories of said dream; but if you on withdrawal, expect lucid/vivid dreams. How to explain is the dreams are so real, you are "awake" in the dream and can control anything.

Because you are in that "awake" state, you get bad sleep, and have had dreams where it feels so real it messes with your mind that what you dream is real. Fortunately I can differentiate it now, initially not so.

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0254sec    0.89    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 09:11 AM