Roadwarrior1337
post Mar 6 2023, 11:45 PM

979 posts

Look like ktm duke clone
TSbasilisk
post Mar 6 2023, 11:48 PM

30 posts

Ktm gave cfmoto the duke 790 enjin blueprint.

the rest cfmoto develop their own...
Patent
post Mar 7 2023, 11:42 AM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

cfmoto has always looked like ktm colored in blue
still looks great
lowpro
post Mar 8 2023, 09:19 AM

180 posts

I have yet to go see the 450SR. Wonder which showroom has that model. CF Moto bikes are becoming more interesting these days.
ajaibman
post Mar 8 2023, 10:15 AM

232 posts

need to ask MForce... since they like selling scooters.. unsure about the future of CFMoto in MY
jaycee1
post Mar 8 2023, 10:16 AM

AFK
2,484 posts

This looks good.

And the weight, looks like china finally learning how to make lighter bikes...
TSbasilisk
post Mar 8 2023, 09:27 PM

30 posts

test ride production unit.

Patent
post Mar 10 2023, 03:31 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Mar 8 2023, 09:27 PM)
test ride production unit.

is that touch screen panel wow ohmy.gif
TSbasilisk
post Mar 10 2023, 04:13 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Mar 10 2023, 03:31 PM)
is that touch screen panel wow  ohmy.gif
lol... here pipu tangan gatal will yank it out.. jialat..
TSbasilisk
post Mar 13 2023, 11:30 AM

30 posts

TSbasilisk
post May 1 2023, 11:40 AM

30 posts

first 'totalled' 800nk in china...

TSbasilisk
post Jun 17 2023, 09:57 PM

30 posts

currently, plenty of reviews in chinese.

analyzing 800nk performance using racelogic box.

800nk vs duke 790 in detail. (review in chinese)

This post has been edited by basilisk: Jun 17 2023, 10:11 PM
persona93
post Jun 20 2023, 08:30 AM

1,180 posts

the clx700 sport also damn nice but CHinese bike huhu

how's the reliability
ajaibman
post Jun 20 2023, 01:05 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(persona93 @ Jun 20 2023, 08:30 AM)
the clx700 sport also damn nice but CHinese bike huhu

how's the reliability
Almost Two years of ownership, 2 times claim warranty nothing major (rear axle shaft, and the other one vacuum hose) Warranty claimed under KTNS then the 2nd one under MForce.

So far so good. went as far as Phuket and back.

A bit of lazy steering due to 18-inch front wheel, but can opt for the sport version that comes more proper 17' front rim.

Plush suspension front fully adjustable fork and rear KYB. (in a sub 40k bike)

Spare part are affordable pricing, similar engine to Kawa 650, and can buy directly from Taobao for Parts.

Top Speed 210 kmph, easily keep up with other midrange naked bikes up to ulu yam/gohtong. Just don't do late braking especially when attacking apex as the single disc brake show the obvious flaw when like to brake aggressively.

Edited: Mine was CLX700 Heritage, the sport version should have better handling and braking performance.

This post has been edited by ajaibman: Jun 21 2023, 09:24 AM
persona93
post Jun 21 2023, 09:13 AM

1,180 posts

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Jun 20 2023, 01:05 PM)
Almost Two years ownership, 2 times claim warranty nothing major (rear axle shaft, and the other one vacuum hose) Warranty claimed under KTNS then the 2nd one under MForce.

So far so good. went as far as Phuket and back.

A bit lazy steering due to 18 inch front wheel, but can opt for the sport version that comes more proper 17' front rim.

Plush suspension front fully adjustable fork and rear KYB.  (in a sub 40k bike)

Spare part affordable pricing, similar engine as Kawa 650 and can buy directly from Taobao for Parts.

Top Speed 210 kmph, easily keep up with other midrange naked bikes up to ulu yam/gohtong. Just don't do late braking especially when attacking apex as the single disc brake show the obvious flaw when like to brake aggressively.
time to go sit on the Sport model again
TSbasilisk
post Jul 4 2023, 01:42 PM

30 posts

Patent
post Jul 4 2023, 02:00 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

if come to malaysia need to compete with z900 at 44k..
new clx 700 sport almost 34k
if priced at 38-40k people will always say 'better buy z900'
TSbasilisk
post Jul 4 2023, 02:04 PM

30 posts

in uk same price as hornet ler
i blif in msia will be about z900 price.. lol..
baik beli geng will be heppy...
jaycee1
post Jul 4 2023, 02:07 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Jul 4 2023, 02:04 PM)
in uk same price as hornet ler
i blif in msia will be about z900 price.. lol..
baik beli geng will be heppy...
But hornet kosong spec.

MForce probably will manage to get this here way before BSH dies the new Hondas. Tak boleh guna distributor
JustForFun
post Jul 5 2023, 12:49 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

NK800 selling price in China is very slightly cheaper than CLX-700.

Judging by that, when it reaches Malaysia it should be around the same price.
Patent
post Aug 23 2023, 10:29 AM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

Looks like 800NK will be announced at the upcoming KL bikeshow.
Soon we can know the price
TSbasilisk
post Aug 23 2023, 12:10 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Aug 23 2023, 10:29 AM)
like the 450, aft show, price always come later b4 stock mali... biggrin.gif
TSbasilisk
post Aug 24 2023, 01:38 PM

30 posts

lai baik beli !!

i think only bring in high spec ipad meter ...

when cfmoto refine this bike later, then ok la..
takes time...

This post has been edited by basilisk: Aug 24 2023, 01:41 PM
ajaibman
post Aug 24 2023, 02:29 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Aug 24 2023, 01:38 PM)
lai baik beli !!

i think only bring in high spec ipad meter ...

when cfmoto refine this bike later, then ok la..
takes time...
Then slowly will the price creep up.. same as CLX700 when launched.

This post has been edited by ajaibman: Aug 24 2023, 02:30 PM
Patent
post Aug 24 2023, 03:46 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

So the one coming in malaysia is advance version.
it has:
-8 inch tft
-quick shifter
-keyless
-ride by wire
-cruise control

I was mistaken saying 'baik beli z900' before since this is gsx-8s and ktm killer laugh.gif
Hope can test ride it someday
TSbasilisk
post Aug 24 2023, 04:07 PM

30 posts

pipu still will baik beli z900 ... cos of price...

cfmoto will take time to improve.

mode-saki price is tough to beat now n forever... mebe..
tvcat
post Aug 24 2023, 04:18 PM

Mr. Dumb Dumb
2,884 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Aug 23 2023, 10:29 AM)
Never went to kl bike show. Worth the RM20 ticket?
Patent
post Aug 24 2023, 04:19 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(tvcat @ Aug 24 2023, 04:18 PM)
Never went to kl bike show. Worth the RM20 ticket?
no idea I also never go
but maybe not bad la if you like motorcycles and want cuci mata
tvcat
post Aug 24 2023, 04:20 PM

Mr. Dumb Dumb
2,884 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Aug 24 2023, 04:19 PM)
no idea I also never go
but maybe not bad la if you like motorcycles and want cuci mata
I see, maybe will go if got free time haha.
Nightstalker1993
post Aug 24 2023, 10:30 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

Walao 8" dash damn crazy. Tengok YouTube ke laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Nightstalker1993: Aug 24 2023, 10:31 PM
Patent
post Aug 24 2023, 10:41 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Aug 24 2023, 10:30 PM)
Walao 8" dash damn crazy. Tengok YouTube ke laugh.gif
Hope it can integrate maps from our phone to display on the tft, that would be really good feature.. no more phone holder eyesore
jaycee1
post Aug 25 2023, 04:29 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Aug 24 2023, 10:41 PM)
Hope it can integrate maps from our phone to display on the tft, that would be really good feature.. no more phone holder eyesore
Yes it can. Via apple car play or secondary app for android. No android auto though.

Sat on the bike today at KLBS today. Very impressive. A budget cut price duke 790 with full options. Speed shifter, cruise control etc..... Low seat height...riding ergo not too aggressive, quite upright.... But seat really tak boleh guna lah... Damn hard. Rear pillion seat completely useless....

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Aug 25 2023, 04:31 PM
Vincent6596
post Aug 25 2023, 04:50 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Aug 25 2023, 04:29 PM)
Yes it can. Via apple car play or secondary app for android. No android auto though.
Sat on the bike today at KLBS today. Very impressive. A budget cut price duke 790 with full options. Speed shifter, cruise control etc..... Low seat height...riding ergo not too aggressive, quite upright.... But seat really tak boleh guna lah... Damn hard. Rear pillion seat completely useless....
i hope that i can go KLBS also.
what is the entrance ticket price ?
the event is until when ? this coming sunday ?

This post has been edited by Vincent6596: Aug 25 2023, 04:50 PM
jaycee1
post Aug 25 2023, 05:27 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(Vincent6596 @ Aug 25 2023, 04:50 PM)
i hope that i can go KLBS also.
what is the entrance ticket price ?
the event is until when ? this coming sunday ?
31 including tax. Actually it's not really worth the time and money unless you have a good reason to go there.
Vincent6596
post Aug 25 2023, 07:17 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Aug 25 2023, 05:27 PM)
31 including tax. Actually it's not really worth the time and money unless you have a good reason to go there.
does the event got any test ride section for any bike ?
if didn't have any test ride section then no need go liao, since i am stay at penang
ajaibman
post Aug 25 2023, 09:39 PM

232 posts

The service schedule is similar to KTM 790

The KTM 790 Duke has 9300 mile / 15000 km or annual service intervals. At every service, change the oil and filter, and do a host of checks. KTM recommends you check and adjust the valve clearances of the 790 engine every 18600 miles or 30000 km. At the same time, change the spark plugs.

This was confirmed by the MT800 owners

Link here
TSbasilisk
post Aug 29 2023, 11:50 AM

30 posts

450nk global launch.. at ph

Voopoo
post Aug 29 2023, 11:53 AM

69 posts

ngl, one of the good looking bike out there, am tempted.
zarakiken
post Sep 5 2023, 04:23 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Aug 29 2023, 11:50 AM)
450nk global launch.. at ph

Same engines as 450 SR... hmmm... macam best...
TSbasilisk
post Oct 1 2023, 12:20 PM

30 posts

dare to go test?

bike not reg, so round kedai oni...

Patent
post Oct 1 2023, 12:40 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

I want long test ride...
Patent
post Oct 12 2023, 03:44 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

So I went to cfmoto flagship store in setapak today and asked about 800NK availability and test ride event.
Salesman said next month after malaysia motoGP, 12th nov.

Dont even have display unit at the shop sadly.. but I guess 1 month isnt that long
Patent
post Oct 31 2023, 03:40 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

jaycee1
post Nov 1 2023, 05:42 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Oct 31 2023, 03:40 PM)

Went there this morning. What a joke. All the bikes not arrive yet. Wasted a morning.

Hahahaha.

Events like these supposed to build confidence in china bikes. But fuck up big time. GS cycle guys also sembang there. No people skill at all.

At least engage the potential buyer lah. Take down contact, make alternate arrangement when bike comes in. Or just talk about the bikes and attend to what questions the buyer have. Nothing. Asked when the NK800 coming in also don't know. Just sit there play phone.

I'm seriously thinking of getting the nk800...but if this is how things are run, better just get the z900.....and certainly not from GS cycle.

