TNB question

TSSotsotzaii
post Apr 24 2022, 04:18 PM, updated 4y ago

2,531 posts

I changed the ownership from the ex owner to me ( new owner ) of the house, everything is in process but they told me it would take within or until 90 days before the name can be change, then only i pay one-time deposit through the app, so that's about 3 months, for SAJ it's only taking about 2-3 days, and i paid deposit on the spot, any idea why TNB takes so long ?
Trees
post Apr 24 2022, 04:55 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Apr 24 2022, 04:18 PM)
I changed the ownership from the ex owner to me ( new owner ) of the house, everything is in process but they told me it would take within or until 90 days before the name can be change, then only i pay one-time deposit through the app, so that's about 3 months, for SAJ it's only taking about 2-3 days, and i paid deposit on the spot, any idea why TNB takes so long ?
Monopolization?
galkelly
post Apr 24 2022, 05:11 PM

751 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Apr 24 2022, 04:18 PM)
Did mine few months ago, within 2weeks all name was changed
TSSotsotzaii
post Apr 24 2022, 05:33 PM

2,531 posts

QUOTE(galkelly @ Apr 24 2022, 05:11 PM)
Did mine few months ago, within 2weeks all name was changed
So is it just a form of formality ? In actual don't need to wait 90 days ?
galkelly
post Apr 24 2022, 05:37 PM

751 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Apr 24 2022, 05:33 PM)
So is it just a form of formality ? In actual don't need to wait 90 days ?
Yup... I walk in submit. TNB chop and acknowledge.
After 2 week done.
TSSotsotzaii
post Apr 24 2022, 05:42 PM

2,531 posts

QUOTE(galkelly @ Apr 24 2022, 05:37 PM)
Yup... I walk in submit. TNB chop and acknowledge.
After 2 week done.
I see, mine also, bring relevant documents, ask me to fill in some form, chop then told me it would take 90 days and then say because previous owner haven't close account yet, but no owing. Not sure if this would delay the time further.
mini orchard
post Apr 24 2022, 06:34 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Apr 24 2022, 05:42 PM)
I see, mine also, bring relevant documents, ask me to fill in some form, chop then told me it would take 90 days and then say because previous owner haven't close account yet, but no owing. Not sure if this would delay the time further.
With SnP, Tnb can close the previous account.

If there is any outstanding and if less than deposit, then they will deduct from the deposit

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Apr 24 2022, 06:38 PM
TSSotsotzaii
post Apr 24 2022, 06:43 PM

2,531 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Apr 24 2022, 06:34 PM)
With SnP, Tnb can close the previous account.

If there is any outstanding and if less than deposit, then they will deduct from the deposit
I brought my SnP with me, the lady told me previous owner didn't close account, no outstanding, but didnt proceed to say she will close the account, only say she will find the owner to close the account. But really need to wait 90 days ? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Sotsotzaii: Apr 24 2022, 06:43 PM
mini orchard
post Apr 24 2022, 06:45 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Apr 24 2022, 06:43 PM)
I brought my SnP with me, the lady told me previous owner didn't close account, no outstanding, but didnt proceed to say she will close the account, only say she will find the owner to close the account. But really need to wait 90 days ?  tongue.gif
See the manager.
knazlee
post Apr 24 2022, 08:55 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Apr 24 2022, 06:43 PM)
I brought my SnP with me, the lady told me previous owner didn't close account, no outstanding, but didnt proceed to say she will close the account, only say she will find the owner to close the account. But really need to wait 90 days ?  tongue.gif
The acc manager might have a few backlogs, that's why say 90days to make sure they cover their asses to be able to do it within the stipulated time period. Maybe you get lucky they can close it fast, if not have to wait within the mentioned time
soonwai
post Aug 22 2025, 05:14 PM

11,450 posts

Just did the TNB Change of Tenant on myTNB web 2 days ago for my relative. Will update when it's completed. Account has been in previous houseowner's name for at least 30 years. sweat.gif

20/8: Application Submitted. Documents uploaded: IC only
21/8: Got a call from TNB to confirm CoT.
21/8: Ready for Payment (Deposit, Processing Fee & Stamp Duty) and Paid
21/8: Updated with new acc no. Can add but Inactive.
21/8: Status: "Pending Notice to Existing Cus"
2/9: Status: Still "Pending Notice to Existing Cus"
13/10: Status: Still "Pending Notice to Existing Cus"
x/11: Received letter addressed to previous tenant informing of COT. 90 days from 21/8 to for him to respond.
20/11: Right on the dot, 90 days from above letter. COT completed today.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Nov 20 2025, 09:15 AM
coolguy_0925
post Aug 22 2025, 11:26 PM

