5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Need help - TNB Meter being tampered

TSanzen600
post Oct 5 2022, 04:23 PM

Impossible is nothing ~Conquer your self !
1,239 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 5 2022, 04:16 PM)
not 100% sure of the procedure,...but the consequences of liabilities had been spelled out.
Actually this one also didnt mention if the landlord can apply to re sambung the electric or not. If tnb not holding the landlord responsible but also x kasi re sambung the eletric unless kena kasi clear the arrears oso the same bah

MUM
post Oct 5 2022, 04:26 PM

14,969 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Oct 5 2022, 04:21 PM)
FAQs doesnt recognised by reconnection dept.

They will tell customers that they will ask the account holder to pay. Once paid, they do reconnection.
hmm.gif account holder (tenant) left,...outstanding no pay to TNB,...
TNB ask property owner to chase ex tenant to pay up?

if that goes on, unpaid,..property owner cannot rent out unit to other tenant?

mini orchard
post Oct 5 2022, 04:27 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 5 2022, 04:26 PM)

Exactly.

Otherwise all their debts will be reaching the sky.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Oct 5 2022, 07:26 PM
wongmunkeong
post Oct 5 2022, 05:51 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 5 2022, 04:26 PM)

https://asklegal.my/p/tenant-didnt-pay-tnb-bills-what-to-do
..However, it is highly advisable (even by TNB themselves) to implement a change in name if you ever rent out your property because why take the risk of legal actions for unpaid bills? Aside from that, if you are the registered account holder, you will be found guilty if your tenant violates the Electrical Supply Act 1990 whether or not you committed the offences or were even aware of them (an example is tampering with the meter).

Now that you know all this, go free and sleep well in the thought of zero debts to TNB (other than your own)...

Also, read the comments/feedback section of the article - feedback from real-life situations
mini orchard
post Oct 5 2022, 07:32 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Oct 5 2022, 05:51 PM)
..However, it is highly advisable (even by TNB themselves) to implement a change in name if you ever rent out your property because why take the risk of legal actions for unpaid bills? Aside from that, if you are the registered account holder, you will be found guilty if your tenant violates the Electrical Supply Act 1990 whether or not you committed the offences or were even aware of them (an example is tampering with the meter).

Now that you know all this, go free and sleep well in the thought of zero debts to TNB (other than your own)...

Also, read the comments/feedback section of the article - feedback from real-life situations
Whether the debt is from owner or tenant, if registered in his name, tnb will go after the named account holder.

Owner is debt free if is registered in tenant's name. If the debt is not settled, there is no further connection.

If owner wants a reconnection for his next tenant, he has to settle the outstanding for his previous tenant and then sue him to recover the debt.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Oct 5 2022, 07:45 PM
TSanzen600
post Oct 5 2022, 07:45 PM

1,239 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Oct 5 2022, 07:32 PM)
Whether the debt is from owner or tenant, if registered in his name, tnb will go after the named account holder.

Owner is debt free if is registered in tenant's name. If the debt is not settled, there is no further connection.

If owner wants a reconnection for his next tenant, he has to settle the outstanding for his previous tenant and then sue him to recover the debt.
Errr then make no difference nia.. owner still need to settle the outstanding payment/penalty before can reconnect back. Conlan7firm tenant will not bayar.
mini orchard
post Oct 5 2022, 07:46 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(anzen600 @ Oct 5 2022, 07:45 PM)
Errr then make no difference nia.. owner still need to settle the outstanding payment/penalty before can reconnect back. Conlan7firm tenant will not bayar.
Otherwise, high user owners will register account using another name and escape paying the debt.
MUM
post Oct 6 2022, 07:29 AM

14,969 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Oct 5 2022, 05:51 PM)

👍 That is what I thought too.... As long as the owner is not the registered account holder....

Also found this info,.... Hv to make sure our average usage is below the deposit amount, else Hv to top up the deposit too

This post has been edited by MUM: Oct 6 2022, 07:46 AM

TSanzen600
post Oct 6 2022, 07:47 AM

1,239 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 6 2022, 07:29 AM)
👍 That is what I thought too.... As long as the owner is not the registered account holder....
but how about to resumbung the eletric after kena cut? Owner/landlord kena settle dulu?
MUM
post Oct 6 2022, 07:54 AM

14,969 posts

QUOTE(anzen600 @ Oct 6 2022, 07:47 AM)
but how about to resumbung the eletric after kena cut? Owner/landlord kena settle dulu?
May this can helps?

