10 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 >Bottom

Technical PSP GPS System, technical discussion thread

Dante18
post Aug 25 2008, 04:14 PM

372 posts

guys, i am planning on getting a stand alone GPS system for my car. However, i would like to know how well does the PSP GPS do against a stand alone unit?
weingseen
post Aug 25 2008, 04:45 PM

Wooot!
603 posts

QUOTE(Dark Kai @ Aug 25 2008, 09:55 AM)
If you want a GPS that can direct you to places, this is not for you.
Currently you can only use the gps to get your current location and to track your path(usage in malaysia).
And you might be dissapointed with the GPS signal connection thinggy as it is much slower then the other GPS unit.

Only advantage you get is.
- Bigger screen
- homebrew(open possiblilty that there will be more dev for this..or maybe not)
- less power cousumption(can work longer then most GPS system)
- Map is FOC from goggle map.
I don't use it to navigate, just for the uses of it or perhaps for the fun of owning it. Well, I want my penny worth on every single thing I bought.

Dark Kai
post Aug 25 2008, 04:54 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(weingseen @ Aug 25 2008, 04:45 PM)
I don't use it to navigate, just for the uses of it or perhaps for the fun of owning it. Well, I want my penny worth on every single thing I bought.
smile.gif same here I just got it for the sake of having it hahahahha.

Added on August 25, 2008, 4:58 pm
QUOTE(Dante18 @ Aug 25 2008, 04:14 PM)
guys, i am planning on getting a stand alone GPS system for my car. However, i would like to know how well does the PSP GPS do against a stand alone unit?
Dude as mention in my post earlier. The GPS unit for the PSP will not be able to navigate you to places. It will just let you know your current position agains the downloaded map.

PS : If you have somewhere read up that it can navigate you(give directions) to places marked on the map I don't see how it can be compared with the stand alone units.

This post has been edited by Dark Kai: Aug 25 2008, 04:58 PM
weingseen
post Aug 25 2008, 05:04 PM

Wooot!
603 posts

QUOTE(Dark Kai @ Aug 25 2008, 04:54 PM)
smile.gif same here I just got it for the sake of having it hahahahha.

Added on August 25, 2008, 4:58 pm

Dude as mention in my post earlier. The GPS unit for the PSP will not be able to navigate you to places. It will just let you know your current position agains the downloaded map.

PS : If you have somewhere read up that it can navigate you(give directions) to places marked on the map I don't see how it can be compared with the stand alone units.
Hey, I see that you are from Kajang too. I'm also from Kajang but currently in Johor to pursue my studies.
Hmmm I might as well buying one though, but I just don't get it how it really work.
Mind helping me out before I officially get one? It would really help alot! Thanks. laugh.gif
Dark Kai
post Aug 25 2008, 05:05 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(weingseen @ Aug 25 2008, 05:04 PM)
Hey, I see that you are from Kajang too. I'm also from Kajang but currently in Johor to pursue my studies.
Hmmm I might as well buying one though, but I just don't get it how it really work.
Mind helping me out before I officially get one? It would really help alot! Thanks. laugh.gif
Sure what do you need to know?
dimenxion
post Aug 25 2008, 05:08 PM

289 posts

i saw a guy driving a car using this psp gps system. and i can see it is kinda complete map with all the route.

unfortunately i dont have a chance to talk to him since i'm rushing that time.
snipersnake
post Aug 25 2008, 05:08 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

QUOTE(allen96713 @ Aug 2 2008, 07:35 PM)

3. i hope sony malaysia have a own server to let GPS psp go very efficient, just like Singapore, i heard from my customer.. they paid SG 30 per month, using GPS there.. and is fast ....sleep.gif".. how come malaysia still dont have .. sigh..
doh.gif

singapore so small also want to use GPS. kiasu asses! biggrin.gif
weingseen
post Aug 25 2008, 05:15 PM

Wooot!
603 posts

QUOTE(Dark Kai @ Aug 25 2008, 05:05 PM)
You have IM? It's better to chat via messenger though.

Added on August 25, 2008, 5:29 pm
QUOTE(Dark Kai @ Aug 25 2008, 05:05 PM)
You got a PM.

This post has been edited by weingseen: Aug 25 2008, 05:29 PM
fluotone
post Sep 12 2008, 09:41 AM

street.cat.tales
2,631 posts

QUOTE(dimenxion @ Aug 25 2008, 05:08 PM)
i saw a guy driving a car using this psp gps system. and i can see it is kinda complete map with all the route.

unfortunately i dont have a chance to talk to him since i'm rushing that time.
lol probably that was me biggrin.gif slim chance tho hahaha
philippecr
post Oct 1 2008, 01:48 AM

617 posts

Added on October 1, 2008, 1:49 am
QUOTE(kpsew @ Jan 21 2008, 09:15 PM)
Oh my god, this time I accidental press "Format Flash1 and ........." when I am in recovery mode
Then i press "O" , and the system comes back but I can't play all my games.......

