[2023] Mac Mini with M2/M2 Pro Discussion Thread, More muscle. More hustle.

TSwestlife
post Jan 18 2023, 08:41 AM, updated 2y ago

14,306 posts

reserved...
Barricade
post Jan 18 2023, 08:58 AM

4,163 posts

RM2079 for education price. Getting one soon once it's available.
Matchy
post Jan 18 2023, 09:03 AM

1,327 posts

just wondering, is purchasing mac mini eligible for tax relief?
TSwestlife
post Jan 18 2023, 09:51 AM

14,306 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Jan 18 2023, 08:58 AM)
yes. dirt cheap the starting price now. totally worth it to buy to use at home pc. tongue.gif

it means it is only sgd630++?? wah lagi cheaper than lion city educational price.

This post has been edited by westlife: Jan 18 2023, 09:52 AM
Barricade
post Jan 18 2023, 10:15 AM

4,163 posts

QUOTE(Matchy @ Jan 18 2023, 09:03 AM)
just wondering, is purchasing mac mini eligible for tax relief?
Yes. It's a computer.
Matchy
post Jan 18 2023, 10:22 AM

1,327 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Jan 18 2023, 10:15 AM)
Yes. It's a computer.
some said without the monitor/keyboard, it is not consider as computer... sweat.gif so, just want to be sure.
busyman
post Jan 18 2023, 10:24 AM

1,465 posts

question, is the SSD and RAM upgradable via DIY method?
loonsave
post Jan 18 2023, 10:30 AM

1,635 posts

QUOTE(busyman @ Jan 18 2023, 10:24 AM)
Short answer, no.
d@odao
post Jan 18 2023, 11:00 AM

Daodao
2,648 posts

I m looking forward for this new mini. 🤭
Barricade
post Jan 18 2023, 11:03 AM

4,163 posts

QUOTE(busyman @ Jan 18 2023, 10:24 AM)
It's ridiculous Apple is charging RM800 for upgrading 256GB to 512GB. I rather get external SSD drive. Western Digital external SSD 1TB only RM5xx
LDP
post Jan 18 2023, 07:37 PM

638 posts

Can someone expain how can I apply for educational price ?
blabla987
post Jan 18 2023, 07:40 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(LDP @ Jan 18 2023, 07:37 PM)
have to be a student?
Barricade
post Jan 18 2023, 08:30 PM

4,163 posts

Be a student or teacher.
jiaen0509
post Jan 18 2023, 10:24 PM

3,307 posts

Need UNiDAYS verification. I just tested with my Uni email. Still can access and verified. But not sure whether will Apple manual check student status or not like ask to provide student ID etc.

LDP
post Jan 19 2023, 07:51 AM

638 posts

QUOTE(jiaen0509 @ Jan 18 2023, 10:24 PM)
Need UNiDAYS verification. I just tested with my Uni email. Still can access and verified. But not sure whether will Apple manual check student status or not like ask to provide student ID etc.
Thsnks. I hv heard that the discount does not apply to Mac mini.
GamaX320
post Jan 19 2023, 08:42 AM

822 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Jan 18 2023, 11:03 AM)
It's ridiculous Apple is charging RM800 for upgrading 256GB to 512GB. I rather get external SSD drive. Western Digital external SSD 1TB only RM5xx
how we apply external SSD drive?
jiaen0509
post Jan 19 2023, 08:48 AM

3,307 posts

QUOTE(LDP @ Jan 19 2023, 07:51 AM)
Thsnks. I hv heard that the discount does not apply to Mac mini.
Your source is wrong. There is education price for Mac Mini.
TSwestlife
post Jan 19 2023, 08:49 AM

14,306 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Jan 18 2023, 11:03 AM)
It is internal storage and the write and read speed are a lot better than external ssd.

It is indeed expensive but the performance is also much better.
Barricade
post Jan 19 2023, 09:26 AM

4,163 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jan 19 2023, 08:49 AM)
It is internal storage and the write and read speed are a lot better than external ssd.

It is indeed expensive but the performance is also much better.
Even WD Black SN850 NVMe with 7000MB/s read and 5300MB/s write only cost RM7xx for 1TB (RM5xx if we buy from US). Apple just had to include a M.2 slot. So no... I can never justify their ridiculous upgrade price. Speed is not an excuse for it.

chupapi_munyayo
post Jan 24 2023, 02:53 AM

398 posts

The price is 8 gb ram?
I think better get at least 16gb ram
Skeuomorphic
post Jan 25 2023, 04:28 PM

671 posts

Just a heads up

https://www.macrumors.com/2023/01/24/m2-mac...6gb-slower-ssd/
Mavik
post Jan 26 2023, 03:32 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

I did not know that the Mac Mini was made in Malaysia

meors
post Jan 30 2023, 08:30 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(Skeuomorphic @ Jan 25 2023, 04:28 PM)
in real world application is actually faster? but the pricing is really killing the intel based pc.
hope M1 Mini price also going down, can use as set top box for TV
firdausbhari
post Feb 9 2023, 01:26 PM

2,281 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jan 26 2023, 03:32 PM)
I did not know that the Mac Mini was made in Malaysia

factory in Johor
TSwestlife
post Feb 9 2023, 01:29 PM

14,306 posts

QUOTE(firdausbhari @ Feb 9 2023, 01:26 PM)
factory in Johor
Cool.
firdausbhari
post Feb 9 2023, 01:40 PM

2,281 posts

QUOTE(meors @ Jan 30 2023, 08:30 PM)
in real world application is actually faster? but the pricing is really killing the intel based pc.
hope M1 Mini price also going down, can use as set top box for TV
for set top box more recommended to buy AppleTV or any certified Google TV/Android TV

d@odao
post Feb 9 2023, 01:53 PM

Daodao
2,648 posts

QUOTE(firdausbhari @ Feb 9 2023, 01:40 PM)
for set top box more recommended to buy AppleTV or any certified Google TV/Android TV
I hv apple tv and google chromecast. Thru out the year i also use minix player.
I prefer apple tv bcoz smoothest experience and integration with other apple product especially iPhone (can use as remote).
Google chromecast getting slower each day.
firdausbhari
post Feb 9 2023, 04:01 PM

2,281 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ Feb 9 2023, 01:53 PM)
I prefer apple tv bcoz smoothest experience and integration with other apple product especially iPhone (can use as remote).
Agreed. I also use my AppleTV to mirror my iPhone or Mac. Guess im still stuck in their eco system
TSwestlife
post Feb 9 2023, 04:16 PM

14,306 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ Feb 9 2023, 01:53 PM)
indeed. google chromecast will get hang over days.. and sometime no sound for no reason. need to restart it to get it worked again.
d@odao
post Feb 9 2023, 05:34 PM

Daodao
2,648 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Feb 9 2023, 04:16 PM)
indeed. google chromecast will get hang over days.. and sometime no sound for no reason. need to restart it to get it worked again.
Ya. I experienced that also.
Skeuomorphic
post Feb 9 2023, 11:14 PM

671 posts

Mac mini (2023, M2) with model number A2816 and A2686 just passed SIRIM. Should be available soon
TSwestlife
post Feb 9 2023, 11:45 PM

14,306 posts

What is the educational price of the cheapest Mac mini in bolehland?
jiaen0509
post Feb 10 2023, 08:42 AM

3,307 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Feb 9 2023, 11:45 PM)
What is the educational price of the cheapest Mac mini in bolehland?
RM 2,079.
TSwestlife
post Feb 10 2023, 01:22 PM

14,306 posts

QUOTE(jiaen0509 @ Feb 10 2023, 08:42 AM)
RM 2,079.
that's cheap.... tongue.gif

lion city is around rm2300++

This post has been edited by westlife: Feb 10 2023, 01:23 PM
TSwestlife
post Feb 10 2023, 01:23 PM

14,306 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Jan 18 2023, 08:30 PM)
Be a student or teacher.
can be primary school student also or?
jiaen0509
post Feb 10 2023, 06:43 PM

3,307 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Feb 10 2023, 01:23 PM)
can be primary school student also or?
Those eligible to purchase from the Apple Store for Education Individuals include faculty, staff, students and parents as follows:

K12 - Any employee of a public or private K-12 institution in Malaysia is eligible. In addition, school board members who are currently serving as elected or appointed members are eligible. PTA or PTO executives currently serving as elected or appointed officers are eligible.

Higher Education - Faculty and staff of Higher Education institutions; and students attending, or accepted into a Higher Education Institution in Malaysia are eligible to purchase. Purchases from the Apple Store for Education Individuals are not for institutional purchase or resale.

Higher Education Parents - Parents purchasing on behalf of their child, who is a student currently attending or accepted into a public or private Higher Education Institution in Malaysia, are eligible to purchase.

Source:https://www.apple.com/my-edu/shop/open/salespolicies#Eligibility

Look like K12 Students is not included?
jiaen0509
post Feb 22 2023, 09:33 AM

3,307 posts

Mac Mini M2 available now.
Skeuomorphic
post Feb 22 2023, 11:19 AM

671 posts

delivery range 03/03/2023 - 07/03/2023
Barricade
post Feb 22 2023, 07:20 PM

4,163 posts

Too bad not eligible for free airpod
xkaizoku
post Feb 24 2023, 07:41 PM

220 posts

any opinions on the m2 mac mini, looks tempting at Rm2079 but saw the news of slower ssd speeds and its made in malaysia

jiaen0509
post Feb 25 2023, 09:08 AM

3,307 posts

QUOTE(xkaizoku @ Feb 24 2023, 07:41 PM)
any opinions on the m2 mac mini, looks tempting at Rm2079 but saw the news of slower ssd speeds and its made in malaysia
If you are interested in Mac Mini, I believe you are not using it as your main productivity machine? If you have requirements for performance, you should choose other ones such as MacBook Pro, Studio. If you just want experience MacOS. 2079 is worth of it and the SSD doesn't affect you much.
tcwan
post Feb 25 2023, 12:52 PM

151 posts

Made in Malaysia is not a disadvantage. I don't think our manufacturing quality is an issue.

Recommendation is to go for the 16 GB RAM 512 GB SSD model, unless you are just doing basic web/email/office stuff.
That is the config that I'm planning on getting.

512 GB SSD has better performance than the 256 GB model. 16 GB RAM allows for some graphics work as well as ability to drive 2 4K monitors with enough RAM to run other programs comfortably. If you're looking at video editing, then the M2 Pro is probably better suited?

This post has been edited by tcwan: Feb 25 2023, 12:54 PM
TSwestlife
post Feb 25 2023, 01:20 PM

14,306 posts

QUOTE(tcwan @ Feb 25 2023, 12:52 PM)
Made in Malaysia is not a disadvantage. I don't think our manufacturing quality is an issue.

