USD/MYR and SGD/MYR

dwRK
post Nov 8 2023, 11:40 AM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Nov 7 2023, 09:49 PM)
I think it's MIDF jokers that said 4.3 by end of year.

https://theedgemalaysia.com/node/688948
KUALA LUMPUR (Nov 6): MIDF Research said the ringgit is likely to appreciate towards the end of the year, on expectations that the Federal Reserve will stop raising interest rates, China is poised for a recovery, as well as the easing of the demand for the greenback as a safe-haven investment.

However, MIDF qualified that these projections are subjected to uncertainty over the Fed’s policy, the volatility of the US treasury yields, and the current geopolitical tensions in the Middle East. 

this like saying...

i predict you gonna win lottery... provided you buy and the number match... lol...

dwRK
post Nov 8 2023, 11:45 AM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Nov 8 2023, 11:07 AM)
lol..start climb back...
come... buy up or buy down...

dwRK
post Feb 7 2024, 11:10 AM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Feb 7 2024, 09:35 AM)
SGD.MYR keep smashing record 3.5450

A great CNY for those working in SG. laugh.gif
already told my kids... go find work in SG... lol...
dwRK
post Feb 20 2024, 05:35 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Feb 20 2024, 05:18 PM)
Another day of record... 3.5649! https://www.bnm.gov.my/exchange-rates
yup... help pump klse

hopefully higher epf div with fx conv

dwRK
post Feb 21 2024, 08:51 AM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

4.8 liao... gg

dwRK
post Feb 22 2024, 06:27 AM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 21 2024, 11:24 PM)
these 2 articles explain why SGD is so strong, why RM is so weak.

is anybody doing anything?

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...it-to-1998-lows
https://www.nst.com.my/business/economy/202...gapore%20dollar.
thinking of...

1. buy jpy with myr
2. buy sgd with usd

dwRK
post Feb 22 2024, 10:02 AM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

waiting for trump to get reelected...

he should provide ample catalyst... rclxm9.gif

dwRK
post Feb 22 2024, 08:09 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Feb 22 2024, 06:56 PM)
https://theedgemalaysia.com/node/701841

Edge datang kelentong lagi.

Last round some expert claim RM will go back to RM4.3 LAST DECEMBER.
who the f draw chart like this... lol...
dwRK
post Apr 9 2024, 04:15 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(billyboy @ Apr 9 2024, 02:52 PM)
you believe them ?  cool2.gif
everything you read on the internet... must believe smile.gif

dwRK
post Apr 27 2024, 08:00 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Apr 27 2024, 06:57 PM)
Ok boss

the guy gave his own post a thumbs up like... lol...

dwRK
post Sep 9 2024, 09:10 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(boyboycute @ Sep 9 2024, 05:18 PM)
The key in building wealth is not to make the best prediction. It's USING THE POWER OF COMPOUNDING. Unker has roamed the earth many decades to realise that and hope to pass on the wisdom
key to building wealth is understanding risks n exposures... power of compounding is part of it but not what you think...

epf is a good storage vessel... ~zero risk and ~6% returns... it barely outruns real inflation... one is supposed to get rich outside of epf... wink.gif

sgd will out perform myr over time... onus now is for the folks with sgd to out perform epf...

dwRK
post Sep 11 2024, 07:28 AM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Sep 10 2024, 09:31 PM)
I think he's just trying to say the power of compounding the 8th wonder of the world. Forex exchange mmg cannot beat power of compounding.
QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Sep 10 2024, 11:36 PM)
makes no sense... comparing a passive investment scheme like EPF to handicapped long term FX holding position without even doing proper deployment of funds. just makes no sense to leave the funds there not invested.
that guy is low key trolling... comparing apples to oranges... lol

dwRK
post Sep 12 2024, 11:12 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(privatequity @ Sep 12 2024, 06:34 PM)
i think the huge strengthening of MYR has caught ppl by surprises too. I agree many are quite pessimistic towards MY's outlook and MYR, but every country has their own problem, and a lot of things the citizens can complain, and sometimes we get biased believing other currencies is better than MYR. 