At least the buyer experience is better at Kawa@shah l
Alam. I just drop by, straight got SA come greet me, then ask which bikes I want to test ride. All set up ready to go.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Nov 1 2023, 05:50 PM
Voopoo
post Nov 1 2023, 05:52 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Nov 1 2023, 05:42 PM)

Alam. I just drop by, straight got SA come greet me, then ask which bikes I want to test ride. All set up ready to go.
Kawa@shah can test ride anytime? or gotta wait for them to announce test ride event. are they only a showroom or can do servicing there also after purchasing from them
Patent
post Nov 1 2023, 05:58 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Nov 1 2023, 05:42 PM)
Went there this morning. What a joke. All the bikes not arrive yet. Wasted a morning.

Hahahaha.

Events like these supposed to build confidence in china bikes. But fuck up big time. GS cycle guys also sembang there. No people skill at all.

At least engage the potential buyer lah. Take down contact, make alternate arrangement when bike comes in. Or just talk about the bikes and attend to what questions the buyer have. Nothing. Asked when the NK800 coming in also don't know. Just sit there play phone.

I'm seriously thinking of getting the nk800...but if this is how things are run, better just get the z900.....and certainly not from GS cycle.

oh damn.. I was planning to visit gs cycle to see the 800NK
google reviews have been saying some terrible service but since you said the same also.. I think I'll just wait another store to do it sweat.gif
jaycee1
post Nov 1 2023, 06:15 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(Voopoo @ Nov 1 2023, 05:52 PM)
Kawa@shah can test ride anytime? or gotta wait for them to announce test ride event. are they only a showroom or can do servicing there also after purchasing from them
Yes any time if the test bikes are available. They might be sent out for events. I went there twice. Once for the z900 and once for the versys 650.

I think they will offer a test ride if the SA thinks you are serious enough and capable of handling a big bike. I didn't have to ask.

They are full service.
jaycee1
post Nov 1 2023, 06:16 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Nov 1 2023, 05:58 PM)
oh damn.. I was planning to visit gs cycle to see the 800NK
google reviews have been saying some terrible service but since you said the same also.. I think I'll just wait another store to do it  sweat.gif
Seems the Setapak branch gave me better CS.

See lah, test the bike, then buy from Tenaga or Eang Chun.

But the test route is just around the shop lots. So unless you really serious to test the bike..don't waste your time.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Nov 1 2023, 06:19 PM
TSbasilisk
post Nov 3 2023, 02:12 PM

30 posts

ipoh got 800nk....

Voopoo
post Nov 3 2023, 03:16 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Nov 3 2023, 02:12 PM)
ipoh got 800nk....

let's all ride ride TT at ipoh then test ride cfmoto biggrin.gif
jaycee1
post Nov 3 2023, 06:19 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

Went back to test the NK800 again. The test bike available is the basic model. We will only get the advance model here. But otherwise same bike. Test route was short, filled with speedbumps. Cant do a longer route so can't test higher speed vibration or handling. So thought on it will be limited.

Power : very very sharp punchy mid range. Tried on sport a rain mode (didnt try on street mode). In sport mode, power comes on strong from 5k up. The engine is very light and rev happy. Basically if you have ridden the duke790, it is similar. Hit 80 on a short stretch between speedbumps before realizing the meter was set to mph. To be honest, the power delivery is more than enough for street use...or outright scary in sport mode if you are not used to it. Exhaust sounds damn shiok. Good bark with pops on decel. How they got this exhaust to pass euro5 is beyond me. You won't need an aftermarket end can for this.

Seating and ergo
On paper it lists seat hight at 795mm but in reality it feels more. Possible 820mm. Riding ergos are fairly comfortable as you sit fairly upright and the rear sets are below your butt, and not in a too sporty position. Feels more spacious than the z900. The nk800s riding position is between the duke790 and the 790 adventure. Which means you can still stand up on the pegs. The seat felt a bit hard. Maybe questionable comfort if used for.long distance. Pillion seat is very very hard. The clutch is a bit heavier than expected...not sure if it has a slip and assist clutch.

Handling. Low speed is a a bit ponderous but balanced. No opportunity to test at higher speeds.

General fit and finish. The plastics felt cheap. One wing mirror is broken maybe, cant adjust it low enough, only see sky. Under seat storage is zero.

Didnt try cruise control. Didn't get up to speed.
No quick shifter installed on base model, but the shifting feel is light and positive. Able to do clutchless up down without too much issues even without the Q/S.

Brakes. Strong, but could use a bit more sharpness. Rear brakes are surprisingly good.

My main issues.
Bike does not have traction control. Especially on a throttle this sharp and power delivery this immediate. This is one bike you will probably need to use rain mode when it rains.

Bike has a high mounted exhaust. So pannier fitments will be an issue. Very limited aftermarket availability of accessories yet.

Verdict.
You won't find this power and gadgets for 39k. All accessories come standard. (Q/S, steering damper, big ipad screen with phone integration/cruise control)

Waiting for another test ride with open highways to test cruising speed vibrations before deciding...but like I said, it's either this or the z900.

In comparison, the z900 has a more linear powerband, sportier ergo. and longer legs for those that want to speed 200+ on the highways. Plus, it has all the accessories already available in the market.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Nov 3 2023, 06:20 PM
jaycee1
post Nov 3 2023, 06:30 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

Also did a test ride on the Papio XO1. Very cute bike. I got more stares on it than I did on the nk800.

Ergos are aggressive, feels like a low handlebar cafe racer...or even a replica racer looking through the front windshield. Very nimble..maybe too much, not used to small 12" wheels. Brakes are very good. Not much can be said about the power... It's more show than go. If they put on 14" scooter wheels maybe a winner.
jaycee1
post Nov 3 2023, 06:38 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Nov 3 2023, 02:12 PM)
ipoh got 800nk....

Jom. I will be in Ipoh that weekend. Riding back 18th Saturday morning. Feel free to join. Leaving KL 6.30am. solo.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Nov 3 2023, 06:39 PM
Patent
post Nov 3 2023, 07:02 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Nov 3 2023, 06:19 PM)
Went back to test the NK800 again. The test bike available is the basic model. We will only get the advance model here. But otherwise same bike. Test route was short, filled with speedbumps. Cant do a longer route so can't test higher speed vibration or handling. So thought on it will be limited.

Power : very very sharp punchy mid range. Tried on sport a rain mode (didnt try on street mode). In sport mode, power comes on strong from 5k up. The engine is very light and rev happy. Basically if you have ridden the duke790, it is similar. Hit 80 on a short stretch between speedbumps before realizing the meter was set to mph. To be honest, the power delivery is more than enough for street use...or outright scary in sport mode if you are not used to it. Exhaust sounds damn shiok. Good bark with pops on decel. How they got this exhaust to pass euro5 is beyond me. You won't need an aftermarket end can for this.

Seating and ergo
On paper it lists seat hight at 795mm but in reality it feels more. Possible 820mm. Riding ergos are fairly comfortable as you sit fairly upright and the rear sets are below your butt, and not in a too sporty position. Feels more spacious than the z900. The nk800s riding position is between the duke790 and the 790 adventure. Which means you can still stand up on the pegs. The seat felt a bit hard. Maybe questionable comfort if used for.long distance. Pillion seat is very very hard.  The clutch is a bit heavier than expected...not sure if it has a slip and assist clutch.

Handling. Low speed is a a bit ponderous but balanced. No opportunity to test at higher speeds.

General fit and finish. The plastics felt cheap. One wing mirror is broken maybe, cant adjust it low enough, only see sky. Under seat storage is zero.

No quick shifter installed on base model, but the shifting feel is light and positive. Able to do clutchless up down without too much issues even without the Q/S.

Brakes. Strong, but could use a bit more sharpness. Rear brakes are surprisingly good.

My main issues.
Bike does not have traction control. Especially on a throttle this sharp and power delivery this immediate. This is one bike you will probably need to use rain mode when it rains.

Bike has a high mounted exhaust. So pannier fitments will be an issue. Very limited aftermarket availability of accessories yet.

Verdict.
You won't find this power and gadgets for 39k. All accessories come standard. (Q/S, steering damper, big ipad screen with phone integration/cruise control)

Waiting for another test ride with open highways to test cruising speed vibrations before deciding...but like I said, it's either this or the z900.

In comparison, the z900 has a more linear powerband, sportier ergo. and longer legs for those that want to speed 200+ on the highways. Plus, it has all the accessories already available in the market.

im surprised they have basic model for the test ride considering we only get the advanced model

i have high hopes for this bike since the 800mt got a lot of praises laugh.gif
really like the aesthetics of the bike

jaycee1
post Nov 3 2023, 08:16 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Nov 3 2023, 07:02 PM)
im surprised they have basic model for the test ride considering we only get the advanced model

i have high hopes for this bike since the 800mt got a lot of praises  laugh.gif
really like the aesthetics of the bike
I think MForce brought both bikes for test evaluation, and then figured out a pricing problem. So now the basic model become test ride bike lor. It's not even a registered bike, hence the trade plates.

If they launched the basic model, all their 700s and 650s tak laku already....since all of them are priced so similarly. And they can't make enough headroom to price the advanced model higher because of the z900 and other bikes in the 45k-50 range from the japanese.

Having ridden the 650 and 700s, this 800 is a whole different beast

But knowing MForce, sure after a few months price go up. Can expect an average 2-3k increase after the first few months. Happened to the 650GT/MT and the 700CLX. Oddly enough the 800MT price didn't change.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Nov 3 2023, 08:17 PM
LuqmanRustam
post Nov 9 2023, 11:33 AM

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Nov 3 2023, 06:19 PM)

Seating and ergo
On paper it lists seat hight at 795mm but in reality it feels more. Possible 820mm. Riding ergos are fairly comfortable as you sit fairly upright and the rear sets are below your butt, and not in a too sporty position. Feels more spacious than the z900. The nk800s riding position is between the duke790 and the 790 adventure. Which means you can still stand up on the pegs. The seat felt a bit hard. Maybe questionable comfort if used for.long distance. Pillion seat is very very hard.  The clutch is a bit heavier than expected...not sure if it has a slip and assist clutch.

My main issues.

Verdict.

I'm honestly torn between the Z900 and 800NK. I've been riding my Z250 for awhile. In terms of looks, the 800NK looks much better than the Z900. But the screaming inline 4 sound is very tempting. Which would you get out of the two? p/s: Hoping for B2 to B to be finalized as confirmed coming December. If not will have to take the B full course

TSbasilisk
post Nov 9 2023, 12:48 PM

30 posts

jaycee1
post Nov 9 2023, 01:32 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(LuqmanRustam @ Nov 9 2023, 11:33 AM)
I'm honestly torn between the Z900 and 800NK. I've been riding my Z250 for awhile. In terms of looks, the 800NK looks much better than the Z900. But the screaming inline 4 sound is very tempting. Which would you get out of the two? p/s: Hoping for B2 to B to be finalized as confirmed coming December. If not will have to take the B full course
It's currently up in the air for me as well. It's either the z900 or the nk800.

I like the power delivery of the NK...it's a very fun and punchy bike. But the z900 seems the easier (and maybe) safer and more relaxing to ride, having a more linear power delivery and traction control. As for longer term reliability, I'm leaning towards the Z as there are many proven older bikes and the wealth of accessories for it already in the market. KTM hasn't been well known for reliability.....they make engines for a good time, not for a long time..... as is the big question mark of MForce long term support on the bike.