Recommendation is to go for the 16 GB RAM 512 GB SSD model, unless you are just doing basic web/email/office stuff.

512 GB SSD has better performance than the 256 GB model. 16 GB RAM allows for some graphics work as well as ability to drive 2 4K monitors with enough RAM to run other programs comfortably. If you're looking at video editing, then the M2 Pro is probably better suited?
but with 512GB ssd and 16gb ram, it makes the price a lot higher. but agree that it is certainly better for future proof and for some video editing work.

dun recommend anyone to go for M2 Pro for mac mini, one should be better to go with mac studio if they are keen to do more serious work.

personally feel that the base model will be the best deal for any basic user without doing video editing. it is now the cheapest option for anyone to try out macOS.
Barricade
post Feb 25 2023, 02:44 PM

4,163 posts

What's wrong with made in Malaysia? doh.gif
PowerPC
post Feb 25 2023, 10:47 PM

269 posts

I have ordered the base M2 MacMini, just to use with Smart TV at home to view Ads Free YouTube (Using Adguard), those ads in Youtube is way too much. Beside that, this Mac Mini will also serve as a family hub to store Photos & Videos (via 2TB External SSD, view downloaded 4K movies etc.

To me, instead of buying Apple TV or Chrome Cast, Mac Mini is more expensive but also more useful, it can browse internet and most office task even travel video editing is more than capable.

I think you need to think what you want to do with it, and know what you want. Mac Mini has it own proposed use case.

For RM2k+ , I can’t find any packages better than it.

TSwestlife
post Feb 25 2023, 11:05 PM

14,306 posts

QUOTE(PowerPC @ Feb 25 2023, 10:47 PM)
I have ordered the base M2 MacMini, just to use with Smart TV at home to view Ads Free YouTube (Using Adguard), those ads in Youtube is way too much. Beside that, this Mac Mini will also serve as a family hub to store Photos & Videos (via 2TB External SSD, view downloaded 4K movies etc.

To me, instead of buying Apple TV or Chrome Cast, Mac Mini is more expensive but also more useful, it can browse internet and most office task even travel video editing is more than capable.

I think you need to think what you want to do with it, and know what you want. Mac Mini has it own proposed use case.

For RM2k+ , I can’t find any packages better than it.
Indeed. It is a good choice to use it as a media player for home.

Yes, YouTube ad is absurd. Irritating to the max.
TSwestlife
post Feb 25 2023, 11:06 PM

14,306 posts

Can someone posts the screenshot of the educational price for Mac mini?
1234kingbling
post Feb 26 2023, 11:40 AM

313 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Feb 25 2023, 11:06 PM)
Can someone posts the screenshot of the educational price for Mac mini?
TSwestlife
post Feb 26 2023, 12:40 PM

14,306 posts

QUOTE(1234kingbling @ Feb 26 2023, 11:40 AM)
Thanks a lot. 😊
d@odao
post Feb 26 2023, 01:08 PM

Daodao
2,648 posts

Is mac mini m2 with 16gb ram and 256gb storage (use external ssd for extra storage) good?
Or, mac mini m2 with 8gb ram and 512gb storage?

Casual usage to replacement all the old Mac at home (mostly more than 12years dy).

This post has been edited by d@odao: Feb 26 2023, 01:19 PM
1234kingbling
post Feb 26 2023, 02:05 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ Feb 26 2023, 01:08 PM)
Is mac mini m2 with 16gb ram and 256gb storage (use external ssd for extra storage) good?

Casual usage to replacement all the old Mac at home (mostly more than 12years dy).
as im looking to get 1 myself, based on my research, having higher RAM is better than having larger internal storage since storage can be solved externally but ram we cant.
Kiding
post Feb 26 2023, 02:21 PM

1,135 posts

Mac mini M2 with 16Gb + 1TB Thunderbolt4 external SSD = Best cost effective combination. 1TB Thunderbolt4 external SSD can give you >2.4GB/sec read and 2GB/sec write speed, better than internal pathetic 256GB SSD
d@odao
post Feb 26 2023, 02:28 PM

Daodao
2,648 posts

QUOTE(1234kingbling @ Feb 26 2023, 02:05 PM)
as im looking to get 1 myself, based on my research, having higher RAM is better than having larger internal storage since storage can be solved externally but ram we cant.
QUOTE(Kiding @ Feb 26 2023, 02:21 PM)
Mac mini M2 with 16Gb + 1TB Thunderbolt4 external SSD = Best cost effective combination. 1TB Thunderbolt4 external SSD can give you >2.4GB/sec read and 2GB/sec write speed, better than internal pathetic 256GB SSD
Ya. I m leaning towards to ram than internal storage.
Better future proof with ram too.

I m thinking to get a dock/enclosure too.

This post has been edited by d@odao: Feb 26 2023, 02:30 PM
1234kingbling
post Feb 26 2023, 02:37 PM

313 posts

Has anyone ordered one? how long will the shipping take? and does anyone know if the 2.5k + 2.5k tax incentive for 2023 still applicable or back to the usual 2.5k only.
TSwestlife
post Feb 26 2023, 02:40 PM

14,306 posts

If u can only choose one, go for ram Becos it cannot be upgraded later.

Storage can still possible be complimented with external storage.

This post has been edited by westlife: Feb 26 2023, 02:41 PM
PowerPC
post Feb 27 2023, 09:53 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Feb 25 2023, 11:05 PM)
Indeed. It is a good choice to use it as a media player for home.

Yes, YouTube ad is absurd. Irritating to the max.
True, even Kids program they also put a long unskip-able ads, this is wayyyy to much until I want to block it, and don't want to pay a single cent to YouTube Premium !

The YouTube Kid app in SmartTV they even put a 4mins cartoon ads in a 2 mins kid music video.

I understand they need profit to provide us free service, but I accepted that if only few second of ads, have no complain last time. But then they make way too much, in a 10min videos, they insert 3 to 4 ads in the middle, I was like what the heck ?

So, buy a Mac Mini and solve it. brows.gif
PowerPC
post Feb 27 2023, 09:56 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ Feb 26 2023, 02:28 PM)
Ya. I m leaning towards to ram than internal storage.
Better future proof with ram too.

I m thinking to get a dock/enclosure too.
You can consider Samsung T7 Shield (or Normal T7) in Amazon, USD 149 for 2TB (or USD 89 for 1TB), after convert to MYR something below RM800 or RM460 for 1TB, I got 1 last year, very fast and reliable, can use with iPad also. (remember to format it in exFAT to let both MacOS and Windows read/write).

For RAM, I would say more is better but very depend on your task with this tiny PC, even base 8GB, MacOS can very comfortable with it.
TSwestlife
post Feb 27 2023, 11:55 AM

14,306 posts

QUOTE(PowerPC @ Feb 27 2023, 09:53 AM)
True, even Kids program they also put a long unskip-able ads, this is wayyyy to much until I want to block it, and don't want to pay a single cent to YouTube Premium !
The YouTube Kid app in SmartTV they even put a 4mins cartoon ads in a 2 mins kid music video.

I understand they need profit to provide us free service, but I accepted that if only few second of ads, have no complain last time. But then they make way too much, in a 10min videos, they insert 3 to 4 ads in the middle, I was like what the heck ?

So, buy a Mac Mini and solve it.  brows.gif
Yeah I dun want to pay YouTube premium also. See the ad also they are making money not seeing the ad also they are making money.
PowerPC
post Feb 27 2023, 01:08 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Feb 27 2023, 11:55 AM)
Yeah I dun want to pay YouTube premium also. See the ad also they are making money not seeing the ad also they are making money.
Yeah, they are doing way too much on that.

Even those video sometimes already contain promotion inside, ads is everywhere. nod.gif
Barricade
post Feb 28 2023, 12:19 AM

4,163 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Feb 27 2023, 11:55 AM)
Cannot block youtube ads on ipad?
d@odao
post Feb 28 2023, 12:24 AM

Daodao
2,648 posts

I just placed my order for the M2 16gb ram 256gb storage. Delivers by 15/3.
TSwestlife
post Feb 28 2023, 06:15 AM

14,306 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Feb 28 2023, 12:19 AM)
Cannot block youtube ads on ipad?
Cannot.
dwRK
post Feb 28 2023, 11:00 AM

the consummate chartist
6,247 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ Feb 28 2023, 12:24 AM)
I just placed my order for the M2 16gb ram 256gb storage. Delivers by 15/3.
what is the damage? smile.gif
dwRK
post Feb 28 2023, 11:01 AM

the consummate chartist
6,247 posts

QUOTE(PowerPC @ Feb 27 2023, 09:53 AM)

So, buy a Mac Mini and solve it.  brows.gif
what do you use to block YouTube ad?
d@odao
post Feb 28 2023, 01:06 PM

Daodao
2,648 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Feb 28 2023, 11:00 AM)
what is the damage? smile.gif
Rm3299. 😅
PowerPC
post Feb 28 2023, 01:10 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Feb 28 2023, 06:15 AM)
Cannot.
Yes can, You do that by buying an apps call "AdGaurd" in App Store, Rm20.90 per year only, it block all ads including sponsor/useless intro section in every videos, and it also block all flying ads in majority website, you can turn it off for some web make it in allow list.

The only thing is, you can't use YouTube app to view youtube, need to use Safari. (I find it better than YouTube App), You can view same 4K/8K video with HDR, all function is same.

QUOTE(dwRK @ Feb 28 2023, 11:01 AM)
what do you use to block YouTube ad?
There is 2 ways to block, 1 is free, 1 is paid app.

If you use chrome, search Google with an Chrome Extension call : Adguard , it is free Chrome Plug-in, after install Pin it in Extension section, and run it. It will block all Youtube ads.

For Safari, you need to purchase an app in App store call AdGuard, for RM20.90 per years, but the good thing is, once purchased it will also able to install in your iPad/pro iPhone, and use it both MacOS and IpadOS, iOS, all now ads free.
TSwestlife
post Feb 28 2023, 03:29 PM

14,306 posts

QUOTE(PowerPC @ Feb 28 2023, 01:10 PM)
Yes can, You do that by buying an apps call "AdGaurd" in App Store, Rm20.90 per year only, it block all ads including sponsor/useless intro section in every videos, and it also block all flying ads in majority website, you can turn it off for some web make it in allow list.

The only thing is, you can't use YouTube app to view youtube, need to use Safari. (I find it better than YouTube App), You can view same 4K/8K video with HDR, all function is same.

