QUOTE(zarakiken @ Jan 7 2023, 07:24 PM)
Waiting for the TS to organizeRide to Thailand discussion thread, ...sabai sabai...
Ride to Thailand discussion thread, ...sabai sabai...
Jan 8 2023, 03:19 PM
232 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
Jan 8 2023, 08:33 PM
156 posts Joined: Jan 2019 |
This post has been edited by toos99: Jan 29 2023, 05:37 PM |
Jan 8 2023, 08:41 PM
QUOTE(WH4CockcooBird @ Dec 20 2022, 01:03 AM) Ok, starting this thread and I will moderate it. This |
Jan 9 2023, 11:48 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
69 posts Joined: Oct 2021 |
wanna ask if anyone knows, if we ride our bike to thailand, our driving license is good enough right?
but if we rent a bike(thai registered) can we still use our license or need to apply for IPD? |
Jan 9 2023, 02:33 PM
2,801 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Darul Aman |
QUOTE(Voopoo @ Jan 9 2023, 11:48 AM) wanna ask if anyone knows, if we ride our bike to thailand, our driving license is good enough right? don't need international license. just use your malaysian license is enough.but if we rent a bike(thai registered) can we still use our license or need to apply for IPD? well thai approach is that no license is needed, until you get into an accident. if you rent a bike they normally won't even ask for a license. do note that most (if not all) of these bike rental doesn't have voluntary or compulsory insurance for the bike. so if you get into an accident you need to pay for the people that you hit, the vehicle that you hit and the bike that you rent. they want cash so best to have some land that you could sell quickly. |
Jan 9 2023, 02:35 PM
2,484 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
QUOTE(paskal @ Jan 9 2023, 02:33 PM) don't need international license. just use your malaysian license is enough. Thais also don't " require" a helmet until you crash. LOLwell thai approach is that no license is needed, until you get into an accident. if you rent a bike they normally won't even ask for a license. do note that most (if not all) of these bike rental doesn't have voluntary or compulsory insurance for the bike. so if you get into an accident you need to pay for the people that you hit, the vehicle that you hit and the bike that you rent. they want cash so best to have some land that you could sell quickly. This post has been edited by jaycee1: Jan 9 2023, 02:36 PM WH4CockcooBird liked this post
Jan 9 2023, 02:39 PM
QUOTE(paskal @ Dec 20 2022, 10:43 PM) went to thailand again last weekend.visit triumph dealer there to get pricing for some parts ![]() enquired a DTAC center at lotus hatyai. they dunno about the 365 days validity. bought a new local simcard. tried topping up. no option for 365 days validity. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « registered my tourist sim that i bought previously. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « tried topping up. still no 365 days option. only thing that i get is 10 baht for 30 days validity. topup 20 baht get 60 days validity. at least now i can access the sims using the app and make sure it's active when i go there. sekian laporan WH4CockcooBird liked this post
Jan 9 2023, 03:10 PM
1,878 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Medan, ID |
QUOTE(paskal @ Jan 9 2023, 02:33 PM) don't need international license. just use your malaysian license is enough. +1 also the bail bonds and loss of life - including any roadkills if they should dispute you for killing their beloved pet, which can involve local courts, and then will involve bail bonds, and vehicle being impoundedwell thai approach is that no license is needed, until you get into an accident. if you rent a bike they normally won't even ask for a license. do note that most (if not all) of these bike rental doesn't have voluntary or compulsory insurance for the bike. so if you get into an accident you need to pay for the people that you hit, the vehicle that you hit and the bike that you rent. they want cash so best to have some land that you could sell quickly. Voluntary insurance covers ~900k Baht of the above, ~RM120k ![]() |
Jan 9 2023, 03:35 PM
QUOTE(paskal @ Jan 9 2023, 02:39 PM) tried topping up. still no 365 days option. only thing that i get is 10 baht for 30 days validity. topup 20 baht get 60 days validity. at least now i can access the sims using the app and make sure it's active when i go there. sekian laporan |
Jan 9 2023, 06:50 PM
QUOTE(Voopoo @ Jan 9 2023, 03:35 PM) after topping up 20 baht to get 60 days validity, can still use the internet or need to top up to purchase data? Validity is different compared to data package.Topup and get sim validity for the number. Then use the topup to subscribe data package. Data package also have data validity. Same approach as malaysian prepaid sims. Eg. you topup 20 baht and get 60 days validity. Sim is valid for 60 days. Then you use the 20 baht to subscribe 1 day data package for 18 baht. So you're left with 1 day data package, valid for 1 day and 2 baht left and 60 days sim validity. |
