How good is Kia / Hyundai car?

TSfrontier008
post May 17 2022, 08:59 PM, updated 4y ago

51 posts

Generally how good is Kia or Hyundai car?
Any existing car owner who can share their experiences?

My wife and I went for the test drive and we are quite impress with the comfort and driving experience of these car brands. However, some car dealer told us some stories which made us having doubts.

Hence, would like to know more before committing. Thanks.
teslaman
post May 17 2022, 09:04 PM

1,154 posts

Nice, repair bills also impressive
ktek
post May 17 2022, 09:15 PM

小喇叭
13,216 posts

u buy from which shop ah.
acbc
post May 17 2022, 09:18 PM

9,050 posts

RV low like F.

Parts outside from Kia SC much cheaper.

Example, I was quoted more than 6K to repair all the mountings, power steering and other important parts at official SC. But outside, only 2K from a normal tire shop workshop.
Strifez
post May 17 2022, 11:52 PM

44 posts

Kia is a good brand.

my family is 3 generation of kia users.

Can actually tahan as long as jap car counterpart.

Just that agreed, resale value is bad
LostAndFound
post May 18 2022, 08:34 AM

6,268 posts

QUOTE(DupeSapaTah4 @ May 18 2022, 08:32 AM)
Is resale value something important to keep track on?
I find that it doesn't matter that much
If you don't sell it doesn't matter. Those 'use-till-scrap' will not care about it. But those who sell at 6/7 years to upgrade, RV very important.
4WD_er
post May 18 2022, 11:35 AM

572 posts

QUOTE(frontier008 @ May 17 2022, 08:59 PM)
Generally how good is Kia or Hyundai car?
Any existing car owner who can share their experiences?

My wife and I went for the test drive and we are quite impress with the comfort and driving experience of these car brands. However, some car dealer told us some stories which made us having doubts.

Hence, would like to know more before committing. Thanks.
What model / car is in your mind ?

I have Sorento 2.2D diesel, a superb car to drive. RV is very strong for Hyundai / Kia diesel, don't listen to those hearsay. My Sorento members get very good RV when they sell their cars. In fact now there is so few diesel Kia on mudah, because once they are listed and are snapped up very quickly.

Generally, Hyundai / Kia has better (more durable, more powerful, better FC) diesel engine than the Japanese brands. Why ? Because diesel is the default choice of cars for the Korean in their home country. As a result their diesel engines are made well and robust.

Jap brand :

Toyota diesel 2.4 or 2.8, either lower power output and/or high FC. Reliable yes, so as the Hyundai / Kia diesel too. Santa fe has been using the 2.2D engine since what ? 2009 ? Still today no much of major problems reported.

Mazda 2.2 skyactiv diesel, it's a nightmare to own. Don't ever think about it. Teh tarik engine oil issue after 100k km.

Honda ? No diesel cars in Malaysia

Nissan 2.5D ? Only fitted to pick up truck

Isuzu 1.9D and/or 3.0D, well there are quite good in FC. But low power output I think, and rough.

This post has been edited by 4WD_er: May 18 2022, 11:35 AM
constant_weight
post May 18 2022, 11:42 AM

916 posts

Resell value is supply vs demand. When older generation with maintenance cost in mind no longer the major force in used car market, the trend will change.

The younger generation are after luxury they can show, brand, ambient light, big screen, tech. They also don't like trouble/hassle, as long as they can afford it they won't mind to pay extra for good service.

My prediction, soon cars with good RV will be those entry level continental like A class, 1 series, 2 series, GLA, X1 etc. The 90's are in their early 30's, 00's been working for few years. It is about time.
squareballs
post May 18 2022, 03:13 PM

4,331 posts

sold off my k3 2.0 2013 last month to a close friend.
ownership throughout the years are pretty good, parts are relatively cheap and easy to find.
comfortable and solid interior without those rattling sounds.

bought new launched 118k, sold off for 40k.

if RV is your main concern, stay away from Korean, if you're planning to use it for 9-10 years, den i dont think RV will be a concern anymore.

hungrygodzilla
post May 18 2022, 04:44 PM

456 posts

Depend on you la.

To many in Malaysia, RV is their religion. it's one of their primary considering factor in any car.

Some treat car as money threw into sea la, if by the time to sell, can get back more money is good la, if less also like that lo, when buy car already expected money threw into sea already.

End of the day, just a mindset problem.
TSfrontier008
post May 19 2022, 07:12 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(4WD_er @ May 18 2022, 11:35 AM)
What model / car is in your mind ?

I have Sorento 2.2D diesel, a superb car to drive.  RV is very strong for Hyundai / Kia diesel, don't listen to those hearsay.  My Sorento members get very good RV when they sell their cars.  In fact now there is so few diesel Kia on mudah, because once they are listed and are snapped up very quickly.

Generally, Hyundai / Kia has better (more durable, more powerful, better FC) diesel engine than the Japanese brands.  Why ?  Because diesel is the default choice of cars for the Korean in their home country.  As a result their diesel engines are made well and robust.

