QUOTE(OrangeGamer @ Jul 15 2024, 03:17 PM)
yes, due to the massive weight of the car's net weight. Buy EV-specific tyres at much premium price or take normal tyre but worn out faster.Ask my anything about tires, I am a tire engineer
Ask my anything about tires, I am a tire engineer
Jul 16 2024, 08:59 AM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
4,040 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(OrangeGamer @ Jul 15 2024, 03:17 PM) yes, due to the massive weight of the car's net weight. Buy EV-specific tyres at much premium price or take normal tyre but worn out faster. amscouzach57 liked this post
Jul 18 2024, 11:25 AM
QUOTE(littlefire @ Jul 18 2024, 08:48 AM) You may go into this website link and check the tire category for the related 1. No idea why tyre manufacturers downgrade for the latest of their productshttps://www.tyrereviews.com/Tyre/Bridgestone/ Potenza RE004 is in Max Performance category, Only the old RE040 is in UHP tires. https://www.tyrereviews.com/Tyre/Hankook/ S1 all series are in Max Performance already, only the old Evo V12 is in UHP |
Jul 18 2024, 05:27 PM
QUOTE(dwRK @ Jul 18 2024, 04:22 PM) if me >80% i will try find a used ps4... where are you from? Go to FB marketplace, many sell the used 1-2 years old tyre with decent looking tread at affordable price. But there are also seller who still selling 5 years old tyre there, too old tyre is not okim shopping for new shoes can try look out for you... actually i would even consider buying a new one... |
Jul 22 2024, 11:40 AM
QUOTE(zroter @ Jul 22 2024, 10:16 AM) harga saya dapat, Saga 2024: Try whatapps Oscar Bukit Kemuning for price. I been their regular tyre shop cz of price. 235/45/18 price difference almost rm150 per tyre vs Kajang shop185/55/15 (195) Kumho Ecsta PS31 (255) Yokohama Advan Fleva V701 (321) Michelin Pilot Sport 3 195/50/15 (190) Maxxis Victra I-Pro // (195) Kumho Ecsta PS31 (215) Kinto Forza 001 (255) Yokohama Advan Fleva V701 // (298) Michelin Pilot Sport 3 harga saya dapat, Myvi 2022: 195/55/15 (178) Maxxis Victra I-Pro // (188) Kumho Ecsta PS31 (215) Kinto Forza 001 // (240) Yokohama Advan Fleva V701 (291) Pirelli Cinturato Rosso (325) Michelin Pilot Sport 3 amscouzach57 liked this post
Jul 24 2024, 11:41 AM
Jul 25 2024, 11:29 AM
QUOTE(mdziaf @ Jul 24 2024, 07:07 PM) yes, because runflats are stiffer compared to normal tyres. That why I do change tyre straight 4 donuts per change. If wanna prolong the tyre life, send alignment, rotation, balancing at rm60+ for my near home tyre shop, every 15k kmif you run normal fronts and rear runflats, you’ll make the car stiffer at the rear which can result in easier oversteer. conversely running runflats at the front and normal rears will make the fronts stiffer, and resulting in more understeer. but it really depends on the car. if the existing setup is already leaning to oversteer, putting the runflats in the rear can make it very prone to oversteer. But if your car is already understeering then it may not be apparent if anything has changed. Though honestly this will only be a concern if you are driving on the limit, which you shouldn’t on public roads. |
Jul 29 2024, 08:28 AM
QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Jul 29 2024, 07:24 AM) Hey guys! Looking for a touring tire and currently using michelin's ps5.. Same tyre size. Still repeat the Michelin PS4 cz best bang for money, wet gripSize is 235/45/18 I've broken down to a few brands would like the feedback from each model Goodyear Comforttred - seems like not many ppl use these tires and upon some research some say after 20k mileage the tire behaves differently Conti MC7 - Most popular tire in Lowyat Michelin e-primacy - great all rounder Pirelli Cinturato Rosso - Not too much review on this new tires as well Hankook VP4 - Great value and comparable with the big guns above Should I just go with the trusted and tested Primacy? I would love comfort(less noise and less vibration) and good grip from these tires |
