Sign the iPhone petition!

TSOmniAtlas
post Sep 30 2007, 08:49 PM, updated 19y ago

946 posts

Hi all,

As you are well aware the iPhone is inoperable (unable to receive calls) with Maxis Network. We would like Maxis to fix the problem we that we don't have to go to the hassle of switching to DiGi or Celcom (both which work with the iPhone).

Please sign the online petition at: Click here: http://www.petitiononline.com/iphoneMY/petition.html

so we can pass it on to Maxis. Let us not be unheard!

wast8
post Sep 30 2007, 08:54 PM

39 posts

switching is no hassle at all, if it does not work, I will switch. simple as that. smile.gif

This post has been edited by wast8: Sep 30 2007, 08:54 PM
TSOmniAtlas
post Sep 30 2007, 09:33 PM

946 posts

QUOTE(wast8 @ Sep 30 2007, 08:54 PM)
switching is no hassle at all, if it does not work, I will switch. simple as that. smile.gif
Only if we could keep the same number wast8...only if...
black^demon
post Oct 1 2007, 01:02 AM

Manchester United No.1 Fan
1,417 posts

QUOTE(OmniAtlas @ Sep 30 2007, 08:49 PM)
Hi all,

As you are well aware the iPhone is inoperable (unable to receive calls) with Maxis Network. We would like Maxis to fix the problem we that we don't have to go to the hassle of switching to DiGi or Celcom (both which work with the iPhone).

Please sign the online petition at: Click here: http://www.petitiononline.com/iphoneMY/petition.html

so we can pass it on to Maxis. Let us not be unheard!

Can u do anything bout it? I mean it's not officially launched here rolleyes.gif
-Jonathan-
post Oct 1 2007, 01:03 AM

Honorary Minister
1,430 posts

You just don't get it don't you.
Maxis has no viable reason, or even interest in doing this thing simply because

#1 iPhones are currently released in the states, and only on AT&T
#2 Current iPhones will be made inoperable with the latest update on iTunes. Thats risking your money buying that iPhone
#3 Maxis hasn't signed a contract with Apple to get exclusive deals in paving ways for consumers to use iPhone in Malaysia

This is just odd mate...odd
TSOmniAtlas
post Oct 1 2007, 01:19 AM

946 posts

QUOTE(-Jonathan- @ Oct 1 2007, 01:03 AM)
You just don't get it don't you.
Maxis has no viable reason, or even interest in doing this thing simply because

#1 iPhones are currently released in the states, and only on AT&T
#2 Current iPhones will be made inoperable with the latest update on iTunes. Thats risking your money buying that iPhone
#3 Maxis hasn't signed a contract with Apple to get exclusive deals in paving ways for consumers to use iPhone in Malaysia

This is just odd mate...odd
Uh Jon, for your concern I do get it;

If you've been following the other iPhone thread you do realize that other operators have had the same problem (unable to receive an incoming call) and they've actually PURSUED the problem, and ISOLATED the problem (which turned out to be a hardware related on their side) and PATCHED the software problem within a week for their customers.

Considering the iPhone has sold over a MILLION phones in 3 months and thats WITH the AT&T contract, you'll be daft to think millions of other individuals won't pursue the same course of action now that the iPhone is unlock (stick with version 1.0.2 for now, and trust me, the latest firmware will be hacked eventually). There are HUNDREDS of telcom out there, you think Apple will negotiate with them, and if they do WHEN? The only choice maxis users will have now will be to leave their network if they want the iPhone on an operable basis. They'll be pretty stupid if they don't fix the problem as I don't see an official iPhone launch hitting Malaysia's shores anytime soon.

ezinger
post Oct 1 2007, 02:15 AM

butter cookies
1,536 posts

rofl. even in the US, other network providers are already offering iphone to be used with their network other than AT&T.
if maxis doesn't provide a full working network on the iphone, thats just cynical. maybe maxis network doesn't support all mobile phones after all haha or either theyre outdated.
-Jonathan-
post Oct 1 2007, 02:40 AM

Honorary Minister
1,430 posts

Your optimism and view is pretty much understandable.