The nk however has a more relaxed riding position than the z.

As for value , nothing comes close to the NK800. Given the inclusion of cruise control, quick shifter, steering damper and that big connected ipad screen...really curious why they saw fit to exclude traction control...which is it's only Achilles heel.

Having ridden both recently, I still can't decide between the two maybe give it a few months cooling off period then decide again next year after the NK has had some time to sort out it's production run.
TSbasilisk
post Nov 21 2023, 10:11 AM

30 posts

TSbasilisk
post Nov 25 2023, 11:54 AM

30 posts

Patent
post Nov 25 2023, 02:44 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Nov 21 2023, 10:11 AM)
I went to this store earlier today for the test ride.
Tested 800NK and Papio, along with a brixton 1200 cromwell

800NK for test ride is china basic spec. so it has normal handlebar, no quickshifter, normal tft, etc.
-test ride at the road behind the shop but it is spacious enough for you to do u-turn, 8 circle maneuver
-no highway test since bike not registered
-really fun bike, I think I understand now why some people like ktm
-ergonomics is comfortable, not sporty, its a true naked. seat height is 820mm, if you look at internet it will say 795mm but it sure feels like 820-830mm.. similar feeling with my suzuki 750
-handling is good, easily flickable on the road
-switchgear feels nice and tactile, no feel of china made bike at all. same with fit and finish.
-this bike has one push start like suzuki
-suspension is decent, went through speed bumps and you dont feel like your bums getting slapped
-expected from a ktm engine, torque is in your hands.. just pull the throttle
-no noticeable vibration at 5-6k rpm
-stock exhaust sounds great, parallel twin with 285 degree crank shaft sounds amazing. you dont really need to change the muffler but of course you can.. whistling.gif

some cons that I can think of is since this bike is really really new so finding accessories like radiator guard, frame slider might take time.
another one is the brake, front brake really takes a while to bite. I'd like for it stop more quickly
really contemplating to trade in my bike for this, i might be a 2 cylinder head rclxub.gif

salesman said that this bike price will increase in 2024 to become 40k+..

as for Papio:
-125cc mini-sport bike
-im surprised by the quality of it, despite its small appearance everything feels good. throttle, clutch, gearbox dont feel clunky at all
-i can see this bike used as a sportbike training like body positioning

This post has been edited by Patent: Nov 25 2023, 03:55 PM
TSbasilisk
post Nov 25 2023, 03:22 PM

30 posts

1200 cromwell din test?
Patent
post Nov 25 2023, 03:52 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Nov 25 2023, 03:22 PM)
1200 cromwell din test?
i did test it.. but felt underwhelming compared to triumph since this is supposed to compete with the bonneville t120
you can say its a bonneville on a budget.
it does feel heavier and harder to maneuver compared to bonneville but on its own, cromwell is an okay-ish bike
the engine vibration is like harley davidson, start it and handlebar gonna shake left and right
TSbasilisk
post Dec 4 2023, 09:05 PM

30 posts

mADmAN
post Dec 5 2023, 12:11 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Dec 4 2023, 09:05 PM)
oooohhh...might go for the 2 in the middle to try out the 800mt... love the fact that theyre having it on weekdays
Vincent6596
post Dec 5 2023, 02:15 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Dec 4 2023, 09:05 PM)
on 8th of dec will go sungai dua to test ride 800NK and 800MT as well
TSbasilisk
post Dec 5 2023, 02:22 PM

30 posts

good good!
remember to post report here. tq.
Vincent6596
post Dec 5 2023, 03:14 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Dec 5 2023, 02:22 PM)
good good!
remember to post report here. tq.
just got reply from the shop show as below
very sad to day that 800NK and 800MT is not available for test ride event

but on that day i will go there also to try my luck there to see can get to test ride on both bike or not tongue.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Vincent6596: Dec 5 2023, 03:16 PM

TSbasilisk
post Dec 5 2023, 07:20 PM

30 posts

800nk i think oni one test ride demo bike ler...
Patent
post Dec 5 2023, 07:21 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Dec 5 2023, 07:20 PM)
haha i think the same too.. one bike bring over to each shop for testing
Vincent6596
post Dec 6 2023, 09:10 AM

472 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Dec 5 2023, 07:20 PM)
not to say 800nk is not available, after asking with the shop staff said that 800MT also not available also cry.gif cry.gif
jaycee1
post Dec 6 2023, 09:49 AM

AFK
2,484 posts

...yeah..there is only 1 NK800 test bike. And that one isn't even the model we are getting ....

Seems a lot of people complaining about the connected app on play store. Navigation seems not to work very well...that's a huge issue if can't use navigation on that big screen. Also no Waze or Google maps integration (maybe due to Chinese ban on Google services). Pity
Patent
post Dec 6 2023, 12:31 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Dec 6 2023, 09:49 AM)
...yeah..there is only 1 NK800 test bike. And that one isn't even the model we are getting ....

Seems a lot of people complaining about the connected app on play store. Navigation seems not to work very well...that's a huge issue if can't use navigation on that big screen. Also no Waze or Google maps integration (maybe due to Chinese ban on Google services). Pity
where do you see this? I look at their official fb group and look kinda dead sweat.gif
thats awful if navigation doesnt work since theres no place to put phone holder also
jaycee1
post Dec 6 2023, 01:28 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Dec 6 2023, 12:31 PM)
where do you see this? I look at their official fb group and look kinda dead  sweat.gif
thats awful if navigation doesnt work since theres no place to put phone holder also
I went up to Google play store to check out the App comments.

Apparently the App has difficulty in staying connected to the dash. I think it might be due to the phones power management that disconnects it when the phone screen goes off and despite people setting it to always run in background, it still disconnects. Also there is no support for Waze and Google maps...just native nav app from cfmoto app...which is probably rubbish. Otherwise all other features seem to get a thumbs up for users. The commenters didnt specifically mention the nk800 though. But maybe for other CFmoto bikes with connected feature like the 800MT.

Apparently the new 1250TR doesn't get Waze and Google maps either... Well because China.
jaycee1
post Jan 23 2024, 11:17 AM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Nov 25 2023, 02:44 PM)

salesman said that this bike price will increase in 2024 to become 40k+
Just to update. There is a 3k rebate on the 800nk for CNY (GS cycle, apparently Ee tiong also giving 2k rebate). So much for MForce thinking of increasing the price. I think tough given that the Suzuki 8s with the 10k rebate until end of this month will also get u a bike for 42k OTR.

In comparison, the 8s feels like a better built bike. Equally strong midrange but the 800nk tends to continue to pull harder to redline. The 8s power levels off after 8k. 800k riding potion is more upright with taller handlebar and lower seat.

There is a bit more vibration on the 8S though.

Both bikes share the same problem. Lack of accessories, but it seems you going to be able to find accessories for the CFMoto sooner than the 8S...because, well... China.

Curiously, a usb charger is not included on the 800nk. Dealer say need to buy ownself (about 90 from shopee, 450SR use same charger)...but installation is plug and play... Not sure if it's a mistake on the dealer. On the production bike, wiring is there but covered with a blanking plate. So far no 800nk owners can confirm if Thier bike comes with a USB charger.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Jan 23 2024, 11:21 AM
Patent
post Jan 23 2024, 03:19 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jan 23 2024, 11:17 AM)
Just to update. There is a 3k rebate on the 800nk for CNY (GS cycle, apparently Ee tiong also giving 2k rebate). So much for MForce thinking of increasing the price. I think tough given that the Suzuki 8s with the 10k rebate until end of this month will also get u a bike for 42k OTR.

In comparison, the 8s feels like a better built bike. Equally strong midrange but the 800nk tends to continue to pull harder to redline. The 8s power levels off after 8k. 800k riding potion is more upright with taller handlebar and lower seat.

Both bikes share the same problem. Lack of accessories, but it seems you going to be able to find accessories for the CFMoto sooner than the 8S...because, well... China.

Curiously, a usb charger is not included on the 800nk. Dealer say need to buy ownself (about 90 from shopee, 450SR use same charger)...but installation is plug and play... Not sure if it's a mistake on the dealer. On the production bike, wiring is there but covered with a blanking plate. So far no 800nk owners can confirm if Thier bike comes with a USB charger.
just type '800nk' at shopee search bar can already give you the necessary stuff like radiator guard, frame slider, tank pad, usb socket

I think thats good enough hmm.gif
jaycee1
post Jan 23 2024, 04:38 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Jan 23 2024, 03:19 PM)
just type '800nk' at shopee search bar can already give you the necessary stuff like radiator guard, frame slider, tank pad, usb socket

I think thats good enough hmm.gif
Just no panniers, racks and windshield.

Replacement parts also not yet out. Bike still new.
JustForFun
post Jan 23 2024, 09:39 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jan 23 2024, 04:38 PM)
Just no panniers, racks and windshield.

Replacement parts also not yet out. Bike still new.
Actually, as with all Chinese bikes there are plenty of accessories on Aliexpress/Taobao if you can navigate them.
jaycee1
post Jan 23 2024, 11:30 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Jan 23 2024, 09:39 PM)
Actually, as with all Chinese bikes there are plenty of accessories on Aliexpress/Taobao if you can navigate them.
Not even there yet. Only 1 very horrible rack at AliExpress. Nothing really at taobao either.

Smaller accessories are available though. Perhaps the bike is still too new.

However if you do find any pannier racks and windshields for the 800NK, do let me know. Thanks.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Jan 23 2024, 11:34 PM
JustForFun
post Jan 24 2024, 12:34 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jan 23 2024, 11:30 PM)
Not even there yet. Only 1 very horrible rack at AliExpress. Nothing really at taobao either.

Smaller accessories are available though. Perhaps the bike is still too new.

However if you do find any pannier racks and windshields for the 800NK, do let me know. Thanks.
I saw quite a few already, actually:

The trick is to use the Taobao app on mobile, and use local forwarder and set your address to that forwarder instead, because a lot of items will be hidden if you set a foreign address/view on desktop.
jaycee1
post Jan 24 2024, 02:26 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Jan 24 2024, 12:34 PM)
I saw quite a few already, actually:

The trick is to use the Taobao app on mobile, and use local forwarder and set your address to that forwarder instead, because a lot of items will be hidden if you set a foreign address/view on desktop.
Cool thanks. That certainly helps.

Unfortunately that windshield won't for for our advanced model since it uses different handlebars. I'm sure the correct ones will come along in time.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Jan 24 2024, 02:28 PM
JustForFun
post Jan 24 2024, 02:45 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jan 24 2024, 02:26 PM)
Cool thanks. That certainly helps.

Unfortunately that windshield won't for for our advanced model since it uses different handlebars. I'm sure the correct ones will come along in time.
I see. Btw, ditching your Dominar already biggrin.gif ?

Sounds like you are looking for a reliable workhorse, you sure CFMOTO can cut it?
jaycee1
post Jan 24 2024, 04:31 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Jan 24 2024, 02:45 PM)
I see. Btw, ditching your Dominar already biggrin.gif ?

Sounds like you are looking for a reliable workhorse, you sure CFMOTO can cut it?
That's always the worry. KTM is in for a good time not a long time. Coupled with MForce, it's sure going to be an even bigger issue.

