QUOTE(Thrust @ Apr 29 2023, 08:02 AM)
If money no issue. I put my trust on XM2+Ask my anything about tires, I am a tire engineer
Ask my anything about tires, I am a tire engineer
Apr 29 2023, 08:05 AM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
522 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
Apr 29 2023, 02:51 PM
QUOTE(Thrust @ Apr 29 2023, 08:08 AM) But previously I was using XM2, after 3 years, the tyre is noisy as hell... My preference was not related to noise, but more related to grip & braking performance. Michelin tires is known to retain similar levels of braking distance when new or worn.That's why I am afraid to use XM2+ due to the noise level after a few years. CC7 grip levels could be meh if it is only 5% improvement than CC6. Slippy days with that tire. |
May 2 2023, 11:23 AM
QUOTE(slaveone @ May 2 2023, 10:44 AM) Guys, Better go for PS5 225/50R17 size.i'm currently using Civic FC with PS4 at stock sizes, 215/50 R17. But since PS5 doesn't have that size, they have only 215/45 R17 and 215/55 R17, should i go for 215/17 R17 for PS5..? Only 1.6% larger than original size. If go 215/55R17, the size will be 3.1% larger than original. Too big more than 3%. Speedometer akan ada lari slaveone liked this post
May 2 2023, 02:40 PM
QUOTE(Skylinestar @ May 2 2023, 02:07 PM) if i change tire from 165/55R14 to 165/80R14, i get more comfort ? is there anything that i should be aware of? Not feasible. Your tire will become too big to fit your wheel arc, any road undulations will sagat your fender.looking for better tire to go through our roads with cracks and potholes If want to increase comfort, you need to downsize your wheel fitment to 185/60R13 (not sure if this will be easily available or economical) |
May 2 2023, 02:48 PM
QUOTE(Skylinestar @ May 2 2023, 02:43 PM) Aigo... you wrote earlier 165/80R14.If 165/60R14, the size is a bit bigger than tolerance (3.3%, shouldn't be more than 3% difference). Odometer lari However, other than that, it shouldn't rub the fender Skylinestar liked this post
Jul 20 2023, 05:43 PM
QUOTE(furipu @ Jul 20 2023, 11:58 AM) They last longer than rubber valves. Normally the rubber valves get hardened over time & tend to get torn whenever you change tires.Metal valves you do not need to change it everytime you change tires. After a few sets of tire change, you only need to change the seals around the valves. This post has been edited by amscouzach57: Jul 21 2023, 09:25 PM furipu liked this post
Jul 21 2023, 09:32 PM
QUOTE(Daylight_walker @ Jul 21 2023, 03:15 PM) hi sifus, ayam axia 175/65/R14, ayam wan change tyre next week . is 185/60/R14 possible (CC6 or CC7 out yet)? any cons or pros? 185/60R14 is 1.3% smaller than 175/65R14. So, within tolerance (less than 3% difference).CC7 is available for 185/60R14 size. Pros: better than CC6. Cons: a bit higher priced |
Aug 6 2023, 08:48 PM
QUOTE(General_Nic @ Aug 4 2023, 05:38 PM) Your rim is too narrow. Need to be at least 7.5" wide. Best is 8.0" wide. General_Nic liked this post
Aug 28 2023, 09:00 AM
QUOTE(terratoss @ Aug 28 2023, 01:09 AM) Hi to all, I got question to ask the tyre experts here. Posting some pictures would add more clarity to your questions.My tyres bought on 2/10/21. When balancing, mechanic said can see tyre threads are not rotating straight. When tyres on balancing machine spinning, you can see the threads forming a wavy, left right pattern. Out of 4 tyres, 3 tyres showing certain degree of the wavy pattern. Mechanic also said 1 of the tyres not round anymore, slightly off shape but the feel of his hands and also mentioned no point balancing the tyres at current condition. Tyres also showing hairline cracks on the sidewall. Are the above signs of issue with tyres or just something normal? I'm not sure if mechanic is falsely diagnosing the tyres? I did went back to original tyre shop to ask seller how come tyres are like that. Not sure if they are pulling a fast one? They said the wavy pattern and hairline cracks are normal which also happen on other well known brand like michelin, bridgestone, etc. They also said if tyre really as mentioned, he wont be able to balance the tyres which he could balance it on his machine. |
