House Major Renovation - structure column issue
TSjungirl
Feb 26 2023, 08:11 AM, updated 3y ago
Hi Sifu, currently i'm doing some major renovation of my double storey landed house. During demolishing process, contractor discovered numbers of column (Red Square) that supporting building structure beam and first floor brick wall. In the architect drawing, only keep the column next to store 2 and removing the rest. I'm concerning about the structure stability. Should i demolish the column, or is it possible to add back the column once removed? Thank you in advance for the your opinions. As for the renovation, gotten approval from KM, MPSJ and relevant dept. red square - column red line - beam blue - demolish This post has been edited by jungirl: Feb 26 2023, 08:13 AM
TSjungirl
Feb 26 2023, 10:01 AM
QUOTE(kk131 @ Feb 26 2023, 09:39 AM) You should seek the opinion of a Structural Engineer. Yes, midst of arranging it. Thanks
TSjungirl
Feb 26 2023, 10:06 AM
QUOTE(asdasd @ Feb 26 2023, 09:40 AM) Get a professional engineer to check for you, don't ask in forum. This involves your safety. In the end, you still need to submit to majlis for approval which requires endorsement from architect & engineer. The architect drawing(approved by KM) only keeping the column next to store 2. I’m abit sceptical with that decision.
TSjungirl
Feb 26 2023, 10:07 AM
QUOTE(metalfire @ Feb 26 2023, 09:46 AM) This kinda thing, still need architect and engineer to confirm. Definitely. I will counter check the architect drawing with structure engineer
TSjungirl
Feb 26 2023, 10:10 AM
QUOTE(bobowyc @ Feb 26 2023, 10:06 AM) Cannot just leave it there? Its ground beam right? lol. Usually ground beams dont remove. its usually holding the whole structure by counterweight or usually its walls above it or holding the first floor beams. IMO only. Just seek expert advise, im not expert, just saying this cause if its there, there's a reason lol Attempt to create larger space for the living room, dining and dry kitchen area.
TSjungirl
Feb 26 2023, 10:24 AM
QUOTE(metalfire @ Feb 26 2023, 10:21 AM) if you can share what they say here later, would be great info. thank you very much. and hope your renovation goes smoothly. Thanks. I share once got any update.