Keeping the dominar though. Which is an Indian built KTM. Been reliable past 65k km...no issues other than wear and tear items. Perhaps lucky, or these bikes are meant to be used hard. . Hope twice the charm.

Still entertaining the idea of the CF 650GT. Cheap...tried and tested platform. Comfy, low seat height, panniers and windshield...albeit slow and boring.

Can't have everything......

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Jan 24 2024, 04:33 PM
Patent
post Jan 24 2024, 04:36 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jan 24 2024, 04:31 PM)
That's always the worry. KTM is in for a good time not a long time. Coupled with MForce, it's sure going to be an even bigger issue.

Keeping the dominar though. Which is an Indian built KTM. Been reliable past 65k km...no issues other than wear and tear items. Perhaps lucky, or these bikes are meant to be used hard. . Hope twice the charm.

Still entertaining the idea of the CF 650GT. Cheap...tried and tested platform. Comfy, low seat height, panniers and windshield...albeit slow and boring.

tambah sikit find second hand mt09 laugh.gif
jaycee1
post Jan 24 2024, 04:39 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Jan 24 2024, 04:36 PM)
tambah sikit find second hand mt09 laugh.gif
Why buy a used mt09 when you can buy a new Suzuki 8S? Hehe.
Patent
post Jan 24 2024, 04:41 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jan 24 2024, 04:39 PM)
easier to find accessories, 8s also still new like 800nk
JustForFun
post Jan 24 2024, 04:42 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jan 24 2024, 04:31 PM)

There's a 13 years scrapping policy for motorcycle in China though, so there's always a running joke that their bikes aren't built to last.
lsm1991
post Jan 26 2024, 12:53 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jan 24 2024, 04:39 PM)
cp3.... cp3 is kelakar... tho i hear the 8s is also a really good bike
minmin
post Jan 26 2024, 02:46 PM

203 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Dec 6 2023, 01:28 PM)
I went up to Google play store to check out the App comments.

Apparently the App has difficulty in staying connected to the dash. I think it might be due to the phones power management that disconnects it when the phone screen goes off and despite people setting it to always run in background, it still disconnects. Also there is no support for Waze and Google maps...just native nav app from cfmoto app...which is probably rubbish. Otherwise all other features seem to get a thumbs up for users. The commenters didnt specifically mention the nk800 though. But maybe for other CFmoto bikes with connected feature like the 800MT.

Apparently the new 1250TR doesn't get Waze and Google maps either... Well because China.
i am 800nk owner, if you uses an iphone, good because u get full fledged apple car play...if u want to use the other cfmoto map, usable, just need to turn on your hotspot to give wifi to the bike (bluetooth can not).

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jan 23 2024, 11:17 AM)

original bike no usb, likely because of pricing and not every one need the usb, can buy one RM90 plug and play...accessories there are alot, so far i can find all the things i want on taobao. rear fork lift, higher seat stuff...all parts are noticeably cheaper too. (maybe only the windscreen i havent seen a good one yet)
jaycee1
post Jan 26 2024, 07:06 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(minmin @ Jan 26 2024, 02:46 PM)
i am 800nk owner, if you uses an iphone, good because u get full fledged apple car play...if u want to use the other cfmoto map, usable, just need to turn on your hotspot to give wifi to the bike (bluetooth can not).
original bike no usb, likely because of pricing and not every one need the usb, can buy one RM90 plug and play...accessories there are alot, so far i can find all the things i want on taobao. rear fork lift, higher seat stuff...all parts are noticeably cheaper too. (maybe only the windscreen i havent seen a good one yet)
Thanks for the feedback.

Yes, still lacking a nice looking windshield. So far only found a slightly taller fly screen and a generic fit one that mounts on the rear mirror mounting points.

...and only one very ghetto looking rear rack ...
TSbasilisk
post Feb 8 2024, 10:04 AM

30 posts

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=109114294

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=109120169

This post has been edited by basilisk: Feb 8 2024, 01:54 PM
TSbasilisk
post Feb 8 2024, 11:07 AM

30 posts

Patent
post Feb 8 2024, 11:55 AM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Feb 8 2024, 11:07 AM)
that windshield and top box rack looks ugly.. sweat.gif
TSbasilisk
post Feb 8 2024, 12:04 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Feb 8 2024, 11:55 AM)
that windshield and top box rack looks ugly..  sweat.gif
have yet to see any mainland china riders putting on windshield..

these i think are custom made frm taiwan...
jaycee1
post Feb 8 2024, 07:07 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Feb 8 2024, 11:55 AM)
that windshield and top box rack looks ugly..  sweat.gif
Yes, they are horrid looking.

My taobao 800nk fly screen should arrive soon. Will put some pictures up when done. I'm actually after the bracket only, something I will use to mod a bigger windshield on.

As for racks, I opened up the tail/mudguard section, and it looks like I will have to hack plastics to get to mounting points. Fortunately these parts are not too expensive.

Made some of these loops for additional strap down points for my waterproof duffle bag in the meantime.

These will be mounted in 3 spots. Tail, and seat bolts (x2). You will need slightly longer bolts (+5mm), to account for the grommet thickness and washers.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Feb 8 2024, 08:35 PM
TSbasilisk
post Feb 12 2024, 11:55 PM

30 posts

https://www.motorcycle.com/bikes/manufactur...review-44598145

jaycee1
post Feb 14 2024, 06:08 AM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Feb 12 2024, 11:55 PM)
I think point to note, the 800 advance model we get here makes more power than the basic model they tested. I think it brings our advance model closer to the Duke.

Cant confirm anything until someone takes an NK advance for a Dyno test. But that review does sum up most of my thoughts on the bike. And yes, the suspension is a bit choppy on rougher roads, planning to dial down preload as I am a bit lighter than the average rider.
TSbasilisk
post Feb 14 2024, 10:17 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Feb 14 2024, 06:08 AM)
I think point to note, the 800 advance model we get here makes more power than the basic model they tested. I think it brings our advance model closer to the Duke.

Cant confirm anything until someone takes an NK advance for a Dyno test. But that review does sum up most of my thoughts on the bike. And yes, the suspension is a bit choppy on rougher roads, planning to dial down preload as I am a bit lighter than the average rider.
The chinese never mentioned got power difference btween the versions.
This is dyno done by china reviewers, if convert the ps of 800nk to hp, is almost the same as motorcycle.com dyno.
Only thing is , dont know which version of duke 790 did the chinese/us dyno, old or new??

This post has been edited by basilisk: Feb 14 2024, 10:19 AM
TSbasilisk
post Feb 14 2024, 10:27 AM

30 posts

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=109120169

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=109129024

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=109131887

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=109133829

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=109144563

TSbasilisk
post Feb 16 2024, 10:37 PM

30 posts

Patent
post Feb 16 2024, 11:46 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Feb 16 2024, 10:37 PM)

single swing arm variant or mod to fit other bike swing arm?
TSbasilisk
post Feb 17 2024, 05:17 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Feb 16 2024, 11:46 PM)
single swing arm variant or mod to fit other bike swing arm?
mod ah..

use superduke ponya

jaycee1
post Feb 19 2024, 04:01 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

Bike review : CFMOTO 800NK. Currently mileage 1400km. Owned for 1 week.

Reason I have chosen the bike.

1) Excellent price to performance
2) Tech
3) "Fully loaded" Bike (Cruise, damper, connectivity, quick shifter)
4) exhaust note
5) Fun engine
6) Looks. yes, it does look damn good, any case better than the KTM sibling which it shares the engine and front half of the frame..

Good
Powertrain

To me the KTM 799 middle weight twin engine may be one of the best out there now. The torque response is very linear and pulls strongly from 4000 rpm with an additional kick at about 6500rpm and continues to pull strong to redline (9500rpm) . Top speed is around 220km/h and it takes very little effort to get there. Cruising rpm at 130 is around 5000rpm@6th. But as the motor spins up really fast, sometimes I have caught myself looking for the missing 7th gear. The gear shift action is short and precise. The standard quick shifter (when working) is fast, able to bang upshifts and downshifts smoothly and quickly with the exhaust giving you a nice "brraaap" on the upshift. You will still need some clutch action to smoothen out 3-2-1 downshifts. Sometimes, the engine management gets confused and blip the throttle too much on the downshifts at the lower gears leading to some surging. I'm getting about 200-250km cruising range from around 12L of fuel, which isnt too bad. Whack it all the time, and I've emptied the tank in 100. The tank holds 15L but light comes on with about 5L remaining (this doesn't sound right)

The exhaust note is fine fine fine. This is one bike you wont be tempted to get an aftermarket rear can off the bat. Nice burble and pop on the overrun. Nice fart on the upshift. Gotten many good comments from other bikers. Many not suspecting it is a stock can.

Handling and brakes
Handling is relatively nimble and sure footed. Bike is eager to turn. You can slide from the seat side to side fairly easily, basically supporting your weight on the pegs. Grip levels are generally hampered by the budget Maxxis Supermaxx ST single compound tyres. While dry grip levels are good, it doesnt communicate very well, so it saps a bit of confidence on lean. Plus with no T/C on the bike and a punchy throttle, one needs some extra caution getting on the power coming off a lean. Had some minor tail slide that was easily caught during my shakedown runs. Granted, I was also scrubbing in the new tyres. Will test these out again when the bike is repaired.
The bike setup from the factory was a little stiff for my weight, so I will likely do another shake down run after turning down the preload and rear rebound. Can feel the rear tyre skipping a bit too much on rougher roads. The tyres are hard so I will likely play with the tyre pressure as well for further finetuning. But this bike needs better rubber to shine. (the maxxis are also standard on the KTM790)

Brakes are powerful, although feel is lacking. But I shall reserve judgement until I put a few more miles on it as i think the brakes haven't been fully bedded in yet. It has a total of 10 brake pistons on the bike, which is commendable, and the rear brakes is quite good. It has twin 4 piston radial J Juan calipers clamping down on twin 320mm cross drilled floating discs and a twin pot sliding caliper on the rear. ABS action is good. Front lever is a radial master. Both clutch and brake levers are adjustable for reach. The front has a lot of stopping power and ABS doesn't kick in too early. The rear in particular is good. Allows for a bit of locking before working, so you can back the tail in a bit before the rear ABS corrects.

Comfort
The bike is set up with more relaxed ergos than the KTM sibling, similarly to the MT09. Clip-ons are fairly upright and foot pegs are in the mid position, far less tucked up as you would be on a Z900. Where the KTM puts you perched high in an attack position, and the MT09 too upright, and the z900 sits you "inside" the bike with the unnecessary low seat and high pegs, the NK strikes a good balance.
The mid peg position however, occasionally gets in the way when you want to get your feet down, having once snagged on my pant leg and gave me an "oh shit" moment. Seat height feels more like 820mm compared to the 795mm it was advertized with. So, if you have a short inseam, you might need to tippy toe a bit. The seat at the crotch is narrow and helps with those short of leg.

Aero at 130 is pretty decent with not much buffeting and air pressure on the chest....possibly due to the big TFT acting as a wind deflector. It starts getting a little uncomfortable at 150, and you better hold on tight at 200, even in a full tuck.

Vibrations at speed are not perceptible but there is an annoying buzz in the mirrors past 7000rpm.