I've no idea if MYR will perform better, worse against other currencies in the long term (above 2 years), macroeconomy is hard to be predicted (hence more ppl lose $ in forex than earning by speculating macro). But i wouldn't be so sure on MYR will definitely perform weaker than other currencies.

Also in the market, a lot the publicly info (including good n bad things) have priced in. So even a country performs badly, but yet better than expectation (ppl has worse expectation), their currency may strengthen as a result.

Happy to hear if any others have better views/opinions on MYR is very very much likely perform worse hence we shall convert as much as possible to other currency.
no surprises for me... one must understand the movements of myr vs usd n sgd, the reason for the interest rate differentials... then you know if it is sustainable for long term or is only a short/medium term effect...

i've mentioned maybe a year or two ago already... myr will strengthen when us cut rates... i was looking into buying yen also... and also swapping usd for sgd... anyways didn't do anything...

imho... for the long term, sgd will outperform myr... not so sure about usd, hence why i wanna swap some usd for sgd...

y'all should remember... myr strengthen to 3.1 against usd before going down hill due to the 1mdb fiasco... we got potential, but the set back is very serious, recovery very slow... us elections will see some volatility...

as to whether to continue moving money out... as long as you put your usd or sgd to good use, generating higher value than locally possible, continue lor... just remember to factor in round trip fees...

dwRK
post Sep 13 2024, 08:57 AM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Sep 13 2024, 07:35 AM)
A lot of what needs to be done can now be done online or via a bank call, so round trips are not as crucial as before.

Recently, I bought a couple of commercial properties in Sydney that required paperwork and the 100 point identification procedure to be done… VOI was done via video link and the lawyers could submit that as evidence. Very convenient now. Same with a lot of banking needs.
good morning doc...

some ambiguity/miss understanding here smile.gif ... round trip fees i was referring to cost of sending money out and back in... fx spread, wire fees, etc... depending on what you invest in, this can be marginal or a big component...

dwRK
post Sep 15 2024, 09:16 AM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

rest of the world will follow... bring to some parity...

dwRK
post Sep 21 2024, 08:05 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ Sep 21 2024, 02:28 PM)
So u put money oversea , but you don’t use that money and don’t have plan to migrate …

One old uncle forumer here used to give me advice 15 years ago  - invest in foreign currency only if you plan to migrate , otherwise forget about it

He migrated btw and he advised  me to put in PNB and EPF.
some of us kept foreign money for the kids... one way to mitigate fx volatility is regular dca bit by bit overtime...

ramjade makes full use of his foreign cash... he's compounding it doing options... easily overcoming fx exposures...

dwRK
post Sep 21 2024, 08:15 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Sep 18 2024, 08:16 PM)
I pared down my USD cash holdings months ago, before the news of the rate cuts were announced. I am left holding only what my US dividend stocks pay, which is around USD50,000. Converted the rest of them into a mix of SGD and AUD.

Probably best decision I’ve made for the medium term.
congrats... thumbsup.gif

i lost interest with finances... no tracking/followup... now stuck with big usd account... lol...

dwRK
post Sep 21 2024, 09:17 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 21 2024, 08:52 PM)
I got spare cash to sell puts just in case assigned 😂
Nothing to buy so cash pile keeps growing while keeping selling puts. Then once hit sell calls and see if it gets call away.

Good issue to have cash keeps coming in biggrin.gif Wish I got bigger cash pile but do what I can with current cash pile.
better than just parking a limit order... collect premium while you wait... :thumbsup:

dwRK
post Sep 23 2024, 08:13 AM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(batman1172 @ Sep 23 2024, 08:01 AM)
It’s good for people who earn MYR and want to buy USD but bad for people dependent on selling USD assets to live in Malaysia. Hopefully USD don’t continue depreciating down to 3.2. Haiz
10 usd buys only lunch in usa...

10 usd buys breakfast lunch n dinner here...

still ok bah... hahaha

dwRK
post Sep 23 2024, 08:19 AM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(kiwifruit0 @ Sep 22 2024, 10:41 PM)
MYR is strengthening...do u guys still convert into USD/SGD? Malaysia seems to be doing better
convert when strong is call... planning

convert when weak is... panicking... laugh.gif

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0676sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 07:29 PM