Aug 13 2024, 11:27 AM
Aug 13 2024, 06:47 PM
Aug 21 2024, 08:06 AM
QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Aug 20 2024, 06:31 PM) Hey guys for 235/60R18 I'm trying to find comfortable SUV tires. Budget isn't an issue. Is Michelin Primacy SUV+ the best? From reading yes, Michelin Primacy series. Try get quotation from Oscar Bukit Kemuning for good price within Selangor/Kl then decide KingArthurVI liked this post
Sep 17 2024, 05:56 AM
QUOTE(sanakim @ Sep 16 2024, 09:01 PM) Dear Sifus, If u wanna buy tyres, whatapps Oscar Bukit Kemuning number and ask them to put quotation. U will be surprised the price is even cheaper than online. 2018, bought Michelin PS4 at rm530 per pcs for 235/45/18 wheres the near tyre shop in Kajang quoted me at rm800, just few less than retail price.My X50 Flagship's original 215/55R18 Continental UC6 (haven't changed since I bought the car) are at ~45,0000km and the tyre shop recommend to change because the tyre year make was in 45th week of 2020 and can cause "hardening after 3 years".. However, threadwear indicator still looks like ~1-2mm above the minimum threshold bump. 3 questions: 1. Does this make sense to change? I'm hearing mixed opinions about this and the shop is bullshiting about the hardening 2. I have mostly decided to change to Michelin and don't plan to change rims. For the R18 rims spec, I found 3 suitable tyres - which do you recommend? My use case is 50% KL city driving, 30% drive to Selangor/PJ on weekends and 20% outstation roadtrips e.g. to Penang/Johor. I do enjoy spirited driving and prefer quieter tyres but tyre price and FC is less of a concern. Prices above from Michelin website before Shopee/Lazada sale. A) Pilot Sport 5 235/50R18, est RM812/pc B) Pilot Sport 4 SUV 235/50R18, est RM1308/pc C) Primacy 4 215/55R18 (perfect fit), RM741/pc 3. I live around KL city center - any recommended shops besides TyrePlus and Lim Tayar? Thanks so much, sifus! My x70 with Continental UC6 stock when bought new, 8k km already botak at sides area. First few days pickup the car, raining season, grip was poor. Though this car suspension cannot cope one. Then last year changed all to CR1, miles better grip than UC6 This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Sep 17 2024, 05:58 AM |
Oct 16 2024, 12:38 PM
QUOTE(ptrfaith91 @ Oct 16 2024, 12:04 PM) ![]() Hi, I just noticed my tayar suddenly got a bulge... I changed this tayar last year around December so its still quite new... mileage probably about 20k only... its a Continental CC7 195/55R15... Question is.. is this bulge concerning? will my tayar be at risk of bursting? or is it a normal thing and i don't have to worry too much about it? I would bring to a tayar shop to check but just also asking here for opinion to cross check later with what the tayar shop tells me... Oh and if I'm not mistaken this tayar got punctured before and was patched internally... not sure if that info has any relevancy though... |
Oct 20 2024, 09:45 AM
QUOTE(darude87 @ Oct 17 2024, 03:38 PM) hello sifu, need some opinions on my next tyre choices Mine from UC6 (got it from brand new car) to Toyo CR1. If u really care about wet traction, stay out from UC6, that is the worst tyres I ever used for wet traction / heavy rain, almost like Achilles ATR sport 2 for wet.I'm driving xv2, stock came with Yokohama e70, size 225/60/17, times up for change already. I find my e70 noisy so hope to get something lower noise so far i shortlisted a few that are within my budget, i hope can control my budget at somewhere 2k ish if possible, so michellin and pirelli should be out of budget 1. Conti UC , almost pulled trigger on this but i saw threadwear is low 2. Toyo CR1, heard some good comments on this but hv a bit concern with its wet performance 3. Yokohama ae61, saw people commented it is better than e70 so what you guys will recommend? I doubt the recently launch UC7, MC7 had tremendous improvement except only those YouTubers praise that cz got free donuts. If u read in FB, many user even give negative review for MC6 for wet. Dry ok but wet is not Continental Malaysia tyre strong point. Use almost 20k km plus for CR1, it is a quiet tyres and better wet than UC6. If budget permit, take Michelin tyre which excel in wet. This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Oct 20 2024, 09:46 AM amscouzach57 liked this post
