As a bike noob I normally bring along tire repair kit and Xiaomi portable pump.
Rain coat is obvious.
What is recommended to bring along?
What to pack for a long ride, for few days?, Other than cloths lah 😬
Aug 6 2022, 09:55 AM, updated 4y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
194 posts Joined: Jul 2022 |
As a bike noob I normally bring along tire repair kit and Xiaomi portable pump.
Rain coat is obvious. What is recommended to bring along? |
Aug 6 2022, 12:19 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
128 posts Joined: Aug 2021 |
Money....with money can do almost anything, janji you don't ride too ulu place
Aug 6 2022, 12:44 PM
10 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
These are the items in my tool case on my adventure bike. 1. Tools Kit 2. Air Pump 3. First Aid Kit 4. Tire Patch Kit 5. Gloves 6. Cloth 7. Cable Ties 8. String 9. Metal Wire 10. Masking Tape 11. Electrical Tape 12. Epoxy Paste 13. Hose Clamps 14. Bolts 15. Extra Bolts 16. Blade Cutter 17. Scissors 18. Silicone Lubricant 19. Fuses The hose clamps and bolts are to be used to repair broken clutch lever. Quazacolt, dogbert_chew, and 1 other liked this post
Aug 6 2022, 12:49 PM
I also carry a Leatherman multi tool.
This post has been edited by gataddhin: Aug 6 2022, 12:50 PM |
Aug 6 2022, 01:02 PM
Once I came to rescue my friend when he could not shift his GS gears in Betong border because his gear lever screw became loose. Or else he had to drive all the way on 1st gear to Pengkalan Hulu town.
Aug 6 2022, 01:24 PM
1,180 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
Aug 6 2022, 09:51 PM
Aug 6 2022, 09:53 PM
QUOTE(gataddhin @ Aug 6 2022, 12:44 PM) These are the items in my tool case on my adventure bike. Fuyoh! This is nearly a repair shop on the go.1. Tools Kit 2. Air Pump 3. First Aid Kit 4. Tire Patch Kit 5. Gloves 6. Cloth 7. Cable Ties 8. String 9. Metal Wire 10. Masking Tape 11. Electrical Tape 12. Epoxy Paste 13. Hose Clamps 14. Bolts 15. Extra Bolts 16. Blade Cutter 17. Scissors 18. Silicone Lubricant 19. Fuses The hose clamps and bolts are to be used to repair broken clutch lever. I do have a simple - Tool kit set with all the known sizes nuts / hex I need - Air pump - Tire patch kit Question: What do you have in your first aid kit? |
Aug 6 2022, 10:14 PM
Question:
What do you have in your first aid kit? [/quote] Product name : 12 - piece first aid kit ( set ) Size : 20 * 14cm Net weight : 80g Box gauge : 50 * 40 * 35cm INSIDE BAG INCLUDE 1 : MASK X1 2 : TAPE X5 3 : Elastic bandage x1 ROLL 4 : 3 angle bandage x1 ROLL 5 : Alcohol disinfection tablets x2 6 : Non - woven tape x1 ROLL 7 : Scissors x1 8 : Clip x1 9 : Lodophor disinfection tablets x2 10 : Gauze piece x2 11 : Bag 12 : Pin x10 |
Aug 7 2022, 07:44 AM
[quote=gataddhin,Aug 6 2022, 10:14 PM]
Question: What do you have in your first aid kit? [/quote] Product name : 12 - piece first aid kit ( set ) Size : 20 * 14cm Net weight : 80g Box gauge : 50 * 40 * 35cm INSIDE BAG INCLUDE 1 : MASK X1 2 : TAPE X5 3 : Elastic bandage x1 ROLL 4 : 3 angle bandage x1 ROLL 5 : Alcohol disinfection tablets x2 6 : Non - woven tape x1 ROLL 7 : Scissors x1 8 : Clip x1 9 : Lodophor disinfection tablets x2 10 : Gauze piece x2 11 : Bag 12 : Pin x10 [/quote] I think you might want to add: - Plaster (aka. handiplast) - Betadine - Clear bandage and antiseptic spray / cream - Tweezer |
Aug 8 2022, 01:21 PM
2,485 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
Depends on the trip.