Jan 9 2023, 06:52 PM
QUOTE(alexei @ Jan 9 2023, 03:10 PM) +1 also the bail bonds and loss of life - including any roadkills if they should dispute you for killing their beloved pet, which can involve local courts, and then will involve bail bonds, and vehicle being impounded Insurance shop in dannok was closed when I arrived there at 8pm.Voluntary insurance covers ~900k Baht of the above, ~RM120k ![]() Will visit again to compare insurance prices in Changlun and across the border. Judging from the price printed at the insurance cover note, should be a lot cheaper across the border. Maybe. alexei liked this post
Jan 9 2023, 09:32 PM
Never had an accident since early 2000 when starting to cross the border.. fingers are crossed, but I have been buying Voluntary and compulsory insurance since they were introduced by AnZ. My Logic was and still is, that Thailand is not my country and anything fucked up in there is not worth comparing to saving a few hundred Rm. Beside, hobby kite kan Mahal.. x kan x mampu beli insurance jew... For IDP is needed or not, this has been questioned many times by many people. IDP act as the universal translator of your own driving license in those foreign countries since the road traffic rules are different from one to another. Yes, some will say, IDP does not need for traveling between ASEAN countries (SOME not ALL) due to the agreement signed back in 1985. However, Not all the Police officers of those foreign countries knew about that ruling, and MANY of them does not know how to read English. And imagine you are in some remote rural area in Thailand and trying to explain that ruling in English with some native Thai-speaking officer who has never even seen "Farang" in their life. What would be the outcome? That's why IDP comes in a pocket-size book instead of just another card. They do know it's IDP even though they don't know what the content, is because.. there are pictures to explain. In my own experiences, from Border until BangCock, the Thai Police seem familiar with Malaysia Driving Licenses, but after Bangcock to the north, they will ask for IDP even if it's just a random roadblock, yes you can get away by paying 300 bht of fines but then.. its money and you need it for your massage session. In the event of an accident.. again touch wood, IDP is crucial, you will be at default in the wrong even though it's not your fault. Since in their eyes, you don't have a valid driving license and commandeer a vehicle on the road. fun Fact: if you really fucked up and end up in jail, a common bail bond for you to walk out is a Thai land grant. Of all the karangan that I wrote up here, why believe me, I am not Thai. This post has been edited by ajaibman: Jan 9 2023, 09:33 PM alexei and WH4CockcooBird liked this post
Jan 10 2023, 12:29 PM
194 posts Joined: Jul 2022 |
Jan 10 2023, 02:44 PM
Going Thai... the food and relaxing sessions are the rewards. Be well prepared. Bail bond, no joke. Just buy the voluntary insurance. WH4CockcooBird liked this post
Jan 10 2023, 04:43 PM
QUOTE(alexei @ Jan 10 2023, 02:44 PM) Going Thai... the food and relaxing sessions are the rewards. food, its all about to food Be well prepared. Bail bond, no joke. Just buy the voluntary insurance. @ajaibman i suppose you have IDP all the time when you cross border? its rm 150 per year right? This post has been edited by Voopoo: Jan 10 2023, 04:45 PM alexei liked this post
Jan 10 2023, 08:03 PM
QUOTE(Voopoo @ Jan 10 2023, 04:43 PM) food, its all about to food Yes, it's 150 rm per year, I learned a hard way about IDP in Siam before..@ajaibman i suppose you have IDP all the time when you cross border? its rm 150 per year right? alexei liked this post
Jan 11 2023, 11:51 AM
Jan 11 2023, 07:30 PM
2,545 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(ajaibman @ Jan 9 2023, 09:32 PM) Never had an accident since early 2000 when starting to cross the border.. fingers are crossed, but I have been buying Voluntary and compulsory insurance since they were introduced by AnZ. My Logic was and still is, that Thailand is not my country and anything fucked up in there is not worth comparing to saving a few hundred Rm. BangCock Beside, hobby kite kan Mahal.. x kan x mampu beli insurance jew... For IDP is needed or not, this has been questioned many times by many people. IDP act as the universal translator of your own driving license in those foreign countries since the road traffic rules are different from one to another. Yes, some will