What to pack for a long ride, for few days?, Other than cloths lah 😬
paskal
Aug 9 2022, 07:39 AM
QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Aug 8 2022, 01:21 PM) I do off-road with my dominar so dropping the bike is common. Last thing you want is to snap your gear shifter and levers and leave u stranded. wow this is exactly what i had in mind! was looking at getting another lightweight adventure bike that i could take into gnarly track like the ktm 390 adventure. and also thinking about modding something like the dominar or the fz150 or the leoncino 250 to turn them into something that could be taken offroad. mind sharing what mods you made to your dominar? mighty interesting
paskal
Aug 9 2022, 11:31 AM
QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Aug 9 2022, 10:16 AM) You can check out my last post on the pulsar and dominar thread with a video link and some pictures. 30/70 zeneos turino adv tyres Handlebar risers Givi tail and pannier racks Aux lights Touring windshield. foldable levers 43T rear sprocket About that. Bike remains stock If you are thinking of something to mod to go off road, start with something lighter. An fz150 would be good. And so is the older duke 200 which can be had for cheap. The old duke 200 even has more ground clearance than the 390 adventure, albeit less suspension travel. I have test ridden the 390adv twice, both time finding it not having enough shove/torque and bumpy even tho it had that fully adjustable wp suspension. Can't imagine how it would feel on rough gravel at speed. But seen someone changed that stock suspension with forks taken from a Honda crf 150. That should improve the feel
paskal
Aug 9 2022, 04:40 PM
QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Aug 9 2022, 12:50 PM) You don't need that much power off road. What you need is low rpm torque which singles do well. You could always go with a bigger sprocket if you need more push. Remember the 390 ADV is just a duke in an adv frock. For the more hard core stuff you are much better off with a CRF or KLX ..but those are 250cc only so even less powerful. Riding off road is just knowing what you and the bike can do. The 390 and my dominar works decently on light offroading, mostly limited by the tyres, suspension travel and ground clearance. Not once I thought I needed more power. yeah maybe need to take a look at crf or klx. just that with the 390 i could ride to the trail. whereas crf klx i need to load it up on the truck.