House Major Renovation - structure column issue

TSjungirl
post Feb 26 2023, 08:11 AM, updated 3y ago

22 posts

Hi Sifu, currently i'm doing some major renovation of my double storey landed house. During demolishing process, contractor discovered numbers of column (Red Square) that supporting building structure beam and first floor brick wall. In the architect drawing, only keep the column next to store 2 and removing the rest.

I'm concerning about the structure stability. Should i demolish the column, or is it possible to add back the column once removed? Thank you in advance for the your opinions.

As for the renovation, gotten approval from KM, MPSJ and relevant dept.

red square - column
red line - beam
blue - demolish

This post has been edited by jungirl: Feb 26 2023, 08:13 AM
kk131
post Feb 26 2023, 09:39 AM

566 posts

QUOTE(jungirl @ Feb 26 2023, 08:11 AM)
Hi Sifu, currently i'm doing some major renovation of my double storey landed house. During demolishing process, contractor discovered numbers of column (Red Square) that supporting building structure beam and first floor brick wall. In the architect drawing, only keep the column next to store 2 and removing the rest.

I'm concerning about the structure stability. Should i demolish the column, or is it possible to add back the column once removed? Thank you in advance for the your opinions.

red square - column
red line - beam
blue - demolish

You should seek the opinion of a Structural Engineer.
asdasd
post Feb 26 2023, 09:40 AM

337 posts

Get a professional engineer to check for you, don't ask in forum. This involves your safety. In the end, you still need to submit to majlis for approval which requires endorsement from architect & engineer.
metalfire
post Feb 26 2023, 09:46 AM

1,302 posts

This kinda thing, still need architect and engineer to confirm.
TSjungirl
post Feb 26 2023, 10:01 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(kk131 @ Feb 26 2023, 09:39 AM)
You should seek the opinion of a Structural Engineer.
Yes, midst of arranging it.

TSjungirl
post Feb 26 2023, 10:06 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(asdasd @ Feb 26 2023, 09:40 AM)
Get a professional engineer to check for you, don't ask in forum. This involves your safety. In the end, you still need to submit to majlis for approval which requires endorsement from architect & engineer.
The architect drawing(approved by KM) only keeping the column next to store 2. I’m abit sceptical with that decision.

bobowyc
post Feb 26 2023, 10:06 AM

You are who you are.
1,921 posts

Cannot just leave it there? Its ground beam right? lol. Usually ground beams dont remove. its usually holding the whole structure by counterweight or usually its walls above it or holding the first floor beams. IMO only. Just seek expert advise, im not expert, just saying this cause if its there, there's a reason lol
TSjungirl
post Feb 26 2023, 10:07 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(metalfire @ Feb 26 2023, 09:46 AM)
This kinda thing, still need architect and engineer to confirm.
Definitely. I will counter check the architect drawing with structure engineer
TSjungirl
post Feb 26 2023, 10:10 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(bobowyc @ Feb 26 2023, 10:06 AM)
Cannot just leave it there? Its ground beam right? lol. Usually ground beams dont remove. its usually holding the whole structure by counterweight or usually its walls above it or holding the first floor beams. IMO only. Just seek expert advise, im not expert, just saying this cause if its there, there's a reason lol
Attempt to create larger space for the living room, dining and dry kitchen area.
bobowyc
post Feb 26 2023, 10:15 AM

You are who you are.
1,921 posts

QUOTE(jungirl @ Feb 26 2023, 10:10 AM)
Attempt to create larger space for the living room, dining and dry kitchen area.
But its ground beams right? Shouldn't interfere with that, unless they have a supporting column, but see the column support what, usually internal support columns have their specific purposes. Cant simply remove. Especially its ground floor beam and column. If really cant, can figure out a way to improvise it, like deco etc.. sweat.gif
metalfire
post Feb 26 2023, 10:21 AM

1,302 posts

QUOTE(jungirl @ Feb 26 2023, 10:07 AM)
Definitely. I will counter check the architect drawing with structure engineer
if you can share what they say here later, would be great info.

thank you very much.

and hope your renovation goes smoothly.
TSjungirl
post Feb 26 2023, 10:24 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(metalfire @ Feb 26 2023, 10:21 AM)
if you can share what they say here later, would be great info.

thank you very much.

and hope your renovation goes smoothly.

I share once got any update.
ArchId
post Feb 28 2023, 12:03 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(jungirl @ Feb 26 2023, 10:24 AM)

I share once got any update.
I did some study on your layout plan... your span is 24ft width... that is a big span if you want a free column design... bigger width means, bigger beam size...im assuming your beam size is only about 300 clear-450mm thick/ height... so required column between the 24ft width..... and there is a reason why the previous structure engineer design that position that way.... you cant simply remove the existing column....
even if you hire a structural engineer.. he may ask you to design a new column and beam ...not effecting the existing ones.. unless you gave the original developer structure engineering drawings.. than he can study the original design calculation and the rebar /link concrete type size applied to the unit......then and only then you demolished the certain column......

worst case scenario..... incorporate I.D features.... or redesign the layout surrounding the column... start to play around with the spaces.....

cheers mate
Izwan
www.archidstudio.com
kelvin_ck1
post Feb 28 2023, 01:28 PM

73 posts

Never remove an existing structural column unless you are planning to demolish the whole floor above. From your drawing, those columns are internal supporting columns which are vital to carry the whole upper level floor. Tell your interior designer to blend the existing columns in their design.