If you use chrome, search Google with an Chrome Extension call : Adguard , it is free Chrome Plug-in, after install Pin it in Extension section, and run it. It will block all Youtube ads.

For Safari, you need to purchase an app in App store call AdGuard, for RM20.90 per years, but the good thing is, once purchased it will also able to install in your iPad/pro iPhone, and use it both MacOS and IpadOS, iOS, all now ads free.
if like that it is the same as a desktop, we can easily block ad for youtube but not on an app like on iphone or even a tv.

then to me it is not a 'solution' actually. the experience of watching youtube via safari on an iphone is not good.
PowerPC
post Feb 28 2023, 03:51 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Feb 28 2023, 03:29 PM)
if like that it is the same as a desktop, we can easily block ad for youtube but not on an app like on iphone or even a tv.

then to me it is not a 'solution' actually. the experience of watching youtube via safari on an iphone is not good.
I dont have iPhone, so can't commend on that, but it work very well in my iPadPro Safari. For phone, my Galaxy use YouTube Vanced work flawlessly as well. laugh.gif
dwRK
post Mar 1 2023, 08:22 AM

the consummate chartist
6,247 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ Feb 28 2023, 01:06 PM)
Rm3299. 😅

QUOTE(PowerPC @ Feb 28 2023, 01:10 PM)

i use adguard's dns at pc/phone level... can also use at router but i decided i wanna see some ads sometimes... lol

vanced is excellent... too bad closed shop due to threats by google...

PowerPC
post Mar 1 2023, 10:44 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Mar 1 2023, 08:22 AM)
i use adguard's dns at pc/phone level... can also use at router but i decided i wanna see some ads sometimes... lol

vanced is excellent... too bad closed shop due to threats by google...
Lol laugh.gif

Vanced still there but become independent Apk app, and it will download microG together, work very well and I would say it is safe biggrin.gif

Would like to learn how adguard can install in router ?
PowerPC
post Mar 1 2023, 11:28 AM

269 posts

p/s : Anyone ordered M2 Mac Mini here ? Do your order still processing or shipped ?

My order is still processing since 22 Feb, wondering why take so long as what I know the current Mac Mini is made in Malaysia laugh.gif
d@odao
post Mar 1 2023, 01:05 PM

Daodao
2,648 posts

QUOTE(PowerPC @ Mar 1 2023, 11:28 AM)
p/s : Anyone ordered M2 Mac Mini here ? Do your order still processing or shipped ?

My order is still processing since 22 Feb, wondering why take so long as what I know the current Mac Mini is made in Malaysia laugh.gif
Still processing. Waiting for Apple to upgrade the ram. 😂
PowerPC
post Mar 1 2023, 02:16 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ Mar 1 2023, 01:05 PM)
Still processing. Waiting for Apple to upgrade the ram. 😂
dwRK
post Mar 1 2023, 09:13 PM

the consummate chartist
6,247 posts

QUOTE(PowerPC @ Mar 1 2023, 10:44 AM)
Lol  laugh.gif

Vanced still there but become independent Apk app, and it will download microG together, work very well and I would say it is safe biggrin.gif

Would like to learn how adguard can install in router ?
long time vanced user here... wink.gif

not install adguard lah... just use their dns server, instead of using unifi or Google dns... https://adguard-dns.io/en/public-dns.html see method 2...

PowerPC
post Mar 2 2023, 11:02 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Mar 1 2023, 09:13 PM)
long time vanced user here... wink.gif

not install adguard lah... just use their dns server, instead of using unifi or Google dns... https://adguard-dns.io/en/public-dns.html see method 2...
Thank you !

d@odao
post Mar 2 2023, 04:17 PM

Daodao
2,648 posts

QUOTE(PowerPC @ Mar 1 2023, 02:16 PM)
Mine have changed to preparing to ship…
jinaun
post Mar 2 2023, 05:14 PM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

M2 mini just starting shipping (shipped) from sg 15 mins ago

This post has been edited by jinaun: Mar 2 2023, 05:16 PM
PowerPC
post Mar 2 2023, 08:33 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(jinaun @ Mar 2 2023, 05:14 PM)
M2 mini just starting shipping (shipped) from sg 15 mins ago

Same here, ship from SG. Pickup just now @ 4 something.
NujNay
post Mar 3 2023, 08:00 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(PowerPC @ Mar 2 2023, 08:33 PM)
Same here, ship from SG. Pickup just now @ 4 something.
Interestingly mine is being delivered from shenzhen
d@odao
post Mar 3 2023, 09:07 AM

Daodao
2,648 posts

QUOTE(NujNay @ Mar 3 2023, 08:00 AM)
Interestingly mine is being delivered from shenzhen
Did u spec up your mini?
NujNay
post Mar 3 2023, 10:16 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ Mar 3 2023, 09:07 AM)
Did u spec up your mini?
Yup, both ram and ssd. Yours is from shenzhen as well?
d@odao
post Mar 3 2023, 10:24 AM

Daodao
2,648 posts

QUOTE(NujNay @ Mar 3 2023, 10:16 AM)
Yup, both ram and ssd. Yours is from shenzhen as well?
Mine still preparing to ship…did the ram only…
Guess shld be the same as yours, because ETA is 15th….
jinaun
post Mar 3 2023, 02:10 PM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

mine from Singapore yesterday and today morning got this status

Arrived at DHL Sort Facility SUBANG - SULTAN ABDUL AZIZ SHAH - MALAYSIA

SUBANG - SULTAN ABDUL AZIZ SHAH - MALAYSIA
d@odao
post Mar 3 2023, 02:22 PM

Daodao
2,648 posts

QUOTE(jinaun @ Mar 3 2023, 02:10 PM)

Yours didn’t upgrade anything, right?
NujNay
post Mar 3 2023, 06:20 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(jinaun @ Mar 3 2023, 02:10 PM)

Same status as mine now. At subang airport.
d@odao
post Mar 3 2023, 07:44 PM

Daodao
2,648 posts

Mine now have changed to shipped.
Is coming soon. 🤭
NujNay
post Mar 3 2023, 09:07 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ Mar 3 2023, 07:44 PM)
Mine now have changed to shipped.
Is coming soon. 🤭
That's very fast! Hopefully we all get the item soon 😁
d@odao
post Mar 3 2023, 09:15 PM

Daodao
2,648 posts

QUOTE(NujNay @ Mar 3 2023, 09:07 PM)
That's very fast! Hopefully we all get the item soon 😁
Mine also from shenzen.
Based on the tracking, they are fast.
xkaizoku
post Mar 4 2023, 04:13 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(jiaen0509 @ Feb 25 2023, 09:08 AM)
If you are interested in Mac Mini, I believe you are not using it as your main productivity machine? If you have requirements for performance, you should choose other ones such as MacBook Pro, Studio. If you just want experience MacOS. 2079 is worth of it and the SSD doesn't affect you much.
nah, just casual use

QUOTE(tcwan @ Feb 25 2023, 12:52 PM)

I plan to get 256/16 as many people said ram cannot upgrade but storage just add external ssd

QUOTE(Barricade @ Feb 25 2023, 02:44 PM)
What's wrong with made in Malaysia?  doh.gif
nothing, just curious about the quality
d@odao
post Mar 6 2023, 09:56 AM

Daodao
2,648 posts

My mini stucked at custom. Now DHL requested for ID document or else the order will be cancelled and refunded. Haihz.
NujNay
post Mar 6 2023, 10:47 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ Mar 6 2023, 09:56 AM)
My mini stucked at custom. Now DHL requested for ID document or else the order will be cancelled and refunded. Haihz.
Oh no, I hope everything will be ok. Mine arrived on Saturday, way ahead of time. But haven't got the time to play around with it much.
d@odao
post Mar 6 2023, 11:14 AM

Daodao
2,648 posts

QUOTE(NujNay @ Mar 6 2023, 10:47 AM)
Oh no, I hope everything will be ok. Mine arrived on Saturday, way ahead of time. But haven't got the time to play around with it much.
This delay make me feel like cancelling only.
Never have such issues when buying from apple if shipping from Singapore.
This round because of the ram upgrade it have to be from China then this happen. 😔
PowerPC
post Mar 6 2023, 01:53 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ Mar 6 2023, 11:14 AM)
This delay make me feel like cancelling only.
Never have such issues when buying from apple if shipping from Singapore.
This round because of the ram upgrade it have to be from China then this happen. 😔
Usually those import document is settle by Apple, no ?
d@odao
post Mar 6 2023, 02:06 PM

Daodao
2,648 posts

QUOTE(PowerPC @ Mar 6 2023, 01:53 PM)
Usually those import document is settle by Apple, no ?
It is. But they mentioned there is this compliance risk things need to meet. I don’t care what it is. I just ordered my mini from apple and if they shipped it from China and have this issue, is their issue.
I just replied to them to take next necessary action if they deliver the mini or just cancel and refund me.
I not giving any ID document to stranger.
PowerPC
post Mar 6 2023, 02:14 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ Mar 6 2023, 02:06 PM)
It is. But they mentioned there is this compliance risk things need to meet. I don’t care what it is. I just ordered my mini from apple and if they shipped it from China and have this issue, is their issue.
I just replied to them to take next necessary action if they deliver the mini or just cancel and refund me.
I not giving any ID document to stranger.
But then last time (many years already) my MacBook Pro and iMac also ship from Shanghai (vis Shenzhen) did not ask for any document to confirm.

Only those thing purchase with Amazon, even the import tax has been paid, kastam still need my detail together with SIRIM approval (cost me RM75 to 95 depend on thing), else the thing will stuck in shipping company and there is a delay charges after 10 days if no clearance has been made, RM10 per day. It is SF Express, ship from USA to Malaysia.
d@odao
post Mar 6 2023, 02:25 PM

Daodao
2,648 posts

QUOTE(PowerPC @ Mar 6 2023, 02:14 PM)
But then last time (many years already) my MacBook Pro and iMac also ship from Shanghai (vis Shenzhen) did not ask for any document to confirm.

