We might be looking forward 4.80 soon 🤔🧐
why stop at 4.8?... might as well hit 5... laugh.gif

dwRK
post Sep 23 2022, 08:47 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 23 2022, 08:19 PM)
Slow & steady first...

The day would come hitting 5.00 level...

The question is when?
Year end, 2023 or 2024 😁
Yeah... just wondering if/when BNM gonna intervene...

dwRK
post Sep 23 2022, 09:38 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 23 2022, 08:57 PM)
Same here...

But some  smart leaders says weak MYR is good for exports 😁
that is true... but our pockets will empty faster...

dwRK
post Oct 9 2022, 02:05 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 9 2022, 01:38 PM)
You don't convert from MYR into the USD for placement into USD FCD FD. You must TT-in the USD from a foreign bank acct, place into the FCA USD FD,... and when you are ready to call it a day earning from the USD FD, TT out immediately back to the USD foreign bank acct...

NO converting in and out inside Msia.
some banks are sneaky... the high foreign fd rates are for over-the-counter placements... they 'force' you to convert from/to myr using their rates...

also some mca cannot tt in/out... can only transfer in/out own accounts within the bank... lol...

dwRK
post Oct 9 2022, 02:45 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 9 2022, 02:23 PM)
Come to think of it,... there shld be a foreign USD current account for us to use, on top of the USD FD acct., right ?
np.

i can write you usd checks now... who gonna clear it locally here... wink.gif

dwRK
post Oct 10 2022, 06:43 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 10 2022, 10:53 AM)
Clearing needs to be sent to the US bank overseas. Everybody knows this,...  smile.gif

It's the same with SG previously,... but today, can clear locally inside SG for USD checks. That's the advantage of an international financial hub, a good one that is,...
what to do... poor country lots of capital control n restrictions...

US checking quite easy actually... I can deposit checks using banking app to snap pictures of it... done... and I can even print my own checks with fancy designs... lol... not like here...

dwRK
post Oct 13 2022, 04:46 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 13 2022, 03:06 PM)
3.2704 now,...
huat ahh.... smile.gif

dwRK
post Oct 13 2022, 09:16 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(Nom-el @ Oct 13 2022, 06:55 PM)
Is it possible to directly transfer foreign currency (e.g. USD) from 1 Malaysian foreign currency account to another Malaysian foreign currency account? Or need to first TT to a foreign bank account and TT back to a Malaysian foreign currency account after that?
you have to check the bank's T&C... can be very different bank to bank...

dwRK
post Oct 13 2022, 09:25 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 13 2022, 07:02 PM)
I'm a happy man, bros,... glad I selected to invest in the Singapore Dollar back in 2005. Might not go up tmrw,... there is a phenomenon called buy on rumours and sell on facts,...

Hence,... I've changed a certain amt back to the Ringgit this morning,...

Getting ready to go the The Land of The Rising Sun,.... thumbup.gif
nice... my USD accumulated 2010-2014... dunno what to do now... hahaha... maybe later I join you in jpy... smile.gif

gatal liao... hahaha

dwRK
post Oct 13 2022, 09:33 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 13 2022, 04:50 PM)
Tomorrow morning you huat even more laugh.gif
hope it huat until 5... but damm cpi will fly too... really bitter sweet...

dwRK
post Oct 14 2022, 03:21 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 14 2022, 12:57 PM)
Bros,... be careful,... the moment the Feds hint at any pausing, the USD will just turn and dive down hard and fast ! Careful,....

And I think,... the SGD will weaken back too,... but I think it won't drop back too far vs the MYR...

It's a good time to chg some SGDs back to the MYR now at thie current rate, and since the Foreign-Sourced Income Tax thing has been pushed back to Jan 1st., 2027.