Cruise control works great. Holds speed well. However, it only works from 80-130kmh and only in 4/5/6th. But any cruise control is godsend for long cruises as it allows you to rest your throttle hand.

Seat comfort is a miss. The padding while firm, is supportive in pretty much only one position. So unless you fit the ideal rider triangle (which I guess is of a larger rider), your bum would be at the wrong place. Cant seem to get past 1hr ride without getting numb bum. Maybe seat needs more miles to be broken in. The rear pillion seat is not for human use wan. Utterly useless or as contraceptive. very hard and in all the wrong shape. Must as well been a single seater.
Rear brake and gear shift lever is adjustable for height and reach.

Tech
The big TFT is gorgeous. Although it does catch the sun and reflects it back to your face. The system also allows you to hook up 2 bluetooth helmet sets, so you can have rider/pillion com without buying expensive coms. Having a pillion at the back is another issue all together.
Bike comes with full LED lights. The front is decently bright, but the cut off is very abrupt. Would have preferred a more gradual cut off. The little light dance on startup is a definite attention grabber.

Bad
Reliability and build quality
remains a big question mark (just look at the section below). The unpainted plastics feel a bit cheap and doesn't look like it would hold up under long sun exposure. The paintwork on the tank is quite soft. But hey, this is not a 80k bike...you get what you pay for,
As a new bike, while Taobao has most spares and accessories in the market, some parts like windshields and luggage/racks are still a rare find. For windshields, the few on the market are for the Basic model and not ours with the larger TFT, so they would not clear the TFT. It might still need a bit more time for them. Whether you want to depend on MFORCE for parts is a question I hope I don't have to ask.

No Android auto. While the TFT supports Apple carplay, Android users are left in the cold, only supporting screen mirroring. The included Carbit Map is a subscription service (first year free) but the interface is very slow and choppy. Google Maps, Waze works hell a lot better. You will need to turn on your phone's hotspot for it to go online. The bluetofsh audio coming off the bike is also oddly softer. Not figured out why yet nor tried another bluetooth headset with the bike.

No USB charger. For a bike this loaded, They decided to skimp on the USB charger??. Fortunately, you can buy original PnP solutions from shopee or taobao for around 80rm. And it does quick charging.

Problems.

It seems that CFMOTO is still struggling to work out build quality issues and QC from this first batch bikes. Been in touch directly with Mfroce service and CFMOTO marketing.

Issue 1 : The rear hugger was not installed correctly, with the bolts not threaded through the frame of the rear hugger. So within 20kms of picking it up from the shop, it came up and contacted the rear wheel, causing the rear hugger to be eaten up, necessitating the whole assembly, signal lights and harness to be replaced. This has serious safety consequences, as should had the hugger come loose and gotten caught in the wheel, it would have thrown me off the bike.

Issue 2: Cone bearing failed at 1100km after my shakedown runs. Whole front end is rocking back and forth

Issue 3 : The quick shifter mysteriously stopped working completely for a day. After letting the bike sit for 3 days, it decided to work again. It wasnt a wet day when that happened, so that rules out a water induced short.

Issue 4 : Very bad partial throttle fueling/mapping. Very jerky holding throttle steady at 5-10% around 3000-4000rpm either in low speed or cruising. No solution to that yet. I remember the Duke 790 had the same issue but a subsequent engine map update sorted it out. Hope is CFMOTO will be able to roll out an update soon. Rain and Steet mode numbs the finicky throttle a bit, but still present. But why buy a 800cc bike for it to feel like a 650??

Issue 5 : Some bolts have backed out and loosened. Primarily the front sprocket cover which was making an annoying racket.

Issue 6 : axle/axle bearing over greased. Causing it to flow/fling down to front brake disc. Lucky caught early or it would have ruined/glazed by brand new brake pads....or cause a crash at worst.

MFORCE

For the rear hugger issue, The Dealer (GScycle) got an immediate authorization from MFORCE to tow the bike back to GSCYCLE service, and strip off an existing new bike for parts. The bike was towed from my house at 7.30pm, and the bike was ready to be towed back to me by 11am the next day. All warranty claims were done by GSCYCLE so it was fairly fuss free for me.

For the cone bearing issue, MFORCE service requested that the bike be sent back to Penang. They are in the process in arranging a loaner bike for my use in the meantime. However due to the CNY break, that process has taken longer than i had thought. Segambut CFMOTO doesnt have a loaner on hand, so they had to get penang to ship one down, as luck would have it, i was told it needed to get "repaired" before they can ship it down. Thats unfortunately not very confidence inspiring......... but i'm appreciative of them actually checking the bike before sending it to me. I supposed they would be able to send the loaner down in a day or 2 more and pick up my NK to be sent back to penang for the repair and once over...looking over every screw and bolt. How long that would take/taken will be updated here later.

FWIW, i applaud the various personnel for being responsive to my issues. I'm pretty sure they are aware of what a PR nightmare this could be for a new brand. Granted, the CNY break did slow things down a bit but this is something I would update later once the issues have been fixed.

Would I recommend the bike? Perhaps. Maybe wait for later batches? Once they sort out the build quality? But as she stands it would be tough to find a bike that is this fun for the money.

Immediate Ccomparisions would be the Suzuki 8s and the Kawazaki z900. The NK sounds better than the Suzuki, pulls harder, but lighter and nimbler than the z900. Ultimately, you wont go wrong with either 2. A KTM Duke 790 similarly equipped would be north of 85k OTR.

[

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Feb 19 2024, 08:51 PM
Patent
post Feb 19 2024, 05:43 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

Nicely written.
mforce needs to take notes, how are they releasing their premium brand with lemon qc sweat.gif
jaycee1
post Feb 19 2024, 08:17 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Feb 19 2024, 05:43 PM)
Nicely written.
mforce needs to take notes, how are they releasing their premium brand with lemon qc sweat.gif
Yes, exactly. I firmly believe CFMOTO can make good bikes (after all, it makes the sister duke790 for KTM). Who dropped the ball was MFORCE. This would be a litmus test for them.

They screw this case up. They will be forever tarnished. I think a lot of people will be looking at this and see how MFORCE handles this.

There has been a few cases of bad build quality from people I know. Pity they were too silent.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Feb 19 2024, 08:19 PM
TSbasilisk
post Feb 22 2024, 02:53 PM

30 posts

https://ridermagazine.com/2024/02/21/rider-...-suzuki-gsx-8s/

Mysteryz
post Feb 23 2024, 04:01 PM

Does anyone looking for CFMoto 800Nk Service Moto? Can go to

Shopee Link Here
TSbasilisk
post Feb 23 2024, 04:54 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(Mysteryz @ Feb 23 2024, 04:01 PM)
Does anyone looking for CFMoto 800Nk Service Moto? Can go to

Shopee Link Here
most important.

is the wiring diagram clear? or high res enough to see all the details..

if you can provide a screen shot of a section of wiring diagram in 100% magnification, will be good.

example...

This post has been edited by basilisk: Feb 23 2024, 07:16 PM
Mysteryz
post Feb 23 2024, 09:44 PM

QUOTE(basilisk @ Feb 23 2024, 04:54 PM)
most important.

is the wiring diagram clear? or high res enough to see all the details..

if you can provide a screen shot of a section of wiring diagram in 100% magnification, will be good.

example...

100% magnification to large but this pdf is super clear!

jaycee1
post Mar 2 2024, 02:55 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Feb 22 2024, 02:53 PM)
Certainly felt like this when I tested the 8s.

After 8k rpm, it just feels the ECU is limiting power for whatever reason, while the NK (and 790) pulls strong to redline. That's one of the reasons I went with the NK. It also pulls harder throughout the entire rpm range.
jaycee1
post Mar 2 2024, 03:02 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

Just to update.

I sent in my NK to Mforce Segambut SC on Friday morning 23/Feb. MForce Penang said Segambut will do the repair in order to avoid delays shipping the bike back to Penang.

The suddenly Segambut says they are shipping the bike to Penang to avoid delays getting parts. WTF.

So the bike sat at segambut for a week with nothing done and was finally shipped back to penang Friday 1st march.

Looks like segambut and penang playing football...with the expenses of the owner.

This seems what most owners faced when sending bikes to segambut. Sit there for a week or 2, then only decide to send back to penang, and then sangkut at penang for another few weeks...and then wait for transport to ship it back down again.

Just for this reason..I think anyone should avoid any MForce bikes if this is the after sales they intend to provide.
Patent
post Mar 2 2024, 03:05 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Mar 2 2024, 03:02 PM)
Just to update.

I sent in my NK to Mforce Segambut SC on Friday morning 23/Feb. MForce Penang said Segambut will do the repair in order to avoid delays shipping the bike back to Penang.

The suddenly Segambut says they are shipping the bike to Penang to avoid delays getting parts. WTF.

So the bike sat at segambut for a week with nothing done and was finally shipped back to penang Friday 1st march.

Looks like segambut and penang playing football...with the expenses of the owner.

This seems what most owners faced when sending bikes to segambut. Sit there for a week or 2, then only decide to send back to penang, and then sangkut at penang for another few weeks...and then wait for transport to ship it back down again.

Just for this reason..I think anyone should avoid any MForce bikes if this is the after sales they intend to provide.
wah even hq play taichi.. find third party pomen also cannot sweat.gif
jaycee1
post Mar 15 2024, 12:01 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

Just to update. More MForce foibles....

As the bike was sent back to Penang, I told the service manager to also change the oil and do the break in service.

When I got the bike back, I noticed the service indicator was still on. Called and asked why wasn't it SOP to reset the service indicator after the service.

Lo and behold, the service manager told me they had forgotten to do the service and shipped the bike back without it because they were concentrating in trying to investigate the quick shifter issue.

They did put 200kms on the bike testing it (which was fine for me) but didn't find out anything wrong with the QS. But when I got the bike back the QS started intermittently not working again. (So wtf did they try to check?)

It wasn't until a few days of riding later when I discovered the shifter lever is loose. The shifter bolt has gotten loose and backed itself out. Tighten it back up with loc tight. (Funny MForce didn't discover this the 2 weeks they had the bike)

Now it seems the QS is working again..but will have to give it a few more riding days. The guess is the loose and vibrating shifter might have caused the QS sensor to mis-read and go into safe mode.

Even doing the shifter bolt is a real PITA. Have to take off the foot peg assembly to get to the bolt (screwed in from the back and not front like typical japanese bikes) so it required an impact wrench to open for the big bolt holding the foot peg assembly...not something you can do roadside if it happens again...say in the middle.of a road trip....Real WTF.
Patent
post Mar 15 2024, 12:39 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Mar 15 2024, 12:01 PM)
Just to update. More MForce foibles....
As the bike was sent back to Penang, I told the service manager to also change the oil and do the break in service.

When I got the bike back, I noticed the service indicator was still on. Called and asked why wasn't it SOP to reset the service indicator after the service.

Lo and behold, the service manager told me they had forgotten to do the service and shipped the bike back without it because they were concentrating in trying to investigate the quick shifter issue.