I've been following thread to know of this issue happening to operators in Malaysia. Unsuprisingly AT&T is the single largest telco provider in US, and to top it off knowing that apple/ipod contributes to a large portion of the market power in US, a million phone in 3 month is something within expectations.

The only thing deviant about this purchase even after unlocking is the absurd and rather selfish pricin that individual or companies has put on the iPhone. So in economic terms, less supply, more demand. Right....no. You can go all out with the petition like i say, and if i was half as enthusiastic about people on iPHONE, i'll do the same thing. But putting myself on the shoes of the technical people in maxis, and knowing how effective things can be done, i'll just give props to them if they actually do rectify this problem within this few years.

They won't be stupid if they don't fix the problem, they are just prioritizing rather more important things (spamming your inbox) to put it in a good way, or rather ignorant, the honest way of things moving.

Last i saw, an unlocked phone can go up to RM3000. Of course, if you are genuine about keeping the spare change, hardware unlocking via George Hotz way, or filling in the void of the software unlocking can be a way out. Even so, i've got to give props to the gadget enthusiast in going to the full extend getting the iphone in Malaysia.
ezinger
post Oct 1 2007, 11:16 AM

butter cookies
1,536 posts

QUOTE(-Jonathan- @ Oct 1 2007, 02:40 AM)
Your optimism and view is pretty much understandable.

I've been following thread to know of this issue happening to operators in Malaysia. Unsuprisingly AT&T is the single largest telco provider in US, and to top it off knowing that apple/ipod contributes to a large portion of the market power in US, a million phone in 3 month is something within expectations.

The only thing deviant about this purchase even after unlocking is the absurd and rather selfish pricin that individual or companies has put on the iPhone. So in economic terms, less supply, more demand. Right....no. You can go all out with the petition like i say, and if i was half as enthusiastic about people on iPHONE, i'll do the same thing. But putting myself on the shoes of the technical people in maxis, and knowing how effective things can be done, i'll just give props to them if they actually do rectify this problem within this few years.

They won't be stupid if they don't fix the problem, they are just prioritizing rather more important things (spamming your inbox) to put it in a good way, or rather ignorant, the honest way of things moving.

Last i saw, an unlocked phone can go up to RM3000. Of course, if you are genuine about keeping the spare change, hardware unlocking via George Hotz way, or filling in the void of the software unlocking can be a way out. Even so, i've got to give props to the gadget enthusiast in going to the full extend getting the iphone in Malaysia.
wow my gf is studying where exactly you are blink.gif

anyway actually the unsupported incoming call from maxis is ironic, because both other local telco's works with the iphone flawlessly. and by that, everybody rather switch to a network that works instead of subscribing to a network which requires you to pay for a year or two. malaysians doesnt like to be chained down tongue.gif
as we all know, AT&T had a big loss over the unlocked iphone and consumers has been swarming on other networks other than AT&T.
megatron007
post Oct 1 2007, 11:28 AM

4,000 posts

signed liao

wait n see how lo

more than 2 weeks maxis has been notified i believe

haiksss
TSOmniAtlas
post Oct 1 2007, 04:53 PM

946 posts

Well, 25 signatures so far with lots of dissatisfied comments by Maxis users..I hope we can keep this momentum up. Thanks.

INFeRNO
post Oct 1 2007, 05:58 PM

Lord and Master
1,754 posts

I think this is cute. Complaining about a phone that isn't even supposed to be in Asia 'till next year. So you jacked a phone from the US, ass raped the T&C, and now you DEMAND proper service to be bestowed to your ill-gotten phone? Only in Malaysia...
blu3chip
post Oct 1 2007, 06:05 PM

447 posts

no offence but why should maxis, or even any other service provider in malaysia, bother about this petition if the iphone has not been officially released outside the US? tongue.gif
TSOmniAtlas
post Oct 1 2007, 09:19 PM

946 posts

QUOTE(blu3chip @ Oct 1 2007, 06:05 PM)
no offence but why should maxis, or even any other service provider in malaysia, bother about this petition if the iphone has not been officially released outside the US? tongue.gif
No, they don't have to bother, but it would make business sense to fix the current problem. When people here start to pick up the iphone in droves (and trust me they will) and they realize that it is incompatible with their network, their only option will be to switch providers.

