Where's the best place to park money short term?

TSthelws
post Nov 7 2022, 09:34 AM, updated 4y ago

291 posts

Hi guys, so I want to do some crowd source brainstorming.

I want to keep my 6 months emergency money somewhere. It has to be:
1)Easily accessible. Obviously because it's emergency fund.
2)I want it to return as high as possible interest.
3)must be relatively safe.

Right now here's what I can think of:
1)Savings account: Most liquid, but absolutely crap returns. If possible I don't want to put it there.
2)Put money in full flexi housing loan (if you have it).
3)Put in money market fund.
4)Put in tngo go+. But this one max limit is 20k, so hard to keep your 6 months emergency money there.

I appreciate if you guys can help give better recommendations. Especially if there are other funds or companies giving low risk, highly liquid stores of cash.

This post has been edited by thelws: Nov 7 2022, 09:44 AM
honsiong
post Nov 7 2022, 10:00 AM

3,182 posts

5) FD auto renew every 1-2 months. It's way more liquid then 2 3 4, and slightly higher interest than 1.

But ah if you are serious about using it as emergency fund, return/interest rate should not be your factor. It's liquidity, liquidity, liqduity. All money market funds should be eliminated outright.
Davidtcf
post Nov 7 2022, 10:06 AM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(thelws @ Nov 7 2022, 09:34 AM)
4)Put in tngo go+. But this one max limit is 20k, so hard to keep your 6 months emergency money there.

KDI Save offering 3.5% till end of this year. 20k still within the limit of this bonus interest.

Versa we're still testing.. they're offering 4% till January 31st 2023 but we afraid there's a low cap on giving out that bonus interest.

Can visit both threads to read more, or visit their website.

They are MMF funds investing in other FDs, and no lock up. Can withdraw anytime. Fast deposit and withdrawal also.

Risk here is there's no PIDM coverage in case anything happens. But KDI is under Kenanga, a big public listed investment bank operating many years already. Versa is investing in Affin Hwang fund, a well known bank.

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Nov 7 2022, 10:07 AM
TSthelws
post Nov 7 2022, 10:08 AM

291 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Nov 7 2022, 10:00 AM)
5) FD auto renew every 1-2 months. It's way more liquid then 2 3 4, and slightly higher interest than 1.

But ah if you are serious about using it as emergency fund, return/interest rate should not be your factor. It's liquidity, liquidity, liqduity. All money market funds should be eliminated outright.
but this one hor... what if I need all 6 months of my emergency fund at once? Then cannot right? I believe this one is good if you only need to take out 1 or 2 months emergency at a time.
SUSTOS
post Nov 7 2022, 10:11 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(thelws @ Nov 7 2022, 10:08 AM)
but this one hor... what if I need all 6 months of my emergency fund at once? Then cannot right? I believe this one is good if you only need to take out 1 or 2 months emergency at a time.
Split your FD into multiple certificates. Each one 1k MYR for example. Then if you only need 1 month, you can still keep the rest "deposited".

If you need all 6 months worth of funds at once, uplift all certificates at once.

This post has been edited by TOS: Nov 7 2022, 10:11 AM
brutus
post Nov 7 2022, 10:14 AM

1,743 posts

Just place eFD with your current bank with 1 month auto renewal. Place the funds in 1-week interval. Hence you will not lose much interest when you need to use the funds.
ctys2012
post Nov 7 2022, 10:15 AM

280 posts

u can look out for better FD rates... i got to park in RHB for 3.6% pa for 12 months...
FD is a good choice...
like the other forumer said, split them up so u do not uplift it all at once...
akhito
post Nov 7 2022, 10:57 AM

749 posts

want to have best liquidity and safety. The answer would be fd only.
Myabe u can practice fd cycling eg 15k spilt to 5k and place 3 placement differ by each month. so when u need to withdraw only 5k u can just select the one with least forfeited interest. if there is more cash can try 6 placement 6 month cycling or 12placement 12 months cycling for more board interest
But the sweet spot would be 3 or 6months cuz if going for 1 years can get some promotional rate

This post has been edited by akhito: Nov 7 2022, 11:00 AM
1mr3tard3d
post Nov 7 2022, 10:57 AM

1,142 posts

4)Put in tngo go+. But this one max limit is 20k
that is the tng wallet size, without interest
go+ max RM 9.5k++ only
honsiong
post Nov 7 2022, 11:16 AM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(brutus @ Nov 7 2022, 10:14 AM)
Just place eFD with your current bank with 1 month auto renewal. Place the funds in 1-week interval. Hence you will not lose much interest when you need to use the funds.
Maybank 1 month min RM 5000, 2+ mo min RM 1000. So can do 2/3 months auto renewal for minimum loss when uplifting.
Ramjade
post Nov 7 2022, 12:00 PM

24,388 posts

Hi guys, so I want to do some crowd source brainstorming.

I want to keep my 6 months emergency money somewhere. It has to be:
1)Easily accessible. Obviously because it's emergency fund.
2)I want it to return as high as possible interest.
3)must be relatively safe.

Right now here's what I can think of:
1)Savings account: Most liquid, but absolutely crap returns. If possible I don't want to put it there.
2)Put money in full flexi housing loan (if you have it).
3)Put in money market fund.

