243 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

Automatic Gate, How much do you need to install one ?

weikee
post Nov 5 2011, 10:01 PM

12,019 posts

Gate done, auto gate next week.
kelvyn
post Nov 5 2011, 10:02 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(tifosi @ Nov 5 2011, 10:53 PM)
@kelvyn,

I had already asked and the guy mentioned, most likely it will take up around 1.5ft per side including the arm so roughly, I still have 11 ft of opening which I think is adequate. I think probably going for the arm is still the best, or you any have other suggestions?

@weikee

Yeah, pretty much figured that also.

Been following your home thread for quite some time as a silent reader, so have you done up with your gate yet?
Actually after some reading, I am quite incline for Dc Moto GFM 905 but just don't know about the spare part availability for this brand. A youtube video I found about this model online.

IMHO, taking up 1.5' each side is quite a lot. Unless you are planning of getting only one car into the porch.

DC Moto should be OK. Using them on my current gate.
BTW, if you use DC Moto, it is should take up lesser on each side.

This post has been edited by kelvyn: Nov 5 2011, 10:03 PM
tifosi
post Nov 5 2011, 10:23 PM

Friend is someone to share last Cookie with!
5,155 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Nov 5 2011, 10:02 PM)
IMHO, taking up 1.5' each side is quite a lot. Unless you are planning of getting only one car into the porch.

DC Moto should be OK. Using them on my current gate.
BTW, if you use DC Moto, it is should take up lesser on each side.
He said at most so I can expect lesser, probably if can be done around 1ft region then I am happy enough. I will talk to my gate contractor and see on this issue. How much did you pay for the gate motor?
Jo_da48
post Nov 6 2011, 01:26 AM

1,529 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Nov 5 2011, 10:01 PM)
Gate done, auto gate next week.
what brand are you going? and what the cost like?

I yet to decide should I re-use the unit my friend given "http://www.jackpro.com.my/aboutus.asp" or get other...

weikee
post Nov 6 2011, 09:57 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Nov 6 2011, 01:26 AM)
what brand are you going? and what the cost like?

I yet to decide should I re-use the unit my friend given "http://www.jackpro.com.my/aboutus.asp" or get other...
Arm type, local brand la. is 1.4k
Jo_da48
post Nov 6 2011, 10:43 AM

1,529 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Nov 6 2011, 09:57 AM)
Arm type, local brand la. is 1.4k
Big arm type?

weikee
post Nov 6 2011, 11:54 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Nov 6 2011, 10:43 AM)
Big arm type?
Not sure, did not ask detail. He was recommend by my wife colleague, the use his service many time and some of her other colleague also use his service.
bteoh
post Nov 6 2011, 12:11 PM

158 posts

see the youtube clip....is the motor noise or the gate frinction noise that is noisy????
phoenix69
post Nov 6 2011, 01:42 PM

1,836 posts

Hey guys, I've got a question here.
I am looking for auto gate at this stage.
My gate still have not arrived yet.
Initially wanted DC Moto 905, but according to spec
DC Moto can only handle around 1.9meter (150kg) per wing.(according to spec)

My Gate is a Folding gate.
Something like this http://www.doordesignss.com/tag/auto-gate-design/
6 feet height, 16 feet wide. (8 feet per wing). No wood, only aluminium panels.
My gate supplier told me its 400++kg per wing. blink.gif
I was shocked , possible ar????? shocking.gif
I asked 3 times and the answer still the same rclxub.gif
That makes it 800++kg total.
That is crazy. rclxub.gif

Any alternative autogate recommendations?

This post has been edited by phoenix69: Nov 6 2011, 01:43 PM
kelvyn
post Nov 6 2011, 01:57 PM

3,173 posts

I have a strongest feeling that the weight given to you by your contractor is not correct. No way it is 400+ kg per side. On top of that, you said that they are aluminum panels.

I reckon, it should be the most 130kg each side even it is MS instead of aluminum. So, with aluminum panels, it should be lesser.

weikee
post Nov 6 2011, 04:34 PM

12,019 posts

The autogate installer will ask you your gate weight, than he can recommend. If too heavy, they usually recommend imported version.
kamion
post Nov 6 2011, 05:48 PM

327 posts

I have installed this Life Optimo swing gate:

http://www.homelife.it/automation-for-swin...tes-optimo.html

RM2500.
Jo_da48
post Nov 6 2011, 10:42 PM

1,529 posts

400kg??? Crazy. He give you solid MS kah? and how much he charge you for the gate itself?

de|phantom
post Nov 7 2011, 01:04 AM

▣⌇▣ Rest In Peace ▣⌇▣
891 posts

but if blackout happens, does the automatic gate can still slide open??
weikee
post Nov 7 2011, 09:05 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(de|phantom @ Nov 7 2011, 01:04 AM)
but if blackout happens, does the automatic gate can still slide open??
Mine will come with battery. But need to replace every two to three years for backup battery.
SYL17
post Nov 7 2011, 02:00 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Nov 6 2011, 01:42 PM)
Hey guys, I've got a question here.
I am looking for auto gate at this stage.
My gate still have not arrived yet.
Initially wanted DC Moto 905, but according to spec
DC Moto can only handle around 1.9meter (150kg) per wing.(according to spec)

My Gate is a Folding gate.
Something like this http://www.doordesignss.com/tag/auto-gate-design/
6 feet height, 16 feet wide. (8 feet per wing). No wood, only aluminium panels.
My gate supplier told me its 400++kg per wing.  blink.gif
I was shocked , possible ar?????  shocking.gif
I asked 3 times and the answer still the same  rclxub.gif
That makes it 800++kg total.
That is crazy. rclxub.gif

Any alternative autogate recommendations?
almost the weight of a lotus elise.
i have not heard of a residential gate of 800kg.

The only gate i know is datuk tan's house gate from jb (danga bay area).
Thats almost 2 storeys high.
skng03
post Nov 8 2011, 01:09 AM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(SYL17 @ Nov 7 2011, 02:00 PM)
almost the weight of a lotus elise.
i have not heard of a residential gate of 800kg.

The only gate i know is datuk tan's house gate from jb (danga bay area).
Thats almost 2 storeys high.
saw one W.I sliding gate 18'(L) x 8'(h) with 12mm Grade 50 steel plate laugh.gif laugh.gif need 4 big size body guard to push when the sliding motor KO whistling.gif whistling.gif
kelvyn
post Nov 8 2011, 09:25 AM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(skng03 @ Nov 8 2011, 02:09 AM)
saw one W.I sliding gate 18'(L) x 8'(h) with 12mm Grade 50 steel plate  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  need 4 big size body guard to push when the sliding motor KO whistling.gif  whistling.gif
In that case, the motor must be damn big to be able to slide the gate... sweat.gif
noien
post Nov 8 2011, 10:02 AM

3,184 posts

was quoted rm1800 for casa 320
gate width is 14ft
is the price ok?
phoenix69
post Nov 8 2011, 10:23 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Nov 6 2011, 10:42 PM)
400kg??? Crazy. He give you solid MS kah? and how much he charge you for the gate itself?
Ya lah. I think he is either wrong or my ear wrong, rclxub.gif
Price around RM4500.00
Like that can sell scrap metal maybe still make profit . doh.gif

243 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0704sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:20 AM