National Team ~Spain National Talk~, Spain vsAmernia~~4-0 Villa's brace

unknown
post Jun 27 2008, 05:20 AM

12,012 posts

Villa out of final
Spain coach Luis Aragones says David Villa will miss Sunday's Euro 2008 against Germany.

The Valencia striker was forced out of Thursday's 3-0 victory over Russia on 34 minutes after pulling a leg muscle.

Villa, who helped himself to a hat-trick in Spain's 4-1 group success over Russia, will now sit out the final in Vienna.

"Villa will not be able to play the final - he has pulled a muscle," confirmed Aragones after their semi-final success.

Villa's place in the side could well be taken by Arsenal Cesc Fabregas, who impressed off the bench in their semi-final triumph over Russia.

http://www.skysports.com/football/euro2008...3743874,00.html
cyfc29
post Jun 27 2008, 05:30 AM

39 posts

Russia was outplayed. Fabregas and Ramos was on form tonight. Wicked game!
SUSsharkteef
post Jun 27 2008, 05:33 AM

Not Godlike
2,504 posts

yeap ! spain just rocked the world in the 2nd half. i could see the people celebrating after the 2nd goal, and when the third came, it was time to take a hot shower.
aztechx
post Jun 27 2008, 05:54 AM

~Aviation Freak~
3,854 posts

ive to say that fabregas was brilliant tonight!with villa out injured for the finals..aragones better let him start..the game changed once he was introduced..
aaron1kee
post Jun 27 2008, 06:26 AM

Rock n' Roll
3,997 posts

Russia can't even get past Spain tight midfield.
matyrze
post Jun 27 2008, 09:02 AM

Historical tears
678 posts

i said initially that xavi should stay in the 1st eleven, bcoz i have my reason

i said initially that villa-torres partnership is not that good, also bcoz i have own reason

i said cesc could do better if he take over iniesta's role, also bcoz i have my own reason

i said torres has not impressed me, also bcoz i have my own reason

xavi scored this morning (a typical xavi goal, he arrived late into the penalty box), and assisted by iniesta --> 2 of my most favourite player btw smile.gif smile.gif

about the partnership, juz compare spain's performance in the 1st half (when the partnership was used), and in the 2nd half (this one really demostrate spain's true potential, which lie on its players' creativity)

and about cesc, he was forced to replace villa..and juz look how well cesc combined with iniesta..remember it was iniesta who picked cesc up beautifully before he crossed to silva..

and juz look at how well guiza controlled the ball before he scored his goal, and more importantly, how intelligent he is when he did that smart diagonal run behind the defenders, without been caught offside, and compare that with torres' touches while he was on the field

imo, with the system used in the 2nd half, ramos played a lot lot better than he did in entire tournament

marchena has been solid in defence

2nd half spain performance is a joy to behold, my friends

and now villa is injured, i think i rather give guiza the nod to start in the final as a lone striker

This post has been edited by matyrze: Jun 27 2008, 10:12 AM
leftist
post Jun 27 2008, 09:15 AM

734 posts

wat hiddink said before the game was spot on..`russia wont get beaten 4-1 again'..they got beaten 3-0!!! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by leftist: Jun 27 2008, 09:15 AM
frankieNrosie
post Jun 27 2008, 09:35 AM

b||ooDY b|u3s
786 posts

congratulation to SPAIN...
coz they already in final EURO 2008..
hope we will the final game against German..
go SPAIN..
qspn
post Jun 27 2008, 09:41 AM

1,534 posts

It was a good performance from Spain last night. Marchena and Puyol was solid at the back as they negate all of the Russian attack. While Ramos has improved significantly and played really well as he defended well against Zhirkov. Capdevilla and Ramos provide the width for the Spanish. While Xavi had a better game than his previous one and taken his goal well. Iniesta was impressive as well in the width position. His intelligent through ball carve open the Russian defense on numerous occasion. Senna once again had a solid game as he provided the cover in front of the defense. Silva also had an excellent game as his probing pass was a constant threat. Fabregas role was influential when he replaced Villa. It is unusual role for him as he doesn't play that far forward for his club but did exceptionally well. Torres has another game to forget. Wasted several good chances. Overall I think Aragones will stick with the same lineup in the final and Fabregas to replace Villa if he is ruled out with the injury.
eksk86
post Jun 27 2008, 09:55 AM

421 posts

Yay!Spain won!Now,really hope they go beat the Germans.
leftist
post Jun 27 2008, 10:30 AM