Aug 28 2023, 01:33 PM
QUOTE(ykj @ Aug 28 2023, 09:06 AM) I have a SUV fitted with Continental UC6. Barely 3 years old, the tyre (front left) burst with almost all of the side wall ripped apart. Maybe that tire was punctured earlier, & was low on air when the car was driven a bit fast.Been very careful on the tyres' pressure too. Any particular reasons? |
Nov 27 2023, 07:51 PM
QUOTE(stereokumonomu @ Nov 27 2023, 05:31 PM) Hi Sifus, I'm currently using a Atlas Batman (china car, china tyre) size 215/55R18. Thinking of changing the tyre to Hankook Ventus S1 Evo3 size 235/60R18. Should be 235/50R18. Easy to find size since sharing same size as Alphard & Vellfire.That seems to be the 'almost similar' size to the original size I feel. Can this fit well? Is it a good choice? Any better alternatives? stereokumonomu liked this post
Nov 30 2023, 08:58 PM
QUOTE(asdasd @ Nov 30 2023, 02:00 PM) you must either be orang kaya or noob about cars.. people dont change tires at 16K, instead people do tire rotation and alignment/balancing.. I did change my stock tires on the 2nd day after receiving car. I had bad experience with that particular tire before (Silverstone Kruizer). unless you every weekend go sepang burn rubber.. Don't wan't to take the risk. |
Dec 10 2023, 11:43 AM
Dec 11 2023, 08:22 AM
Dec 11 2023, 04:53 PM
QUOTE(kira_88 @ Dec 11 2023, 08:53 AM) Currently using potenza ree004, planning to go for hankook VP4 will it be an upgrade or a downgrade? Depending on what you want.size is 215/50/17 RE004 is a entry level UHP tire. Definitely gives more grip in the dry. VP4 is a touring tire. Should give you more comfort & mileage. |
Dec 13 2023, 10:20 AM
Dec 14 2023, 08:41 AM
QUOTE(eddy230379 @ Dec 13 2023, 08:27 PM) that was what I was worried about ... Need to ask other GM2 owners that have used 205/50R16 size.195 is the ideal choice for many Honda City GM2 users but sadly the VP4 doesnt come in 195 / 50 / 16 ... switching back to stock size of 185 / 55 / 16 is an option as that is the OEM size and the VP4 does come in that size ... I'm using the same size for Persona 2017. It does hit the wheel arc during nasty bumps. Planning to switch to 195/50R16 after this set. |
Dec 14 2023, 10:27 AM
Dec 29 2023, 07:36 AM
QUOTE(Bazinga! @ Dec 28 2023, 06:57 PM) Hi, was wondering if anyone did comparison between toyo tr1, yoko advan fleva v701, and potenza re004? When I still had my Saga FLX SE, I have tried both Toyo TR1 & Yokohama Advan fleva V701.Looking to change tyres for Proton saga flx. Appreciate the input I would say TR1 is the better tire. I have not tried Potenza RE004, but based on forumer's review, it is excellent on dry roads, not so much on wet roads. Another tire worth considering is Maxxis Victra I-Pro. Best bang for buck tire in the entry level performance category. |
Dec 29 2023, 02:46 PM
[quote=Nikwan,Dec 29 2023, 12:56 PM]
[quote=littlefire,Dec 28 2023, 08:58 AM] First of all, can give us to know how is your & passenger body weight? Not to discriminate, are you a bigger size person? or always fetch heavy stuff? Driver ~ 90 kg Front Passenger ~60 kg Two Rear Passengers, ~ 65 g x 2 pax Items (tools, car washing items, umbrella,..),..in Car Boot, ~ 15 kg Are there any specialists suspension workshops to recommend ? Thanks [/quote] KYB RS Ultra KYB New SR Special Tein EnduraPro I have no idea if they have the size to suit your car. Just suggesting the aftermarket absorbers that I know |
| Change to: | 0.0223sec
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 09:29 PM |