Where's the best place to park money short term?

square2
post Nov 12 2022, 12:23 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Nov 12 2022, 09:49 AM)
why not very safe? is it suddenly bank system error and showed all RM 0 one day?

oh no...i put all in efD as I lazy to make the FD cert anymore OTC. sweat.gif  sweat.gif
already so many case on FD issues be it online or paper... if it can happen to others, it also has some chance that may happen to you too

people does mistake time to time, being not checking the website is correct or not, not ensure that the name is on the paper FD, using unknown apps that has spyware inside etc etc, hey, it can happen to you too

how safe is secure tac? secure sign? digital token?

with funds in money market, hackers requires much more steps and not to mention it take days to liquidfy your money

This post has been edited by square2: Nov 12 2022, 12:24 PM
SUSguy3288
post Nov 12 2022, 05:28 PM

5,926 posts

QUOTE(square2 @ Nov 12 2022, 12:23 PM)
already so many case on FD issues be it online or paper... if it can happen to others, it also has some chance that may happen to you too

people does mistake time to time, being not checking the website is correct or not, not ensure that the name is on the paper FD, using unknown apps that has spyware inside etc etc, hey, it can happen to you too

with funds in money market, hackers requires much more steps and not to mention it take days to liquidfy your money
FD so dangerous not so safe, MMF safer sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif you guys better move to MMF ha ha.

This post has been edited by guy3288: Nov 12 2022, 05:56 PM
square2
post Nov 12 2022, 05:46 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Nov 12 2022, 05:28 PM)
FD so dangerous sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif you guys better move to MMF ha ha.
don't twist my word la ranting.gif

i said not very safe only, i didn't say it is dangerous to put money in FD innocent.gif

in terms of security (FD 95% safe, MMF 98-99% safe), still have some risk to happen like MMF trustee goes bankrupt etc etc
SUSguy3288
post Nov 12 2022, 05:58 PM

5,926 posts

QUOTE(square2 @ Nov 12 2022, 05:46 PM)
don't twist my word la  ranting.gif

i said not very safe only, i didn't say it is dangerous to put money in FD  innocent.gif

in terms of security (FD 95% safe, MMF 98-99% safe), still have some risk to happen like MMF trustee goes bankrupt etc etc
i dont mean to twist, sorry bro, edited already , is that correct now?
just wanna emphasise what you want to say boleh?
Deeneversleeps
post Nov 19 2022, 11:13 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(thelws @ Nov 7 2022, 09:34 AM)
Hi guys, so I want to do some crowd source brainstorming.

I want to keep my 6 months emergency money somewhere. It has to be:
1)Easily accessible. Obviously because it's emergency fund.
2)I want it to return as high as possible interest.
3)must be relatively safe.

Right now here's what I can think of:
1)Savings account: Most liquid, but absolutely crap returns. If possible I don't want to put it there.
2)Put money in full flexi housing loan (if you have it).
3)Put in money market fund.
4)Put in tngo go+. But this one max limit is 20k, so hard to keep your 6 months emergency money there.

I appreciate if you guys can help give better recommendations. Especially if there are other funds or companies giving low risk, highly liquid stores of cash.
Probably KDI.. They just boost their rates from 3% to 3.5%, pretty good deal as their rates is considered high & they're low risk investment, it's better to start from low risk investment especially if you;re beginners bcs if you straightaway go for high risk investment, you might suffered losses.

SUSbronzeleg P
post Nov 19 2022, 11:18 AM

Probation

QUOTE(Deeneversleeps @ Nov 19 2022, 11:13 AM)
Probably KDI.. They just boost their rates from 3% to 3.5%, pretty good deal as their rates is considered high & they're low risk investment, it's better to start from low risk investment especially if you;re beginners bcs if you straightaway go for high risk investment, you might suffered losses.
Couldn't agree more, it's better to play safe + unlike other investment, kdi doesn't have lock in period, you can withdraw & place your funds anytime u want. I've tried withdraw once, it took less than 24 hours
SUSsparklingfountain P
post Nov 20 2022, 08:31 AM

Probation

QUOTE(square2 @ Nov 12 2022, 12:23 PM)

Hmm if I were you, I would invest KDI as they met the critetias you mentioned. They're 24/7 accesible, can take out your funds anytime & regulated by Securities Commision Malaysia.

Nemozai
post Dec 17 2023, 12:25 AM

285 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Nov 8 2022, 01:15 AM)
Nabeh TS said its emergency, this kenanga fanboy still ask “how often does that happen”, if it happens frequently it wouldn’t be called emergency fund wouldn’t it?

Yeah FD cannot really be withdrawn during wee hours but that’s it, or combine Ramjade’s cc limit idea for cash advance, then withdraw FD ASAP during the day and pay the cash advance off. Cash advance interest is charged daily from the day its withdrawn, not past statement due date.
Let's say i have overpaid credit in the credit card and withdraw it with cash advance, will i be charged the daily interest ?
hksgmy
post Dec 17 2023, 07:21 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

This is a Singapore UOB Privilege account promotion … not a bad option for short term parking of emergency funds.

Edited - I agree with Ramjade and I have deleted the reference

This post has been edited by hksgmy: Dec 17 2023, 08:26 AM
Ramjade
post Dec 17 2023, 08:15 AM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Dec 17 2023, 07:21 AM)

This is a Singapore UOB Privilege account promotion … not a bad option for short term parking of emergency funds.

Either that or OCBC’s Premier Dividend account - also 3.4% no lock in. My emergency funds are parked with them as OCBC’s 3.4% has been giving me excellent returns of nearly $2,700 per month just by saving money for a rainy day!

Bro please don't flex. Not everyone got sg bank acocunt. What more priority banking account. Think of people on the street. That's why my style of writing have always been for people on the street.

A bterr suggestion would be tiger money market account.
hksgmy
post Dec 17 2023, 08:26 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 17 2023, 08:15 AM)
Bro please don't flex. Not everyone got sg bank acocunt. What more priority banking account. Think of people on the street. That's why my style of writing have always been for people on the street.

A bterr suggestion would be tiger money market account.
Thanks for the reminder bro, I’ve edited my entry. My apologies. Sometime my enthusiasm gets the better of me.

This post has been edited by hksgmy: Dec 17 2023, 08:27 AM
gashout
post Jul 2 2024, 12:35 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(thelws @ Nov 7 2022, 02:30 PM)
the main difference here is FD is guaranteed return.

right now kdi say they guarantee 4% (if I'm not wrong)
but my gut tells me that this is going to change in the future.
because investment can never guarantee.
no fund manager will dare to guarantee money one.
and as far as I know kdi didn't disclose where they invest the money. People speculate it's a mix of money market and slightly riskier asset. So means there's a chance your portfolio can lose money.

No single answer is right. All got positive and negative. Just see which one you want only.
still going strong now... at 4%

but i see it's not protected under PIDM

This post has been edited by gashout: Jul 2 2024, 12:37 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0248sec    1.08    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 11:24 AM