Only those thing purchase with Amazon, even the import tax has been paid, kastam still need my detail together with SIRIM approval (cost me RM75 to 95 depend on thing), else the thing will stuck in shipping company and there is a delay charges after 10 days if no clearance has been made, RM10 per day.  It is SF Express, ship from USA to Malaysia.
I also didn’t have any issue buying stuff shipped from China.
This is 1st time. Custom oh custom what are you trying to do. 😅
PowerPC
post Mar 6 2023, 02:34 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ Mar 6 2023, 02:25 PM)
I also didn’t have any issue buying stuff shipped from China.
This is 1st time. Custom oh custom what are you trying to do. 😅
I think it is subjective to check parcel, syiok syiok see 1 parcel then check. Because some item from Japan Amazon, it will not ask anything, 1 time from USA also not ask, only recently 2 item it need this and that. 1 is SF Express, 1 is DHL Express
PowerPC
post Mar 6 2023, 04:27 PM

269 posts

But then my order become "On Hold" since today morning at DHL, donno why it take so long to process.
d@odao
post Mar 6 2023, 04:44 PM

Daodao
2,648 posts

QUOTE(PowerPC @ Mar 6 2023, 04:27 PM)

But then my order become "On Hold" since today morning at DHL, donno why it take so long to process.
Still in Singapore?
PowerPC
post Mar 6 2023, 08:58 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ Mar 6 2023, 04:44 PM)
Still in Singapore?
Already reach Kuala Lumpur since Saturday laugh.gif
d@odao
post Mar 6 2023, 09:03 PM

Daodao
2,648 posts

QUOTE(PowerPC @ Mar 6 2023, 08:58 PM)
Already reach Kuala Lumpur since Saturday  laugh.gif
I guess urs didn’t upgrade anything hence from Singapore directly.
It should be fine. I have bought my ipad mini 6 back then and is also directly from Singapore. No issue. Maybe just patient a bit. 😂
Again, those day my shipment is by Fedex not DHL.
PowerPC
post Mar 6 2023, 09:57 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ Mar 6 2023, 09:03 PM)
I guess urs didn’t upgrade anything hence from Singapore directly.
It should be fine. I have bought my ipad mini 6 back then and is also directly from Singapore. No issue. Maybe just patient a bit. 😂
Again, those day my shipment is by Fedex not DHL.

yes, the base spec. Will sure just wait for it 😃
d@odao
post Mar 6 2023, 10:04 PM

Daodao
2,648 posts

QUOTE(PowerPC @ Mar 6 2023, 09:57 PM)
yes, the base spec. Will sure just wait for it 😃
If my mini got cancelled then I might just get the base spec too but locally. Machines or Switch maybe. 😅
d@odao
post Mar 7 2023, 07:42 AM

Daodao
2,648 posts

Now, suddenly can proceed. Earlier said provide ID document or cancel and refund.

NujNay
post Mar 7 2023, 08:49 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ Mar 7 2023, 07:42 AM)
Now, suddenly can proceed. Earlier said provide ID document or cancel and refund.
Great! Just a day or two more wink.gif btw anyone got the extended applecare or recommend to get it for mac mini? Macbook has more moving parts like keyboards, hinge or parts like screens but mac mini overall just a piece of board and a fan right?
d@odao
post Mar 7 2023, 09:29 AM

Daodao
2,648 posts

QUOTE(NujNay @ Mar 7 2023, 08:49 AM)
Great! Just a day or two more wink.gif btw anyone got the extended applecare or recommend to get it for mac mini? Macbook has more moving parts like keyboards, hinge or parts like screens but mac mini overall just a piece of board and a fan right?
I didn’t. Long time never get the extended applecare dy.
d@odao
post Mar 7 2023, 10:59 AM

Daodao
2,648 posts

Hmm. Now out for delivery. 😅
Suddenly super fast.
takumitan89
post Mar 7 2023, 01:32 PM

261 posts

Just places my order and it’s written expected delivered on 10th of March .. hopefully I’m able to receive soonest .
Barricade
post Mar 7 2023, 03:09 PM

4,163 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ Mar 7 2023, 10:59 AM)
Suddenly super fast.
First time buying from Apple? You just have to wait and no bullshit paper work etc. Apple will handle everything.
d@odao
post Mar 7 2023, 03:13 PM

Daodao
2,648 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Mar 7 2023, 03:09 PM)
First time buying from Apple? You just have to wait and no bullshit paper work etc. Apple will handle everything.
Of coz not 1st time buying from Apple. Just 1st time received such email from them.
PowerPC
post Mar 7 2023, 04:01 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ Mar 7 2023, 10:59 AM)
Suddenly super fast.
same here, received sms 12pm just now, but still not received, lol.
d@odao
post Mar 7 2023, 04:33 PM

Daodao
2,648 posts

QUOTE(PowerPC @ Mar 7 2023, 04:01 PM)
same here, received sms 12pm just now, but still not received, lol.
Me too. Just now status delivery. Now chg to delivery not completed.
PowerPC
post Mar 7 2023, 10:29 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ Mar 7 2023, 04:33 PM)
Me too. Just now status delivery. Now chg to delivery not completed.
I received by 4pm just now, yours still not?
d@odao
post Mar 7 2023, 10:42 PM

Daodao
2,648 posts

QUOTE(PowerPC @ Mar 7 2023, 10:29 PM)
I received by 4pm just now, yours still not?
Still nothing. No new update since 10am.
takumitan89
post Mar 8 2023, 09:50 AM

261 posts

Hi all.. mine also receive from dhl that the clearance delay .hopefully won’t be like some of the user here need us provide the document info .
d@odao
post Mar 8 2023, 10:13 AM

Daodao
2,648 posts

QUOTE(takumitan89 @ Mar 8 2023, 09:50 AM)
Hi all.. mine also receive from dhl that the clearance delay .hopefully won’t be like some of the user here need us provide the document info .
I didn’t provide my ID document. I just replied their email to either deliver or just cancel and refund. ID document to me is sensitive.

Next, the clearance just went thru no issue.

takumitan89
post Mar 8 2023, 01:30 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ Mar 8 2023, 10:13 AM)
I didn’t provide my ID document. I just replied their email to either deliver or just cancel and refund. ID document to me is sensitive.

Next, the clearance just went thru no issue.
Ohh … how long is you waited they email you for the details ya? My item still stuck at clearance .
d@odao
post Mar 8 2023, 01:40 PM

Daodao
2,648 posts

QUOTE(takumitan89 @ Mar 8 2023, 01:30 PM)
Ohh … how long is you waited they email you for the details ya? My item still stuck at clearance .
They email to inform the item is on hold and ask for ID document.
If 48hours no ID document received, they will proceed to cancel and refund, thats all.
No further email received after I reverted to them to proceed to cancel and refund if can’t process further.
Next, the parcel just went thru successfully and now is on delivery to me.
Barricade
post Mar 8 2023, 09:58 PM

4,163 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ Mar 8 2023, 01:40 PM)
They email to inform the item is on hold and ask for ID document.
If 48hours no ID document received, they will proceed to cancel and refund, thats all.
No further email received after I reverted to them to proceed to cancel and refund if can’t process further.
Next, the parcel just went thru successfully and now is on delivery to me.
Who email you? Apple or DHL?
PowerPC
post Mar 8 2023, 10:16 PM

269 posts

My life is more better now with Mac mini + 4K TV, lol.

But then 8GB RAM seems "just" sufficient for normal use, with few safari and chrome tab open, it already consume 5.5GB.

Anyway I don't mind for that, as long as the system still fast enough.

d@odao
post Mar 8 2023, 11:47 PM

Daodao
2,648 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Mar 8 2023, 09:58 PM)
Who email you? Apple or DHL?
DHL CS that handle apple product.

QUOTE(PowerPC @ Mar 8 2023, 10:16 PM)

But then 8GB RAM seems "just" sufficient for normal use, with few safari and chrome tab open, it already consume 5.5GB.

I also received mine this afternoon. Still exploring and doing some setup.
Added a 1 tb SSD NVME drive plugged into the usb-c for expansion.

NujNay
post Mar 9 2023, 09:24 AM

13 posts

I'm running chrome, capture 23, already 11-13gb 😅

QUOTE(d@odao @ Mar 8 2023, 11:47 PM)
Added a 1 tb SSD NVME drive plugged into the usb-c for expansion.
Glad yours arrived safely! What specific setup do you use for the nvme and the enclosure? I'm thinking to do something similar
takumitan89
post Mar 9 2023, 09:26 AM

261 posts

As long as not so laggy than will be good d
d@odao
post Mar 9 2023, 10:18 AM

Daodao
2,648 posts

QUOTE(NujNay @ Mar 9 2023, 09:24 AM)
Glad yours arrived safely! What specific setup do you use for the nvme and the enclosure? I'm thinking to do something similar
I got the PNY CS1031 M.2 NVMe with 1tb and an Orico M.2 usb3.1 enclosures. Budget friendly. 🤭

Not sure in the future will get those enclosure that can place under or top of the mini like this brand hagibis.
This will expand ports and have sdcard readers as well.

This post has been edited by d@odao: Mar 9 2023, 10:21 AM
Barricade
post Mar 9 2023, 11:11 AM

4,163 posts

Ordered mine on Tuesday 3pm. Shipped out 5pm from Singapore. Reached Subang yesterday. DHL delivering to me today. Can’t say I’m not impressed with the speed!
PowerPC
post Mar 9 2023, 11:37 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(NujNay @ Mar 9 2023, 09:24 AM)
Yes, 8GB seems "just" enough.

QUOTE(takumitan89 @ Mar 9 2023, 09:26 AM)
As long as not so laggy than will be good d
The system is pretty responsive even there has many program running, but then the internal SSD did happen like what youtuber mention, copying in and out from external ssd (Samsung T7 Shield btw) will saw a sudden drop of speed after 3GB and above, it is very noticeable even the claim still has 1000++ MB/s write and read speed, at least compare to my iMac Pro.

The iMac Pro on the other hand, can sustain very long highspeed when copying the same file.

I still feel my iMac Pro snappy than Mac Mini M2 during heavy load of task, but MacMini seems more fast when browsing internet, maybe because of it's good single core speed.

takumitan89
post Mar 9 2023, 01:21 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Mar 9 2023, 11:11 AM)
Ordered mine on Tuesday 3pm. Shipped out 5pm from Singapore. Reached Subang yesterday. DHL delivering to me today. Can’t say I’m not impressed with the speed!
Same as me.. my item just out of delivery .. can’t wait to receive it .. had bought some software d
NujNay
post Mar 9 2023, 02:09 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ Mar 9 2023, 10:18 AM)
I got the PNY CS1031 M.2 NVMe with 1tb and an Orico M.2 usb3.1 enclosures. Budget friendly. 🤭

Not sure in the future will get those enclosure that can place under or top of the mini like this brand hagibis.
Ahh, orico m.2 enclosure has been in my shopping cart since last year 😂
tcwan
post Mar 10 2023, 07:57 AM

151 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ Mar 9 2023, 10:18 AM)

Be careful about the Orico M.2 10 Gbps enclosure . The one I have has a Realtek RTL9210 chipset. I am currently using it on a 2017 Intel iMac with a WD SN550 SSD as an external boot drive but it keeps hanging on startup. I've applied the latest available firmware from Orico.