TSanzen600
post Oct 6 2022, 08:07 AM

1,239 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 6 2022, 07:54 AM)
May this can helps?
Thanks bro but the QnA also not so clear,kena call to TNB to confirm dulu.

Keen confirm ni.
Is the owner require to clear the arrears left by the previous registered tenant before can request for new connection?
Yes/No

MUM
post Oct 6 2022, 08:09 AM

14,969 posts

QUOTE(anzen600 @ Oct 6 2022, 08:07 AM)
Thanks bro but the QnA also not so clear,kena call to TNB to confirm dulu.

Keen confirm ni.
Is the owner require to clear the arrears left by the previous registered tenant before can request for new connection?
Yes/No
👍👍👍 Good direction to focus on....
For that FAQs may not be an updated version too

anzen600
Also, do ask, is there any variance of final outcome and reconnection procedures to take, (on outstanding unpaid bills)
if the tenancy agreement is still active (not yet expired/ cancelled with the tenant that is the registered tnb account holder) when
(I) tenant is still paying the rental (even thought electricity had been cut)
(ii) tenant did not pay rental but you are in the process of getting legal actions to legally evict the tenant from your premise, and
If the tenancy agreement had expired and had left with unpaid bills owed by the ex tenant that is the registered tnb account holder

BTW, tell us the results will you?

This post has been edited by MUM: Oct 6 2022, 08:36 AM
dwRK
post Oct 6 2022, 08:21 AM

the consummate chartist
6,251 posts

my tenant left... tnb cut power/remove meter...

i reapply no problem no need to settle... as I had made tenant apply tnb themselves... so hutang under their name...

mini orchard
post Oct 6 2022, 09:41 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Oct 6 2022, 08:21 AM)
my tenant left... tnb cut power/remove meter...

i reapply no problem no need to settle... as I had made tenant apply tnb themselves... so hutang under their name...
If tenant deposit is able to offset the outstanding, then is no issue owner cannot do a reconnection.

I know many tenants dont pay the last few bills because they dont want to go tnb to claim deposit. Let it auto deduct.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Oct 6 2022, 10:08 AM
BL98
post Oct 6 2022, 09:48 AM

744 posts

Report polis first.
Let them investigate
mini orchard
post Oct 6 2022, 10:12 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(BL98 @ Oct 6 2022, 09:48 AM)
Report polis first.
Let them investigate
Police also need to call tnb to investigate. They are not experts in electrical engineering.
dwRK
post Oct 6 2022, 10:17 AM

the consummate chartist
6,251 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Oct 6 2022, 09:41 AM)
If tenant deposit is able to offset the outstanding, then is no issue owner can do a reconnection.

I know many tenants dont pay the last few bills because they dont want to go tnb to claim deposit. Let it auto deduct.
i don't recall how much they hutang... it was long time ago... i just remember one day i visit... the meter gone... i tot got stolen... report tnb only found out they cut it... lol

this tenant after vacating... came back and stole my kitchen cabinets... my beloved diy solidly built pc table... damaged my wooden flooring... run away with unifi modem... etc etc... haiz...

dwRK
post Oct 6 2022, 10:19 AM

the consummate chartist
6,251 posts

QUOTE(BL98 @ Oct 6 2022, 09:48 AM)
Report polis first.
Let them investigate
polis wont investigate lah... not serious crime... will just take your report only...

BL98
post Oct 6 2022, 11:07 AM

744 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Oct 6 2022, 10:19 AM)
polis wont investigate lah... not serious crime... will just take your report only...
At least to tell police that you are not directly involved in electricity theft/meter tampering.
MUM
post Oct 6 2022, 12:46 PM

14,969 posts

QUOTE(BL98 @ Oct 6 2022, 11:07 AM)
At least to tell police that you are not directly involved in electricity theft/meter tampering.
Just found this thou,...
Looks like the end outcome will still be the same,...

For they had previously already mentioned ""If the user has any new evidence that he had not tampered with the meter, TNB is willing to meet the user," said the department."

Show proof meter not rigged, TNB tells businessman
Published: Jul 25, 2016
https://m.malaysiakini.com/news/349836

This post has been edited by MUM: Oct 6 2022, 12:56 PM

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0249sec    1.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 08:05 PM