SUGGESTION : SUB-FORUM FOR STOCK MARKET, Close the pinned thread, start sub-forum

TSskiddtrader
post Oct 12 2007, 11:19 PM, updated 19y ago

Suspicious
3,037 posts

Cheeroy, panasonic88 or any of the moderators, may I suggest making a sub-forum for stock market discussions since the pinned thread fills up too fast for everyone to catch up with. I just went through 40 pages for goodness sakes -.-', after a week holiday. And seeing that the thread is already at Ver. 5 at page 89, I think by the end of Oct, we might need a Ver.6. Compared to the other threads in this sub-forum, nothing can even compare to the participation and active posting by forumers of stock market enthusiast .

Reasons why I think a subforum be made.

-People who are asking for help in pinned thread are not getting the attention due to frequent KLCI and DJIA price updates/movements.

-Proper discussions about qualities of stocks and analysis are never able to gather steam due to the amount of posts in between.

-Thread topics by counter names are easier to follow by other posters rather than frequent asking of who owns what at every page.

-News and tips are more organize and visible rather than going through 50 replies to read what you need.

Please consider this and if anyone supports this, please sign on this thread with reason if possible. Thank you.

Regards and signed,
skiddtrader nod.gif

This post has been edited by skiddtrader: Oct 12 2007, 11:20 PM
zeist
post Oct 12 2007, 11:21 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

Post here, you'll get more attention from other moderators as well.

http://forum.lowyat.net/MainSiteForumFeedbackandHelpdesk
cherroy
post Oct 12 2007, 11:49 PM

25,802 posts

Yup, anyone support this move.

May be split it to:

1: rojak talk including tips and rumour about market and daily movement
2. specific company/counters talk/discussion.

Any suggestion.
yewkhuay
post Oct 12 2007, 11:52 PM

I don't even belong here....
6,657 posts

u hav my vote....

split into :
1. stock market chat (not fight...)
2. specific Stock discussion...
flow
post Oct 13 2007, 12:03 AM

sAme Sh|t d|ffeRent dAy
848 posts

yes, i support this idea.

TSskiddtrader
post Oct 13 2007, 02:49 AM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

Thanks for the support from cheeroy and others so far. Hopefully this can be realised before ver. 6 comes about. rclxms.gif

Channel News Asia Market Talk

The link above is roughly what I have in mind lowyat.net style of course. Noticed the threads with counter names have a lot of posts in it because of the popularity of the counters.

This post has been edited by skiddtrader: Oct 13 2007, 02:56 AM
bioweapon83
post Oct 13 2007, 02:59 AM

1,201 posts

i agreed on this as well since it will focus on more specific discussion.
goldfries
post Oct 13 2007, 06:23 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

thread moved.

however you have my support for this suggestion. biggrin.gif

edited : used wrong word. hehe.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Oct 13 2007, 06:23 AM
natakaasd
post Oct 13 2007, 05:55 PM

2,188 posts

This does make sense. You've got my vote too!

Cheers!
bryanyeo87
post Oct 13 2007, 05:56 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

you have my vote too smile.gif
wKkaY
post Oct 13 2007, 07:53 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

We can rename the current topic to "stock market kopitiam", and add a stock market tag for easy filtering of stock market topics.
bryanyeo87
post Oct 14 2007, 12:00 AM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Oct 13 2007, 07:53 PM)
We can rename the current topic to "stock market kopitiam", and add a stock market tag for easy filtering of stock market topics.
i know what you mean, but would it be better to have 2 threads, one is for just for stock market kopitiam/speculation and market related and another for full stock discussion based on actual and not speculation info and stuffs?
TSskiddtrader
post Oct 14 2007, 02:16 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Oct 13 2007, 07:53 PM)
wKkaY, so you mean you will rename the current stock market thread as 'stock market kopitiam' and add a stock market tag so that people who starts stock market threads need to tag it so people in the future can find their thread by filtering?

Added on October 14, 2007, 2:19 pm
QUOTE(bryanyeo87 @ Oct 14 2007, 12:00 AM)
i know what you mean, but would it be better to have 2 threads, one is for just for stock market kopitiam/speculation and market related and another for full stock discussion based on actual and not speculation info and stuffs?
I rather have a sub-forum by itself rather than 2 threads. Since having 2 threads would still confuse people and doesn't solve some of the problems faced now. But of course a sub-forum would mean added responsibilities and would still depend whether the staff can handle the additional work load. So I'm keeping my fingers crossed for 1 to be created inside Finance, Business and Investment forum but separated as a sub-forum just like what you see in the gaming forum in LYN.

Added on October 17, 2007, 11:21 amHello fellow admin and moderators, just want to ask if there is any update on this? I'm still hoping the admin will make the stock market thread a sub-forum like the Property sub-forum in Finance, Business and Investment forum (FBI).