I have another Orico M.2 20 Gbps enclosure (M2PAC3-G20) which uses a different chipset (can't recall offhand, but it is not JMicron) which has been stable from day 1.

I've also been looking at the various hubs which fit under the Mini.
However, I'm not satisfied with any of the current offerings.

1. The best feature-wise uses the RTL 9210 chipset
2. Some support only SATA interface (no NVMe)
3. Some only has one power input (via USB). This may be an issue especially with devices which need high current.
4. The USB interface between the Mini and the hub is mostly 5 or 10 Gbps max.
5. I've read that placing hubs under the Mini can affect Bluetooth performance due to signal blocking issues

This post has been edited by tcwan: Mar 10 2023, 08:05 AM
Barricade
post Mar 10 2023, 09:28 AM

4,163 posts

QUOTE(tcwan @ Mar 10 2023, 07:57 AM)
Be careful about the Orico M.2 10 Gbps enclosure . The one I have has a Realtek  RTL9210 chipset. I am currently using it on a 2017 Intel iMac with a WD SN550 SSD as an external boot drive but it keeps hanging on startup. I've applied the latest available firmware from Orico.

I have another Orico M.2 20 Gbps enclosure (M2PAC3-G20) which uses a different chipset (can't recall offhand, but it is not JMicron) which has been stable from day 1.

3. Some only has one power input (via USB). This may be an issue especially with devices which need high current.
5. I've read that placing hubs under the Mini can affect Bluetooth performance due to signal blocking issues
Would ugreen m2 enclosure be better than orico? I’m holding my purchase now.
d@odao
post Mar 10 2023, 09:42 AM

Daodao
2,648 posts

QUOTE(tcwan @ Mar 10 2023, 07:57 AM)
Be careful about the Orico M.2 10 Gbps enclosure . The one I have has a Realtek  RTL9210 chipset. I am currently using it on a 2017 Intel iMac with a WD SN550 SSD as an external boot drive but it keeps hanging on startup. I've applied the latest available firmware from Orico.

Thanks for the info.

I m using ORICO M2PV-C3 M.2 which is Realtek RTL9210 chipset...with aluminium alloy enclosure...
But, I m using it for extension of storage...
fadzly
post Mar 10 2023, 12:05 PM

1,757 posts

Mine also havent arrived. Ordered at the first day available at apple online. Spec M2 base 16 GB and 512GB. The eta also changes last week currently at 17-23 March.. If one month need to wait, this is GG already…
tcwan
post Mar 10 2023, 04:56 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Mar 10 2023, 09:28 AM)
Would ugreen m2 enclosure be better than orico? I’m holding my purchase now.
I don't know. If you can find out the chipset used that would be more relevant.
So far I think Realtek chipset can't handle high throughput.
foolpray
post Mar 10 2023, 05:04 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(fadzly @ Mar 10 2023, 12:05 PM)
Mine also havent arrived. Ordered at the first day available at apple online. Spec M2 base 16 GB and 512GB. The eta also changes last week currently at 17-23 March.. If one month need to wait, this is GG already…
Same here 😢
fadzly
post Mar 10 2023, 07:32 PM

1,757 posts

QUOTE(foolpray @ Mar 10 2023, 05:04 PM)
Same here 😢

I’ve experienced buying apple product through online before. But this is the worst experience. The wait is very painful.
Barricade
post Mar 10 2023, 09:35 PM

4,163 posts

QUOTE(tcwan @ Mar 10 2023, 04:56 PM)
I don't know. If you can find out the chipset used that would be more relevant.
So far I think Realtek chipset can't handle high throughput.
ugreen use ASM2362
NujNay
post Mar 11 2023, 09:27 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(fadzly @ Mar 10 2023, 12:05 PM)
That's weird, i have the same spec and order a few days after it was available at apple online and already arrived.
fadzly
post Mar 11 2023, 09:36 AM

1,757 posts

QUOTE(NujNay @ Mar 11 2023, 09:27 AM)
That's weird, i have the same spec and order a few days after it was available at apple online and already arrived.
Zzzzzzzz. Wth apple.
tcwan
post Mar 11 2023, 09:55 AM

151 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Mar 10 2023, 09:35 PM)
ugreen use ASM2362
I think the 20 Gbps Orico uses ASMedia chipset. In my opinion it should be more reliable than Realtek
foolpray
post Mar 11 2023, 06:12 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(foolpray @ Mar 10 2023, 05:04 PM)
Same here 😢
Finally shipped just now, arrives at 24 March. One month wait
d@odao
post Mar 11 2023, 06:40 PM

Daodao
2,648 posts

QUOTE(foolpray @ Mar 11 2023, 06:12 PM)
Finally shipped just now, arrives at 24 March. One month wait
Wow!...is a long wait...but, it is coming finally that's count...
segiempat
post Mar 11 2023, 08:54 PM

142 posts

Got mine today from Machine. Anyone can recommend a good 27” monitor that doesn’t cost arm and leg like Studio Display that works well with ok resolution. Not been buying computer stuffs for ages, any suggestions will be real helpful for me. Thanks!
foolpray
post Mar 12 2023, 12:34 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(segiempat @ Mar 11 2023, 08:54 PM)
Got mine today from Machine. Anyone can recommend a good 27” monitor that doesn’t cost arm and leg like Studio Display that works well with ok resolution. Not been buying computer stuffs for ages, any suggestions will be real helpful for me. Thanks!
Budget?
Barricade
post Mar 12 2023, 12:47 AM

4,163 posts

https://www.dell.com/en-my/shop/dell-27-4k-...tor-accessories
segiempat
post Mar 12 2023, 07:44 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(foolpray @ Mar 12 2023, 12:34 AM)
Budget?
Below 3K
segiempat
post Mar 12 2023, 07:46 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Mar 12 2023, 12:47 AM)
This is perfect
GamaX320
post Mar 12 2023, 09:13 AM

822 posts

if u all got research macos 4k scaling issues better just go for 2k display
segiempat
post Mar 12 2023, 10:34 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(GamaX320 @ Mar 12 2023, 09:13 AM)
if u all got research macos 4k scaling issues better just go for 2k display
Oh 4K doesn’t works??
GamaX320
post Mar 12 2023, 08:27 PM

822 posts

QUOTE(segiempat @ Mar 12 2023, 10:34 AM)
Oh 4K doesn’t works??
it works but we set 4k scaling in settings the whole system will looks very very small. In order to make the system viewable we only can set 2k, so basically even u monitor is 4k but the overall experience are similar to 2k
segiempat
post Mar 12 2023, 09:13 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(GamaX320 @ Mar 12 2023, 08:27 PM)
it works but we set 4k scaling in settings the whole system will looks very very small. In order to make the system viewable we only can set 2k, so basically even u monitor is 4k but the overall experience are similar to 2k
Bought Asus Proart 27” 4K, no issue with scaling work perfectly at the resolution I need. No performance or blur texts issues as what posted by some users on M1 machine previously.

This page clarified some of the misinformation
Barricade
post Mar 12 2023, 10:37 PM

4,163 posts

QUOTE(segiempat @ Mar 12 2023, 09:13 PM)
Bought Asus Proart 27” 4K, no issue with scaling work perfectly at the resolution I need. No performance or blur texts issues as what posted by some users on M1 machine previously.

This page clarified some of the misinformation
How much you paid for it?
PowerPC
post Mar 13 2023, 03:41 PM

269 posts

Yup, 4K Monitor need becareful, unless the size is big enough to run native 4K and not too small.

You see, 4K is 3840x2160, if say 27 inches, set it native will make all thing look quite small to read, the idea HiDPI for this resolution is 1920x1080 (FHD resolution) but then make thing too big. Yes, you can scale down to 2560x1440 but some monitor may look blurry, stressing your eyes for long working on it.

Get proper 2.5K resolution is better in my opinion for any dimension below 30inches, or go for 5K monitor and scale down to 2.5k like LG UltraFine 27.
segiempat
post Mar 13 2023, 03:50 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Mar 12 2023, 10:37 PM)
How much you paid for it?
RM2.1K Asus design n quality not bad and professionally graded color so works well with what I do. Mac M1/M2 certified too as shown on the website and latest firmware. Not blurry texts in all available scaled resolution.
Barricade
post Mar 13 2023, 07:09 PM

4,163 posts

QUOTE(segiempat @ Mar 13 2023, 03:50 PM)
RM2.1K Asus design n quality not bad and professionally graded color so works well with what I do. Mac M1/M2 certified too as shown on the website and latest firmware. Not blurry texts in all available scaled resolution.
Not bad the price. Nearest competitor is DELL Ultrasharp U2723QE but that one need RM3.3k.
segiempat
post Mar 14 2023, 01:41 PM

142 posts

After using for few days, I advise those who yet to buy and intend to keep the mini running for several years upgrade the RAM to 16G if possible. 8GB is seriously not enough for Ventura
Barricade
post Mar 14 2023, 04:40 PM

4,163 posts

QUOTE(segiempat @ Mar 14 2023, 01:41 PM)
After using for few days, I advise those who yet to buy and intend to keep the mini running for several years upgrade the RAM to 16G if possible. 8GB is seriously not enough for Ventura
8GB is sufficient for me. Primary usage for email, web surfing and office 365. No lag whatsoever. In the future i don't know la lol. If really lag sell it and buy with 16GB again, since I bought using education price easily can sell back at cost.
segiempat
post Mar 14 2023, 08:48 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Mar 14 2023, 04:40 PM)
8GB is sufficient for me. Primary usage for email, web surfing and office 365. No lag whatsoever. In the future i don't know la lol. If really lag sell it and buy with 16GB again, since I bought using education price easily can sell back at cost.
If jus play play only 8gb definitely enough, i m more advising those who wanted to keep for at least 3 years. Heck even Chrome gobbled up all the 10GB of RAM without memory saving mode. Swap kaw kaw the SSD
fadzly
post Mar 16 2023, 03:19 PM

1,757 posts

My 512 and 16gb getting delay again. And again no reason no sorry. This is pretty bad. Delayed till 30th of March. Bought it on 22nd February. More than 1 month to get the spec and best of all, the website currently stated 5 days to deliver for new orders. Feeling cheated.