Electric pump + tyre repair kit Full set of tools. Plenty of heavy duty zip ties. Electrical tape. Cutter/knife Headlamp Spare gear shift (and levers, mine are foldaway type so no need) First aid kit Silicon hose for fuel etc. Spare bolts and nuts Small bottle of gear oil (for chain) and engine oil. Wet wipes (don't leave home without it) I do off-road with my dominar so dropping the bike is common. Last thing you want is to snap your gear shifter and levers and leave u stranded. Most importantly, know how to do minor repairs yourself. I had a few times needed to do road side repair on both my bike and my friends bike. I've broken enough parts off my bike already and fixed many others. This post has been edited by jaycee1: Aug 8 2022, 01:22 PM |
Aug 8 2022, 01:26 PM
[quote=gataddhin,Aug 6 2022, 10:14 PM]
Question: What do you have in your first aid kit? [/quote] Product name : 12 - piece first aid kit ( set ) Size : 20 * 14cm Net weight : 80g Box gauge : 50 * 40 * 35cm INSIDE BAG INCLUDE 1 : MASK X1 2 : TAPE X5 3 : Elastic bandage x1 ROLL 4 : 3 angle bandage x1 ROLL 5 : Alcohol disinfection tablets x2 6 : Non - woven tape x1 ROLL 7 : Scissors x1 8 : Clip x1 9 : Lodophor disinfection tablets x2 10 : Gauze piece x2 11 : Bag 12 : Pin x10 [/quote] My kit is substantial but you might want to add the following. 1) tweezers 2) silicon eye wash cup 3) surgical gloves |
Aug 8 2022, 05:28 PM
QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Aug 8 2022, 01:21 PM) Depends on the trip. Now I understand why some items are part of your packing list, ie. gear shift and levers.Electric pump + tyre repair kit Full set of tools. Plenty of heavy duty zip ties. Electrical tape. Cutter/knife Headlamp Spare gear shift (and levers, mine are foldaway type so no need) First aid kit Silicon hose for fuel etc. Spare bolts and nuts Small bottle of gear oil (for chain) and engine oil. Wet wipes (don't leave home without it) I do off-road with my dominar so dropping the bike is common. Last thing you want is to snap your gear shifter and levers and leave u stranded. Most importantly, know how to do minor repairs yourself. I had a few times needed to do road side repair on both my bike and my friends bike. I've broken enough parts off my bike already and fixed many others. Thanks. |
Aug 8 2022, 09:45 PM
157 posts Joined: Jan 2013 |
Aug 9 2022, 07:39 AM
2,801 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Darul Aman |
QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Aug 8 2022, 01:21 PM) I do off-road with my dominar so dropping the bike is common. Last thing you want is to snap your gear shifter and levers and leave u stranded. wow this is exactly what i had in mind!was looking at getting another lightweight adventure bike that i could take into gnarly track like the ktm 390 adventure. and also thinking about modding something like the dominar or the fz150 or the leoncino 250 to turn them into something that could be taken offroad. mind sharing what mods you made to your dominar? mighty interesting |
Aug 9 2022, 10:16 AM
QUOTE(paskal @ Aug 9 2022, 07:39 AM) wow this is exactly what i had in mind! You can check out my last post on the pulsar and dominar thread with a video link and some pictures.was looking at getting another lightweight adventure bike that i could take into gnarly track like the ktm 390 adventure. and also thinking about modding something like the dominar or the fz150 or the leoncino 250 to turn them into something that could be taken offroad. mind sharing what mods you made to your dominar? mighty interesting 30/70 zeneos turino adv tyres Handlebar risers Givi tail and pannier racks Aux lights Touring windshield. foldable levers 43T rear sprocket About that. Bike remains stock If you are thinking of something to mod to go off road, start with something lighter. An fz150 would be good. And so is the older duke 200 which can be had for cheap. The old duke 200 even has more ground clearance than the 390 adventure, albeit less suspension travel. This post has been edited by jaycee1: Aug 9 2022, 10:19 AM |
Aug 9 2022, 11:31 AM
QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Aug 9 2022, 10:16 AM) You can check out my last post on the pulsar and dominar thread with a video link and some pictures. I have test ridden the 390adv twice, both time finding it not having enough shove/torque and bumpy even tho it had that fully adjustable wp suspension.30/70 zeneos turino adv tyres Handlebar risers Givi tail and pannier racks Aux lights Touring windshield. foldable levers 43T rear sprocket About that. Bike remains stock If you are thinking of something to mod to go off road, start with something lighter. An fz150 would be good. And so is the older duke 200 which can be had for cheap. The old duke 200 even has more ground clearance than the 390 adventure, albeit less suspension travel. Can't imagine how it would feel on rough gravel at speed. But seen someone changed that stock suspension with forks taken from a Honda crf 150. That should improve the feel |
Aug 9 2022, 12:50 PM
QUOTE(paskal @ Aug 9 2022, 11:31 AM) I have test ridden the 390adv twice, both time finding it not having enough shove/torque and bumpy even tho it had that fully adjustable wp suspension. You don't need that much power off road. What you need is low rpm torque which singles do well. You could always go with a bigger sprocket if you need more push.Can't imagine how it would feel on rough gravel at speed. But seen someone changed that stock suspension with forks taken from a Honda crf 150. That should improve the feel Remember the 390 ADV is just a duke in an adv frock. For the more hard core stuff you are much better off with a CRF or KLX ..but those are 250cc only so even less powerful. Riding off road is just knowing what you and the bike can do. The 390 and my dominar works decently on light offroading, mostly limited by the tyres, suspension travel and ground clearance. Not once I thought I needed more power. |
Aug 9 2022, 04:40 PM
QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Aug 9 2022, 12:50 PM) You don't need that much power off road. What you need is low rpm torque which singles do well. You could always go with a bigger sprocket if you need more push. yeah maybe need to take a look at crf or klx.Remember the 390 ADV is just a duke in an adv frock. For the more hard core stuff you are much better off with a CRF or KLX ..but those are 250cc only so even less powerful. Riding off road is just knowing what you and the bike can do. The 390 and my dominar works decently on light offroading, mostly limited by the tyres, suspension travel and ground clearance. Not once I thought I needed more power. just that with the 390 i could ride to the trail. whereas crf klx i need to load it up on the truck. |
Aug 9 2022, 05:54 PM
QUOTE(paskal @ Aug 9 2022, 04:40 PM) yeah maybe need to take a look at crf or klx. You can. Just not fast. I have a friend that swapped out the knobbies for a little more street friendly dunlop d605 on his CRF and rides everywhere with it.just that with the 390 i could ride to the trail. whereas crf klx i need to load it up on the truck. |
| Change to: | 0.0202sec
5 queries
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:53 PM |