post May 22 2022, 01:05 AM

123 posts

Even a tech idiot like me knew how to disable auto roam πŸ˜‘
kmrdeva
post May 22 2022, 01:27 AM

4,790 posts

QUOTE(ericangtzeann @ May 22 2022, 01:05 AM)
Boy96
post May 22 2022, 01:34 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

He disabled data roam already. Read the thread la
patienceGNR
post May 22 2022, 01:37 AM

β™₯ Ride All Day β™₯
2,058 posts

He is wrong when it is about roaming service.

A voicemail = call accepted. Thus the reason why I disabled voicemail and this is also a norm in Singapore. because in Singapore, even as someone receiving the phone call, you're and you will be charged as well (both callers and recipient).

and why are you charged as receiver when you roam? it is to do with the service where your network is riding on someone else's network. technically, AIS (the Thailand telco) is billing maxis for this guy's usage in Thailand.

I don't want to elaborate too much on technicality but it's all about usage of service + masuk voicemail means a call is accepted.
TryingToSurvive
post May 22 2022, 01:48 AM

330 posts

Sadly idiot like you know how to disable auto roam but don't know how to read.
Strike Eureka
post May 22 2022, 02:24 AM

128 posts

It's a common issue at Maxis, recently they got system migration, still ongoing rectify God knows when πŸ˜‚
Many issues come out like billing, unknown data passses charges, simcard cannot activate etcs
C-Fu
post May 22 2022, 03:33 AM

Ninja-Fu
1,051 posts

how would maxshit know if you enable voicemail, and left the simcard outside in malaysia (if it matters, when it shouldn't)?

I remembered last time I turned on airplane mode and used an external 3G modem with a vietnam simcard. never got roaming charges, even with voicemail turned on. but I ported out anyway, because of other maxshit reasons.

then got billed RM44k with celcrap lel. not my fault, they never cut off my credit limit, and they claim it doesn't matter. fought like mad, got it reversed.

memang our telcos are shit la.
junsheng
post May 22 2022, 04:51 AM

---> pokemon ftw <---
1,257 posts

QUOTE(patienceGNR @ May 22 2022, 01:37 AM)

A voicemail = call accepted. Thus the reason why I disabled voicemail and this is also a norm in Singapore. because in Singapore, even as someone receiving the phone call, you're and you will be charged as well (both callers and recipient).

and why are you charged as receiver when you roam? it is to do with the service where your network is riding on someone else's network. technically, AIS (the Thailand telco) is billing maxis for this guy's usage in Thailand.

I don't want to elaborate too much on technicality but it's all about usage of service + masuk voicemail means a call is accepted.
yup, and many don't understand phone treat roaming into cellular data and cellular network
for cellular data just turn off data roaming
for cellular network you will need to turn on airplane mode, then on wifi or bluetooth if you need it
especially when you are in countries that are in contract with the telco you sign up with

mcmc mandate things like automatic subscription etc to prevent bill shock

so you will be charged for or auto subscribe to roaming if you do
1. outgoing and incoming calls
2. outgoing and incoming sms (if you are able to receive any sms)
in his case voicemail works like receiving incoming calls hence auto subs to roaming

all these charges are on contract basis between telco and the roaming package
these are the typical scenarios you will get charged
A: MY number in MY
B: MY number in SG
C: SG number
D: MY number in SG (your left hand gf travelling with you)

1. A call B, B will get charged & local charge for A, as A is calling using local cell tower, while B is using oversea cell tower.
2. B call A, B will get charged because B is using oversea cell tower, while A not
3. B call C, B will get charged, while C not
4. C call B, both will get charged, particular C might get international charge, why? Because C have to dial international exit code + country code to get to B, so it will get to MY then point back to SG, depending how the call route is being setup C might get international charge or just initial connection charge
5. B call D, both will get charged
the only thing is free is emergency call even there are no roaming partners, you would still be able to make such call

so, make sure to ask both side (your telco & the partners) to prevent bill shock to you and your friends
or just get a tourist sim

milolauda
post May 22 2022, 05:00 AM

41 posts

use a zero credit prepaid number when going overseas to see who missed called you

use the traveler prepaid when over there for data and wasap calls via data or free wifi

junsheng
post May 22 2022, 05:11 AM

---> pokemon ftw <---
1,257 posts

QUOTE(C-Fu @ May 22 2022, 03:33 AM)
how would maxshit know if you enable voicemail, and left the simcard outside in malaysia (if it matters, when it shouldn't)?