This post has been edited by fadzly: Mar 16 2023, 03:19 PM
dwRK
post Mar 17 2023, 07:58 AM

the consummate chartist
6,247 posts

QUOTE(segiempat @ Mar 14 2023, 08:48 PM)
If jus play play only 8gb definitely enough, i m more advising those who wanted to keep for at least 3 years. Heck even Chrome gobbled up all the 10GB of RAM without memory saving mode. Swap kaw kaw the SSD
running Linux every day use... my memory normally 2-3 gb only

but I use edge not chrome des maybe why laugh.gif

macos uses more but way less than windows...

but sucks can't upgrade ram only cheaply with edu ac... 16gb would have been real nice to have

Barricade
post Mar 17 2023, 04:14 PM

4,163 posts

Don't know why people love to use Chrome. I stick to safari, open 20 tabs also no issue or lag
dwRK
post Mar 17 2023, 10:19 PM

the consummate chartist
6,247 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Mar 17 2023, 04:14 PM)
Don't know why people love to use Chrome. I stick to safari, open 20 tabs also no issue or lag
safari/webkit was the best for a long long time... fast and efficient... no brainer on macos...

the only reason using Chrome is probably familiarity...

!@#$%^
post Mar 18 2023, 03:29 PM

Safe Trader
17,515 posts

huawei mateview, sometimes can get for only 1699 on sales time
fadzly
post Mar 20 2023, 09:19 PM

1,757 posts

Finally got my mac mini after i complaint to apple hotline on thursday. They shipped at night straight away.
NujNay
post Mar 21 2023, 12:33 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(fadzly @ Mar 20 2023, 09:19 PM)
Finally got my mac mini after i complaint to apple hotline on thursday. They shipped at night straight away.
Maybe that's the secret to fast delivery 😅

QUOTE(Barricade @ Mar 17 2023, 04:14 PM)
Guilty of this haha because i use windows laptop for work and have syncing using google/chrome account

This post has been edited by NujNay: Mar 21 2023, 01:13 PM
tcwan
post Mar 22 2023, 12:43 PM

151 posts

M2 Mini 16 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD.

Ordered 10 Mar, shipped 17 Mar, delivered 22 Mar 2023 (1 day ahead of schedule). Haven't had time to set up yet.
Beach_Boy
post Mar 31 2023, 10:54 PM

:D
8,456 posts

anyone with the base 8GB spec using it for general (heavy) browsing/media consumption?

how's the memory pressure graph looks like?
d@odao
post Apr 2 2023, 08:02 PM

Daodao
2,648 posts

Anyone using Thunderbolt 4 dock/hub with their Mac mini m2?
Any recommendation? Thanks
Mavik
post Apr 3 2023, 02:55 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(Beach_Boy @ Mar 31 2023, 10:54 PM)
anyone with the base 8GB spec using it for general (heavy) browsing/media consumption?

With multiple tabs open on the browser and a few other apps open, I tend to get warning messages saying that I am running out of memory
Beach_Boy
post Apr 3 2023, 09:38 PM

8,456 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Apr 3 2023, 02:55 PM)
With multiple tabs open on the browser and a few other apps open, I tend to get warning messages saying that I am running out of memory
ahh thanks, glad that i ordered the 16GB instead of impulse buying from the shops biggrin.gif
my MBP 16 with the full suite office, 4 browsers (safari/safari tech preview/chrome/FF) running and some other apps running, memory pressure graph stays yellow, and fans seldom kick in even during zoom/google meet calls

This post has been edited by Beach_Boy: Apr 3 2023, 09:40 PM
Barricade
post Apr 12 2023, 12:15 AM

4,163 posts

QUOTE(Beach_Boy @ Mar 31 2023, 10:54 PM)

Never once I got any message says running out of memory. I'm on Safari with 16 tabs open, Apple Music running in background, editing using adobe Lightroom. Pretty impressive I would say.
Beach_Boy
post Apr 12 2023, 10:37 AM

8,456 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Apr 12 2023, 12:15 AM)
Never once I got any message says running out of memory. I'm on Safari with 16 tabs open, Apple Music running in background, editing using adobe Lightroom. Pretty impressive I would say.
what about the memory pressure? is it in the yellow/red territory? most likely it's using the SSD as your swap
ohmy.gif
Bendan[520]
post Apr 20 2023, 01:16 PM

Nerd
1,021 posts

Gotten my Mac mini m2, 16gb, 256gb ssd with student discount Rm2799. Target receive date is 2nd May
thechickadee
post Apr 25 2023, 11:16 AM

179 posts

Hi, is anyone suffering from wifi issues? am considering of getting one but it seems like after a quick research, a lot of people were suffering from wifi issues around jan/feb. Has apple issued a fix?
alvinwh
post Apr 25 2023, 01:34 PM

412 posts

guys, want to know if i bring out the mac mini, tis can connect to my huawei laptop by connect it to HDMI as a screen and use?
firdausbhari
post Apr 25 2023, 10:26 PM

2,281 posts

QUOTE(Beach_Boy @ Apr 3 2023, 09:38 PM)
ahh thanks, glad that i ordered the 16GB instead of impulse buying from the shops  biggrin.gif
my MBP 16 with the full suite office, 4 browsers (safari/safari tech preview/chrome/FF) running and some other apps running, memory pressure graph stays yellow, and fans seldom kick in even during zoom/google meet calls
16GB should be the minimum nowadays. in case of MBA or MBP, more RAM can also increase battery life since it wont use SSD swap often.

Bendan[520]
post Apr 25 2023, 11:49 PM

Nerd
1,021 posts

Ahh what is this clearance delay towards my M2 mac mini.. its been 2 days!
!@#$%^
post Apr 25 2023, 11:54 PM

Safe Trader
17,515 posts

QUOTE(Bendan520 @ Apr 25 2023, 11:49 PM)
raya
d@odao
post Apr 26 2023, 08:22 AM

Daodao
2,648 posts

QUOTE(Bendan520 @ Apr 25 2023, 11:49 PM)
Is just 2 days better than mine.
Almost a week stuck at custom last time. 😔
alvinwh
post May 2 2023, 05:11 PM

412 posts

hi guys, in order to get the edu price. we hav get approval for our unidays account. i just get the approval. but when the time i log in switch msia under edu programme, my unidays cant access but can acces through the apple msia offcial website.
so now u guys mostly get from apple msia or switch under edu programme?
yuvanesh
post May 3 2023, 10:50 AM

<<ASSASSINO>>
1,231 posts

anyone id using a mac mini hub like the Satechi or Qwiizlab..??
alvinwh
post May 5 2023, 11:07 PM

412 posts

just made a purchase of M2 today since got 5% cashback. hope can get it
TSwestlife
post May 6 2023, 05:10 PM

14,306 posts

QUOTE(alvinwh @ May 5 2023, 11:07 PM)
just made a purchase of M2 today since got 5% cashback. hope can get it
Why have 5% cashback?
alvinwh
post May 6 2023, 09:59 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ May 6 2023, 05:10 PM)
Why have 5% cashback?
cos of 5.5 shopback promotion.
miyakochan89
post May 7 2023, 12:06 AM

Wut?
6,724 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Apr 12 2023, 12:15 AM)
You use a 8GB one?
tcwan
post May 8 2023, 11:35 AM

151 posts

QUOTE(alvinwh @ May 2 2023, 05:11 PM)
hi guys, in order to get the edu price. we hav get approval for our unidays account. i just get the approval. but when the time i log in switch msia under edu programme, my unidays cant access but can acces through the apple msia offcial website.
so now u guys mostly get from apple msia or switch under edu programme?
Is Switch even selling the M2 Mini? I keep going to their website and it's still "Check back for Availability".

Went to Switch first, as I prefer pickup in person for such items. Gave up after they didn't give any ETA of when the M2 Mini was available or if they could quote an EDU discount. Finally, I got mine (EDU pricing) via Apple Malaysia.

Edit: M2 (non-Pro) Mini performance is night and day compared to my old 2015 Intel Mini.
The Intel Mini would spin the fans every time I run MS Teams. The M2 would run cool without breaking a sweat.

This post has been edited by tcwan: May 8 2023, 11:42 AM
monkedz
post May 9 2023, 03:21 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(tcwan @ May 8 2023, 11:35 AM)
Is Switch even selling the M2 Mini? I keep going to their website and it's still "Check back for Availability".

Went to Switch first, as I prefer pickup in person for such items. Gave up after they didn't give any ETA of when the M2 Mini was available or if they could quote an EDU discount. Finally, I got mine (EDU pricing) via Apple Malaysia.

Edit: M2 (non-Pro) Mini performance is night and day compared to my old 2015 Intel Mini.
The Intel Mini would spin the fans every time I run MS Teams. The M2 would run cool without breaking a sweat.
well there's 8 years worth of technological improvement there.
razkal
post May 11 2023, 11:26 AM

416 posts

Hello all. planning to move from Windows laptop to Mac mini m2. Any recommendation on accessories to expand the display to two monitors?
d@odao
post May 11 2023, 12:22 PM

Daodao
2,648 posts

QUOTE(razkal @ May 11 2023, 11:26 AM)
Hello all. planning to move from Windows laptop to Mac mini m2. Any recommendation on accessories to expand the display to two monitors?
Thunderbolt to hdmi adapter/cable.
And, Hdmi cable.

This is what i did.

https://shp.ee/h8tcudx

This post has been edited by d@odao: May 11 2023, 12:23 PM
razkal
post May 11 2023, 12:41 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ May 11 2023, 12:22 PM)
And, Hdmi cable.

This is what i did.

Ugreen? Should be ok right? I'm planning to use the 5 in 1 ugreen with hdmi. Hopefully ok? Also 8gb enough or should i upgrade RAM? ssd i think no need upgrade cause can buy external one

d@odao
post May 11 2023, 01:37 PM

Daodao
2,648 posts

QUOTE(razkal @ May 11 2023, 12:41 PM)
Ugreen? Should be ok right? I'm planning to use the 5 in 1 ugreen with hdmi. Hopefully ok? Also 8gb enough or should i upgrade RAM? ssd i think no need upgrade cause can buy external one
Ya ugreen.
Mine is 16gb ram and 256gb ssd. I just use external nvme 1tb and 1 tb hdd seagate. Ram is more important than storage.
TSwestlife
post May 12 2023, 09:30 PM

14,306 posts

yeah intel based mac mini is running hot. i am using 2020 intel mac mini to run windows 10. it is getting real hot during normal operation. i need to use Macs Fan Control program to force the fan to run at maximum speed at all time to keep the CPU temperature to be at 55 degree (still not too 'cold').

eyeing to get a mac mini m2 base model to replace it.

i dun do any video/photo editing but just use it for normal usage like web browsing, word processing etc. only.

but just not sure if running parellel software, can the armed-based windows meet my needs or not. i still prefer to use windows but i like mac hardware.
TSwestlife
post May 12 2023, 10:06 PM

14,306 posts

any bro here can help to buy the m2 mac mini at educational price?
alvinwh
post May 19 2023, 10:58 PM

412 posts

yes, end up I get from apple online store. items ship from spore. using for a week. satisfy and happy. still learning Mac OS
alvinwh
post May 19 2023, 11:01 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ May 11 2023, 12:22 PM)
And, Hdmi cable.

