Windows Vista SP1 Beta Release
TSisoooo
Sep 26 2007, 08:42 PM, updated 19y ago
Yesterday,Microsoft is releasing the Beta of Windows Vista Service Pack 1 via connect.microsoft.com to a private group of beta tester. http://windowsvistablog.com/blogs/windowsv...able-today.aspx http://windowsvistablog.com/blogs/windowse...ack-1-beta.aspx
linkinstreet
Sep 26 2007, 08:46 PM
Red Bull Addict
I have Beta1 which I installed in VM. The lack of search menu in the start GUI (I BLAME GOOGLE FOR THIS) turns me off tho. And DreamScene is not supported yet in this Beta. But it's fast. EXTREMELY.FAST. compared to RTM
Christopher_LKL
Sep 26 2007, 09:20 PM
^- extremely fast as in? ... file browsing? or>?
linkinstreet
Sep 27 2007, 11:59 AM
Red Bull Addict
everything really. File transfer is quite fast, and the overall response time is also a bit faster. Also better options such as which HDD to defrag, which drive to use as bitlocker, etc
Eoma
Sep 28 2007, 12:04 AM
- ,. -
Yes, the (network) file transfer is certainly faster than before, but there are dips every now and then. Playing mp3s and transferring files is no longer an issue too. Need more time to test.
Linkin : Did you have to reinstall your graphic drivers ? Vista prompted me for the GTX drivers once the SP finished installing. Don't know if it was a one off thing but after installing the latest 163.69 whql drivers, the LCD went blank while the PC was still running, mp3 and all. had to manually restart. weird.
linkinstreet
Sep 28 2007, 10:28 AM
Red Bull Addict
It did, but I didn't bother.
sotong168
Sep 28 2007, 10:42 AM
frm the comments, seems like the patch is promising, will update once the final is out
clawhammer
Sep 28 2007, 11:08 AM
///M
I guess everyone knows how terrible Vista is and perhaps this SP would help enchance the overall performance plus speed itself and not to mention those bugs.
linkinstreet
Sep 28 2007, 11:27 AM
Red Bull Addict
QUOTE(clawhammer @ Sep 28 2007, 11:08 AM) I guess everyone knows how terrible Vista is and perhaps this SP would help enchance the overall performance plus speed itself and not to mention those bugs. While I respect ur VIP tag, I found that you comment unacceptable. It's quite fun to use and all OS has bugs anyways ecspecially initial build. XP took 5 years to mature, thus why are people quick to complain about Vista? It's not like the bugs are major, more like better optimisations and also some screwed up ppl at google want us to use their desktop search. Bad drivers from both ATi and nVidia didn't help the cause much, and also the fact that many major companies sees this as way to get quick buck by not supporting old hardware/softwares anymore means that it's never really the OS's fault in the first place.
sotong168
Sep 28 2007, 06:48 PM
maybe i just bought a new pc with a decent spec, i find that vista (ultimate btw) isn't slow or lagging at all, it is stable too (yet to experience any bsod), and still exploring its new features and having fun on them
linkinstreet
Sep 28 2007, 08:24 PM
Red Bull Addict
heh, I only got 1 bsod, and that was because my bloody friend suddenly unplugged my HDD for no reason whatsoever
zhen^wei
Sep 28 2007, 08:51 PM
noob question. can i install SP1 or 2 after i install beta now ?
linkinstreet
Sep 28 2007, 09:02 PM
Red Bull Addict
Beta are not meant for full usage. It's only for testing purposes. Even I dual boot into it. It might be possible but not advised
scph50004
Sep 29 2007, 06:01 PM
had no BSOD ever since I had vista on my machine from Day One. Hopefully this SP1 can boost gaming performance... still prefer XP for gaming... X3
vailance
Sep 30 2007, 02:03 PM
hey i got my own vista ultimate retail when i downloaded the sp1 update from winbeta it said not for my system??? why
zubai
Oct 1 2007, 01:30 AM
QUOTE(vailance @ Sep 30 2007, 02:03 PM) hey i got my own vista ultimate retail when i downloaded the sp1 update from winbeta it said not for my system??? why In Regional and Language Option in control panel, at tab Format set English (United Sate), Location tab set United State, and Administrative tab click Change system locale and set to English (United State), restart. Hope this helps.
CKC_1
Oct 1 2007, 05:01 PM
vista service pack 1 fixed my internet problem..so happy now
scph50004
Oct 1 2007, 09:10 PM
SP1 beta users, any significant improvement in gaming? very curious to try...
kapitan
Oct 1 2007, 09:59 PM
QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Sep 28 2007, 11:27 AM) While I respect ur VIP tag, I found that you comment unacceptable. It's quite fun to use and all OS has bugs anyways ecspecially initial build. XP took 5 years to mature, thus why are people quick to complain about Vista? It's not like the bugs are major, more like better optimisations and also some screwed up ppl at google want us to use their desktop search. Bad drivers from both ATi and nVidia didn't help the cause much, and also the fact that many major companies sees this as way to get quick buck by not supporting old hardware/softwares anymore means that it's never really the OS's fault in the first place. LOL... It was amusing to see that you actually feel Vista is any better than XP upon release. XP is hella better by miles during its intro. It doesnt eat resource for breakfast, and yet perform on par if not better than Vista anytime. Not to mention its hella easier to play with the advance setting in XP without guessing where have MS move them to. I totally cant believe my notebook with the almost latest tech is actually having a hardtime with gaming with old tech games in Vista. Even my bro pc with single core 3500+ and 7600GS beat the crap out of my notebook with the fluid and smoothness while mine still lag even when I had turn off superfetch, defender, firewall, search etc etc. XP is the best ever consumer orientated OS to date from MS.
gengstapo
Oct 2 2007, 09:30 AM
err how bout resources useage?