They did put 200kms on the bike testing it (which was fine for me) but didn't find out anything wrong with the QS. But when I got the bike back the QS started intermittently not working again. (So wtf did they try to check?)
It wasn't until a few days of riding later when I discovered the shifter lever is loose. The shifter bolt has gotten loose and backed itself out.  Tighten it back up with loc tight. (Funny MForce didn't discover this the 2 weeks they had the bike)

Now it seems the QS is working again..but will have to give it a few more riding days. The guess is the loose and vibrating shifter might have caused the QS sensor to mis-read and go into safe mode.
Even doing the shifter bolt is a real PITA. Have to take off the foot peg assembly to get to the bolt (screwed in from the back and not front like typical japanese bikes) so it required an impact wrench to open for the big bolt holding the foot peg assembly...not something you can do roadside if it happens again...say in the middle.of a road trip....Real WTF.
factory saving cost... cant buy loctite laugh.gif

on a serious note hope everything is fine now with your bike.
jaycee1
post Jun 28 2024, 09:01 AM

AFK
2,484 posts

Just to do a quick update on the bike.

Bike just turned 15k on he clock.

The bike remains as fun as expected. Nimble enough to have fun in the twisties and responsive enough to get the front wheel up without too much coaxing. Not really missing the lack of TC. Top speed is somewhere north of 220. Perfectly acceptable for a naked bike. Bike is comfortable cruising at 130-150, save for a bit of handlebar vibration at around 5000rpm. Otherwise vibration isn't bad

Ergonomics is fine. Sitting triangle is fairly upright and not cramped. Good for 3-4 hr rides having taken the bike north over the border last month. The seat has soften out a little after broken in. However if you are bigger or heavier set guy (I'm 5'6" and 63kg), you will likely appreciate the optional thicker seat.

Worn out the factory Maxxis Supermaxx ST tyres after 13k, and now have a set of new Michelin PR6.

Maintenance hasn't been too expensive. A standard oil change filter change ranges from 300 to 400 depending on what oil you choose. Takes 2.9L of 10w50 fully synthetic. Factory OCI is 15k, but I change mine every 10k. Major service and VC inspection is every 30k.

Parts availablity is good on taobao. But don't depend on MForce.

Reliability/issues
QS still has intermittent problems. But it looks like the issue is if the bike was started in gear, where the weight of the bike is on the gear (like on an incline) the QS does not work. If the bike is started in neutral and the gearbox is free of load, the QS works. Probably due to the gear position sensor. But it does not happen often so I just let it be.

Paintwork on certain painted parts isn't holding up well. Some items like the bar end weights have worn out. Not a huge issue anyway since I have replaced them with higher quality and heavier bar ends
JustForFun
post Jun 28 2024, 10:37 AM

Seeker
1,281 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jun 28 2024, 09:01 AM)
Just to do a quick update on the bike.

Bike just turned 15k on he clock.
The bike remains as fun as expected. Nimble enough to have fun in the twisties and responsive enough to get the front wheel up without too much coaxing. Not really missing the lack of TC. Top speed is somewhere north of 220. Perfectly acceptable for a naked bike. Bike is comfortable cruising at 130-150, save for a bit of handlebar vibration at around 5000rpm. Otherwise vibration isn't bad

Ergonomics is fine. Sitting triangle is fairly upright and not cramped. Good for 3-4 hr rides having taken the bike north over the border last month. The seat has soften out a little after broken in. However if you are bigger or heavier set guy (I'm 5'6" and 63kg), you will likely appreciate the optional thicker seat.

Worn out the factory Maxxis Supermaxx ST tyres after 13k, and now have a set of new Michelin PR6.

Maintenance hasn't been too expensive. A standard oil change filter change ranges from 300 to 400 depending on what oil you choose. Takes 2.9L of 10w50 fully synthetic. Factory OCI is 15k, but I change mine every 10k. Major service and VC inspection is every 30k.

Parts availablity is good on taobao. But don't depend on MForce.
Reliability/issues
QS still has intermittent problems. But it looks like the issue is if the bike was started in gear, where the weight of the bike is on the gear (like on an incline) the QS does not work. If the bike is started in neutral and the gearbox is free of load, the QS works. Probably due to the gear position sensor. But it does not happen often so I just let it be.

Paintwork on certain painted parts isn't holding up well. Some items like the bar end weights have worn out. Not a huge issue anyway since I have replaced them with higher quality and heavier bar ends
What about wind protection after you've added the windshield?
jaycee1
post Jun 28 2024, 12:56 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Jun 28 2024, 10:37 AM)
What about wind protection after you've added the windshield?
It's still a rather small windshield. Takes wind off your chest but your shoulders and helmet still gets the brunt of it.

However, that said. If you tuck down, you can just get the helmet under the wind blast for a top speed run. It's a naked bike afterall. You will get lots of wind. But cruising at 130 to 150 isn't too bad for a few hours ride. The stock aero isn't too bad to begin with.

There is a bigger handlebar mounted windshield available for our NK but I don't like how it's mounted. Looks like an afterthought. Mine looks like OE that came with the bike

jaycee1
post Jun 28 2024, 01:32 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

As for mods. Not much has been done to it yet. Still rocking the stock exhaust which is pretty good sounding anyway.

Bar ends
radiator guard
Frame slider
Custom windshield
Fog lights with custom harness and fuse/relay box

The stock steering damper is from WP..albeit a fairly basic non-adjustable unit.

Vincent6596
post Jul 12 2024, 02:00 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Feb 8 2024, 07:07 PM)
Yes, they are horrid looking.

My taobao 800nk fly screen should arrive soon. Will put some pictures up when done. I'm actually after the bracket only, something I will use to mod a bigger windshield on.

As for racks, I opened up the tail/mudguard section, and it looks like I will have to hack plastics to get to mounting points. Fortunately these parts are not too expensive.

Made some of these loops for additional strap down points for my waterproof duffle bag in the meantime.

These will be mounted in 3 spots. Tail, and seat bolts (x2). You will need slightly longer bolts (+5mm), to account for the grommet thickness and washers.
can share the link of your windscreen ?
jaycee1
post Jul 12 2024, 07:54 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(Vincent6596 @ Jul 12 2024, 02:00 PM)
can share the link of your windscreen ?
[URL=https://m.tb.cn/h.g7ftwcTQuJa31Oh?tk=zaoc3YZPjxi CZ0016 「适用春风800NK改装件前挡风玻璃风镜导流罩风挡摩托车前挡风配件」
点击链接直接打开 或者 淘宝搜索直接打开]windscreen link[/URL]

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Jul 12 2024, 07:55 PM
Vincent6596
post Jul 13 2024, 05:40 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jul 12 2024, 07:54 PM)
[URL=https://m.tb.cn/h.g7ftwcTQuJa31Oh?tk=zaoc3YZPjxi CZ0016 「适用春风800NK改装件前挡风玻璃风镜导流罩风挡摩托车前挡风配件」
点击链接直接打开 或者 淘宝搜索直接打开]windscreen link[/URL]

this windscreen seem like macam did not fix any windscreen on it sweat.gif sweat.gif
jaycee1
post Jul 16 2024, 01:08 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(Vincent6596 @ Jul 13 2024, 05:40 PM)
this windscreen seem like macam did not fix any windscreen on it  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
I'm only using the base mounting plate of this set. This windshield/fly screen wont fit on our local Advance model. Won't clear the big TFT.

I'm using a customised z650 windshield mounted to that base plate.
Vincent6596
post Jul 16 2024, 04:59 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jul 16 2024, 01:08 PM)
I'm only using the base mounting plate of this set. This windshield/fly screen wont fit on our local Advance model. Won't clear the big TFT.

I'm using a customised z650 windshield mounted to that base plate.
can share some photo and link to buy the required item to get it done ?

due to i am helping my friend to look for the idea before he make his final decision before pull the trigger for the big CC upgrade.
jaycee1
post Jul 17 2024, 11:46 AM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(Vincent6596 @ Jul 16 2024, 04:59 PM)
can share some photo and link to buy the required item to get it done ?

due to i am helping my friend to look for the idea before he make his final decision before pull the trigger for the big CC upgrade.
Link for the base bracket I already posted.

For the z650 windshild, just search shopee for it. Just make sure the z windshield comes with the bracket.

It's not plug and play. Need to customise .
Vincent6596
post Jul 17 2024, 02:58 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jul 17 2024, 11:46 AM)
Link for the base bracket I already posted.

For the z650 windshild, just search shopee for it. Just make sure the z windshield comes with the bracket.

It's not plug and play. Need to customise .
you mean need to customise the z650 windshield bracket then only able to fit it on 800NK base bracket ?
am i correct ?

can show any photo of how does the modified thing and how it look that fit on your bike ?

This post has been edited by Vincent6596: Jul 17 2024, 04:10 PM
alexei
post Jul 18 2024, 10:13 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

It's still a rather small windshield. Takes wind off your chest but your shoulders and helmet still gets the brunt of it.

However, that said. If you tuck down, you can just get the helmet under the wind blast for a top speed run. It's a naked bike afterall. You will get lots of wind. But cruising at 130 to 150 isn't too bad for a few hours ride. The stock aero isn't too bad to begin with.

There is a bigger handlebar mounted windshield available for our NK but I don't like how it's mounted. Looks like an afterthought. Mine looks like OE that came with the bike

Vincent6596
Vincent6596
post Jul 18 2024, 10:43 AM

472 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Jul 18 2024, 10:13 AM)
Vincent6596
seem like will need some effort to make it done, will let my friend know as well biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
jaycee1
post Jul 18 2024, 05:59 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(Vincent6596 @ Jul 17 2024, 02:58 PM)
you mean need to customise the z650 windshield bracket then only able to fit it on 800NK base bracket ?
am i correct ?

can show any photo of how does the modified thing and how it look that fit on your bike ?
Buy bike first. I'd be more than happy to help. Lol.
jaycee1
post Aug 27 2024, 03:56 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

A little bump in the group.

Bike just turned over 20k KMs.

Had a failure (crack) on the coolant reservoir. Looks like manufacturing defect. Replaced under warranty. Seem a common item, already affected a few bikes. Until CFmoto redesigns the coolant reservoir , this might happen again. The issue is there is a seam at where the mounting ear/eyelet is, so if it gets over tightened or too much vibration, it may split the seam. We shall see.

Have an intermittent CEL during and since my Thai trip. Will have that checked out during the upcoming oil change service soon. Bike still runs ok.

Will be reaching the 30k schedule major maintenance with VC check in 3-4 months. Will know for sure if the cheese cam problem affects our bikes or not. So far no reports of cam failure on the 800nk and 800mt yet...so hopefully that issue has been addressed.
JustForFun
post Aug 27 2024, 11:49 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Aug 27 2024, 03:56 PM)

A little bump in the group.

Bike just turned over 20k KMs.
Had a failure (crack) on the coolant reservoir. Looks like manufacturing defect. Replaced under warranty. Seem a common item, already affected a few bikes. Until CFmoto redesigns the coolant reservoir , this might happen again. The issue is there is a seam at where the mounting ear/eyelet is, so if it gets over tightened or too much vibration, it may split the seam. We shall see.

Have an intermittent CEL during and since my Thai trip. Will have that checked out during the upcoming oil change service soon. Bike still runs ok.