4,535 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 22 2025, 05:14 PM)
Just did the TNB Change of Tenant on myTNB web 2 days ago for my relative. Will update when it's completed. Account has been in previous houseowner's name for at least 30 years.  sweat.gif

20/8: Application Submitted
wow so good everything can online now no need queue and see their attitude (not explicitly referring to TNB, actually I kena the attitude at another util co)

but... need to upload that whole stack of S&P?
mini orchard
post Aug 23 2025, 02:16 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Aug 22 2025, 11:26 PM)
wow so good everything can online now no need queue and see their attitude (not explicitly referring to TNB, actually I kena the attitude at another util co)

Normally is only few pages ... The Stamping, Schedule and Signature pages.

Same for IWK.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Aug 23 2025, 02:16 AM
soonwai
post Aug 23 2025, 05:17 AM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Aug 22 2025, 11:26 PM)

No need, uploaded just IC only. Dunno whether they will request for more documents later.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 23 2025, 05:17 AM
haturaya
post Aug 23 2025, 09:01 AM

2,545 posts

Just did the TNB Change of Tenant on myTNB web 2 days ago for my relative. Will update when it's completed. Account has been in previous houseowner's name for at least 30 years.  sweat.gif

Same like me.

I bought my house in 2004. Cheated by lawyer. They didn't do the TNB account change even it's part of the deal. ranting.gif

Yesterday, saw that it can be done online.

22/8 Application submitted + scanned IC (morning)
22/8 Got a call from TNB around 330pm, didn't pick up. Too bz. They email instead to pay for processing, deposit, etc.
23/8 Paid deposit just now.

Let see how it goes sweat.gif
SUSSyok Your Mom
post Aug 25 2025, 07:02 AM

Dupe!? Who what dupe? I'm a Senior Member now DUDE!
3,112 posts

Go through those 3rd party electrical contractors are faster. A friend of mine did just that & got his 3 phase meter up & running within a month.

It's all about RM. Got RM, all got.
soonwai
post Sep 2 2025, 01:18 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(haturaya @ Aug 23 2025, 09:01 AM)
Same like me.

I bought my house in 2004. Cheated by lawyer. They didn't do the TNB account change even it's part of the deal.  ranting.gif

Yesterday, saw that it can be done online.

22/8 Application submitted + scanned IC (morning)
22/8 Got a call from TNB around 330pm, didn't pick up. Too bz. They email instead to pay for processing, deposit, etc.
23/8 Paid deposit just now.

Let see how it goes  sweat.gif
Yours any progress? Mine still same Status "Pending Notice to Existing Cus"

My lawyer also same. Cukai Tanah, IWK & TNB changed but didn't do Taksiran & Air Selangor. Changed Air myself but taksiran still haven't.
ray123
post Sep 2 2025, 03:39 PM

Senior Citizen
2,509 posts

You guys can always lodge a complaint about your lawyers with the Disciplinary Board. Processing fee RM200, so make sure you have everything black and white.

https://asdb.org.my/
haturaya
post Sep 4 2025, 08:43 AM

2,545 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Sep 2 2025, 01:18 PM)
Yours any progress? Mine still same Status "Pending Notice to Existing Cus"

My lawyer also same. Cukai Tanah, IWK & TNB changed but didn't do Taksiran & Air Selangor. Changed Air myself but taksiran still haven't.
Still same status as yours. As for my house, maybe the previous owner already long gone (he's quite old already in 2004 sweat.gif )

Owh ya, the Taksiran account with MBSA an Air Selangor still not change too.

QUOTE(ray123 @ Sep 2 2025, 03:39 PM)
You guys can always lodge a complaint about your lawyers with the Disciplinary Board. Processing fee RM200, so make sure you have everything black and white.

https://asdb.org.my/
2004 case. 21 years ago. sweat.gif
haturaya
post Oct 13 2025, 08:11 PM

2,545 posts

2/9: Status: Still "Pending Notice to Existing Cus"
Has your name change request done? hmm.gif

0.0384sec    0.29    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 03:32 AM