Investment Newbie Buying Property in Johor, Please enlighten me sensei

loyiwei
post Jan 17 2023, 01:59 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(Cavatzu @ Jan 17 2023, 11:58 AM)
What nonsense conjecture. Hard borders are up for a reason. What if PAS takes over government, that’s more likely than SG sponsoring their citizens to live in our country and not contribute to their GDP. It’s mainly Malaysians who work in SG who will buy back in Johor.
The is already a mini Singapore estate in JB called Horizon Hills, the local call it Singapore village.

SG is not sponsoring but saving money from this move as CPF is still individuals' money, not gov money. and if the retirees visit a SG gov hospital, gov need to subsidized heavily. If not, how do you explain the reason the SG gov allows that to be used in JB hospital.

If PAS take over and implement drastic change, it is not difficult to just migrate back.

On GDP, retirees dun contribute a lot to GDP and Singapore can convert a lot of resources/ space/ man power for higher value activity. JB can get higher spending power population to boast the economy. I see tat as a win-win for both country.

Cavatzu
post Jan 17 2023, 03:57 PM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(loyiwei @ Jan 17 2023, 01:59 PM)
The is already a mini Singapore estate in JB called Horizon Hills, the local call it Singapore village.

SG is not sponsoring but saving money from this move as CPF is still individuals' money, not gov money. and if the retirees visit a SG gov hospital, gov need to subsidized heavily. If not, how do you explain the reason the SG gov allows that to be used in JB hospital.

If PAS take over and implement drastic change, it is not difficult to just migrate back.

On GDP, retirees dun contribute a lot to GDP and Singapore can convert a lot of resources/ space/ man power for higher value activity. JB can get higher spending power population to boast the economy. I see tat as a win-win for both country.
You do make some valid points but until Malaysia gives assurance of what happens in case of an emergency or when borders get closed then this is not a full proof plan. Recent events have shown how volatile this can be. The idea is great but the reality might not match up. I saw too many MM2H people get completely stuffed over with no home for a long long time.

This post has been edited by Cavatzu: Jan 17 2023, 04:00 PM
loyiwei
post Jan 18 2023, 09:01 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(Cavatzu @ Jan 17 2023, 03:57 PM)
You do make some valid points but until Malaysia gives assurance of what happens in case of an emergency or when borders get closed then this is not a full proof plan. Recent events have shown how volatile this can be. The idea is great but the reality might not match up. I saw too many MM2H people get completely stuffed over with no home for a long long time.
For the pandemic, it is a recent event and hence people still concern about it. give it a few years and it will be forgotten, that is how we have financial crisis every 10 yrs. We are forgetful.

Pandemic that lead to border closure is a one in century event based on historical trend, I likely won't live to see another one...lol.
Cavatzu
post Jan 18 2023, 09:21 AM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(loyiwei @ Jan 18 2023, 09:01 AM)
For the pandemic, it is a recent event and hence people still concern about it. give it a few years and it will be forgotten, that is how we have financial crisis every 10 yrs. We are forgetful.

Pandemic that lead to border closure is a one in century event based on historical trend, I likely won't live to see another one...lol.
Having seen The Last of Us - a fungal pandemic is a very real thing and not within the realm of being impossible. Since SARS, swine flu etc - there have been incidents at least once a decade and there are real repercussions to global warming.

I’m no doomsayer but never say never. Covid was a good practice run at least.
PAChamp
post Jan 18 2023, 09:39 AM

1,159 posts

I agree with the post which said buy landed instead. But i will look for a shoplot with your kind of salary.
Tigerr
post Jan 18 2023, 10:05 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(PAChamp @ Jan 18 2023, 09:39 AM)
I agree with the post which said buy landed instead. But i will look for a shoplot with your kind of salary.
anything that can make good money is a good buy or investment, not just shop lots although shop lots is a much better choice but still subject to a right location.
loyiwei
post Jan 18 2023, 10:21 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(PAChamp @ Jan 18 2023, 09:39 AM)
A lot of successful residential property investors get big headed and get burn in commercial property investment. Be careful as business change too fast nowaday and it is very hard to tell which commercial unit/ area can fly or sustain.
sijun
post Jan 18 2023, 10:43 AM

318 posts

At the current rate high-rises keep mushrooming. there will be little kowloon everywhere in KL and Johor.

I'd still say get landed.

0.0171sec    0.79    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 12:41 AM