Will be reaching the 30k schedule major maintenance with VC check in 3-4 months. Will know for sure if the cheese cam problem affects our bikes or not. So far no reports of cam failure on the 800nk and 800mt yet...so hopefully that issue has been addressed.
Is the coolant problem specific to 800NK only or also the Duke 790…?
alexei
post Aug 28 2024, 09:01 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Aug 27 2024, 03:56 PM)
nice update

This post has been edited by alexei: Aug 28 2024, 09:02 AM
jaycee1
post Aug 28 2024, 01:23 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Aug 27 2024, 11:49 PM)
Is the coolant problem specific to 800NK only or also the Duke 790…?
As far as I can tell. This is a 800nk specific problem only. The duke could very well have a different designed bottle.
jaycee1
post Aug 29 2024, 09:20 AM

AFK
2,484 posts

Battery died on the key fob. One day working, next day not at all.

Fortunately battery is easy to replace. Takes a single 2032 button. What we know so far, the battery only lasts on average 4-5 months only.

My only gripe is the waterproofing of the key is t the best, and the gasket was not properly installed on mine.

The bike can still be started with the phone App (either BT or remote network unlock) in case the key fob fails to work.
ZZR-Pilot
post Aug 29 2024, 01:58 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Aug 27 2024, 04:56 PM)
Camshafts made of soft cheese continue to be an issue in KTMs, despite everything.

I'm surprised nobody has floated the idea of using CFmoto camshafts in KTM's LC8C's valvetrain.

If CFmoto punya lebih tahan, I wonder why that is. Separate production lines in Zhejiang?
jaycee1
post Aug 29 2024, 03:55 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Aug 29 2024, 01:58 PM)
Camshafts made of soft cheese continue to be an issue in KTMs, despite everything.

I'm surprised nobody has floated the idea of using CFmoto camshafts in KTM's LC8C's valvetrain.

If CFmoto punya lebih tahan, I wonder why that is. Separate production lines in Zhejiang?
The issue is probably not the camshaft but something more serious. There are reports that the oiling journals for the cam oil squirters have been improperly machined leading to inadequate oiling of the cam lobes.

KTM already released a statement that the cam shore hardness is not he issue.

If this was the issue, it would be a full head replacement.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Aug 29 2024, 03:56 PM
alexei
post Aug 29 2024, 04:10 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Aug 29 2024, 03:55 PM)
The issue is probably not the camshaft but something more serious. There are reports that the oiling journals for the cam oil squirters have been improperly machined leading to inadequate oiling of the cam lobes.

KTM already released a statement that the cam shore hardness is not he issue.

If this was the issue, it would be a full head replacement.
I saw 1 video, it says oil starvation - oil galley size, oil path machine hole mismatch, and oil screen
Patent
post Aug 29 2024, 05:11 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Aug 29 2024, 01:58 PM)

as alexei said the issue isnt on the camshaft itself, but somewhere in the engine oil arent properly flowing for the camshaft

this video explains it further but still no words from ktm or other properly tested procedure showing if its actually true

ZZR-Pilot
post Aug 29 2024, 09:58 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Aug 29 2024, 06:11 PM)
as alexei said the issue isnt on the camshaft itself, but somewhere in the engine oil arent properly flowing for the camshaft
Dunno, mate. On the other hand MCN quoted Blaire Knight, a Senior Technical Officer at the University of Queensland, who experienced cam failure on his 790. After the engineer analysed his own camshaft, he proposed that the part itself exhibits insufficient hardness to be properly resilient.

“We performed an Arc analysis on my cams and the carbon content was lower than I would’ve expected,” Knight said. “The Rockwell test (a test of metallic material hardness) came in at 51, when it should’ve been up at 58 to 60 to have any real resilience.”

Wallahualam.
alexei
post Aug 30 2024, 09:50 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

I think maybe a few factors combined... oil feed, oil starve, and VC gap

the photos online show premature wear started and looked like those piston seizure score marks due to heat and oil film breakdown etc...

some sources show the fuel map runs lean at 15:1 AFR below 5k RPM, not sure if this can affect exhaust valve temperature or not

I hope it is not the case for the NK's
jaycee1
post Aug 30 2024, 01:00 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Aug 30 2024, 09:50 AM)
I think maybe a few factors combined... oil feed, oil starve, and VC gap

the photos online show premature wear started and looked like those piston seizure score marks due to heat and oil film breakdown etc...

some sources show the fuel map runs lean at 15:1 AFR below 5k RPM, not sure if this can affect exhaust valve temperature or not

I hope it is not the case for the NK's
The 790 running lean is a known issue. The NKs seem to be slightly richer but unless we get dyno data from the o2/wideband, it's only a guessing game. It does run cooler than the duke, so my guess is they managed to richen the AFR up.

I'll be way north of 70k KMs on the bike by the time my warranty runs out (2 yrs unlimited mileage). So either new engine under warranty or new bike anyway.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Aug 30 2024, 01:01 PM
jaycee1
post Mar 21 2025, 11:26 AM

AFK
2,484 posts

Time to bring this thread back from the dead.

Update time. Long term review.

Current mileage 37k ++ , 1 year 1 month of use. Daily use.

Bike seems to be running problem free past few months.

Done the 30k scheduled VC at 33k.
Happy to report the cams and followers did not show any excessive wear. VC in spec so no shim replacements needed. Work done at CFMOTO Flagship store at Kota Warisan Sepang. Shop done work on the 790 previously.

All parts supplied by myself, ordered from Taobao ahead of time

VC Labour cost - 200
Oil (3L) Motorex 15w50 - 270, supplied by shop

Own parts (original CFMOTO parts)
Valve cover gasket kit (valve cover gasket, 2 spark plug seals + 4 O rings) - 50
2x NGK iridium spark plugs - 130
Air filter - 25
Oil Filter - 25
Bike does not have a fuel filter.

Total cost : 700.

Bike's VC was in spec so there was no need for replacement shims. The shop ordered shims ahead of time but did not use them. 10ea.

VC cost wasnt too scary, as a normal oil change usually runs 300+ anyway.

Current OCI is 10k or about every 3 months given the mileage I do.

Anyway, about the cheese cam issues on the KTM LC8C engines, the chinese made LC8Cs has some head revisions done to the oiling channels when they moved production to China. Which means KTM knew about the cheese cam issues but chose to keep quiet. So far, none of the NKs and MTs have reported any cheese cam issues.

Things that have gone wrong
1) Signal switch failed - Replaced under warranty (apparently common issue, affecting a few bikes already)

2) Coolant overflow tank crack and leak - Replaced under warranty (also common known problem due to design fault)

3) various bolts getting loose. Lost a few screws

Things that would need attention soon.
1) Suspension has gotten a bit soft. Probably in need of a service soon....not surprising as I'm not the easy on the bike.
2) PR6 rear tyre due for replacement soon. 23k on them currently. Can probably get to 25k before need a replacement. 0.5mm to wear bars. Factory Maxxis tyres lasted about 14k.
3) Hydraulic chain tensioner seems to loose its oil after a few days of sitting, leaving brief clattering on startup. A minute of idle warm up and the sound goes away.

Bike is exactly what I wanted it to do. Good low speed balance, relatively light weight, very good mid range power and response for daily city ride and threading through traffic. Highway riding comfort is still one of the best in the midweight sport naked category although the seat is quite firm and could use a little more padding for the long Thailand trips (have made 4 trips on the bike past year). For longer trips, minor vibrations can be felt at between 5000-6000 rpm, so either ride under or over that range. But anyway, most of the time I just use the cruise control and relax the throttle hand, so the vibrations are a non issue.

Cornering handling at the limit still remains a bugbear with front end stability lacking when powering out of corners, with some headshake from the fairly aggressive head angle and no doubt from the aggressive midrange throttle and torque wanting to lift the front. FWIW, The Duke 790 shows the same character. Had a race shop set sag and drop the front forks 1/2 inch in an attempt to move weight forward a little. The difference can be felt but ultimately, bike is happiest under 90%. Just dont ride the bike like a supersports and the bike wont try to throw you off. Mind you, even at 90% its still a stupid quick and agile bike that would do corners stupid fast.

The jerky throttle on low RPM and partial light throttle still remains. Its just something to just live with, and requiring a bit more clutch feathering.

Fuel consumption is decent. Burns about 4L/100 highway cruising at 120. Burns 3x more fuel at WOT and at speeds of 200+. Will do 250km a tank if gentle on the throttle. Top speed achieved is 234km/h and currently the fastest stock NK in Malaysia. Will do 240 with an exhaust upgrade and decat.

As for reliabilty, I think the issue is that all the chinese brands are spitting out so many models so quickly that none of them have had time to iron out kinks and durability issues, so you see things like smaller components like switchgear fail prematurely. The engine however seems pretty decent....but like all KTM engines, they are not known to be particularly smooth nor quiet, often clattering like a truck.

JustForFun
post Mar 21 2025, 08:24 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Mar 21 2025, 11:26 AM)
Time to bring this thread back from the dead.
Update time. Long term review.

Current mileage 37k ++ , 1 year 1 month of use. Daily use.

Bike seems to be running problem free past few months.

Done the 30k scheduled VC at 33k.
Happy to report the cams and followers did not show any excessive wear. VC in spec so no shim replacements needed. Work done at CFMOTO Flagship store at Kota Warisan Sepang. Shop done work on the 790 previously.

All parts supplied by myself, ordered from Taobao ahead of time

VC Labour cost - 200
Oil (3L) Motorex 15w50 - 270, supplied by shop
Own parts (original CFMOTO parts)
Valve cover gasket kit (valve cover gasket, 2 spark plug seals + 4 O rings) - 50
2x NGK iridium spark plugs - 130
Air filter - 25
Oil Filter - 25
Bike does not have a fuel filter.

Total cost : 700.

Bike's VC was in spec so there was no need for replacement shims. The shop ordered shims ahead of time but did not use them. 10ea.

VC cost wasnt too scary, as a normal oil change usually runs 300+ anyway.

Current OCI is 10k or about every 3 months given the mileage I do.
Anyway, about the cheese cam issues on the KTM LC8C engines, the chinese made LC8Cs has some head revisions done to the oiling channels when they moved production to China. Which means KTM knew about the cheese cam issues but chose to keep quiet. So far, none of the NKs and MTs have reported any cheese cam issues.

Things that have gone wrong
1) Signal switch failed - Replaced under warranty (apparently common issue, affecting a few bikes already)

2) Coolant overflow tank crack and leak - Replaced under warranty (also common known problem due to design fault)

3) various bolts getting loose. Lost a few screws

Things that would need attention soon.
1) Suspension has gotten a bit soft. Probably in need of a service soon....not surprising as I'm not the easy on the bike.
2) PR6 rear tyre due for replacement soon. 23k on them currently. Can probably get to 25k before need a replacement. 0.5mm to wear bars. Factory Maxxis tyres lasted about 14k.
3) Hydraulic chain tensioner seems to loose its oil after a few days of sitting, leaving brief clattering on startup. A minute of idle warm up and the sound goes away.
Bike is exactly what I wanted it to do. Good low speed balance, relatively light weight, very good mid range power and response for daily city ride and threading through traffic. Highway riding comfort is still one of the best in the midweight sport naked category although the seat is quite firm and could use a little more padding for the long Thailand trips (have made 4 trips on the bike past year). For longer trips, minor vibrations can be felt at between 5000-6000 rpm, so either ride under or over that range. But anyway, most of the time I just use the cruise control and relax the throttle hand, so the vibrations are a non issue.