Observation of activity :

Property sub-forum has 214 topics and 3000+ replies in its lifespan. unsure.gif

Stock market thread is currently version 5 with 2800+ replies. shocking.gif

Regards,
skiddtrader

This post has been edited by skiddtrader: Oct 17 2007, 11:21 AM
_alamak_
post Oct 17 2007, 11:52 AM

65 posts

OBJECT! vmad.gif

If we have different topic for each stock, then there are too many threads to read. I prefer what we have currently. What we need is everyone to participate timely.

TSskiddtrader
post Nov 8 2007, 12:40 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(_alamak_ @ Oct 17 2007, 11:52 AM)
OBJECT!  vmad.gif

If we have different topic for each stock, then there are too many threads to read. I prefer what we have currently. What we need is everyone to participate timely.
Too many threads doesn't mean you have to read through everything, it lets people read what THEY want to read. At the current moment, we have to read everything from DJIA updates, China Updates, KLCI updates to election updates, all in one thread which if you do not follow for a day, can balloon up a few pages.

A sub-forum like the Property sub-forum, will divide itself properly by counters and subjects. No one will post about TENAGA counter in a HK-warrant counter thread. If you aren't interested in HK-warrants, you don't need to look into the thread at all, unlike now, we have to read through every post in the Stock Market thread even though it doesn't interest or add value to what we are primarily interested in.

I'm still hoping the Administrators can find enough manpower/staff to handle a new sub-forum. Sub-forums like the Property ones should be made a thread instead and be replaced with the stock market based on number of posting and interest.

*Fingers crossed

Some numbers for thought.

Current stock market thread is at Version 6 at 55 pages. Version 6 started about 2 weeks ago on Oct 26th 5.12pm.

Fund investment Thread which started in Nov 2006 has not reach version 2 yet, nor did Forex trading thread.

Property sub-forum since it started has so far generated 3432 replies in its lifetime. Compared to 2536 replies in stock market thread version 5, if one thread can hold 2536 post on average, 5 versions so far has generated more than 12000 replies. Currently it is at its 6th re-incarnation.

This post has been edited by skiddtrader: Nov 8 2007, 12:52 PM
beginner
post Nov 8 2007, 02:31 PM

374 posts

u have my vote.
firedauz
post Nov 13 2007, 01:31 AM

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

QUOTE(skiddtrader @ Oct 12 2007, 11:19 PM)
Cheeroy, panasonic88 or any of the moderators, may I suggest making a sub-forum for stock market discussions since the pinned thread fills up too fast for everyone to catch up with. I just went through 40 pages for goodness sakes -.-', after a week holiday. And seeing that the thread is already at Ver. 5 at page 89, I think by the end of Oct, we might need a Ver.6. Compared to the other threads in this sub-forum, nothing can even compare to the participation and active posting by forumers of stock market enthusiast .

Reasons why I think a subforum be made.

-People who are asking for help in pinned thread are not getting the attention due to frequent KLCI and DJIA price updates/movements.

-Proper discussions about qualities of stocks and analysis are never able to gather steam due to the amount of posts in between.

-Thread topics by counter names are easier to follow by other posters rather than frequent asking of who owns what at every page.

-News and tips are more organize and visible rather than going through 50 replies to read what you need.
Please consider this and if anyone supports this, please sign on this thread with reason if possible. Thank you.

Regards and signed,
skiddtrader  nod.gif
Isn't this abit unfair to the rest of the pinned topic?

If Stocks get to become a sub-forum, can Forex become one too?
TSskiddtrader
post Nov 21 2007, 07:19 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(firedauz @ Nov 13 2007, 01:31 AM)
Isn't this abit unfair to the rest of the pinned topic?

If Stocks get to become a sub-forum, can Forex become one too?
I would agree with this only if the Forex thread can generate the amount of posts and interest that can beat the Stock Market thread and also the Property sub-forum. So far as you can see from some of my posts above, the numbers are factual evidence of the popularity and there is I believe a need to 'upgrade' the stock market thread to a sub-forum to managed the various topics discussed under the thread.

I'm not saying the Forex don't deserve a sub-forum of its own. I'm just fighting for a stock market sub-forum. If you feel it is unfair if the administrator granted the stock market thread an upgrade to a sub-forum and not the Forex thread, I suggest you fight for the Forex one as well. Cheers.
low yat 82
post Dec 6 2007, 07:55 PM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

still no update? really wish stock market can b expand... coz everything put in one thread really feels abit messy....
TSskiddtrader
post Dec 12 2007, 12:27 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Dec 6 2007, 07:55 PM)
still no update? really wish stock market can b expand... coz everything put in one thread really feels abit messy....
Have to get more support for it. As long as a lot of people support the idea, at least the admin will notice it and maybe plan to spare more resources and staff to start the sub-forum.

I can't believe the thread is already at it's 8th re-incarnation with many more new posters appearing everyday. icon_question.gif

Hopefully it'll get implemented soon.

0.0189sec    0.84    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 05:19 AM