QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Nov 3 2023, 06:19 PM)
Went back to test the NK800 again. The test bike available is the basic model. We will only get the advance model here. But otherwise same bike. Test route was short, filled with speedbumps. Cant do a longer route so can't test higher speed vibration or handling. So thought on it will be limited.
Power : very very sharp punchy mid range. Tried on sport a rain mode (didnt try on street mode). In sport mode, power comes on strong from 5k up. The engine is very light and rev happy. Basically if you have ridden the duke790, it is similar. Hit 80 on a short stretch between speedbumps before realizing the meter was set to mph. To be honest, the power delivery is more than enough for street use...or outright scary in sport mode if you are not used to it. Exhaust sounds damn shiok. Good bark with pops on decel. How they got this exhaust to pass euro5 is beyond me. You won't need an aftermarket end can for this.
Seating and ergo
On paper it lists seat hight at 795mm but in reality it feels more. Possible 820mm. Riding ergos are fairly comfortable as you sit fairly upright and the rear sets are below your butt, and not in a too sporty position. Feels more spacious than the z900. The nk800s riding position is between the duke790 and the 790 adventure. Which means you can still stand up on the pegs. The seat felt a bit hard. Maybe questionable comfort if used for.long distance. Pillion seat is very very hard. The clutch is a bit heavier than expected...not sure if it has a slip and assist clutch.
Handling. Low speed is a a bit ponderous but balanced. No opportunity to test at higher speeds.
General fit and finish. The plastics felt cheap. One wing mirror is broken maybe, cant adjust it low enough, only see sky. Under seat storage is zero.
Didnt try cruise control. Didn't get up to speed.
No quick shifter installed on base model, but the shifting feel is light and positive. Able to do clutchless up down without too much issues even without the Q/S.
Brakes. Strong, but could use a bit more sharpness. Rear brakes are surprisingly good.
My main issues.
Bike does not have traction control. Especially on a throttle this sharp and power delivery this immediate. This is one bike you will probably need to use rain mode when it rains.
Bike has a high mounted exhaust. So pannier fitments will be an issue. Very limited aftermarket availability of accessories yet.
Verdict.
You won't find this power and gadgets for 39k. All accessories come standard. (Q/S, steering damper, big ipad screen with phone integration/cruise control)
Waiting for another test ride with open highways to test cruising speed vibrations before deciding...but like I said, it's either this or the z900.
In comparison, the z900 has a more linear powerband, sportier ergo. and longer legs for those that want to speed 200+ on the highways. Plus, it has all the accessories already available in the market.

I'm honestly torn between the Z900 and 800NK. I've been riding my Z250 for awhile. In terms of looks, the 800NK looks much better than the Z900. But the screaming inline 4 sound is very tempting. Which would you get out of the two? p/s: Hoping for B2 to B to be finalized as confirmed coming December. If not will have to take the B full course Power : very very sharp punchy mid range. Tried on sport a rain mode (didnt try on street mode). In sport mode, power comes on strong from 5k up. The engine is very light and rev happy. Basically if you have ridden the duke790, it is similar. Hit 80 on a short stretch between speedbumps before realizing the meter was set to mph. To be honest, the power delivery is more than enough for street use...or outright scary in sport mode if you are not used to it. Exhaust sounds damn shiok. Good bark with pops on decel. How they got this exhaust to pass euro5 is beyond me. You won't need an aftermarket end can for this.
Seating and ergo
On paper it lists seat hight at 795mm but in reality it feels more. Possible 820mm. Riding ergos are fairly comfortable as you sit fairly upright and the rear sets are below your butt, and not in a too sporty position. Feels more spacious than the z900. The nk800s riding position is between the duke790 and the 790 adventure. Which means you can still stand up on the pegs. The seat felt a bit hard. Maybe questionable comfort if used for.long distance. Pillion seat is very very hard. The clutch is a bit heavier than expected...not sure if it has a slip and assist clutch.
Handling. Low speed is a a bit ponderous but balanced. No opportunity to test at higher speeds.
General fit and finish. The plastics felt cheap. One wing mirror is broken maybe, cant adjust it low enough, only see sky. Under seat storage is zero.
Didnt try cruise control. Didn't get up to speed.
No quick shifter installed on base model, but the shifting feel is light and positive. Able to do clutchless up down without too much issues even without the Q/S.
Brakes. Strong, but could use a bit more sharpness. Rear brakes are surprisingly good.
My main issues.
Bike does not have traction control. Especially on a throttle this sharp and power delivery this immediate. This is one bike you will probably need to use rain mode when it rains.
Bike has a high mounted exhaust. So pannier fitments will be an issue. Very limited aftermarket availability of accessories yet.
Verdict.
You won't find this power and gadgets for 39k. All accessories come standard. (Q/S, steering damper, big ipad screen with phone integration/cruise control)
Waiting for another test ride with open highways to test cruising speed vibrations before deciding...but like I said, it's either this or the z900.
In comparison, the z900 has a more linear powerband, sportier ergo. and longer legs for those that want to speed 200+ on the highways. Plus, it has all the accessories already available in the market.

Nov 9 2023, 11:33 AM

0.0160sec