Cornering handling at the limit still remains a bugbear with front end stability lacking when powering out of corners, with some headshake from the fairly aggressive head angle and no doubt from the aggressive midrange throttle and torque wanting to lift the front. FWIW, The Duke 790 shows the same character.  Had a race shop set sag and drop the front forks 1/2 inch in an attempt to move weight forward a little. The difference can be felt but ultimately, bike is happiest under 90%. Just dont ride the bike like a supersports and the bike wont try to throw you off. Mind you, even at 90% its still a stupid quick and agile bike that would do corners stupid fast.

The jerky throttle on low RPM and partial light throttle still remains. Its just something to just live with, and requiring a bit more clutch feathering.

Fuel consumption is decent. Burns about 4L/100 highway cruising at 120. Burns 3x more fuel at WOT and at speeds of 200+. Will do 250km a tank if gentle on the throttle. Top speed achieved is 234km/h and currently the fastest stock NK in Malaysia. Will do 240 with an exhaust upgrade and decat.

As for reliabilty, I think the issue is that all the chinese brands are spitting out so many models so quickly that none of them have had time to iron out kinks and durability issues, so you see things like smaller components like switchgear fail prematurely. The engine however seems pretty decent....but like all KTM engines, they are not known to be particularly smooth nor quiet, often clattering like a truck.
Would you have made a different choice looking back now?

The 800NK is often touted the second best bike of CFMOTO in China, after the 450 series and only because the 450 is a house design whereas the 800 is more of a Duke replica. The rest of the line had too many QC/design issues.

Besides that, they priced the 800NK so well in Malaysia, the competition eg. Duke 790, GSX8s or even the Z900 are way above 40K.

Meanwhile, the 450SR costs the same as the Ninja 500 (or 400 of old) while not being a better product, is really a tough sell. The recently launched 700MT actually sells for less than 450SR in China (as it's just a rehashed 650NK engine), but I doubt they will price it lower here.

This post has been edited by JustForFun: Mar 21 2025, 08:25 PM
UnboxTheRoad P
post Mar 24 2025, 12:30 AM

Probation

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Mar 21 2025, 08:24 PM)
Meanwhile, the 450SR costs the same as the Ninja 500 (or 400 of old) while not being a better product, is really a tough sell.
What do you mean by saying the 450SR costs the same as the Ninja 500 while not being better product?

Let's look at facts, Kawasaki had to respond the pressure from CFMOTO. They bumped their 400cc platform to 451cc, just to stay relevant. Why? Because the 450SR has disrupted the entry-level sport bike segment in a way the big four Japanese brands failed to do in a long time period. (Why suddenly Modenas decide to bring back in 500, while risk cannibalise their 650?)

The 450SR didn’t just show up, it gave riders what they’ve been asking for: aggressive modern design with high tech features, a high-revving twin 270°, and Brembo brakes all at a competitive price point that big 4 couldn't give and charge us for decades. It’s no surprise that many beginner and budget-conscious riders are now considering it over traditional options, yea you can argue the reliability but do note this engine has been proven globally for the past few years since launching.
jaycee1
post Mar 24 2025, 10:38 AM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Mar 21 2025, 08:24 PM)
Would you have made a different choice looking back now?

The 800NK is often touted the second best bike of CFMOTO in China, after the 450 series and only because the 450 is a house design whereas the 800 is more of a Duke replica. The rest of the line had too many QC/design issues.

Besides that, they priced the 800NK so well in Malaysia, the competition eg. Duke 790, GSX8s or even the Z900 are way above 40K.

Meanwhile, the 450SR costs the same as the Ninja 500 (or 400 of old) while not being a better product, is really a tough sell. The recently launched 700MT actually sells for less than 450SR in China (as it's just a rehashed 650NK engine), but I doubt they will price it lower here.
Given the circumstances, requirements and then current market offerings, I would say I would have still gotten the NK over the Suzuki 8S and Z900 which I was cross shopping with. The Hornet 750 was late to the party, and the Duke 790 didn't get the massive discount it did until much later. Very rare does the budget and value offering win on its own merits rather than on just price.

The NK was far more comfortable then either the 8S and Z9, as well as lighter than both. The 8S came close (and very closely priced then with the 10k rebate, bringing the price down to 40k, very close to the NK's original price point (I got a 3k rebate on the NK, which brought the price down to 36k). But ultimately what worked in favour of the NK over the 8S, was the more lively engine character past 8000rpm. While both have equally meaty midrange, the 8S powerband drops off just as the going gets fun, a little "potong stim".

The z9 would likely been the more reliable of the bunch though, and also likely more expensive to maintain of the trio. The 8S is also a new engine and platform, but likely also to be more reliable component wise given Suzuki recycles a lot of parts bin parts that have been around for a long time.

As for the 450, there are rumours it was based on the Yamaha CP2 architecture. How much in house development is debatable. CFMOTO was quick to identify a hole in the market and was aggressive to capitalize on it.
Dont forget many years before the 450MT, KTM was also mulling a twin "490" engine as a fill in between the single 390 and the bigger twin 890, which was unfortunately dropped, and could have very well saved them from the mess they are in now. The 450MT is doing remarkably well simply because CFMOTO just built something everyone was asking for, the perennial unicorn.

JustForFun
post Mar 24 2025, 08:18 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

QUOTE(UnboxTheRoad @ Mar 24 2025, 12:30 AM)
What do you mean by saying the 450SR costs the same as the Ninja 500 while not being better product?

Let's look at facts, Kawasaki had to respond the pressure from CFMOTO. They bumped their 400cc platform to 451cc, just to stay relevant. Why? Because the 450SR has disrupted the entry-level sport bike segment in a way the big four Japanese brands failed to do in a long time period. (Why suddenly Modenas decide to bring back in 500, while risk cannibalise their 650?)

The 450SR didn’t just show up, it gave riders what they’ve been asking for: aggressive modern design with high tech features, a high-revving twin 270°, and Brembo brakes all at a competitive price point that big 4 couldn't give and charge us for decades. It’s no surprise that many beginner and budget-conscious riders are now considering it over traditional options, yea you can argue the reliability but do note this engine has been proven globally for the past few years since launching.
To me, it's only a marginally better product in terms of specs, which is evened out by Kawasaki's brand value, history and reliability. That's just my opinion, we can agree to disagree.

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Mar 24 2025, 10:38 AM)
Given the circumstances, requirements and then current market offerings, I would say I would have still gotten the NK over the Suzuki 8S and Z900 which I was cross shopping with. The Hornet 750 was late to the party, and the Duke 790 didn't get the massive discount it did until much later. Very rare does the budget and value offering win on its own merits rather than on just price. 

The NK was far more comfortable then either the 8S and Z9, as well as lighter than both. The 8S came close (and very closely priced then with the 10k rebate, bringing the price down to 40k, very close to the NK's original price point (I got a 3k rebate on the NK, which brought the price down to 36k). But ultimately what worked in favour of the NK over the 8S, was the more lively engine character past 8000rpm. While both have equally meaty midrange, the 8S powerband drops off just as the going gets fun, a little "potong stim".

The z9 would likely been the more reliable of the bunch though, and also likely more expensive to maintain of the trio. The 8S is also a new engine and platform, but likely also to be more reliable component wise given Suzuki recycles a lot of parts bin parts that have been around for a long time.

As for the 450, there are rumours it was based on the Yamaha CP2 architecture. How much in house development is debatable. CFMOTO was quick to identify a hole in the market and was aggressive to capitalize on it.
Dont forget many years before the 450MT, KTM was also mulling a twin "490" engine as a fill in between the single 390 and the bigger twin 890, which was unfortunately dropped, and could have very well saved them from the mess they are in now.  The 450MT is doing remarkably well simply because CFMOTO just built something everyone was asking for, the perennial unicorn.
I am rooting for the 800NK to prove us wrong in terms of reliability, buying new it's the best choice at that price.
UnboxTheRoad P
post Mar 25 2025, 09:38 AM

Probation

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Mar 24 2025, 08:18 PM)
To me, it's only a marginally better product in terms of specs, which is evened out by Kawasaki's brand value, history and reliability. That's just my opinion, we can agree to disagree.
Back to the 60s-70s mentality of Jap bike is rubbish and unreliable until time fly pass, then we praise jap bike is the pinnacle of reliability which they are no doubt following brand value. Chinese bike will slowly catch up and may surpass/on par with them eventually given time fly by. It's customer's decision to put where their hard earn money to, and which brand can capitalise on that in the end of the day. More choice on the market: better, to keep each other in check for competitiveness

Peace 🫶🏻✌🏻
yj98
post Apr 2 2025, 01:40 PM

41 posts

How I wish the Honda Hornet is priced more competitively in Malaysia. 51k (47k after discount) for a middleweight is really a non-starter
jaycee1
post Apr 8 2025, 02:03 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

Going to list down the current common known issues on the 800NK from my members group.

1) Coolant expansion tank crack
2) Signal switch failure
3) improper reading of fuel level
4) Factory muffler rear garnish/trim mounting broken off (maybe from bad welding on the bracket)
5) loosing bolts - needs to be periodically checked and tightened.

Other issues
1) weak hydraulic timing chain tensioner (also affecting all LC8C engines, including KTM)
2) Slow TFT. No Android auto, only car play. Screen mirroring for android is hopelessly unusable. Built in nav software is slow and unusable (cannot find names and addresses in search).

Some other issues could be bike specific due to various lapses in local build quality/QC or rare component failure.

Obviously the bike hasn't been in the market long enough for most riders to accumulate enough mileage to properly get a good indication of overall reliability. To date only 3 bikes have gone past 30k km.

However, so far no reported instance of cheese cam on the 800MT and the 800NK. So the engine and drivestrain seems ok for now.

UnboxTheRoad P
post Apr 9 2025, 04:54 PM

Probation

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Apr 8 2025, 02:03 PM)
Going to list down the current common known issues on the 800NK from my members group.
1) Coolant expansion tank crack
2) Signal switch failure
3) improper reading of fuel level
4) Factory muffler rear garnish/trim mounting broken off (maybe from bad welding on the bracket)
5) loosing bolts - needs to be periodically checked and tightened.
Other issues
1) weak hydraulic timing chain tensioner (also affecting all LC8C engines, including KTM)
2) Slow TFT. No Android auto, only car play. Screen mirroring for android is hopelessly unusable. Built in nav software is slow and unusable (cannot find names and addresses in search).
Some other issues could be bike specific due to various lapses in local build quality/QC or rare component failure.
Obviously the bike hasn't been in the market long enough for most riders to accumulate enough mileage to properly get a good indication of overall reliability. To date only 3 bikes have gone past 30k km.

However, so far no reported instance of cheese cam on the 800MT and the 800NK. So the engine and drivestrain seems ok for now.
I think quite a lot of 800MT has gone pass 30k km, some even took it to Laos and come back, safely to say reliability is not much of an issue for the engine or gearbox.. Mainly is just small small accessories issue
UnboxTheRoad P
post Apr 14 2025, 03:53 AM

Probation

Just found out this 2 Singaporean riding 800MT travelling from SG to Scotland total 44,396 km in 222 days back in 2024 -> FB search 2man2bike [I can't link their FB yet]

If anyone still doubting the engine performance of a China bike 😂

0.0809sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 08:44 AM