Edited, added : And yeah, a good time to chg some USDs back to the MYR too now. A good time to travel to The UK and Japan too today with their currencies near all-time lows.
myr sitting in the middle pack... weak against usd, sgd and some... strong against eur, gbp, jpy and others...

i dunno which the major trading partners... so far DXY dips and fluctuations not really affecting usdmyr...

buy anyways... yeah some prudent approach warranted... will start buying myr and others soon... laugh.gif

dwRK
post Oct 14 2022, 03:26 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Oct 14 2022, 02:04 PM)
Hmm... you may be right.  Probably time to buy some Ringgit and stock up. 

When I look at the USD/MYR chart.. oh gee I've to pull back 25 years all the way when we had Asian Financial Crisis in 1997.  That's USD1 = RM 4.88 is the all time high.

Now..it's just 18sen away.  Will this line hold?  hmm.gif

Something is about to blow off top again.
my chart shows 7.5 sen away from all time high... I think will beat it...

dwRK
post Oct 14 2022, 05:10 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 14 2022, 03:46 PM)
If you have SGD, buy MYR.

If you have MYR, buy EUR, GBP and JPY.

The moment something (positive) happens in their jurisdictions,... the EUR, GBP and JPY will woosh up.  smile.gif
usd smile.gif
dwRK
post Oct 15 2022, 02:19 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 15 2022, 12:32 PM)
Err,... what do you mean by the above short term, bro ?
eh... you type...

"if you have SGD..."

"if you have MYR..."

so along these lines... I just reply usd lor... ok lah next time I type more... hahaha

dwRK
post Oct 21 2022, 07:46 AM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Oct 21 2022, 03:01 AM)
4.73.... darn.. King dollar still going up.

We need more people to buy more Ringgit to support this.  tongue.gif
15 sen more will break all time high... laugh.gif... go go go... Malaysia boleh... lol

edit... highest 4.8848 @ Jan 7, 1998

This post has been edited by dwRK: Oct 21 2022, 11:03 AM
dwRK
post Aug 21 2023, 10:25 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Aug 20 2023, 10:27 PM)
I said in the past PIDM cannot guarantee foreign currency deposits, at most they can guarantee up to a certain point, then the system will collapse when FX reserve runs out. This is what happened to Turkey:

FT Turkish economy

Turkey backs away from foreign currency protected savings accounts
Erdoğan continues retreat from unconventional economic policies that stoked inflation crisis

by Adam Samson in Ankara (3 HOURS AGO)

Source (with paywall): https://www.ft.com/content/bf08b99b-3481-40...c8-693d1bb98ea8
i think you should read again and understand what is turkey's forex protected savings account and how it works... wink.gif

totally not same as pidm...

dwRK
post Oct 21 2023, 06:04 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(heLL_bOy @ Oct 21 2023, 12:34 PM)
holding SGD better then MYR
yes i remember the times 1sgd = 1.05 myr...

dwRK
post Oct 23 2023, 08:04 AM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Oct 22 2023, 06:32 PM)
That was like 35 years ago 🤦‍♀️ once after RM left the currency block and free floated
maybe even longer... lol... i remember during primary school buying junk food in canteen... that time sen and cents can be used interchangeably... lol...

dwRK
post Nov 3 2023, 10:03 AM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Nov 3 2023, 08:12 AM)
Just because other currencies drop, it doesnt mean RM should follow suit.
Its like your kid fails Maths in exam, and then he justifies it by saying that there're other kids who fail Maths as well..
trade balance...
dwRK
post Nov 5 2023, 10:03 AM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Nov 5 2023, 12:30 AM)
compare picture 2 & picture 3. RM50 in jb just get us slightly less than S$50 in sg?
hehehe...

malaysiasingapore
breakfasttoast, egg & milocornflakes, toast, egg & milo
lunchmaggi with egg maggi with egg
dinnertoast with ketchup/condensed milk/chili flakesbig ass deep fried chicken with thai fragrant rice and veg

slightly less or not... biggrin.gif

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0319sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:42 PM