hahah... hognap. Now only 17 days.... once 24 days sure cuter, hope she gets rounder too heheheh.
Hedgehog Corner V4, Cuter than durians!
Nov 16 2007, 10:16 PM
12,047 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Setapak |
hahah... hognap. Now only 17 days.... once 24 days sure cuter, hope she gets rounder too heheheh.
Nov 17 2007, 08:53 PM
Oh dear, RIP to Igel.... gonna miss her. She was such a photogenic hedgehog.
Nov 19 2007, 10:44 AM
Is that a 12 inch wheel?
Anyway, Carrefour is having a sale on Felton storage boxes I think.... I just got hold of one.... 2ft in length and 1ft wide.... not bad, great space and cheap also, only RM24.90..... It is natural for them to be over protective with a hide box... coz it is their nature to hide from predators when they are resting. |
Nov 19 2007, 02:44 PM
Silent Wheel comes in 3 sizes.... small, medium and large.... the large one is 12 inches. Medium one is 8 inches.
Dunno lah, maybe from top angle it looks like the medium sized one hahahah.... |
Nov 19 2007, 10:33 PM
Huh? What is that? Did you try touching it? Do check your female, she got any wounds? Bloody body parts?
Nov 19 2007, 10:48 PM
Don't think that is vomit.... Anyway, is your hedgie fine now? Acting normal?
Nov 22 2007, 10:01 AM
Monitor him. You let him walk and see how he walk... if got limp, then you need to check carefully, if fracture then sure need a vet liao.
Hedgehogs can sometimes hurt themselves.... climbing and falling.... I don't think it's the wheel if it has no sharp ages.... Maybe housing also can cause. Personally, after keeping hedgehogs for about 2 years, I really have never experience any serious injuries nor visited a vet for my hedgehogs too. One of my hedgehogs fell at 4ft and he was ok.... but of course I checked him carefully la. |
Nov 22 2007, 11:05 AM
QUOTE(vincent09 @ Nov 22 2007, 11:00 AM) Just now i put my hand inside the storage cage, he just run and chase on my hand, run like normal like that. Didn't c any limp, run very smooth. Then he is ok lah. Should be no problem.I'm using the 12" big wheel there, just now i notice the wheel got the plastic cutting area like cutting gundam model area without sanding, but that area also hard to hurt hedgehog, but i already sanding it become smooth. Housing also no problem to hurt Bo Chai, because i give him a huge pipe for his sleeping place..... now still wonder how he get the scratch... For what i think now is that wheel plastic cutting area. Oh yea 1 more thing is.... he clean the blood on his flur by himself, today i stop bath for him, scare the scratch will bleeding again. But anywhere thank you guys, yesterday can sleep while also T-T. Sometimes cuts and wounds can happen. Nothing else sharp in his tank rite? Animals self clean their wounds.... LOL.... not every wound you must bath it. How often you bath your hedgehog? I only do it like once in 2 or 3 weeks. I feel once a week too much hahahah. |
Nov 24 2007, 11:06 AM
QUOTE(Cimredopyh @ Nov 24 2007, 10:32 AM) Not sure when i will be bathing mine, altho he seems relaxed and comfortable (exept when i first wake him up, grumpy The best water is of course warm water. The best shampoo is to use puppy or baby shampoo that has oatmeal in it.Think i will wait another full week at LEAST to make sure hes fully adjusted with his new home before thinking about giving him a bath. Question Im guessing warm water is best for bathtime? Bathing is easy once you get the hang of it. Put your hedgie in the sink. You can either fill it up with water till it reaches the hedgie's chin or you can use the shower. I have done both, and the shower works the best because it gets rid of the shampoo suds easier than pouring water onto the hedgie.... but don't do this on your new hedgehog lah coz it may freak it out if it is not accustom to baths yet. Toothbrushes are the best.... but I use a dish brush ahaahh. Big and easy. |
Nov 25 2007, 02:48 AM
QUOTE(Cimredopyh @ Nov 24 2007, 12:51 PM) Haha! dishbrush, awesome Hahah... for dish brush, you need to choose the softest you could find. I found an Ikea one... it has a suction cup at the base, only RM4.90 and it is not too hard. Does an effective job once mature coz their quills could be hard to clean with a tooth brush coz short and small. Takes time. My hedgies bath about 5 minutes each.I bought a teeny tiny soft bristle toothbrush with a rubber coated handle since i was scared anything else would hurt the hedgie, looks like i was being overly paranoid? I also got a small bottle of no more tears baby shampoo since i was unsure if the shampoo i use for my cats was suitable , and plan to look around for some organic oatmeal for oatmeal baths anyone know a good type? There are plenty of organic and safe shampoos for sale for dogs and cats, just you need to know where to find and get the money.... coz normally 1 bottle is like rm30 over or RM40 over. |
Nov 26 2007, 09:17 PM
You have to trim the long nails on the back leg.... if you do not do so, it would break off by itself and hurt the hedgie coz it would break at the quick, which is the vein and that is painful.