Pls help  rclxub.gif
u're ont screwed. you only deleted ur user data and some settings.

can't play ur "P" games? i think u've reset ur PSP setting, change ur "UMD ISO MODE" to M33 driver or Sony NP9660. Just press 'select' and change it. smile.gif

This post has been edited by philippecr: Oct 1 2008, 01:51 AM
pkpk
post Oct 7 2008, 04:06 PM

56 posts

I'm using PSP GPS. It's sort-of like a hobby though cos it is only showing current location against Google Earth map. It's useful though, if you use it for "roughly" showing you the way. I bought the GPS receiver from www.play-asia.com for RM 163 only (USD $49.90). The price there is USD $59.90 but I found a USD $10 discount coupon after I google online (I got it here http://play-asia-couponcodes.blogspot.com). I receive my package after 10 days using free delivery (play-asia is based in Hong Kong). Bought this in mid of Sept. Got asked the shop selling RM 270 so I decided to buy thru play-asia since it's RM 100 cheaper! Delivery is good. No defects and the package looks good.

The map is downloaded from the internet using a downloader software. Took me 1 whole day to download a map for Selangor but I failed to download for Perak after downloaded for 2 days but I'll try again. The software is GMDL. Read here for how to download the map. http://www.dcemu.co.uk/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=60230

Too bad I don't find a way to insert geodata into Malaysia map. So I don't think there's a way to include road navigation into it, even though MapThis software has this function.

So for those that really use the GPS capability better get a real car navigator. Shld be around RM 500, RM 800 and RM 1000. Or get a PDA or phone with GPS and install TomTom inside there. This is what I'm planning to do in near future smile.gif

This post has been edited by pkpk: Oct 7 2008, 04:07 PM
jeffrey5337
post Oct 19 2008, 05:12 AM

122 posts

so actually gt anyone can use gps system in malaysia?
kawabanga
post Oct 23 2008, 12:02 AM

guys, pls help me....i'm facing problem with the gps290

for those who try it work, pls let me know wat mapthis ver. u are using with?
v3? v4? or v5?

i'm trying with this step below:

1.What you need to have
a. A homebrew capable PSP (though tutorial explains how this works with DAX’s custom firmware only).
b. A self-powered GPS receiver (not all models have been tested) or you can use the PSP’s official receiver (PSP-290)
c. A PSP to GPS cable (not needed if you are using PSP-290):
i.You can make your own by going to this link: http://www.dcemu.co.uk/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=30035
I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE IF YOU BRICK YOUR PSP OR YOUR GPS RECIEVER WHEN BUILDING YOUR OWN CABLE.
ii. Buy a factory made PSP to USB B mini cable from www.moby.cn
d. Deniska’s Mapthis! Mapping software: http://deniska.dcemu.co.uk/bin/mapViewer_v03.zip
e. Mapthis! 0.4 EBOOT.PBP: http://www.sendspace.com/file/qr7uks
f. In7ane’s Map Downloader: http://www.sendspace.com/file/90i8iu
g. PSP Car stand (optional)
2. What you need to do
a. Copy the mapViewer and mapViewer% folders from the mapViewer_v03 (in step 1(d)) folder to your game folder on your memory stick and make sure your kernel is set to 1.50 if you have any gps pther than the psp-290 (please refer to the FAQ in Deniska's discussion forum for important details on making this work with psp-290)
b. Copy the appropriate EBOOT file (depending on if u have a HOLUX GPS(or any other non psp-290) receiver or PSP-290) from the mapthis! 0.4 file you downloaded in step 1(e) into the mapViewer folder on your memory stick (overwrite the current one).
c. Copy the ‘system’ folder from the the mapthis! 0.4 file you downloaded in step 1(e) into the mapViewer folder on your memory stick (overwrite the current).
d. Start up your PSP to make sure the application runs fine and mess around with the sample map included of the London

but when i want to start my psp, it come with the error massage---->loading usb accessory module...error?

why happen like dis? pls help me....i'm getting crazy now being trying dis for a few hour.....

then i try to generate the map using com like the step below:

e. Now that you have the mapping software, you need to download the map of the area you want to navigate through. Extract the File you downloaded in step 1(f) and go to GMDL/bin/Debug and run ‘Global Map Download Tool’

when i want to run it, it came out with the error message again.....---> the application failed to initialeze properly (0x0000135). click on OK to terminate the application...