Oct 26 2024, 08:20 AM
Oct 26 2024, 11:15 AM
QUOTE(kahwaiCoyG @ Oct 26 2024, 10:28 AM) Is ps4 perform better than ps5? I have come across some other series like Conti and Bridgestone, but it starts with 1k per donut. Considering vitour v01r as well but not sure how it performs on wet Can read here more, some already put more details explanation. My simple idea, PS4 come with Traction AA rating while PS5 with Traction A only. Price factor is for me choose the ps4 again. Usually bought it at Oscar Bukit Kemuning for best price.This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Oct 26 2024, 11:15 AM |
Oct 31 2024, 12:35 PM
QUOTE(iqlas @ Oct 31 2024, 10:00 AM) Michelin pilot sport 5 traction rating is A while Pilot sport 3 is AA. Is this because the Ps5 is designed to improve the other aspect of the tyre(such as threadwear) while sacrificing the traction? Look post 1178Or is it because the PS3 was tested and given rating using different and older standard? Meaning if PS3 are tested today, the traction rating will be similiar to PS5 which is A? iqlas liked this post
Oct 31 2024, 06:39 PM
QUOTE(ExCrIpT @ Oct 31 2024, 01:54 PM) how many years can a tyre last before needing to change ? some say 7, some say up to 10. Personally i put max 4 years cz scare it will burst when on highway speedsmore than 50% thread left and always parked under a shade. This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Oct 31 2024, 06:39 PM |
Dec 2 2024, 05:58 AM
QUOTE(soul78 @ Dec 1 2024, 07:40 PM) Is tyres from Michelin China trustable? Its Michelin, sure they are trustable, and got QCI went to a workshop the other day to get a pair of PS3. Guy said they are sourcing from China also?. There is a slight hesitant for me to go with this as safety is my main concern. |
Dec 7 2024, 07:02 PM
QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Dec 7 2024, 06:25 PM) I've only used recently Goodyear Assurance Maxguard SUV, which essentially replaces/upgrade from Goodyear Wrangler TripleMax. For me the best bang for money on SUV tyre size is the Toyo CR1. The tread pattern look normal and not aggressive. But its wet traction better than Continental UC6. And it still quiet at highways speed. After 2k km, I'm very satisfied, elated even with this tyre. It performs comparably to Michelin Primacy 4 except for the aquaplaning resistance (it is slightly inferior). Price for 235/50R18 was about RM430 per piece instead of RM650 per piece for Michelin Primacy 4. Theoretically, Goodyear Assurance Maxguard tires should be better than the Assurance Triplemax 2 tires that it replaces, except for slight decrease in the dry braking. See the price difference, whether if it is worth a try. Will jump to Goodyear next once this Toyo finish it life. amscouzach57 liked this post
Dec 15 2024, 10:25 PM
QUOTE(ek @ Dec 15 2024, 10:19 PM) Hi sifu, is there any quieter tyre as compare with stock Toyo Proxes R46 225/22/19 on Mazda CX8? I plan to swap Toyo out for quieter and if possible those better grip under web condition. A friend was recommending UC6 to me. please don't for UC6, the worst ever tire at raining time. Try check FB marketplace, many selling the UC6 with very2 low mileage, and good tyre tread cz all fed up with the wet grip. Most selling the 225/55/19 at rm100-140 per pcs for used with good tread balance.No experience, but saw few Giti model tyre got tyre foam inside for quite ride. This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Dec 15 2024, 10:27 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0192sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:07 PM |