Nov 28 2007, 01:23 PM
QUOTE(Lil'Maine @ Nov 28 2007, 12:31 PM) ok ok ....1 teeny lil question...if i get a hedgehog...then i go overseas for holiday...but i let me friend babysit for me...will my friend be able to hold my hedgie (will it bite) coz u guys said that it will bite ppl other than it's owner rite...if my friend knot touch it....will my hedgie be able to survive without owner touch for a few days? Actually, hedgehogs rarely bite. I babysit a few hedgehogs before, touched many hedgehogs that are not familiar with me, none has ever bit me but one of mine did when I forgot to wash my hands after touching some dogs.You can let people babysit. Tame hedgehogs would not bite anyone unless their hands smell like some other animal or some chemical. The one about biting people that are not their owners.... that is kinda uncommon lah. It could be wrong handling or wrong touching. Never put your hand infront of a grumpy hedgehog, for sure it would in someway show it's anger.... QUOTE(rumizu @ Nov 28 2007, 12:40 PM) guys.. How big is the bald spot? are you sure it is mites? Sometimes sparseness can appear after quilling and it would grow back.yesterday while playing with sheimi, i noticed a little bald spot on his body? why did that happened, eh? is it because of mites? how to cure it? |
Nov 28 2007, 08:08 PM
QUOTE(rumizu @ Nov 28 2007, 07:47 PM) emm thanks guys.. You check carefully. Only use frontline when you are sure there are mites. You look carefully. We must not simply use frontline on hedgehogs coz it is after all poison. i hope new quills will grow back eventually.. but i dunno if mites really do the harm since i can't hardly see sheimi scratching himself before dis.. do i need both the frontline and the wheatgerm j&j shampoo? If sheimi is not scratching, not producing dandruff, then it has no mites lah. Just give him a normal bath. Quills will grow back. It is afterall their hair... like ours lah, we also sometimes drop hair. Added on November 28, 2007, 8:26 pmHere is the little hoglet that is 29 days old today. Already very naughty but not fully weaned since now eating dogfood and milk porridge hahahah. Cutie pie here. ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Nov 28 2007, 08:26 PM |
Nov 28 2007, 10:19 PM
Hehehe... thanks. She is tiny but playful. Always wanna climb onto my palm when i place my hand into her tank. Then she would chew my fingers for fun.
Nov 29 2007, 12:06 AM
The vet contacts for exotics are already highlighted in red in the vet thread.... you didn't thought of looking there?
Anyway, here is the contact. Dr Yeoh Eng Cheong in Taman Megah - 03 7804 8684 |
Nov 29 2007, 12:21 AM
Nov 29 2007, 06:08 PM
Ah, this little hoglet I'm not gonna keep. New owner is waiting anxiously hahahah.... and patiently, thank goodness.