734 posts

QUOTE(qspn @ Jun 27 2008, 09:41 AM)
It was a good performance from Spain last night. Marchena and Puyol was solid at the back as they negate all of the Russian attack. While Ramos has improved significantly and played really well as he defended well against Zhirkov. Capdevilla and Ramos provide the width for the Spanish. While Xavi had a better game than his previous one and taken his goal well. Iniesta was impressive as well in the width position. His intelligent through ball carve open the Russian defense on numerous occasion. Senna once again had a solid game as he provided the cover in front of the defense. Silva also had an excellent game as his probing pass was a constant threat. Fabregas role was influential when he replaced Villa. It is unusual role for him as he doesn't play that far forward for his club but did exceptionally well. Torres has another game to forget. Wasted several good chances. Overall I think Aragones will stick with the same lineup in the final and Fabregas to replace Villa if he is ruled out with the injury.
to be precised,fabregas didnt played behind the striker when he came on...he only played there when xavi was taken off..when he came on for villa,he's playing as an attacking mid in a 4-1-3-1-1 formation..with xavi behind torres..only after xabi alonso and danny guiza on he played off the striker..but true he's excelled in that unfamiliar role though..credit to him rclxms.gif
sandwich_box
post Jun 27 2008, 11:07 AM

456 posts

Villa cannot play at the final... cry.gif something that need to be worried about!!!
faris21
post Jun 27 2008, 11:41 AM

Newbies
4,453 posts

Vamos Espana,with Villa out this Sunday i hope Aragones put Guiza in 1st eleven,he lot better than Torres
this is 1st time i can watch Spain in final,befor ethis only can watch Spain play in final Olympic
zamarano
post Jun 27 2008, 12:43 PM

Above Us Only Sky
665 posts

ramos played really well last night , russia have to attack from the left side

gerrardinho
post Jun 27 2008, 02:57 PM

walk on with hope in your heart
1,119 posts

QUOTE(zamarano @ Jun 27 2008, 01:43 PM)
ramos played really well last night , russia have to attack from the left side
i really like the way sergio ramos playin..since sevilla time edi
matyrze
post Jun 27 2008, 03:18 PM

Historical tears
678 posts

QUOTE(faris21 @ Jun 27 2008, 11:41 AM)
Vamos Espana,with Villa out this Sunday i hope Aragones put Guiza in 1st eleven,he lot better than Torres
this is 1st time i can watch Spain in final,befor ethis only can watch Spain play in final Olympic
agree..i hope spain will continue to use 5 midfielders and let guiza be the lone striker..already used the tiki-taka play as the key to unlock russian defence, now its time to use it on the germans nod.gif nod.gif nod.gif
whoopa
post Jun 27 2008, 03:21 PM

b~o~b~o
7,126 posts

fab is good last nite .. russia was like sleeping la .. that arshavin fella .. boring la hahah a..

i dun think torres work by being played as a support striker le ... anyways .. spain won me some cash ahaha
matyrze
post Jun 27 2008, 05:10 PM

Historical tears
678 posts

iniesta was the man of the match for last night game

'Fantastic movement'

Jean-Paul Brigger of the UEFA Technical Team – who selected the Man of the Match award after viewing the online vote on euro2008.com – said of Iniesta's display: "His movement was fantastic. He was involved in every attack as the playmaker and the Russians had a real problem dealing with him. He played a fantastic pass for the first goal and was involved in the third with a lovely pass to Cesc Fàbregas in the build-up. From our side he was the best player on the pitch. Congratulations to Spain who are a really big team, and also to Russia who played a fantastic tournament."

http://www.euro2008.uefa.com/news/kind=1/n...redible+triumph

gerrardinho
post Jun 27 2008, 05:53 PM

walk on with hope in your heart
1,119 posts

QUOTE(whoopa @ Jun 27 2008, 04:21 PM)
fab is good last nite .. russia was like sleeping la .. that arshavin fella .. boring la hahah a..

i dun think torres work by being played as a support striker le ... anyways .. spain won me some cash ahaha
me got some cash too...hope spain wont disappoint me in the finals.
kaka91
post Jun 27 2008, 06:00 PM

2,228 posts

fabregas is my hero. the moment he he was subbed in, i felt the game change. without him, it mite have been like the first half. he really deserves a place in the finals. but i am worried about villa. we need him against spain.

39 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0268sec    0.89    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:11 PM