This is what i did.

bro, tis cable can extend as duplicate or extend as second screen? just plug n play? need install any software or change the setting?
d@odao
post May 20 2023, 06:47 AM

Daodao
2,648 posts

QUOTE(alvinwh @ May 19 2023, 11:01 PM)
bro, tis cable can extend as duplicate or extend as second screen? just plug n play? need install any software or change the setting?
Both can. No software needed.
Just go to the display setting and set as u like.
Simple as that.
imation1314
post Jun 21 2023, 08:44 AM

159 posts

Anyone know can student discount apply to mac mini M2 with 16GB, 512 storage ? Or just the base model ?
TSwestlife
post Jun 21 2023, 12:08 PM

14,306 posts

QUOTE(imation1314 @ Jun 21 2023, 08:44 AM)
Anyone know can student discount apply to mac mini M2 with 16GB, 512 storage ? Or just the base model ?
all models and variants.
imation1314
post Jun 21 2023, 02:38 PM

159 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jun 21 2023, 12:08 PM)
all models and variants.
Thank you ~ tongue.gif
stranger88
post Jun 22 2023, 12:48 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jun 21 2023, 12:08 PM)
all models and variants.
how much discount for edu price?
monkedz
post Jun 24 2023, 01:24 PM

47 posts

Is it recommend to get apple care?
stranger88
post Jun 25 2023, 12:01 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ May 12 2023, 10:06 PM)
did u get anyone help u buy? i'm looking too
Leo the Lion
post Jun 26 2023, 09:26 AM

6,358 posts

Couldn't wait for Mac Studio and I decide to pull the trigger biggrin.gif

TSwestlife
post Jun 26 2023, 02:04 PM

14,306 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Jun 26 2023, 09:26 AM)
Couldn't wait for Mac Studio and I decide to pull the trigger  biggrin.gif

what configuration?
Leo the Lion
post Jun 26 2023, 04:57 PM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jun 26 2023, 03:04 PM)
what configuration?
Its inside the picture
TSwestlife
post Jun 26 2023, 06:07 PM

14,306 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Jun 26 2023, 04:57 PM)
Its inside the picture
Icic. Paise.

Wah powerful spec.
monkedz
post Jun 28 2023, 02:58 PM

47 posts

anyone know where can buy mac mini m2 with installment plan?

Shopee Lazada's seller don't provide instalment tho.
Barricade
post Jun 28 2023, 08:37 PM

4,163 posts

QUOTE(stranger88 @ Jun 25 2023, 12:01 AM)
did u get anyone help u buy? i'm looking too
Hard to find someone who is willing to help for free. Maybe split savings 50/50 you got more chance. Why? Because every account have limit to buy only one Mac mini per year.

This post has been edited by Barricade: Jun 28 2023, 08:38 PM
stranger88
post Jun 30 2023, 10:43 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Jun 28 2023, 08:37 PM)
Hard to find someone who is willing to help for free. Maybe split savings 50/50 you got more chance. Why? Because every account have limit to buy only one Mac mini per year.
i don't mind to split but no one response or offering haha, so i proceed normal price purchase.
Jing-leBelle
post Jun 30 2023, 12:10 PM

Very New Member
2,003 posts

QUOTE(monkedz @ Jun 28 2023, 02:58 PM)

Try Machines. 0% for 24 months.
ChienSiong23
post Jul 2 2023, 01:26 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ May 12 2023, 10:06 PM)
I'm Selling my mac mini 2023 m2 pro
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=5390410

its student price. not earning. it's brand new, but not sure you okay with this spec or not.

Reason of selling, wanted to get mac studio.

Underhill
post Jul 7 2023, 03:04 PM

This too shall pass
567 posts

Mac Mini M2 Pro is not available anywhere on physical store. Anyone knows?

That's very tempting thouh Chien Siong lol
yvliew
post Jul 10 2023, 03:05 AM

Listening to IU - Strawberry Moon
3,918 posts

Just ordered mac mini base model at 2079 educational price. Wanted to get from Switch using the unidays studen discount QR code. But switch said need student ID to verify also.. dunno LAN C or what…
!@#$%^
post Jul 10 2023, 07:54 AM

Safe Trader
17,515 posts

QUOTE(yvliew @ Jul 10 2023, 03:05 AM)
Just ordered mac mini base model at 2079 educational price. Wanted to get from Switch using the unidays studen discount QR code. But switch said need student ID to verify also.. dunno LAN C or what…
otherwise how to confirm u r student?
ChienSiong23
post Jul 10 2023, 10:27 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(Underhill @ Jul 7 2023, 03:04 PM)
Mac Mini M2 Pro is not available anywhere on physical store. Anyone knows?

That's very tempting thouh Chien Siong lol
Hi Underhill, mostly because I think not much peoples willing to spend that much on mac mini, so they don't prepare for that at first place.
And custom or higher spec usually required you wait extra 1 or 2 weeks from apple manufacturer.

This post has been edited by ChienSiong23: Jul 10 2023, 10:32 AM
yvliew
post Jul 10 2023, 10:32 AM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Jul 10 2023, 07:54 AM)
otherwise how to confirm u r student?
Got this.. Thought they can just scan it...
!@#$%^
post Jul 10 2023, 03:34 PM

Safe Trader
17,515 posts

QUOTE(yvliew @ Jul 10 2023, 10:32 AM)
Got this.. Thought they can just scan it...
well, i suppose not an issue to show ur student id.
RoxyMunky
post Jul 11 2023, 10:28 AM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

QUOTE(monkedz @ Jun 28 2023, 02:58 PM)

both switch and Machines have it.

Depending on your credit card banks, some goes up to 36 months.

Underhill
post Jul 17 2023, 09:37 PM

This too shall pass
567 posts

QUOTE(ChienSiong23 @ Jul 10 2023, 10:27 AM)
Hi Underhill, mostly because I think not much peoples willing to spend that much on mac mini, so they don't prepare for that at first place.
And custom or higher spec usually required you wait extra 1 or 2 weeks from apple manufacturer.
Snatched a base Mac mini M2 'tempararily' but end up loving it so much. I might keep it instead of going for the pro.

It's very much usable for my use case, surprisingly.
TSwestlife
post Jul 17 2023, 09:51 PM

14,306 posts

QUOTE(Underhill @ Jul 17 2023, 09:37 PM)
Snatched a base Mac mini M2 'tempararily' but end up loving it so much. I might keep it instead of going for the pro.

It's very much usable for my use case, surprisingly.
It is the most value for money model. If upgrading to pro. end up price is almost as good as buying a Mac Studio instead.
yvliew
post Jul 19 2023, 11:38 PM

3,918 posts

Buy with education now got promotion for airpods. When I order I didn't get that option, but I called apple and ask if I could still get that promotion, apple kindly accepted and just sent me a free airpods 2nd gen. Apple service was super friendly and helpful. Professionally taken care of.

But Can add money for other models,

This post has been edited by yvliew: Jul 19 2023, 11:39 PM
TSwestlife
post Jul 20 2023, 07:24 AM

14,306 posts

QUOTE(yvliew @ Jul 19 2023, 11:38 PM)
Buy with education now got promotion for airpods. When I order I didn't get that option, but I called apple and ask if I could still get that promotion, apple kindly accepted and just sent me a free airpods 2nd gen. Apple service was super friendly and helpful. Professionally taken care of.

But Can add money for other models,

If u buy an apple product, and within 2 weeks later if there is new product launched, one can always ask for exchange for free. It is a policy of apple.
monkedz
post Sep 6 2023, 11:06 AM

47 posts

I'm using a M2 Mac Mini now. But I can't seems to have my continuity camera to work wirelessly.

It works if I were to plug it in with a cable. But never wireless. Anyone have the same issue?
tcwan
post Sep 25 2023, 09:34 AM

151 posts

QUOTE(monkedz @ Sep 6 2023, 11:06 AM)
I'm using a M2 Mac Mini now. But I can't seems to have my continuity camera to work wirelessly.

It works if I were to plug it in with a cable. But never wireless. Anyone have the same issue?
Wireless Continuity Camera doesn't seem to be detected, until I plug it in via USB first and then disconnect while FaceTime/Photo Booth is active.
This is with iOS 17. In any case, I think wireless usage is not reliable enough for serious usage.

In addition, it is better to be plugged in an charging the phone instead of draining the battery unnecessary.
TongCN
post Oct 9 2023, 09:31 AM

Look ma, I have lots stars :D
6,712 posts

Just bought Mac Mini M2 and plug into my LG C1 48"

Technically under the paper of MMM2 : https://support.apple.com/kb/SP891?viewloca...MN&locale=en_MN

It should support Dolby vision and Dolby Atmos right?

When i try to play videos that support DV and DA in Apple TV app (I do subscribe Apple One) but my TV won't trigger the DV & DA and only play in HDR and PCM

One question wanna ask is that Mac mini M2 does not behave like Apple TV 4k which has Match Contents and Match Dynamic Range ?
We can only manually set SDR or HDR under display setting?

This post has been edited by TongCN: Oct 9 2023, 09:32 AM
Zaryl
post May 1 2024, 10:44 AM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,709 posts

interested in getting mac mini M2 to experience macOS as first time user. will use it for daily web browsing, checking emails, read research papers and watch youtube 4K videos.

but more interested to run on my Dell G3223Q 4k 32" 144Hz gaming monitor.

so my questions/concerns:

1. can mac mini M2 output a 4K 120Hz via DP to USB-C port? I have ugreen DP to USBC cable used with my lenovo P14S gen 2 workstation laptop, but it only outputs 60Hz (the laptop graphics can only able to output max resolution @ 4K 60Hz sadly)

as i understand, mac mini M2 has only HDMI 2.0.
not going to get M2 Pro just for HDMI 2.1 sweat.gif

i want that same smooth scrolling as what i experienced on my ipad pro 12.9 M1.
which config should i get if i want to run 4K 120Hz properly?

is 16GB with 256GB SSD internal enough? i can expand the storage by buying external SSD such as Samsung T9 1TB later

2. when running 120Hz screen, will i able to run Youtube 4K quality with faster framerate, or it will just lock to 60FPS only?

3. is text clarity/text scaling would be an issue here if using 4K reso?

thanks guys.