Just my dua Sen.
EdEd
post Mar 1 2023, 08:50 PM

357 posts

If u need to remove it u need to strengthen it with structural steel. Relocation is possible but not just remove it
Phyarc
post Mar 1 2023, 09:25 PM

153 posts

If so, you already have engineer as structural plan was submitted to MBSJ. Were you not informed by the "architect" or you are seeking 2nd opinion?
It can be done, but consult your engineer and request copy of the structural plan which was submitted.
Phyarc
post Mar 1 2023, 09:25 PM

153 posts

If so, you already have engineer as structural plan was submitted to MBSJ. Were you not informed by the "architect" or you are seeking 2nd opinion?
It can be done, but consult your engineer and request copy of the structural plan which was submitted.
mushigen
post Mar 2 2023, 01:32 PM

4,952 posts

QUOTE(ArchId @ Feb 28 2023, 12:03 PM)
I did some study on your layout plan... your span is 24ft width... that is a big span if you want a free column design... bigger width means, bigger beam size...im assuming your beam size is only about 300 clear-450mm thick/ height... so required column between the 24ft width..... and there is a reason why the previous structure engineer design that position that way.... you cant simply remove the existing column....
even if you hire a structural engineer.. he may ask you to design a new column and beam ...not effecting the existing ones.. unless you gave the original developer structure engineering drawings.. than he can study the original design calculation and the rebar /link concrete type size applied to the unit......then and only then you demolished the certain column......

worst case scenario..... incorporate I.D features.... or redesign the layout surrounding the  column... start to play around with the spaces.....
cheers mate
Izwan
www.archidstudio.com
Bro,
What's this doc called? Are developers obliged to provide upon our request?

unless you gave the original developer structure engineering drawings

ArchId
post Mar 2 2023, 05:20 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Mar 2 2023, 01:32 PM)
Bro,
What's this doc called? Are developers obliged to provide upon our request?

unless you gave the original developer structure engineering drawings
new developers or new development should provide all this info to owners.... only structure related to your unit..
if got old2 development...a bit difficult to get....
they must provide you if you doing major renovation works... sometimes you need to apply or request from the appointed management team or from the developer....
what is the drawing called ? -

Structure drawings.
1) Foundation Layout plan
2) Ground floor beam plan
3) first floor beam plan
4) roof floor beam plan
5) foundation reinforcement schedule
6) column schedule.
7) beam / slab detail....

hope this helps

cheers mate
Izwan
www.archidstudio.com
mushigen
post Mar 2 2023, 06:22 PM

4,952 posts

QUOTE(ArchId @ Mar 2 2023, 05:20 PM)
new developers or new development should provide all this info to owners.... only structure related to your unit..
if got old2 development...a bit difficult to get....
they must provide you if you doing major renovation works... sometimes you need to apply or request from the appointed management team or from the developer....
what is the drawing called ? -

Structure drawings.
1) Foundation Layout plan
2) Ground floor beam plan
3) first floor beam plan
4) roof floor beam plan
5) foundation reinforcement schedule
6) column schedule.
7) beam / slab detail....

hope this helps

cheers mate
Izwan
www.archidstudio.com
Wow, thank you for listing them down. I requested "necessary documents" and only got those basic drawings.

May I trouble you again to provide the names of other important documents we should get from developers?

ArchId
post Mar 2 2023, 08:45 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Mar 2 2023, 06:22 PM)
Wow, thank you for listing them down. I requested "necessary documents" and only got those basic drawings.

May I trouble you again to provide the names of other important documents we should get from developers?
Oh sorry , I thought you ask related to structure drawings …

Well .. if you are planning to start a renovation - a major renovation…. You can request this drawings ….

1) electrical schematic diagram -for your future electrical contractor to study and at least a guideline for them if want to do looping / or direct to db wiring works …

2) architecture/building schedule finishes(exterior and interior)
( including the codes and batch no ( for tiling if can )

3) sanitary & plumbing schematic diagram ( sometimes got contractor just bulldoze and hentam only Paip connection and end up leaking all over the place ..

4) architecture plans section elevation ( normally they will give you basic measurements - not detail. )

5) the structure drawings I mention ..

I think that’s about it …

Hope this help
izwan
Www.archidstudio.com

Oh sometimes you may get this document , sometimes you don’t …developer are kinda afraid if you start asking this type of documents …. Hahaha….. I think you probably know why Lah…

If good developer , they got nothing to hide .

0.0200sec    0.25    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:42 PM