4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

HSBC Malaysia says it is experiencing a spike in, in customer calls after 'payment gateway

TSAvangelice
post Aug 18 2022, 07:58 AM, updated 4y ago

5,274 posts

KUALA LUMPUR (Aug 17): HSBC Malaysia said on Wednesday (Aug 17) that the bank is currently receiving a spike in customer calls, driven partly by what it refers to as a "payment gateway incident".

It said this in an emailed response to queries from The Edge about a recent spate of complaints from irate customers of the bank, who have been unable to reach the bank over some suspected fraudulent transactions. Many of them resorted to flooding HSBC's Facebook page with their grouses.

Some claimed they received notifications via SMS from the bank that their credit cards have been temporarily blocked over what they said was a security breach at the bank.

However, HSBC told The Edge that there has been no such issue, though it did not elaborate on what the "payment gateway incident" was about.

A hotel employee, who wishes only to be known as Lam, told The Edge on Wednesday afternoon that he received an SMS late night on Tuesday (Aug 16), notifying that his HSBC credit card has been blocked for security reasons. He was told to call the bank at a number provided for assistance.
“I called immediately but no one picked up. Then, I checked and called the customer hotline for one whole hour that night but no one picked up. This morning (on Wednesday), I called again and yet, no one picked up.  
“I even tried the live chat function on the mobile app but there was no response. I left a message [at] around 9am this morning, and there has been no response up until now. If something had happened, shouldn't HSBC let their cardholders know what happened? Rather than asking people to call the bank one by one,” he said.
In the evening, he updated that he finally got a call back from the bank, telling him that someone had used his card for a gaming website for three consecutive times on Aug 13, and that all transactions were made in US dollars. “The agent also told me that there had been lots of calls to attend to nowadays,” he said.
Similarly, Muhammad Imran, another irate customer, wrote on HSBC's Facebook page that it was his third day contacting the bank now for suspected fraud transactions, but could not get anyone to attend to his problem.
“Went to [one of] your HSBC branches, they asked to do [it] via call and online. Really disappointed and wasted my time on this,” he wrote.

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/hsbc...ateway-incident

For those ktards using HSBC, I have a first hand experience when my secretary HSBC card got charged 2k consecutively three times. She said it was so hard to reach HSBC.

Yest I kena, straight call Hong leong bank and terus got my card cancelled and replaced.
Consider replacing your cards now esp those who have done online purchases

Those who have HSBC cards, maybe time to consider going to other banks.

This post has been edited by Avangelice: Aug 18 2022, 07:59 AM
kurangak
post Aug 18 2022, 08:03 AM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

Lately so many breach in malaysian bank. Whoevrr handles the security in malaysian bank should just go hang themselves
kcchong2000
post Aug 18 2022, 08:04 AM

189 posts

I saw those got konek their credit card to shitpee will kena
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Aug 18 2022, 08:05 AM

3,703 posts

Among the "Big 4" credit cards from international banks, HSBC is the worst. Many ppl I know say their customer service sucks to the max.
ZzZzz...
post Aug 18 2022, 08:07 AM

Art of Sleeping
1,787 posts

QUOTE(kcchong2000 @ Aug 18 2022, 08:04 AM)
I saw those got konek their credit card to shitpee will kena
really? cause i connected with it, fxxk
Robottoes
post Aug 18 2022, 08:08 AM

434 posts

HSBC customer service is non existent.
kcchong2000
post Aug 18 2022, 08:09 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(ZzZzz... @ Aug 18 2022, 08:07 AM)
really? cause i connected with it, fxxk
U better check wor. I had few frens having same problem and in /k got few open tered, the pattern ada shitpee added CC.
ZzZzz...
post Aug 18 2022, 08:10 AM

Art of Sleeping
1,787 posts

QUOTE(kcchong2000 @ Aug 18 2022, 08:09 AM)
U better check wor. I had few frens having same problem and in /k got few open tered, the pattern ada shitpee added CC.
checking my credit card statement sad.gif
iGamer
post Aug 18 2022, 08:16 AM

Toxic ktards probably losers irl
1,374 posts

Fraudulent charge to cc is protected to some extent, sill better than your bank saving/current account being hacked. sad.gif
kcchong2000
post Aug 18 2022, 08:17 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(ZzZzz... @ Aug 18 2022, 08:10 AM)
checking my credit card statement sad.gif
Hope u tak kena lor.
json_derulo
post Aug 18 2022, 08:18 AM

next time use epal pay on everything
LuckyBai
post Aug 18 2022, 08:20 AM

426 posts

It was an excuse... They never pick up phone calls since three to four months ago ...

Guess only one person is working to handle 5mil of customers
SUSbananajoe
post Aug 18 2022, 08:33 AM

PhotoPhag
661 posts

QUOTE(ZeroSOFInfinity @ Aug 18 2022, 08:05 AM)
Among the "Big 4" credit cards from international banks, HSBC is the worst. Many ppl I know say their customer service sucks to the max.
What are the other 3 ?
smallcrab
post Aug 18 2022, 08:33 AM

140 posts

ipay88 punye pasal
Robottoes
post Aug 18 2022, 08:36 AM

434 posts

QUOTE(LuckyBai @ Aug 18 2022, 08:20 AM)
It was an excuse... They never pick up phone calls since three to four months ago ...

Guess only one person is working to handle 5mil of customers
Seth from FB? sweat.gif
TSAvangelice
post Aug 18 2022, 08:37 AM

5,274 posts

QUOTE(bananajoe @ Aug 18 2022, 08:33 AM)
What are the other 3 ?
Ocbc
Stan chart

Ocbc is the hardest to get. You need to have fixed deposit with them
SUSDezs
post Aug 18 2022, 08:37 AM

623 posts

Still got sohai use HSBC?

Even among banking circles they are known to be sohais. Same as OCBC also
19 Degree South
post Aug 18 2022, 08:53 AM

1,682 posts

Since last year their CS naber pick up calls oredi! Mud 7 they talk now?
SUSguest16888
post Aug 18 2022, 08:55 AM

135 posts

ceo should resign
9m2w
post Aug 18 2022, 08:57 AM

Victoria Concordia Crescit
1,035 posts

I'm monitoring my transactions, almost daily in fact since the ipay breach news but so far touch wood nothing yet with my HSBC

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0204sec    1.00    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 12:54 AM