I remembered last time I turned on airplane mode and used an external 3G modem with a vietnam simcard. never got roaming charges, even with voicemail turned on. but I ported out anyway, because of other maxshit reasons.

then got billed RM44k with celcrap lel. not my fault, they never cut off my credit limit, and they claim it doesn't matter. fought like mad, got it reversed.

memang our telcos are shit la.
because you turned on airplane mode, both cellular data and network is off
in most cases when there is a roaming partner, even if you turned off data roaming
you will still be connected to the partner's cellular network

and voicemail is treated as incoming calls, voicemail is enabled by default,
if you didn't answer your call it will go into voicemail, they will treat it as you have accepted incoming call
some even allow incoming sms as trap

This post has been edited by junsheng: May 22 2022, 07:07 AM
azbro
post May 22 2022, 06:38 AM

4,403 posts

When I travel, I will remember to call my Blood sucking Telco what to do so that not extra charges.
OnePieceIsReal P
post May 22 2022, 07:26 AM

Probation

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ May 22 2022, 01:27 AM)

QUOTE(Boy96 @ May 22 2022, 01:34 AM)

He disabled data roam already. Read the thread la

QUOTE(patienceGNR @ May 22 2022, 01:37 AM)

QUOTE(TryingToSurvive @ May 22 2022, 01:48 AM)

Sadly idiot like you know how to disable auto roam but don't know how to read.

i believe he didn't disable the roaming access
just disable roaming access if doesn't want to use roaming service at all
call your mobile network provider and ask them to disable the service
turning of mobile data & data roaming on your phone settings, won't stop the mobile line from making an outgoing call & receiving call
once the user disable roaming access for his mobile phone, the sim card would not be able to connect to an overseas network operator
regardless if the mobile phone got an active voicemail, its still won't be charged roaming usage (if receive call) since the mobile line doesn't hook up with the overseas network operator in the first place

kons
post May 22 2022, 07:31 AM

Конс
6,181 posts

thats why i have so many country simcard...

actually all are test simcard with unli data/calls. but can use actually.
Fotofazlee Alpha P
post May 22 2022, 07:36 AM

Probation

Reminds me of my mom. She's a senior citizen, not tech-savvy went to Tanjung Piai and got her Maxis charge for roaming in Singapore. Called Maxis and they cancel their 30 plus ringgit charge for ASEAN data roaming.
isr25
post May 22 2022, 07:40 AM

1,263 posts

This one the user bodo dun understand. I don't think it's due to voicemail, but the guy pick up a call while roaming. While roaming, you will be charged when make / receive call. SMS receive free while roaming, but sending SMS will be charged. If want to save money, should've be on airplane mode or use local sim.

Can't claim ignorance about this. My colleague pernah kena 19k due to data roaming while not in preferred roaming network. Preferred roaming partner would be capped at RM99 (at the time), but due to the guy roam using a non-preferred partner, he kena charge pay per use data rate. Complaint like hell to MCMC also just discount 1k, need to pay balance 18k laugh.gif
derthvadar
post May 22 2022, 07:41 AM

(ΰΈ‡ β€’Μ€_‒́)ΰΈ‡
1,794 posts

You just an idiot.
ihavenoidea
post May 22 2022, 07:43 AM

1,301 posts

must be orang muda that didnt knew you should not accept call when roaming
cucubud
post May 22 2022, 07:46 AM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(junsheng @ May 22 2022, 05:11 AM)
because you turned on airplane mode, both cellular data and network is off
in most cases when there is a roaming partner, even if you turned off data roaming
you will still be connected to the partner's cellular network

and voicemail is treated as incoming calls, voicemail is enabled by default,
if you didn't answer your call it will go into voicemail, they will treat it as you have accepted incoming call
some even allow incoming sms as trap
Now got voice over wifi. Will it works like roaming or local calls while in another country?

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0212sec    1.10    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:39 PM