I appreciate if you guys can help give better recommendations. Especially if there are other funds or companies giving low risk, highly liquid stores of cash.
1. High interest savings account like OCBC 360.
2. KDI but you can't get your money out on weekends.
CommodoreAmiga
post Nov 7 2022, 01:53 PM

3,864 posts

Bank Mualamat 4% 3mths FD is probably best short term now. No limit also unlike KDI or Versa. (Maybe got limit lah, a few million perhaps, i dunno ).

This post has been edited by CommodoreAmiga: Nov 7 2022, 01:53 PM
romuluz777
post Nov 7 2022, 02:03 PM

2,215 posts

BSN SSP.

square2
post Nov 7 2022, 02:18 PM

227 posts

instant liquidity but not very safe - eFD

2-3 days liquidity but very safe - money market
guy3288
post Nov 7 2022, 02:19 PM

5,899 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Nov 7 2022, 10:00 AM)

QUOTE(thelws @ Nov 7 2022, 10:08 AM)
QUOTE(akhito @ Nov 7 2022, 10:57 AM)
want to have best liquidity and safety. The answer would be fd only.
Myabe u can practice fd cycling eg 15k spilt to 5k and place 3 placement differ by each month. so when u need to withdraw only 5k u can just select the one with least forfeited interest. if there is more cash can try 6 placement 6 month cycling or 12placement 12 months cycling for more board interest
But the sweet spot would be 3 or 6months cuz if going for 1 years can get some promotional rate
dont understand you guys.....KDi liquidity not good enough?
Same day WD can get money by evening, go ATm take cash lo for small amount
Big online transfer.
Interest paid daily
WD the money no clawback what you have earned.

FD can be better meh??,
Sat Sun PH also cannot get money what.
When you do WD all interest earn lost
keep in Milo tin better

How urgent is urgent money required ?
Need the money means must have it now right away in your hand?
Never happen so far......

Then keep in Milo tin lo.

For me any time KDi, i keep few hundreds k there ,
FD lousy sekali prem WD interest clawback
what for?

TSthelws
post Nov 7 2022, 02:30 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Nov 7 2022, 02:19 PM)
dont understand you guys.....KDi liquidity  not good enough?
Same day WD can get money by evening, go ATm take cash lo for small amount
Big online transfer.
Interest paid daily
WD the  money no  clawback what you have earned.
FD can be better meh??,
Sat Sun PH also cannot get money what.
When you do WD  all interest earn lost
keep in Milo tin better

How urgent is urgent money required ?
Need the money means must have it now right away in your hand?
Never happen so far......

Then keep in Milo  tin lo.

For me any time KDi, i keep few hundreds k there ,
FD lousy sekali prem WD  interest clawback
what for?
the main difference here is FD is guaranteed return.

right now kdi say they guarantee 4% (if I'm not wrong)
but my gut tells me that this is going to change in the future.
because investment can never guarantee.
no fund manager will dare to guarantee money one.
and as far as I know kdi didn't disclose where they invest the money. People speculate it's a mix of money market and slightly riskier asset. So means there's a chance your portfolio can lose money.

No single answer is right. All got positive and negative. Just see which one you want only.
guy3288
post Nov 7 2022, 02:45 PM

5,899 posts

QUOTE(thelws @ Nov 7 2022, 02:30 PM)
the main difference here is FD is guaranteed return.

right now kdi say they guarantee 4% (if I'm not wrong)
but my gut tells me that this is going to change in the future.
because investment can never guarantee.
no fund manager will dare to guarantee money one.
and as far as I know kdi didn't disclose where they invest the money. People speculate it's a mix of money market and slightly riskier asset. So means there's a chance your portfolio can lose money.

No single answer is right. All got positive and negative. Just see which one you want only.
You have not done enough research
U want liquidity u go kdi
U want guaranteed return in fd you cannot withdraw emergency
U takut money lost u keep in milo tin
Nothing is guaranteed
You worry too much you cannot do anything
TSthelws
post Nov 7 2022, 02:52 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Nov 7 2022, 02:45 PM)
Nothing is guaranteed
no need so triggered.

just asking what other options available.
xander2k8
post Nov 7 2022, 04:44 PM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(thelws @ Nov 7 2022, 02:52 PM)
no need so triggered.

just asking what other options available.
Don’t bother him 🤦‍♀️

KDI is treasury MMF hence you’re right with the riskier assets which should be either bonds or govt treasury bills

But I suspect they are investing at least half of the returns in mixed MGS and 6 months TBills
honsiong
post Nov 7 2022, 11:25 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Nov 7 2022, 02:45 PM)
Nothing is guaranteed
Let's say you need RM 10000 now for whatever erason, your saving acc cannot meet the need.

You go to KDI website, can you withdraw it in cash within 1 hour?

Or you go to banking sites, you can uplift FD and withdraw from ATM within 1 hour, just lose a little bit of interest for that amount you withdraw.

Don't drink the kool-aid of MMF providers telling you they are more liquid than FD, they aren't. They are terrible places to park EMERGENCY funds.

Short term FDs are great way to park emergency funds that yield slightly higher interest.

0.0215sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:23 AM