say, IDP does not need for traveling between ASEAN countries (SOME not ALL) due to the agreement signed back in 1985. However, Not all the Police officers of those foreign countries knew about that ruling, and MANY of them does not know how to read English. And imagine you are in some remote rural area in Thailand and trying to explain that ruling in English with some native Thai-speaking officer who has never even seen "Farang" in their life. What would be the outcome? That's why IDP comes in a pocket-size book instead of just another card. They do know it's IDP even though they don't know what the content, is because.. there are pictures to explain. In my own experiences, from Border until BangCock, the Thai Police seem familiar with Malaysia Driving Licenses, but after Bangcock to the north, they will ask for IDP even if it's just a random roadblock, yes you can get away by paying 300 bht of fines but then.. its money and you need it for your massage session. In the event of an accident.. again touch wood, IDP is crucial, you will be at default in the wrong even though it's not your fault. Since in their eyes, you don't have a valid driving license and commandeer a vehicle on the road. fun Fact: if you really fucked up and end up in jail, a common bail bond for you to walk out is a Thai land grant. Of all the karangan that I wrote up here, why believe me, I am not Thai. |
Jan 12 2023, 11:35 AM
QUOTE(Voopoo @ Jan 11 2023, 11:51 AM) It was a roadblock at the beginning of Route 12 from the junction to Phu Tub Berk back in 2017.I rode down towards BangCock Central Railway station from my China Border trip via Laos Vientiane border exit towards Thai. The Thai Police with their tight fit uniform stopped us (2 bikes), then check the license plate (at the back),then he realized that we are foreigner, then try to communicate in Thai asking for everything (Passport, Thai custom form, License). So we use hand signal to communicate + Google Translate (earlier edition many error), I got IDP, but my riding buddy does not hand being hard headed he insisted that MY driving license is valid and trying to explain in English to a person who did not even knew the Latin alphabet. Cut the story short, we paid them 300 bht of summon because my friend didn't have valid IDP according to the officer, ..... and a bullet hole in his top box .. I can share this story because of that incident he (my riding buddy) decided to forgo the biking lifestyle, sold off his bike and avoiding Thailand. now.. another info for Thailand, in LAND OF SMILE firearms are rampart can be obtained legally and/or illegally. So if you are in the Touristy area, you are safe because the Tourist Police will protect foreigner, but when you in the rural areas, control your emotion, be humble and don't fall into their provocation even though you think that your right, Remember its not your country. This post has been edited by ajaibman: Jan 12 2023, 09:46 PM WH4CockcooBird and alcali liked this post
Jan 12 2023, 01:23 PM
QUOTE(ajaibman @ Jan 12 2023, 11:35 AM) It was a roadblock at the beginning of Route 12 from the junction to Phu Tub Berk back in 2017. You guys were in the Golden Triangle. Do not cincai press horn, gun threat there is real. Not just Thai, the other neighboring countries as well... just remember, the Golden Triangle is real.I rode down towards BangCock Central Railway station from my China Border trip via Laos Vientiane border exit towards Thai. The Thai Police with their tight fit uniform stopped us (2 bikes), then check the license plate (at the back),then he realized that we are foreigner, then try to communicate in Thai asking for everything (Passport, Thai custom form, License). So we use hand signal to communicate + Google Translate (earlier edition many error), I got IDP, but my riding buddy does not hand being hard headed he insisted that MY driving license is valid and trying to explain in English to a person who did not even knew the Latin alphabet. Cut the story short, we payed to them 300 bht of summon because my friend didn't have valid IDP according to the officer, ..... and a bullet hole in his top box .. I can share this story because of that incident he (my riding buddy) decided to forgo the biking lifestyle, sold off his bike and avoiding Thailand. now.. another info for Thailand, in LAND OF SMILE firearms are rampart can be obtained legally and/or illegally. So if you are in the Touristy area, you are safe because the Tourist Police will protect foreigner, but when you in the rural areas, control your emotion, be humble and don't fall into their provocation even though you think that your right, Remember its not your country. |
| Change to: | 0.0200sec
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 06:59 AM |