For blu3chip, and the other naysayers, I think you're severely underestimating the demand for the iPhone -- please name me a phone that sold close to a million within 3 months of its launched at a price of $599 -- and that was WITH the contract with AT&T. I scoffed at the price of the iphone (come on, a phone for 600!), but the recent price drop brought it within my range and I will be (and so will many others) be purchasing one. A more realistic assessment of demand could be to look at the the number of iPhone sales, and the number of AT&T activated phones -- I am sure the number of non-activated iPhones will surely surpass the number of AT&T activated iphones with the price drop, and the recently released unlock hack.

Simple said, if Maxis doesn't fix the problem soon, I (and others have already done so) will be leaving the network for DiGi. Now, wouldn't it make sense to fix the problem so you don't lose your customers? I can assure you that the iPhone will become one of the most popular phones in the country -- so the telecommunication companies better play along and play it smart.

The question for you blu3chip, and the others -- if you were a maxis customer, and you wanted, or have an iphone, wouldn't you want network compatibility? The petition might not be the complete solution, but at least we're trying, and it might just send the message across. Its better than doing nothing at all; for all we know, it could be the voice of reason and the driving wedge to fix the problem.

Added on October 1, 2007, 9:22 pmiPhone yearly sales rate should top 45 million by 2009, says firm

While categorizing its prediction is a bold one, research and investment firm PiperJaffray said Thursday it believes Apple can grow its iPhone sales into a 45 million unit per year business by the 2009 calendar year.

http://www.appleinsider.com/articles/07/06..._says_firm.html

This post has been edited by OmniAtlas: Oct 1 2007, 09:22 PM
abang brother
post Oct 1 2007, 09:27 PM

4,967 posts

The iPhone haven't release here. Why should we care? Stop complaining and change to other telco for awhile.
TSOmniAtlas
post Oct 1 2007, 09:51 PM

946 posts

QUOTE(abang brother @ Oct 1 2007, 09:27 PM)
The iPhone haven't release here. Why should we care? Stop complaining and change to other telco for awhile.
LOL, 1. I'm not complaining, I'm just trying to explain the petition for those who just can't seem to comprehend WHY theres a petition. and 2. If you bothered to read what I wrote, I did say I would be switching to another telco if Maxis doesn't eventually fix the problem. 3. You're right, you don't have to care, so why are you even bothering reading this post? doh.gif

phelix
post Oct 1 2007, 11:10 PM

Nexusan
924 posts

I've got a questions which is....
how many ppl here are getting the iPhone?
let say many rich guy here~ erm... 5,000 iphone brought to here?
and let say 3,500 of them are using Maxis.

why should they care? you are only the few % of their customer...
and IF they need to spent some money to fix it...
they rather spent the money to promotion and get more customer~
TSOmniAtlas
post Oct 2 2007, 12:56 AM

946 posts

QUOTE(phelix @ Oct 1 2007, 11:10 PM)
I've got a questions which is....
how many ppl here are getting the iPhone?
let say many rich guy here~ erm... 5,000 iphone brought to here?
and let say 3,500 of them are using Maxis.

why should they care? you are only the few % of their customer...
and IF they need to spent some money to fix it...
they rather spent the money to promotion and get more customer~
Lets just say of those 3500 customers they spend about RM ~100 a month on their cell line. So from the 3500 customers alone, maxis gets 350,000 RM. Now multiply that by 12 for the whole year and you get RM 4,200,000 (thats 4.2 MILLION); now what happens if you lose your customer for life?

Thats quite a lot of chump change Phelix, so I think they **should** care.
ed0gawa
post Oct 2 2007, 01:00 AM

coconut
4,398 posts

That is ... if there are 3500 Iphone user in Malaysia using MAXIS...

Are there even 350?

acbc
post Oct 2 2007, 01:01 AM

9,050 posts

I heard rumours that Maxis will get exclusive deal with Apple for iPhone next year. This came from internal source. Meaning, the phone will be locked to Maxis 012 or 017 only.

0.0231sec    1.21    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:14 PM