[2023] Mac Mini with M2/M2 Pro Discussion Thread, More muscle. More hustle.

TongCN
post Oct 9 2023, 09:31 AM

Look ma, I have lots stars :D
6,689 posts

Just bought Mac Mini M2 and plug into my LG C1 48"

Technically under the paper of MMM2 : https://support.apple.com/kb/SP891?viewloca...MN&locale=en_MN

It should support Dolby vision and Dolby Atmos right?

When i try to play videos that support DV and DA in Apple TV app (I do subscribe Apple One) but my TV won't trigger the DV & DA and only play in HDR and PCM

One question wanna ask is that Mac mini M2 does not behave like Apple TV 4k which has Match Contents and Match Dynamic Range ?
We can only manually set SDR or HDR under display setting?

This post has been edited by TongCN: Oct 9 2023, 09:32 AM
TongCN
post Jun 11 2024, 09:07 AM

6,689 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Jun 2 2024, 11:46 PM)
i end up buying mac mini M2 Pro base model instead LOL.
I connected using HDMI 2.1 port.

But 4K 120hz is just perfect for my Dell G3223Q monitor as per this guy's awesome 4K120Hz macs listing:

Macs 4K120hz monitors compatibility listings

But after much time spent to get that best display settings, i used the resolution of 2304x1296p 120Hz. Because that is the best resolution that I can USE HDR.
by default, if want to get HDR + 120Hz/144Hz, I have to choose either:

1920x1080p (everything is freaking large, no screen real estate) or

3840x2160p (everything is wayyy too small, too much screen real estate)

on other resolutions, HDR option cannot be turned onsad.gif

so the best sweet spot was that 2304x1296p @ max 120Hz. All fonts look pretty damn sharp. Similar smooth scrolling as what i experienced from my iPad Pro M1 12.9 (120Hz ProMotion). Working on Words, Excels, reading PDFs was just a smooth experience!  cool2.gif

I also got the DisplayBuddy app (paid app, about USD22.99 for 2 Macs, got 10% off student discount) to run presets on dimming or brightening the screen during day/night & other settings.

I DEFINITELY cannot go back to 60Hz screen after this. Never ever!  laugh.gif
As per my last mentioned, it seems like can only turn on manually if your display support sad.gif

Until now it still dun have something like match content/frame thing

Next MacOS update dunno will fix or not
TongCN
post Jun 13 2024, 12:26 PM

6,689 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Jun 12 2024, 10:38 PM)
Just curious, do you connect your LG C1 48" to your Mac Mini M2 via HDMI2.0 port?

If yes, then you might not getting the output (Atmos) you wanted.

but when I read thru few reddits.com, apparently if you connect to a tv/monitor that has a DisplayPort 1.4, you can use the USBC to DP cable (ugreen 8K USBC to DP cable is a good buy) to your Mac Mini M2's USBC4 port and can get the desired output.

But according to rtings.com, this display didn't have DP1.4 port, so I guess either hopefully Apple releases an update to fix this issue in future macOS Sequoia or you gonna have to buy a display that has at least DP1.4.

My Mac Mini M2 only has HDMI2.0 port since it's not M2 Pro.
LG C1 all ports = HDMI 2.1
However, Dolby Atmos doesnt really need HDMI 2.1 since it's lossy?

So my Mac Mini M2 probably stuck at 4k60hz without Dolby Atmos even though on paper it says support Mac Mini M2/M2 Pro Spec
The only way to get Atmos is when i paired my Airpods Pro Gen 2 , lol ..

but on a good note, your LG is an OLED screen, which produces beautiful, crisp, true black display though.  cool2.gif

OLED TV is a must now after experienced it tongue.gif

Waiting for new breakthrough next before i wanna change my LG CX or C1.

This post has been edited by TongCN: Jun 13 2024, 12:27 PM

0.0395sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 03:26 AM