Hand tame hedgehogs are cuties, they are very trusting and also very curious. The hoglet loves to chew my fingers and give me licks too. Go find out the birthdate lah. Last time when my friend bred his hedgehogs, all his hoglets got birth certificate wan. Kinda cute. This little hoglet I got was born on Halloween's Eve.... easy to remember. Yay, today 30 days old and is 35g. |
Nov 29 2007, 07:53 PM
QUOTE(Lil'Maine @ Nov 29 2007, 07:02 PM) ok ok ...this is what i have to get to prepare for my new lil hedgie Catfood, do get hold of Royal Canin.... you can use Fit 32, which is better. Or if you can spend some money, get hold of Acana catfood, or Orijen catfood. Look around, some brands like Evolve, Go Natural, Felidae.. can be used. Do not get anything from supermarkets.1. container 2. two cups 3. wood shavings 4.kitten food (what brand should i buy pls advise) QUOTE(toottut89 @ Nov 29 2007, 07:03 PM) i went to summit just now..saw outside zara's petshot there were 4hoglets. 1S&P 3albino. Pitiful rite? Why are they puny? Well, sometimes a female would cannibalize their young so to avoid losing money (coz 1 hoglet can fetch RM300) the breeders would separate the hoglets at 3 weeks old or 4 weeks old. I saw before Carrefour selling albino hoglets that are the same size as my hoglet. So you can imagine how unhealthy they are since they do not get enough nutrients when separated at a young age.... the sellers won't even soak the catfood, just dump dry ones in. Sometimes they feed low quality catfood.but they are underage..looked so puny.. |
Nov 29 2007, 09:31 PM
QUOTE(Lil'Maine @ Nov 29 2007, 09:24 PM) Dry ones like hamster? Since when catfood looks like hamsterfood? LOL...No lah... what I meant with my quote is that underage hoglets need soaked catfood coz they do not have strong teeth. If you are buying from a breeder, then he/she would have weaned the hoglet off soak catfood and have given the normal dried one already. Read carefully, I did say those separated at a young age. |
Nov 30 2007, 09:11 AM
QUOTE(toottut89 @ Nov 29 2007, 11:52 PM) they put that terra lighting there i have no idea why.. and all of them just cuddle up together.. i just dont like the way they are selling that at such young stage.. The light is to attract people only. Not necessary for their health and this also happens with sugar gliders at Ikano. They put the exoterra light and shine brightly at those poor animal eyes.....Sigh... petshops... think of profit making and attracting customer only. QUOTE(Lil'Maine @ Nov 30 2007, 01:51 AM) Read up on everything you can. Google African Pygmy Hedgehog care and you sure are gonna come across alot of websites. The 1st page of this thread got plenty too.QUOTE(livingmonolith @ Nov 30 2007, 02:49 AM) OMG, your hedgehog got me so addicted to this topic, crap. Must...not....fall...into trap..... Hahaha.... hedgehogs are cute but not all would be as friendly as mine. Some are naturally grumpy, some are super friendly, some are quiet and reserve, some are overly active.... so need to choose the right one.hahaha... crazymouse_yyh, it's a pity your cute little hoglet's already found an owner. He/She is real lucky. Reading all these posts made me feel like getting one myself too, but I think I'll need to check with the family first before I make any additions, right now the house is full of animals I'm afraid my mom will start screaming at me! Anyway, I guess I'll probably get it later, perhaps early next year or so. Need to do plenty of homework in these few months if I decide to get one (man, I think I'll succumb to this lure...). crazymouse_yyh, can I ask if it's possible to identify hedgehogs which are bred? I know there's plenty of breeders here selling, but I'm just wondering if we can find any hoglets at petshops which are bred. Thanks in advance. actually, I can tell you that not every parent would like a hedgehog. If families who take feng shui seriously, then they would object to such a pet. Do your homework first, sure you will come across a breeder with some hoglets for sale. Petshop hedgehogs are normally not healthy. So better not support them at all. They feed the wrong food, use the wrong bedding, never interact with the hedgehogs.... so if you get from a petshop, I think for sure you will have some time getting rid of mites and flaky skin, as well as taming it. QUOTE(vincent09 @ Nov 30 2007, 08:47 AM) Hehe maybe you look like many pet need to care |
| Change to: | 0.0483sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:28 PM |