This post has been edited by Zaryl: May 1 2024, 11:30 PM
yvliew
post Jun 2 2024, 01:09 PM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ May 1 2024, 10:44 AM)
interested in getting mac mini M2 to experience macOS as first time user. will use it for daily web browsing, checking emails, read research papers and watch youtube 4K videos.

but more interested to run on my Dell G3223Q 4k 32" 144Hz gaming monitor.

so my questions/concerns:

1. can mac mini M2 output a 4K 120Hz via DP to USB-C port? I have ugreen DP to USBC cable used with my lenovo P14S gen 2 workstation laptop, but it only outputs 60Hz (the laptop graphics can only able to output max resolution @ 4K 60Hz sadly)

as i understand, mac mini M2 has only HDMI 2.0.
not going to get M2 Pro just for HDMI 2.1  sweat.gif

i want that same smooth scrolling as what i experienced on my ipad pro 12.9 M1.
which config should i get if i want to run 4K 120Hz properly?

is 16GB with 256GB SSD internal enough? i can expand the storage by buying external SSD such as Samsung T9 1TB later

2. when running 120Hz screen, will i able to run Youtube 4K quality with faster framerate, or it will just lock to 60FPS only?

3. is text clarity/text scaling would be an issue here if using 4K reso?
thanks guys.
1. you need a DP cable to USB C 4 to supprot 4k 144hz. 16GB is good choice and you can add external SSD for storage.
2. Youtube mostly is 60fps or 30fps. So you won't be able to utilize your 144hz.
3. 4K is bad for mac. It doesn't resize properly, I am using 4k 27" and I have to use 1440 resolution for comfortable reading size. Mac is built for 5k.

Btw haev you bought the mac mini yet? If so how's the experience with it and your monitor?

Zaryl
post Jun 2 2024, 11:46 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,709 posts

QUOTE(yvliew @ Jun 2 2024, 01:09 PM)
1. you need a DP cable to USB C 4 to supprot 4k 144hz. 16GB is good choice and you can add external SSD for storage.
2. Youtube mostly is 60fps or 30fps. So you won't be able to utilize your 144hz.
3. 4K is bad for mac. It doesn't resize properly, I am using 4k 27" and I have to use 1440 resolution for comfortable reading size. Mac is built for 5k.

Btw haev you bought the mac mini yet? If so how's the experience with it and your monitor?
i end up buying mac mini M2 Pro base model instead LOL.
I connected using HDMI 2.1 port.

But 4K 120hz is just perfect for my Dell G3223Q monitor as per this guy's awesome 4K120Hz macs listing:

Macs 4K120hz monitors compatibility listings

But after much time spent to get that best display settings, i used the resolution of 2304x1296p 120Hz. Because that is the best resolution that I can USE HDR.
by default, if want to get HDR + 120Hz/144Hz, I have to choose either:

1920x1080p (everything is freaking large, no screen real estate) or

3840x2160p (everything is wayyy too small, too much screen real estate)

on other resolutions, HDR option cannot be turned on. sad.gif

so the best sweet spot was that 2304x1296p @ max 120Hz. All fonts look pretty damn sharp. Similar smooth scrolling as what i experienced from my iPad Pro M1 12.9 (120Hz ProMotion). Working on Words, Excels, reading PDFs was just a smooth experience! cool2.gif

I also got the DisplayBuddy app (paid app, about USD22.99 for 2 Macs, got 10% off student discount) to run presets on dimming or brightening the screen during day/night & other settings.

I DEFINITELY cannot go back to 60Hz screen after this. Never ever! laugh.gif

yvliew
post Jun 3 2024, 12:08 AM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Jun 2 2024, 11:46 PM)

But 4K 120hz is just perfect for my Dell G3223Q monitor as per this guy's awesome 4K120Hz macs listing:

But after much time spent to get that best display settings, i used the resolution of 2304x1296p 120Hz. Because that is the best resolution that I can USE HDR.

on other resolutions, HDR option cannot be turned on.  sad.gif

so the best sweet spot was that 2304x1296p @ max 120Hz. All fonts look pretty damn sharp. Similar smooth scrolling as what i experienced from my iPad Pro M1 12.9 (120Hz ProMotion). Working on Words, Excels, reading PDFs was just a smooth experience!  cool2.gif

I also got the DisplayBuddy app (paid app, about USD22.99 for 2 Macs, got 10% off student discount) to run presets on dimming or brightening the screen during day/night & other settings.

I DEFINITELY cannot go back to 60Hz screen after this. Never ever!  laugh.gif
just curious how do you get custom resolution 2304x1296p? i can only choose 720p 1080p 1440p 2160p
Zaryl
post Jun 3 2024, 09:43 AM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,709 posts

QUOTE(yvliew @ Jun 3 2024, 12:08 AM)
just curious how do you get custom resolution 2304x1296p? i can only choose 720p 1080p 1440p 2160p
I use DisplayBuddy app and can it can display even other resolutions macOS can’t list it in Display settings.

AFAIK, there are other similar apps such as BetterDisplay, EasyResX and etc
TongCN
post Jun 11 2024, 09:07 AM

6,712 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Jun 2 2024, 11:46 PM)

on other resolutions, HDR option cannot be turned onsad.gif

so the best sweet spot was that 2304x1296p @ max 120Hz. All fonts look pretty damn sharp. Similar smooth scrolling as what i experienced from my iPad Pro M1 12.9 (120Hz ProMotion). Working on Words, Excels, reading PDFs was just a smooth experience!  cool2.gif

I DEFINITELY cannot go back to 60Hz screen after this. Never ever!  laugh.gif
As per my last mentioned, it seems like can only turn on manually if your display support sad.gif

Until now it still dun have something like match content/frame thing

Next MacOS update dunno will fix or not
Zaryl
post Jun 12 2024, 10:38 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,709 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Jun 11 2024, 09:07 AM)
As per my last mentioned, it seems like can only turn on manually if your display support sad.gif

Until now it still dun have something like match content/frame thing

Next MacOS update dunno will fix or not
Just curious, do you connect your LG C1 48" to your Mac Mini M2 via HDMI2.0 port?

If yes, then you might not getting the output (Atmos) you wanted.

but when I read thru few reddits.com, apparently if you connect to a tv/monitor that has a DisplayPort 1.4, you can use the USBC to DP cable (ugreen 8K USBC to DP cable is a good buy) to your Mac Mini M2's USBC4 port and can get the desired output.

But according to rtings.com, this display didn't have DP1.4 port, so I guess either hopefully Apple releases an update to fix this issue in future macOS Sequoia or you gonna have to buy a display that has at least DP1.4.

but on a good note, your LG is an OLED screen, which produces beautiful, crisp, true black display though. cool2.gif

This post has been edited by Zaryl: Jun 12 2024, 10:39 PM
TongCN
post Jun 13 2024, 12:26 PM

6,712 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Jun 12 2024, 10:38 PM)
Just curious, do you connect your LG C1 48" to your Mac Mini M2 via HDMI2.0 port?

If yes, then you might not getting the output (Atmos) you wanted.

but when I read thru few reddits.com, apparently if you connect to a tv/monitor that has a DisplayPort 1.4, you can use the USBC to DP cable (ugreen 8K USBC to DP cable is a good buy) to your Mac Mini M2's USBC4 port and can get the desired output.

But according to rtings.com, this display didn't have DP1.4 port, so I guess either hopefully Apple releases an update to fix this issue in future macOS Sequoia or you gonna have to buy a display that has at least DP1.4.

My Mac Mini M2 only has HDMI2.0 port since it's not M2 Pro.
LG C1 all ports = HDMI 2.1
However, Dolby Atmos doesnt really need HDMI 2.1 since it's lossy?

So my Mac Mini M2 probably stuck at 4k60hz without Dolby Atmos even though on paper it says support Mac Mini M2/M2 Pro Spec
The only way to get Atmos is when i paired my Airpods Pro Gen 2 , lol ..

but on a good note, your LG is an OLED screen, which produces beautiful, crisp, true black display though.  cool2.gif

OLED TV is a must now after experienced it tongue.gif

Waiting for new breakthrough next before i wanna change my LG CX or C1.

This post has been edited by TongCN: Jun 13 2024, 12:27 PM
kevinpss
post Jul 8 2024, 10:35 PM

497 posts

Hi guys, i am getting Mac mini m2, with configuration to 512GB SSD and 16GB RAM. Mainly for my study/assignment use.

kevinpss
post Jul 12 2024, 09:45 PM

497 posts

m2 mac mini is so overkilled to my needs.

Zaryl
post Jul 24 2024, 12:13 AM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,709 posts

QUOTE(kevinpss @ Jul 12 2024, 09:45 PM)
m2 mac mini is so overkilled to my needs.

No such thing as overkill.

16GB/512GB SSD is future proof. No worries on that.

It’s 2024 and I believe 8GB RAM & 256GB SSD should not be the norm these days.
yvliew
post Nov 3 2024, 02:12 PM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Jul 24 2024, 12:13 AM)
No such thing as overkill.

16GB/512GB SSD is future proof. No worries on that.

It’s 2024 and I believe 8GB RAM & 256GB SSD should not be the norm these days.
m4 mac mini and all other macs now starts with 16GB with the same price. Imagine buying mac mini upgrading to 16GB just 2-3 months ago.
TSwestlife
post Nov 3 2024, 02:32 PM

14,306 posts

QUOTE(yvliew @ Nov 3 2024, 02:12 PM)
m4 mac mini and all other macs now starts with 16GB with the same price. Imagine buying mac mini upgrading to 16GB  just 2-3 months ago.
yeah.. those who bought mac recently kena pwned by apple... price same but free upgrade to 16GB ram, last time to add extra 8gb to 16gb it costed quite a bit... tongue.gif
jonthebaptist
post Nov 3 2024, 03:37 PM

1,036 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Nov 3 2024, 02:32 PM)
yeah.. those who bought mac recently kena pwned by apple... price same but free upgrade to 16GB ram, last time to add extra 8gb to 16gb it costed quite a bit...  tongue.gif
i saw the m2 mac mini being sold for rm2000 and the m1 macbook air for rm2500 on shopee/lazada, nearly bought it but decided to hold on. i am glad i did, the m4 mac mini is definitely the model i will target now.
TSwestlife
post Nov 3 2024, 04:14 PM

14,306 posts

QUOTE(jonthebaptist @ Nov 3 2024, 03:37 PM)
i saw the m2 mac mini being sold for rm2000 and the m1 macbook air for rm2500 on shopee/lazada, nearly bought it but decided to hold on. i am glad i did, the m4 mac mini is definitely the model i will target now.
yes... the m4 mac mini is having the best cp value for anyone who wants to enter macOS system... tongue.gif

0.1461sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 07:00 PM