why?

pls help me...tq

This post has been edited by kawabanga: Oct 23 2008, 12:10 AM
SilentSeeker
post Oct 30 2008, 07:37 PM

Hello guys, i'm a new user of the GPS 290 unit and know nothing of it. Any one has a map of Kuching sarawak? Can send to me? Really blur on all the DCEmu stuffs...
dkliew
post Oct 30 2008, 08:48 PM

156 posts

tried today. PSP slim is a lot easier than PSP thick to get everything work.

for PSP thick. u got to extract the 2 usbgps.drx or something from the flash01 and enable in the psp configuration menu. then when u run the software it can show the PSP GPS status is on (usually it is off b4 setting)

for PSP slim....just put the Mapthis software(with your current position map in)
into the MS:PSP/GAME390 or GAME
then the psp gps will showing ON in the mapthis and can locate satelite (version 3.90)
without any setting....

version 3.90 is the most easiest to setup. i tested version 3.40. 3.71 3.80 and 3.90 .
its ok for 3.40 . 3.71 n 3.80 a bit handy and 3.90 = no need to do any setting....

just 2 cents comment. cos i am letting my psp gps290 now n cos got my mobile gps smile.gif

This post has been edited by dkliew: Oct 30 2008, 08:49 PM
mfa333
post Oct 31 2008, 12:35 AM

Huhah!
2,588 posts

QUOTE(dkliew @ Oct 30 2008, 08:48 PM)

for PSP thick.  u got to extract the 2 usbgps.drx or something from the flash01 and enable in the psp configuration menu. then when u run the software it can show the PSP GPS status is on (usually it is off b4 setting)

for PSP slim....just put the Mapthis software(with your current position map in)
into the MS:PSP/GAME390  or GAME
then the psp gps will showing ON in the mapthis and can locate satelite (version 3.90)
without any setting....

version 3.90 is the most easiest to setup. i tested version 3.40. 3.71 3.80 and 3.90 .
its ok for 3.40 . 3.71 n 3.80 a bit handy and 3.90 = no need to do any setting....

just 2 cents comment. cos i am letting my psp gps290 now n cos got my mobile gps smile.gif
can use malsingmaps?
kawabanga
post Nov 1 2008, 08:20 PM

QUOTE(dkliew @ Oct 30 2008, 08:48 PM)

for PSP thick.  u got to extract the 2 usbgps.drx or something from the flash01 and enable in the psp configuration menu. then when u run the software it can show the PSP GPS status is on (usually it is off b4 setting)

into the MS:PSP/GAME390  or GAME
without any setting....

wat u mean by a bit handy with 3.71 n 3.80?
if i'm using 3.9, does it mean i need the

which ver mapthis u are using with for the psp ver 3.90?
dkliew
post Nov 7 2008, 02:43 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(kawabanga @ Nov 1 2008, 08:20 PM)
wat u mean by a bit handy with 3.71 n 3.80?
if i'm using 3.9, does it mean i need the

which ver mapthis u are using with for the psp ver 3.90?
version 4.97 if i am right. my psp firmware is 3.80.
b4 i was on 3.71 and it took me sometimes to get the psp gps device working on my psp1000

and when using the same software on psp2000 and version 3.90...

just copy the whole mapthis folder to the Memory stick. its working perfectly.
without any configuration and that shock me off...

for version 3.70 n 3.71 i need to extract the usbcrx.drx (forgot the name of the file) from the Flash01 stuff
to the MS and open a folder called SEPLUGIN then the psp can detected my gps device.

anyway i am not sure why and thats how i got my psp gps work on my psp1000 b4.

just 2 cents sharing.

for your information.
psp2000 is a lot more easier to get the thing work.
sjn hassan
post Nov 30 2008, 11:55 PM

Member's of MAKAN MEGGI club
3,544 posts

QUOTE(Dante18 @ Aug 25 2008, 04:14 PM)
i have test before with Garmin Nuvi (using Garmin) and holux receiver+dopod 838pro (using a Mapking)...but are great and the not much different in terms of speed..of coz sometime they will guide to the different route coz the map version is not same..but imho i still prefer the standalone GPS since it have bigger screen and don't eat my phone battery tongue.gif
signither
post Dec 15 2008, 08:51 PM

Certified Mutant
3,557 posts

so, psp-290 can use for both phat and slim or have diff one for them??

thinking of getting one for my psp slim rolleyes.gif

10 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 >Top

0.0196sec    0.31    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:51 AM