Jap brand :

Toyota diesel 2.4 or 2.8, either lower power output and/or high FC.  Reliable yes, so as the Hyundai / Kia diesel too.  Santa fe has been using the 2.2D engine since what ? 2009 ?  Still today no much of major problems reported.

Mazda 2.2 skyactiv diesel, it's a nightmare to own.  Don't ever think about it.  Teh tarik engine oil issue after 100k km.

Honda ?  No diesel cars in Malaysia

Nissan 2.5D ?  Only fitted to pick up truck

Isuzu 1.9D and/or 3.0D, well there are quite good in FC.  But low power output I think, and rough.
I’m looking either SantaFe or Kia Carnival. Both also diesel variant. 7 seaters family car for road trip.

r3d2
post May 19 2022, 07:27 AM

238 posts

Kia/Hyundai is theproton of Korea.
Ever wonder why so many spareparts dealers for these ars?
And by the way, there are many fake parts selling online or outside because genuine parts are too expensive.
widget
post May 19 2022, 08:43 AM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(frontier008 @ May 19 2022, 07:12 AM)
I’m looking either SantaFe or Kia Carnival. Both also diesel variant. 7 seaters family car for road trip.
My FIL drives a 2018 Karnival with 2.2D engine.
It's a solid and reliable car, with proven bullet-proof engine.

I used to own a 2011 Sportage GT Awd (Audi Q5 lookalike tongue.gif ), and sold it back in 2018 after clocking > 150k km on it.
No major issue during my ownership and when I sold the car to 2nd-hand dealer, I still get a few thousands ringgit from them after deducting my bank loan, so the RV was not an issue.
My major complaint is that the car was a heavy drinker, as full tank of 55l will normally only get me 350-400km for mixed drive, hence the reason why I sold it.
terryfu
post May 19 2022, 08:51 AM

514 posts

Bought a Kia grand carnival 3 yrs ago. Great car no problems. Comes with free service package for 4 yrs.

Wife feels it’s such a great buy. All the interiors continue to look solid and brand new even after using it to move house. When she use it to driver her director bosses around all were impressed by the car and it’s luxurious feel even saying as good as vellfire etc.

Resale value is overrated. It’s becoming the only reason for manufacturers to use to sell their cars sometimes. If ur gonna use the car for 5 yrs plus the gap also relatively small.
terryfu
post May 19 2022, 08:52 AM

514 posts

Erictdl
post May 19 2022, 09:18 AM

79 posts

Happy and no regret owning 2 Kia, 2013 cerato K3, 2020 Kia Grand Carnival. both solid and no major issue.

RV is more or less the same if you count in the loan interest and higher price tag on JP car, and JP car used to give lower spec than Kia.

Sparepart is more or less the same if same segment of car original vs original parts, just that not much option on OEM unless you order online and wait for delivery.

FC is on the higher side, I think main reason is KR car is heavier, solid build with better security feature, also it come with a bigger wheels for better driving experience.

If new K3 model is available and cheaper than JP car, I will not consider JP car and dive back to Kia.

Do share what is the story dealer share with you that cause your doubts on Korea car.
thenazek
post May 19 2022, 10:10 AM

566 posts

The KIA EV6 wow damn handsome.

But too bad the variant that is going to be brought into Malaysia will be the 300k variant instead of the 200k (which would make more sense to compete with Ioniq 5).
Maknusia
post May 19 2022, 10:45 AM

997 posts

QUOTE(Erictdl @ May 19 2022, 09:18 AM)
Happy and no regret owning 2 Kia, 2013 cerato K3, 2020 Kia Grand Carnival. both solid and no major issue.

RV is more or less the same if you count in the loan interest and higher price tag on JP car, and JP car used to give lower spec than Kia. 

Sparepart is more or less the same if same segment of car original vs original parts, just that not much option on OEM unless you order online and wait for delivery.

FC is on the higher side, I think main reason is KR car is heavier, solid build with better security feature, also it come with a bigger wheels for better driving experience.

If new K3 model is available and cheaper than JP car, I will not consider JP car and dive back to Kia.

Do share what is the story dealer share with you that cause your doubts on Korea car.
My experience is same as yours well. My Hubby used to Kia Optima and Hyundai Sonata.
For example he bought the Optima for 50k and after 5 years sold it for 18k, which I think its a fair market price.

I own a 2.4L Sorento and Hyundai Atos (closing in to 20yrs with more than 300k on miles and still going strong)). So far, I could hardly point to any major problem, other than ware and tear

As you said, Korean cars tend to be alittle hungry on fuel and most likely due to its weight.

danielcmugen
post May 19 2022, 12:59 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ May 17 2022, 09:18 PM)
RV low like F.

Parts outside from Kia SC much cheaper.

Example, I was quoted more than 6K to repair all the mountings, power steering and other important parts at official SC. But outside, only 2K from a normal tire shop workshop.
The normal tyre workshop use genuine Kia part? As i know, if is ori part, some normal shop outside charge more than SC.
acbc
post May 19 2022, 02:59 PM

9,050 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ May 19 2022, 12:59 PM)
The normal tyre workshop use genuine Kia part? As i know, if is ori part, some normal shop outside charge more than SC.
OEM parts but still made in Korea.

0.0230sec    1.16    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 09:44 PM